Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

juleswag71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was a great way to see Dachau. Our guide, Matt, was great! He was friendly and very knowledgeable. He explained why Dachau became the first camp, the history of Hitler and then provided a tour of the Memorial Site and explained many details about each of the areas we toured. If you want a tour that provides a lot of information about the History of the camp, this is your tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Antoinette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Ian gave us a great tour of the area. He was very informative and knowledgeable of what happened at Dachau. We had the perfect amount of people in our group - only 12. Transportation was easy and it wasn't difficult finding the Radius Tours. It did take me awhile to initially find information on where the exact meet-up/check-in location would be but I was able to find it on here. Basically you would go to the Munich Central Station Hauptbahnhof and it would be located behind platforms 32-35. Hope this helps! Great tour overall!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Jessie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I recommend taking this tour in the morning. Very sad but needed if traveling near Dachau. Our tour guide was absolutely fantastic! I never felt bored once. He was so interesting and provided my mom and great places to go after the tour in Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Terrina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Humbling tour that was very well presented by our guide Steven. We met at HBF in Munich, transported by train and then bus to Dachau. A thought provoking experience recommended to all so we don't forget about this terrible autrosity.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Liz H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can go to Dachau without a guide, but this is a superb trip, with an excellent guide Ian. Full of unbiased, intelligent and thoughtful facts. Take warm clothing!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Sari G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alun has it all covered - he's sensitive and extremely knowledgable, plus he has all the logistics down pat. A perfect Dachau experience.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Janice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alun was undoubtedly the best tour guide I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. His passion to tell the story of Dachau, his breadth of knowledge, and his presentation of the material were all top-notch! You cannot go wrong with this tour or this guide!

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Mhazenbush

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had an excellent guide who had papers prepared with good information and it was clear he was very knowledgeable about Dachau. I understand many previous travelers have wanted to be in the Museum at their own pace. I could understand the reasoning however,
I found it harder to gauge the time and may have missed some pretty important things because our guide was not with us. It is a very difficult place to experience but our overview and narrative was excellent.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

James G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alun met the four of us at the Christmas market area in Munich. We added nine others, and he took us to the Dachau Concentration Camp via train. His explanations and obvious concern about what happened seventy years ago were palpable. We spent two weeks touring the Christmas markets of Austria and Germany, and his tour was one of the highlights of our weeks. I cannot recommend him highly enough!!!

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

AG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a very good half day tour to Dachau in September this year. Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Janel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Adam our guide was very knowledgeable about the subject area and provided important background information prior to arrival at Dachau. I learned new information about the camp that I had never heard before. The entire experience was very respectful and humbling. Everyone should see this so it never happens again.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Steve M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We had a really good tour guide who set the scene from the off, and carried the reality of Dachau and German history throught the tour culminating in the memorial. We had an overcast and cold day, which was most fitting. Many thanks..

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

maria k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Despite of pouring rain, our tour to Dachau Concentration camp with Nicola was outstanding. The experience is quite sobering. The guide was professional, knowledgeable and very attentive to our questions. Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Daniel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was incredible. Our guide, Craig, was highly knowledgeable and really respected the solemn nature that was appropriate for the venue. He had information to share across the memorial site and was very open to questions from the group.

We did the Third Reich Walking Tour the day before and I believe that doing that first was a very good bit of pre-work before experiencing Dachau.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Taryn B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a value this was! Both tours were incredible... and we had about 45 minutes in between tours to eat a quick sandwich/pretzel. Both tour guides were funny, passionate and extremely knowledgeable. The price couldn't be beat, as it also includes transport to and from Dachau. We appreciated our that our guide on the Third Reich Walking Tour gave us a little time to self-explore some locations as well as ample time to sit in between our walking! He knew all the great places to have a seat in Munich city center! :

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Ron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. Our guide, Dave was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. He offered many insights about Dachau and the surrounding areas. We saw many of the sights I had read about in Munich.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an outstanding tour. Our guide was extraordinarily well informed. Our small group 8 made this visit to this somber site easy. All questions were answered and we had sufficient time to explore the on-site museum.. Our guide pointed out the moral complexities of the camp system at Dachau and the role of the SS. Highly, highly recommended even though the topic is grim

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everyone should tour Dachau or another concentration camp. Our guide, Steve, was an extremely knowledgeable history buff and a terrific presenter. I learned a lot more from him than I did in class. I wish I could rate this more than 5 stars.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Francis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and I had a great time on this tour with our guide Steven. He was very knowledgable about Dachau and the historical events of the time that contributed to the overall experience. Highly recommend this trip for anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent half-day tour. Our guide, Nicole, was on time and made sure that no one in the group got lost at any of the transportation points. She answered all questions posed to her in a respectful manner and demonstrated her deep understanding of the historical context within which the Dachau Concentration Camp was created. She honestly answered the questions posed by Americans. We will invite our family members to take this tour with us when they come to visit later this year, and we look forward to taking more tours with Viator.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Vi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided an in depth insight into the Dachau memorial. A very valuable experience! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was very memorable. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and traveling with him on the public transportation system to Dachau was an educational experience in and of itself. Could have spent more than a half a day at Dachau - lots to read and see.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Lauren C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was extremely knowledgable and shared lots of information with the group as he showed us around Dachau.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Kieth, was outstanding. He went beyond explaining what we were seeing to give us a broad context for understanding how and why Dachau happened. I would highly recommend this tour and Kieth.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative tour with our outstanding guide Matt. This was my main reason for visiting the Munich area and I was very impressed with the quality of our tour. Without going on this guided tour, we wouldn't have understood much of the history we were there to learn. Highly recommended to go to Dachau with a guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message