Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

English Garden (Englischer Garten)

The Englischer Garten, German for "English Garden", is one of the world's largest urban parks - even larger than New York's Central Park. Named for the English style of landscape gardening, the park is popular with locals and visitors alike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is the best way to tour old Munich. You couldn't walk all the distance we covered plus we went into the English Garden that was so beautiful. You also get great historical information on a ride that isn't a killer, there were lots of stops along the way. Going to the biergarten was a highlight. Dave was our guide and he was lots of fun - so glad we had him. I was worried that it would be a little too frat house party but it wasn't.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour with Optional Königsplatz and Olympiapark Visit

Carole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a tour with local Chris who was enthusiastic and totally informative. We enjoyed all the stops where he told us both historical and modern points. The stop at the beer garden then watching the Munich surfers were highlights. Overall we got a good sense of the city layout, a bit of history, a bit of local culture and lots of tips of where to go and what to do on our own. A great tour!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Brooke R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Awesome way to see Munich! The only reason I am giving 4 stars is because I feel the description is a little misleading - we did stop at the Chinese beer garden but we didn't have beer or food. Loved our tour guide and group though!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Aniruddha A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

City Cycling tour:
Cycling through city and visit to english gardens was nice experience. Our guide was Chris was very knowledgeable. We visited all the main squares in old city.

Beer tour in the evening was fantastic. It was very informative. Chris explained History and Beer culture of Munich when we visited Oktoberfest Museum and tested the beers. After that we went to Beer Garden and Hofbrauhaus.
Enjoyed both the tours!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian Beer and Food Evening

amberdean

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide was nice, but we didn and #39;t feel she gave us enough information about the places/buildings we were seeing. She took off on us a few times, weaving through traffic. (You should be confident in city riding)The traffic was a bit crazy. The tour itself was awesome. We loved englischer garden!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Laura Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! Guide was excellent - Beer garden was the highlight :

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour with Optional Königsplatz and Olympiapark Visit

Lori R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Love, love, loved this tour!! Dani, our guide was awesome....she was extremely knowledgeable about the history and its history. We rode by many sites and even rode through a beautiful park. We stopped for food and drinks in the beer garden in the park. The ride was easy and leisurely and totally fun thanks to our great guide, Dani!!!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic bike ride and loved all the sights. I really liked the stop at the beer garden. The tour guide was entertaining and cute. lol

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour with Optional Königsplatz and Olympiapark Visit

Lynette/Mel S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good ride and our guide Yolanda was very good. Would liked to have stopped a little more frequently to learn about monuments and buildings we rode past but overall a good experience, loved riding through the English garden.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Audrey G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It was too hard to understand any of the tour operators...they did not speak very good English
Your stops were not the best...English Garden was a long walk with no help on directions given us to find it.
There were much closer places they could have stop but didn't
Would not do this again and would not recommend it...

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ROBYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fortunately Munich is a safe city for cyclists because we didn't get offered any high viz vests, helmets, nor any advice as to the road rules. We just got on our bikes and went. Stopped often for a chat from Jeff (our guide) as to what we were looking at. Informative. Great way to see the city. English garden is impressive. Don't forget to look for the surfers in the stream.
Beer tour was much more enjoyable than expected. Austin (our guide) was funny, but informative. German beer is very nice. We drank beer for the next 4 weeks while in Europe!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian Beer and Food Evening

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We did this tour on our first full day in Munich as a family of 3 (including a teenage son) and it provided a great overview for the remainder of our Munich stay. Iahn was our tour guide and he was terrific with intimate knowledge of Munich history and great stories to tell with each stop. Bicycling is mostly easy and flat in Munich with one or two small hills above the English Garden (Munich's large city park) We covered a lot of ground in 3.5 hours so do recommend that you are in basic biking shape as the pace can be a bit brisk at times (but this was too our liking).

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Melba C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour was excellent. The only problem, which was significant, was finding the bus stop. We wanted to start as close as possible to our hotel and searched for quite a while before finding the stop. We suggest you include an address for the different stops. We were at the Schwabing/English Garden stop. We experienced the same challenge in Berlin and to a lesser extent in Prague.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Whitney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great way to get around the town and see what places you want to explore more. We got off at the Royal Gardens, Olympic park and Marienplatz. The Royal Gardens were absolutely beautiful and worth exploring.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour absolutely made me fall in love with Muinch. We booked this tour for our last full day in the city, and it was amazing. Our tour guide Iain and his trusty sidekick Bernie did a tremendous job. Iain was lighthearted and funny, but he knew a lot about the places he showed us. We were lucky and had a small group (there was three of us, plus Iain) so it was easy to chat and ask questions and take it all in. Iain made sure the group was safe and always behind him. Plus how cool is it to go on a bike tour with a dog that rides along in the basket pretty much the whole time, harasses passers-by and eats everything people give him at the local beer garden. They are both cool dudes. Plus, Iain's bike is a postal bike - how cool is that? Cannot wait to get back to Munich. I would do this tour 100x over!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Sanjay K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see the wonderful city and heritage of Munich. We recommend the Grand tour. Started the tour in the outer circle (BMW museum, Olympic city, English Gardens) and then took the inner circle. The buses are every 20-30mins. Staying in a hotel near the main Munich train station made the trip very convenient. The trip starts opposite the main Munich train station. But you can pickup hop-on/off the bus at any of the 10 designated stops. Thanks to Viator, the trip was well-organized and they have a great partnership with the the best tour operators. We booked 4 different tours through Viator in 2 different countries, and all the tours were well-organized.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

artist4rags USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Munich bike tour was the best tour of our whole trip. Iain and Bernie were our giudes. Iain was funny and energetic about the city. He took us around and made us feel like we were just like the locals. His dog Bernie was so sweet, just kickin it in the basket. We stopped at a beer garden ate some food, seen some naked dude at the park, watched some crazy people surf in the park. The tour was an excellent speed, and not a strenuous bike ride. I fell in love with Munich and the state of Bavaria. When we come back to Europe, we are taking this tour again. Thanks Iain for such a memorable bike ride. Also the bikes were perfect.comfortable, they even gave us our own baskets. Just talking about this tour makes me want to go back!! sniff sniff.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Allison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Jarrod, our tour guide, lead us through Munich on a nice easy paced, safe bike ride. The day was beautiful. Lunch in the English Garden was very nice. We learned alot about the history of Munich.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Judy & Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Wow!! Yolanda was perfect. Full of life and energy. Lots of info. The info from the 2nd WW was fascinating. She had "2" surprises to show us that is not mentioned on Viator. I won't spoil her surprise. It was perfect! This was a beautiful city and perfect way to see it. I wish we had done this in the other major cities. We ended at a beautiful lively Beer Garden for lunch (not the chinese beer garden). There was a live band playing and what an ending to a beautiful ride. Don't miss this tour of Munich!!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Jenny S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The bike tour was great fun and a really good way to see parts of Munich, like the English garden, the Hofgarten, the "Welle" and the river banks, which would be too far on foot. Our guide, Gertraud gave us lots of interesting information about the history, landmarks and life of the city of Munich, which would have taken a long time to study in a guide book. I really enjoyed the tour and felt I saw more of the city in 3.5 hours than I had done the whole of the day before on foot.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

John USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

At English Garden bus was full and we were told a second bus was less than 5 minutes away, it was more like 25 minutes. I waited 40 minutes in the rain for a bus.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Our family of 9 had a great time on this tour. The guide was excellent but completely unconcerned about time. I think we got back about an hour an a half later than scheduled. Spent a lot of time at the Chinese Garden which made it quite relaxing. The group was too large.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Nice orientation tour. Be sure to mark on your map where the beer gardens are, then revisit later!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Fay

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

It was really not good. We were never told by the guide that if we wanted to tour the BMW factory it had to be done by a certain time. Also when dropped off there we were told to just take the walking bridge over to the Olympic Stadium and to meet by the bathroom area. Knowone we asked knew where this pick up point was and we spent well over two hours trying to find it and then just returning to the BMW pickup point that we knew. Our first guide gave very little info or history as we drove by areas. We did visit the Palace for the one hour stop. Only our last tour guide gave any real info or history that was useful We had wanted to go to the Beer Gardens but she told us that by this time in the afternoon we would not be able to make it back to the pickup and it was a long walk and probably most would be closed by this time in the day. It was a real waste of money and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Oliver G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This is by far the best way to explore Munich. As it was Easter Sunday, the city was very quiet, which was perfect for cycling. The English Garden was definitely not quiet, and our guide, Ian, was more than happy to sit with us for a couple of hours in the garden eating, drinking and chatting. We felt that Ian read the group extremely well and tailored the tour accordingly. Munich is a lovely city, and I cannot think of a better way to explore it than on a bike.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message