Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

phillip.jones0816

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The small group tour consisted of 10 people which was great and made for an even better experience at this beautiful memorial. Our tour guide, Mat, was fantastic. His knowledge of Dachau and WWII was tremendous! The train ride/bus ride took very little time. We were given time to wonder around on our own as well. Mat definitely gave us more information than we could have asked for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Raechel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Steve was a WW11 specialist, and was extremely informative and knowledgable about Dachau. A must see, and good reminder of how precious life is and the horror that man is capable of.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tours were both conducted by such an informed and sensitive guide. It was an emotional experience which was handled so well. Both the trip out to Dachau easy, quick transport by train and bus and the walking tour of Munich were educational and eye opening. I highly recommend both. And it is NOT too strenuous to do both in one day.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

sgilli2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walking into Dachau was very sobering and emotional. Having an extremely knowledgeable guide who is a great story teller made it that much more powerful. Our guide Steve was exceptional and really helped frame what it was like in camp. It was heartbreaking and surreal being there. I would highly recommend this tour. It had an impact on me that I will never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Dianne P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everyone should plan a visit to Dachau for history's sake. Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Be prepared to be on your feet the full 4 hours at Dachau. Places to sit and rest for a minute or two are very rare. I've been twice and taken teenagers with me both times. Important to see this place and not just read about it in textbooks.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing, moving tour. Our guide Natale was so knowledgeable and really guided us through the camp. She had tremendous insights and knowledge about Dachau. My only regret is that we didn't take her next tour on the third reich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Neil G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A really interesting tour of Dachau in the morning with Craig. Lots of fascinating information, shared in a way that didn't leave you feeling bombarded. For the afternoon tour, Keith was a great guide too. We actually split these two tours over several days, as we didn't arrive back in time for the Third Reich Tour. But even if we had arrived back in time, it would have been exhausting. I think one tour is enough for one day.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Victor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You have to visit Dachau if you are in Munich whatever the reason of your travel. The guide was nice and had loads of information to tell. The third reich tour was really informative, the guide tell you about the places in munich that were important to the nazi party. Some building that that you would have pass in front of, contain a lot of time a lot of history.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Leonardo D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a great deal about the history of Dachau. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for a lot of standing and walking.

Overall a great tour

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Nathalie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very interesting visit of Dachau. Our guide was very knowledgeable but we could have benefited from a microphone or even better the individual ones that some compagnies have. Afternoon tour was a bit long and very fast walking but interesting. Again, microphones would have helped to hear everything or much smaller group.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Amanda M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kevin was more than qualified and shared great insight into the history of Dachau.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

petewoody48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour. Very sobering subject but thoughtfully and thoroughly handled. Convenient connections from the Munich MainT Station. A short but nice train ride to the town of Dachau. Very thorough tour conducted by the local tour operators and contract guide Grit R. We were back in Munich by about 2pm and still had a half day free.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Tina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite being a somber site, we really enjoyed as much as you can enjoy a concentration camp this tour. I believe that Dachau is a must see for everyone to help people understand that atrocities that occurred here.

Our guide, JEFF, was amazing. he really brought the history of this place alive while respecting it at the same time. He was very knowledgeable without sounding like a text book and very personable. Jeff was also experienced in guiding us through the site in a way that avoided most of the tour groups and school groups so that we could take private moments to reflect on what we were seeing and learning about at Dachau. Informative, educational and often appropriately entertaining. We enjoyed Jeff as a guide so much that when we returned from this tour we booked the afternoon Hitler Munich tour with him as well and stuck through the whole tour despite the downpour just to hear what information he had to share. THANKS Jeff!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

yteb74

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Matt was very well versed on all aspects of Dachau and welcomed all questions. He also gave some very good information on Munich for later in the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Eric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide at Dachau was fantastic. She knew the history, facts, and had personal insight to share. She was a 10 out of 10. Our afternoon walking tour started a little slow but he was also knoweldgable. The walking tour could be done on your own, as the day got long by the end of that portion of the combo ticket. Recommendation: Dachau is a must, the walking tour could be done without.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Ryan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Dachau Memorial tour was eye opening and a must see. I heard a lot of people before we booked saying that we did not need a tour to show us around. I beg to differ. Kai who was our guide gave us an amazing tour of the memorial and we got a great history lesson as well. I highly recommend this tour to everybody if you are visiting the Munich area. The train/bus combo took about 30-45 minutes and Kai walked us through the whole camp and talked about the history and made you look through the eyes of the victims. I will always remember this experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and touching tour to Dachau. Sad part of Germany and human history.
We really liked our Third Reich walk tour with Jeff, who showed us lots of interesting places associated with Nazis and Hitler's road to power.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see tour for anyone touched by the tragedy of WWII. The trip to Dachau was moving. The guide was knowledgeable and while somber and tragic, the tour was most educational. This is a must see if you have never been to a concentration camp. Be ready for some serious walking, between both tours and the walk to the train station from our hotel 1 mile each way we logged 10 miles on our fit bit. Good thing my wife and I are walkers and in good shape. If 10 miles is too much for you, I'd suggest doing Dachau one day, and the Third Reich Walking Tour on a second day. Doing both tours in one day will be too much if you are not in shape.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Joseph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our Tour Guide Matt was amazing with his knowledge, history of Dachau.
It made our Germany trip very memorable and Dachau with be with us for a long time.
Thank You Matt

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is AMAZING! As one would expect it's a sobering and poignant tour of a dark part of the world's history. Our tour guide, Steve, was INCREDIBLE!! Hands down, Steve, absolutley made this tour as incredible as it was! The morning portion took us by train to Dachau's train depot where we then boarded a bus to the camp. We were a group of 20 can't recall just how many and Steve always managed to keep us together and managed to engage with everyone in the group. He had an amazing background in military history and subsequently offered incredible insight, back stories and gave us an overall sense of the role that Dachau had played in the Nazi machine. We had approximately 3 hours at the camp. Two of the hours were well spent with Steve narrating what we were seeing. Then he gave us an hour, plotting a perfect course for us, to follow while on our own and take it all in. We trained back to Munich. We then had about an hour break before meeting up with him again for the walking tour throughout Munich. The afternoon group was significantly smaller which made this portion even more INCREDIBLE! I can't say enough about our guide, Steve! Once again, his knowledge and expertise on the subject gave the group a comprehensive narrative of the city and it's role in the rise of the Nazi party. I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone visiting Munich take THIS tour! I would also urge you to get, Steve, with Radius Tours to be your guide! If there were more than 5 stars to give I would give them!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Cathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! I highly recommend going with a tour when visiting Dachau, gives you a lot of background and history that you otherwise would not have! The tour company did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Brenda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tom was an entertaining, informative guide that told us many interesting facts about the history of Dachau. Taking the tour was much better than trying to visit the site on our own.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

erika.guess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thanks to our very knowledgeable guide Mat it was very illuminating and meaningful experience. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the memorial and gain a realistic and factual understanding of what happened in Dachau Concentration Camp. Erika G

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very confronting trip to Dachau but it was a story I had to hear. The guide was very passionate about the subject

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I have been to Dachau several times, but I have never had a tour as detailed and interesting as this one. Alun is very knowledgeable about the history of Dachau. This is a small group tour which is the only way to do this. He is very personable and is very open to questions. After his tour we were given time on our own to go through the museum. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message