India is filled with marvelous metropolises, but Mumbai offers something very different in its heady mix of markets, colonial heritage, cultural hot spots, beaches and big city mayhem. Experience the many rhythms of life in Mumbai on strolls past ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had this tour with Bipin Kumar/ reality tours. I have to tell you first of all that high percentage of the price goes to charity what they spend to improve adult education in the slums amongst other good causes. Bipin was a brilliant guide. What was outstanding that when local beggars followed us he was very respectful with them while made sure that we are not bothered and we have a lovely time. He is very knowledgable and pleasant to spend time with, his english is excellent. You are in for a treat if you book this tour, certainly won't be disappointed.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Friendly and knowledgeable tour guides - Mumbai is so very vibrant - great trip

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Phillip B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We had the elephants caves tour with supersonic tours and with Nitin as a local guide. The tour was a bit strange as we had 3 different guides and there were loads of down times. We have been picked up at the hotel and dropped off by the gate off India where we were handed over to Nitin. The 1 hour boat ride was a bit awkward as we didn't have much communication at all while we saw other guides sharing information. But when we arrived Nitin switched on and we had the most amazing tour all around. You really can tell that he is local and passionate about this place. Nice touch for my wife was that Nitin made copious amount of pictures from us and the carvings. After the tour we had a drink and been dropped off by ourselves on the next boat. So once again a pretty boring 1 hour followed. We have been picked up by a young gentleman forgot his name but had the most amazing moustache who took us to a local restaurant and left us there. It was a bit awkward yet again as we didn't get the foggiest what are we eating and the serving staff wasn't very helpful either o lucky that we don't have any food allergies what could cause problems downside was also that the food was spectacular but as we didn't know what are we eating we couldn't re order it again somewhere else the driver picked us up 40 min later and dropped us by the hotel.

To be honest if Nitin wouldn't have been so fantastic on the tour I would've score a much lower rating but I cannot take away that we know now everything what worth to know about the caves and have some beautiful pictures to look back at

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

Edward V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolute essential introduction to Mumbai for anyone who wants to understand the basics of how the city works. Our guide Bipin, looked after us as if we were long lost friends. This must be the cheapest and most educative tour available.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Romi K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Not recommended this one and make sure you have the tour guide name and number. We were supposed to be picked up by the driver for after tour lunch but he was no show. Txt the tour ppl but no response so we gave up waiting. They txt back later but too late. Not heard from them since.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

Peter A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We did the Dharavi tour by this same company and it was outstanding. The Market tour is less developed. We were led quickly through markets with little help in understanding what was happening or how to buy anything. Our guide had no knowledge on judging quality or price, and talked very

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Ranee P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Saw most attractions through the car window.

Guide was not properly informed regarding the tour. She was giving us a day tour rather than the half-day tour some maybe happy about this.

Malabar Hill - Walk through a park with the tour guide. View of Mumbai hazy.
Dhobi Ghat - Car stops near Dhobi Ghat. We are shown the facilities from the street.
Mani Bhavan - Guide left us at the entrance of the museum. We walked through the venue ourselves. Not really a guided tour.

All three activities can be done independently, tour not required.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

Trevor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip set us up virtually straight off the plane to enjoy moving around using public transport with ease and confidence. Great guides. Excellent value.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour, just what we wanted. Our guide, Bipin Kumar, really could not do enough to ensure we had a memorable time. This tour gave us a real insight into working Mumbai.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

MICHELE g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

a fabulous guide and a lovely day thank you Ram

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

Erin C New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The timing of the tour coincided exactly with the first monsoon rains of the season, which was not at all our guide's fault. However, he didn't make good decisions about transport, leaving us to walk quite a distance through the rain, spent most of the tour walking ahead of us leaving the trainee he had with him to look out for our safety in the traffic and floodwaters, and kept telling us that there was a lot of content he was leaving out because he was more focused on getting us from place to place in the rain. I would have preferred not to know that I wasn't getting the full tour, as this was frankly a bit disappointing. The food was nice, but I wouldn't recommend signing up anywhere near the monsoon season. Be aware as well that the phone number given for reconfirming the tour on the voucher doesn't work.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

Patrick V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A perfectly glance of street-life in Mumbai

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Anna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

During this small group 4 people walking tour we viewed several markets food, flower, jewel, garments. Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Anna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

During this small group (4 people) walking tour we viewed several markets (food, flower, jewel, garments). Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Boban Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really liked our guide Bibin?, who showed us how to travel around Mumbai using all the different modes of transportation available. This was really empowering later during our stay, when we dared take a train trip by ourselves and lived to tell about it! Plus, we got to see some cool areas we wouldn't have gone to on our own. Well worth it!

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Anna T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

During this small group 4 people walking tour we viewed several markets food, flower, jewel, garments. Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Tamasin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was Pippin sorry this might not be quite right as we had so many guides on our trip I have forgotten the exact pronunciation and it was great fun going on the public transport around Mumbai. My partner is a train driver so he especially enjoyed the train trip. It was a great way to see the city from a different perspective and not jumping on and off of a tour bus! the only point it was slightly unnerving is when we needed two taxis as there were 4 on the tour and the guide was of course only with one set of people. You have to trust the taxi will take you where you need to go! Everything was fine with this but it did make me a little nervous! Overall we had a great time and the tour started at 8.30 and finished around 12.00pm. We got a taxi back from the end of the tour to our hotel which the guide helped us organise.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Dvora L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is really an authentic local experience in Mumbai. I find this tour very interesting and enjoyable. The guide Bipin Kumar was excellent. I felt very safe going with him on the public transport around Mumbai and he explained very nicely on the sites we passed on the way.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

susie j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was impressed with the visit - we only confirmed that we could attend the arranged meeting place the am of the trip and so were well pleased when we turned up and were met by the guide. He was good, showed us around a very busy market and then walked along to the Mumbadevi temple. I enjoyed the tour it lasted just the right time as Mumbai was hot and quite sticky. I would recommend the trip as being informative getting the chance to visit a real thriving market as used by locals living in Mumbai. I would have had difficulity in locating it on my own. Information given was very useful.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Teresa C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Met on time at the Regal cinema. I was the only person on the tour.
Had to wait 15 minutes for a taxi who was willing to take us to Crawford market on the meter.
Rushed through the various markets and didn't really get the chance to browse and experience the market. Guide was knowledgable but delivery of the information was dull and he wasn't very enthusiastic. Tour finished in less than 2 hours. A little disappointed at the end of the day as I had been looking forward to the tour.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Ste Smith United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

WoW.. quite an experience this one.. be prepared for a senses overload.!! was very busy just after Christmas..really worth a look.. great tour guide..

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Thuy-Van L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I was the only tourist of the day, it might explain the lack of enthusiasm of the guide. The visit was also shortened because the dabba-wallahs were off on January 26, the Republic Day of India.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Jack D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The driver was talkative and great! The guide was knowledgeable about the area, the history, and even current politics. It was an enjoyable tour that left nothing wanting, except maybe a friend. If I went to Mumbai again I would do this trip a second time, but I would definitely go with a friend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

David N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Spent very little time in markets, guide didn't seem very interested

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message