Hiking, bushwalking and trekking are called "tramping" in New Zealand, one of the top destinations in the world to strap on your walking boots and follow a trail. The country is crisscrossed by a network of tracks linked by overnight huts, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DAVID D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I didnt do that trip!!!!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Aydin M A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great trip. We had a great guide, Hank, who was extremely helpful. The weather was not cooperative but we had, I believe, one the rare experiences of seeing a glacier in the middle of a snow storm. A trip I will never forget. Thanks again.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Kathleen M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour overall was superb. It's a long day but a lot is packed in. The day started off rainy so I wasn't sure how much we would see but as the day went on, the sun came out and once we got to Mount Cook National Park it was beautiful. I really enjoyed that part of the day and the climb up to see the Tasman Glacier was amazing. Our guide was also helpful along the way.

I was expecting a little more direction throughout the day and timings weren't particularly clear. The microphone system also didn't work very well meaning we missed some of what he was telling us - I like to know as much as I can about the places I'm visiting so that was a bit frustrating.

Overall though, a superb day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Rachel P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It is a long drive, bring an iPod or something for the journey but a nice day. The weather wasn't in our favor and we weren't able to see Mt. Cook. Morning Tea was great but lunch for me was lacking. I wished for more from the buffet. Even without great weather it was still a nice day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Nathan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Rush Rush Rush!! The description said you would stop and a winery or a wool place, neither of these happened on our trip! The lunch at the Hermatige was fairly average and if you don't like Asian cuisine then you would go hungry! Driver was not very helpful with us taking our flight and rushed us!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

June A. G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Well worth seeing although it is a long drive from Christ Church. Tour guide did a very nice job, I appreciate the small number of participants as opposed to a huge bus with 50 people!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

George Z Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great time of year to see some of the most beautiful scenery in the country. Long day, but so worth it. Lunch was fabulous.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

LYNN G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great way to see a bit of countryside. Long day but really interesting. Geoff, our driver, had great knowledge of the areas we travelled through. Even though low cloud stopped us from directing viewing Mt Cook I still felt that we had value for money.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

John K United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Had a great although long day out. Unfortunately windy weather precluded any flying, but the weather was otherwise good and the views were great. Driver was very informative and chatty. As visitors to New Zealand, we learned a great deal about life there.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Becky B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The weather did not cooperate -- we could see only a small portion of the mountain before the clouds covered it. Also worth noting that you do not get near a glacier. Had wonderful discussions with the tour guide, though, mostly on native Maori themes -- learned a lot!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Kenneth A Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Driver was good and had great knowledge of the area. Maybe a round trip would be better for such a long day. Enjoyed our lunch and the visit to the center at Mt Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Paige D USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The tour was good and the tour guides were very friendly and nice. However, we were expecting to see the glacier which we did not at all. We were very disappointed that we did not see it and that we were not informed that we were not going to it, which is one of the main attractions of the tour. It was what we were most excited to see. It was very depressing that we went all that way and did not even see it. It was just disappointing and sort of put a damper on the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Note from Viator: Thanks for the note. The tour description is correct, there are however occasions when - due to poor weather - the walk up Tasman Glacier does not take place. We are updating the tour description with this caveat about inclement. We apologize for any convenience.

C.H F Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Overall we had a great trip. A very sweet driver guide accompanied us. Had a lovely lunch at the Hermitage Hotel, very comfortable journey. It's a very scenic drive too! We're glad we didn't miss out!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Johnson H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Amazing scenary, friendly tour guide, highly recommended!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We had a great trip. We really enjoyed hiking up the the glacial lake and down to the banks. That was probaly the highlight of our entire vacation. That being said, the meal at the Hermitage was ho-hum, and surely added to the cost of the trip. We had a lot of fun stopping in Gerladine. Our driver was very helpful and informative, but he seemed to be in a big hurry to get back to Christchurch.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We all had an enjoyable time. Our tour guide was very informative and we enjoyed our lunch with a fabulous view of Mount Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

What an amazing sight. We had a lovely four course meal, but it cut into our time spent admiring the beauty that is Mt Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Matthew R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A wonderful day out. Stunning scenery and a great guide/driver.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Pui Shan T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

A very nice trip! But a little bit uncomfortable when the tour guide was trying to persuade us to take the flight.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Tour guide was very good, knowledgeable and articulate, but trip took too many hours and Mount Cook was not visible. Movie and planetarium at Mount Cook should have been substituted at no extra cost.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Saminda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a great trip, even though we didn't get to see the Mountain because of the rain clouds.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Margaret R Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This was a lovely trip even though the weather didn't allow for a view of Mount Cook. The scenery en route is spectacular. The only drawback was the cramped space in the minibus for such a long trip.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message