Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Kieth, was outstanding. He went beyond explaining what we were seeing to give us a broad context for understanding how and why Dachau happened. I would highly recommend this tour and Kieth.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative tour with our outstanding guide Matt. This was my main reason for visiting the Munich area and I was very impressed with the quality of our tour. Without going on this guided tour, we wouldn't have understood much of the history we were there to learn. Highly recommended to go to Dachau with a guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Ashima N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent experience, even though it was quite disturbing.
We took the English tour of Dachau Camp Memorial Site organized by Radius tours. Our guide Kai was extremely knowledgeable and provided a good high level view as well as intricate details of the concentration camp.
If you are planning to visit Dachau, I highly recommend going with a tour guide vis-a-vis a DIY experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Matt was a great guide for the Dachau tour. Gave us the full scope of the camp. Intelligently answered all our questions with ease. We would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to know what happened in the Nazi concentration camps and what led up to the atrocity.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Stacey.Harding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour was very, very good. Well organized and our guide Nicola was extremely valuable for her knowledge and the respect and sensitivity of the Dachau Memorial Site tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Stephen W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Dachau portion was 5-star. The walking tour was a bust. The WT guide was hard to understand so we bailed half way through.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Liliana V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

the walking tour guide had a lot of historical knowledgment but he walked quite fast - great tour to learn things about III Reich and politics :
In Dachau you miss a lot of the museum, better go by yourself

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

bmattey

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Guide was informative, but this does not include a private tour of Dachau - the guide only drops off and helps with audio guide. Not worth the extra expense.

Doing what: Private Tour: Munich City Tour and Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site

gjv001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting and enlightening tour. We were aware of the tragic history associated with Dachau Concentration Camp. However our guide Grit gave us additional information and a perspective from
her research and encounters with others who have studied Dachau's history. Her insight made our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Heidi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alun was our guide for this tour. He was great! He handled our small group with respect. I enjoyed listening to everything he knew about Dachau. He was mindful of the places we would like to spend more time. I also liked the way he kept us together on the way there on the public transportation, so he could talk to us on the way there. My children and I had a very nice day with him.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We could have visited Dachau without a guide, but Michael was so knowledgeable, the stories he shared made this experience special. It was also nice to have someone to direct us to the correct train and bus which made good use of our limited time. Dachau is a place that we should all visit so that we never have to relive the horrible realities that those confined had to endure.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Lynda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on this tour today with Craig and it was an amazing day. Craig is a wealth of knowledge and explained and told the horrid atrocities of Dachau with immense sensitivity. This tour was the main reason we came to Munich to learn and appreciate what happened and to make sure never let this happen again to anyone! Craig a fabulous tour Thankyou, from Lynda and Graham from Australia

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

coachjonblack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. Provided insightful, thoughtful information about Dachau, Germany from both an historical and current lens. On time and easy to communicate with prior to trip. Offered many tour options and answered numerous questions from the time we met to the time we parted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide who told us about the historical context of Dachau and interesting details about people/the surrounding area. Ex. Pregnant women sometimes have their children out of town to make sure their children's birthplace isn't Dachau. The guide gave a fairly comprehensive overview of what happened in the beginning, middle, and end of the war in relation to Dachau and was really receptive to questions of all sorts.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Phil R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an outstanding guide by the name of NIcola who provided very informative context which set the scene for the tour of Dachau. It is a confronting experience but Nicola provided sensitive interpretation. We also did the Third Reich Walking Tour in the afternoon and we were fortunate to have NIcola again for this walking tour which also provided a deep and informative history. HIghly recommended but book in advance in summer as tours were sold out they day went

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Roslyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour, exceptional! If you are interested in WW11 history then do this. I found the Dachau tour very confronting but in a good way that allowed me think and reflect. A must for anyone wanting to have a peek into history and the horrors of a concentration camp.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alun was an excellent guide. There were 8 total in our English speaking group. I saw other groups with 30 or 40 in their group and they had wands they were using to hear the leader or a pre-recorded tour. Their tour was priced similarly. Alun's was much better. We received personal attention throughout. I liked how Alun used the public transportation system rather than a van. It was a fast trip out to Dachau. Alun led us throughout the tour, rather than handing us off to another guide. His knowledge of the time period and era is outstanding and he is an excellent communicator who is sensitive about the subject matter. Throughout the tour he maintained the importance of respect for the memorial. Great tour! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Vanessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Meeting point was easy to find. The guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgable and I found his information so valuable to understanding the importance of Dachau. He gave excellent background information and helped to portray the depth of what was happening at the time. I visited Auschwitz a few days after my trip to Dachau and found that so much of the information I learnt on this tour really helped me understand a lot more of the history there also. It is a tour that will genuinely stay with me forever.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both tours were very interesting. They covered a lot of history. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable One was pursuing a doctoral degree. Seeing the places where history took place put it in a more realistic perspective. The Dachau tour was very sobering and moving.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Dachau guide was very informative and gracious. The Third Reich walking tour was equally as good!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Tiana P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide knew everything there was to know about the third reich. He had the answer or at least a theory to every question, and he was very personable while still being professional. He personalized the tour to the specifications we needed and he was overall the best tour guide I've ever encountered. I recommend this tour to anyone and everyone who wants a thorough tour of Dachau concentration camp.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Deborah F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The guide picked us up and we travelled by train and bus to Dachau concentration Camp.
The guide was very interesting. He spoke great English and the tour started at the hotel entrance. He was knowledgable about many things German and of course Dachau. I have read a number of books both before and after. But whether you have read books or not it is eye opening and a must do in Munich. We had only 3 days. This was definitely worth spending 1 of those days doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip to Dachau was very good, unfortunately the tour guide was a little to philosophical for my liking. I wish we would have had more time to look at the museum instead of listening to him ramble on. Despite having him as a guide the trip to Dachau is truly a sobering experience, I would still recommend it.
The Third Reich portion was excellent! Mark, the tour guide was great, he really knew his history. He did a great job of explaining Munich's role in the rise of the Nazi party. I would totally recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

phillip.jones0816

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The small group tour consisted of 10 people which was great and made for an even better experience at this beautiful memorial. Our tour guide, Mat, was fantastic. His knowledge of Dachau and WWII was tremendous! The train ride/bus ride took very little time. We were given time to wonder around on our own as well. Mat definitely gave us more information than we could have asked for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Raechel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Steve was a WW11 specialist, and was extremely informative and knowledgable about Dachau. A must see, and good reminder of how precious life is and the horror that man is capable of.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message