Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 454 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gjv001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting and enlightening tour. We were aware of the tragic history associated with Dachau Concentration Camp. However our guide Grit gave us additional information and a perspective from
her research and encounters with others who have studied Dachau's history. Her insight made our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Heidi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alun was our guide for this tour. He was great! He handled our small group with respect. I enjoyed listening to everything he knew about Dachau. He was mindful of the places we would like to spend more time. I also liked the way he kept us together on the way there on the public transportation, so he could talk to us on the way there. My children and I had a very nice day with him.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We could have visited Dachau without a guide, but Michael was so knowledgeable, the stories he shared made this experience special. It was also nice to have someone to direct us to the correct train and bus which made good use of our limited time. Dachau is a place that we should all visit so that we never have to relive the horrible realities that those confined had to endure.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Lynda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on this tour today with Craig and it was an amazing day. Craig is a wealth of knowledge and explained and told the horrid atrocities of Dachau with immense sensitivity. This tour was the main reason we came to Munich to learn and appreciate what happened and to make sure never let this happen again to anyone! Craig a fabulous tour Thankyou, from Lynda and Graham from Australia

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

coachjonblack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. Provided insightful, thoughtful information about Dachau, Germany from both an historical and current lens. On time and easy to communicate with prior to trip. Offered many tour options and answered numerous questions from the time we met to the time we parted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide who told us about the historical context of Dachau and interesting details about people/the surrounding area. Ex. Pregnant women sometimes have their children out of town to make sure their children's birthplace isn't Dachau. The guide gave a fairly comprehensive overview of what happened in the beginning, middle, and end of the war in relation to Dachau and was really receptive to questions of all sorts.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Phil R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an outstanding guide by the name of NIcola who provided very informative context which set the scene for the tour of Dachau. It is a confronting experience but Nicola provided sensitive interpretation. We also did the Third Reich Walking Tour in the afternoon and we were fortunate to have NIcola again for this walking tour which also provided a deep and informative history. HIghly recommended but book in advance in summer as tours were sold out they day went

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Roslyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour, exceptional! If you are interested in WW11 history then do this. I found the Dachau tour very confronting but in a good way that allowed me think and reflect. A must for anyone wanting to have a peek into history and the horrors of a concentration camp.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alun was an excellent guide. There were 8 total in our English speaking group. I saw other groups with 30 or 40 in their group and they had wands they were using to hear the leader or a pre-recorded tour. Their tour was priced similarly. Alun's was much better. We received personal attention throughout. I liked how Alun used the public transportation system rather than a van. It was a fast trip out to Dachau. Alun led us throughout the tour, rather than handing us off to another guide. His knowledge of the time period and era is outstanding and he is an excellent communicator who is sensitive about the subject matter. Throughout the tour he maintained the importance of respect for the memorial. Great tour! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Deborah F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The guide picked us up and we travelled by train and bus to Dachau concentration Camp.
The guide was very interesting. He spoke great English and the tour started at the hotel entrance. He was knowledgable about many things German and of course Dachau. I have read a number of books both before and after. But whether you have read books or not it is eye opening and a must do in Munich. We had only 3 days. This was definitely worth spending 1 of those days doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip to Dachau was very good, unfortunately the tour guide was a little to philosophical for my liking. I wish we would have had more time to look at the museum instead of listening to him ramble on. Despite having him as a guide the trip to Dachau is truly a sobering experience, I would still recommend it.
The Third Reich portion was excellent! Mark, the tour guide was great, he really knew his history. He did a great job of explaining Munich's role in the rise of the Nazi party. I would totally recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

phillip.jones0816

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The small group tour consisted of 10 people which was great and made for an even better experience at this beautiful memorial. Our tour guide, Mat, was fantastic. His knowledge of Dachau and WWII was tremendous! The train ride/bus ride took very little time. We were given time to wonder around on our own as well. Mat definitely gave us more information than we could have asked for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Raechel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Steve was a WW11 specialist, and was extremely informative and knowledgable about Dachau. A must see, and good reminder of how precious life is and the horror that man is capable of.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tours were both conducted by such an informed and sensitive guide. It was an emotional experience which was handled so well. Both the trip out to Dachau easy, quick transport by train and bus and the walking tour of Munich were educational and eye opening. I highly recommend both. And it is NOT too strenuous to do both in one day.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

sgilli2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walking into Dachau was very sobering and emotional. Having an extremely knowledgeable guide who is a great story teller made it that much more powerful. Our guide Steve was exceptional and really helped frame what it was like in camp. It was heartbreaking and surreal being there. I would highly recommend this tour. It had an impact on me that I will never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Dianne P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everyone should plan a visit to Dachau for history's sake. Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Be prepared to be on your feet the full 4 hours at Dachau. Places to sit and rest for a minute or two are very rare. I've been twice and taken teenagers with me both times. Important to see this place and not just read about it in textbooks.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing, moving tour. Our guide Natale was so knowledgeable and really guided us through the camp. She had tremendous insights and knowledge about Dachau. My only regret is that we didn't take her next tour on the third reich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Neil G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A really interesting tour of Dachau in the morning with Craig. Lots of fascinating information, shared in a way that didn't leave you feeling bombarded. For the afternoon tour, Keith was a great guide too. We actually split these two tours over several days, as we didn't arrive back in time for the Third Reich Tour. But even if we had arrived back in time, it would have been exhausting. I think one tour is enough for one day.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Victor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You have to visit Dachau if you are in Munich whatever the reason of your travel. The guide was nice and had loads of information to tell. The third reich tour was really informative, the guide tell you about the places in munich that were important to the nazi party. Some building that that you would have pass in front of, contain a lot of time a lot of history.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Tiffany L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My tour guide was very very knowledgable about Dachau and was really helpful and accommodating to the tour group. Not everyone was familiar with the world history, and our guide was very patient with all of our questions. I enjoyed the tour very much and felt like I learned a lot!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul met us at Marienplatz as expected. We then used public transportation with quick connections and with all fares being included in the tour price to reach Dachau. Paul was very knowledgeable about Dachau and the World Wars and the rise and fall of Hitler and concentration camps. After giving us a guided tour of the main features of Dachau we had time to go back and explore areas of interest in more detail. Paul was very friendly and professional and provided us a great in-depth experience.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

christy.brown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I learned so much on this tour. Matt, our guide, was very knowledgeable on the history of the Dachau Concentration Camp while being respectful of the lives lost at this facility. This was our first Viator experience and we will certainly use this source in the future.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Leonardo D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a great deal about the history of Dachau. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for a lot of standing and walking.

Overall a great tour

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Nathalie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very interesting visit of Dachau. Our guide was very knowledgeable but we could have benefited from a microphone or even better the individual ones that some compagnies have. Afternoon tour was a bit long and very fast walking but interesting. Again, microphones would have helped to hear everything or much smaller group.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Amanda M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kevin was more than qualified and shared great insight into the history of Dachau.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message