Mount Cook ATTRACTIONS See all

Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

A fabulous UNESCO World Heritage site measuring 434 square miles (700 square kilometers), Aoraki Mount Cook National Park stretches from Westland to Fiordland on New Zealand's South Island. A mecca for climbers, hikers, skiers, and lovers of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ahmad T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Satisfied and good driver.

Doing what: Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour

Elva L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

We did not go on this flight. It was too windy all day- Sun 6th Mar. All helicopters were grounded. We re-booked for Fox Glacier on Sun 13th Mar. but no helicopters were flying that afternoon. Finally we got our flight at Franz Joseph. I wouldn't book this way again because I didn't have the flexibility to do something different when nothing was flying. I was very pleased with the flight we did go on, however every one else paid just 310 NZD PP for the flight we paid 336.80 AUD PP

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

TERENZ L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not exactly a tour. More of a transfer service only. Were only given a short 15mins at Lake Tekapo. Check-in 10mins late and driver gave a scolding. We really didnt meant to be late. And well, it was still 5mins before departure time!

Doing what: Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing sights, friendly crew, but be warned minimum numbers required to fly, so you may end up sitting around waiting for late tourists!

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

pinto

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Hassel free travel.. we liked it

Doing what: Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic. Well worth it. If you haven't been in a helicopter before that adds to the excitement.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Ganesan V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was okay. For the money we spent on this I don't believe they showed all the glaciers they promised. The only think that was shown was the front face of Mount Cook and the glaziers on the same side. When asked if they will show the other side as described, they said wind was not favourable, I don't think we had a lot of wind that day, it is just that they say something on the site, but don't do what they say. Little disappointing, suggest people to ask clearly what they will show just before you give the money.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Tom J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A HUGE highlight of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, our camera was stolen a couple of days later before we had a chance to download our pictures, but as my wife says, "that just means we have to go back!" What a HUGE trip this is. Stunning scenery and landing on the glacier is a highlight. The only downside is that not all the headsets were working, so the pilot commentary wasn't heard by all. But that's a minor point.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Carla S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This excursion was a big thrill for us as we expected it to be. Our son is physically disabled and we were nervous about getting him into the helicopter but we managed by using a small step stool and some good old elbow grease .i.e. lifting. The scheduled ride was tentative due to strong winds in the mountains but we made a slightly modified run, landing on a field of ice rather than a glacier. The thrill factor was present throughout the flight as the mountain and glacier scenery is simply amazing. The pilot was very informative and accommodating asking us if we wanted to stay longer in some areas. There were four of us and we will never forget this spectacular New Zealand experience.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What an amazing experience. You do not realise the enormous area of the alps until you can view them from above in a helicoptor. The walk in the fresh snow on top of Mount Cook was exhilarating. A 'must do' if you get the chance, from either Mt Cook (Glentanner), Fox Glacier or Franz Josef.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Douglas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very professional and considerate towards their customers.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The actual helicopter ride was amazing and the pilot was good at informing us of where we were, what we were seeing, giving us background on the glaciers/area and also reassuring us when it got a little bumpy. Landing on the top of the glacier for photos was awesome. Definitely a highlight of my trip!

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The organisation at base office was friendly and professional, our Pilot Marcus left us with the feeling that he enjoyed his work taking great pride in explaining all the features of the flight. It was my wife's Christmas present, she was smiling from start to finish there is no better accolade

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

MARK D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Quite amazing and definitely a must for anybody visiting New Zealand. Unexplainable, you have to experience the trip to really "get it"

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The scenery was stunning, but made all the more so, by the comfort and height of vision from the coach, and the amusing anecdotes, interesting commentary, and singing yes singing of the coach driver. The best way to do the journey with plenty of opportunity to take photos, stretch legs at the best possible places en route, and even a drop off at my hotel door in Christchurch.

Doing what: Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

It served the purpose.

Doing what: Mount Cook to Queenstown Tour

Rachel S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We had a fantastic time! The weather, the views, the helicopter it was all fantastic. The guide was great too, he told us what we were seeing and made sure we all had photos taken on the glacier. Well worth it! Thank you.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

We think it would have been amazing if we had been able to walk on a glacier; however, we did get to walk on some snow.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

Mervyn A United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

This trip was truly amazing. We saw all there is to see and the landing on the snow was fantastic. We were booked to fly the following day but when we phoned earlier to confirm our booking etc we were offered this flight a day earlier as the weather was good - we just had to 'race' up from Queenstown to do it - and it was well worth it as the sky was almost cloudless - perfect! Thanks to all at the helicopter base for accommodating us. Just one downside. The helicopter seats 2 people in the front seat and 4 people in the rear seat and we were advised before the flight that although we were in the rear seats for the first part of the flight, seating is rotated after the snow landing to allow some of those in the rear seats to sit up front but the others on the same trip as us ignored this and took the front seats both times. We didn't want to cause a scene, but you need to make this much clearer to everyone going on the flight to make it fair to everyone.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Meredith H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Stunning vistas, excellent scenic flights and covered lots of area including circling around Mount Cook. Brilliant snow landing too.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Isadore U New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip was one of the highlights of our two-week journey to the South Island. The views were amazing, and the photo opportunities endless.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It is excellent just to be so close to Mount Cook.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Pamela M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

We were very fortunate to be taken to the Plateau Hut with an employee from the Department of Conservation. The whole experience was mind blowing and a highlight of our holiday in NZ.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message