Germans' love of beer is unrivaled worldwide, and Munich is home to Bavaria's most celebrated beer hall: Hofbrauhaus. Formerly the royal brewery for the Kingdom, Hofbrauhaus is now owned by the state government and also has the second largest tent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Open top bus took us on sightseeing tour before we got off to walk to the Hofbrauhaus for dinner. It was an excellent dinner but we ate in a small side room and not in the larger dining hall. After dinner and some walking tour near the Hofbrauhaus, we got on the bus again and went to the Olympic Tower where we first went to the top to see the town and then down to the rotating restaurant for a cocktail and socializing for a 40 minutes. Then back on the bus for a few more sights before returning to the starting point. All in all, it was a very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

C J F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Dani gets a big thumbs up from us. She gave us good insights into the Munich beer history and culture and we had a fun evening ending with more drinks at the Hofbrauhaus with our new found friends from the tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really fun! Were given beers as soon as the trip started and then had great samples along the way. The Hofbrauhaus was too full to sit down and have a beer at when the tour concluded. I definitely recommend this tour for your first night in Munich!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

hawaiianjoyce

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour for the experience of the Hofbrauhaus and city lights tour.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Ali

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We arrived at the central station however starting our tour we need to get on the subway to the first location. would have made sense to start at the first location, waste less time waiting and perhaps fit another drink or bar in! We were waiting for one other member of the group so we had to stand outside the main office in the middle of the central station and listen to our guide speak. We were given a beer, which was great, however would had loved a little more time to enjoy it or perhaps to sit down.

The first location was the Oktoberfest museum. Unfortunately didn't seem too planned as 4 people did not get a chair to sit on unfortunately my husband and I were 2 of them. The drinks were good and the history explaining everything were great. Our guide seemed very nice but lacked in the ability to control and gain interest of everyone in the group, however they perhaps were a little distracted. After the Oktoberfest museum we head to another restaurant and had our meal. Food was okay however would have loved to hear more about each food item and its history.

Finally after dinner we headed to the Hofbrauhaus. We ended the tour outside the restaurant, didn't even go in as a group! I felt the tour was a cut a little short. Our guide was nice but have been on other tours where the guides are more lively and know how to interact with everyone.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Adam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Keith did a fantastic job of making my 6- and 8-year-olds comfortable. While this is definitely an adult tour, there was nothing -- other than sample the beers -- that the kids couldn't do. Keith made the Beer Museum fun and told some hilarious stories about the history of beer. We sampled some very tasty Bavarian food and there was plenty of it. In fact, my only suggestion would be to end the tour there, instead of going to the Hofbrauhaus, which I do not think anybody from my tour went into. Again, Keith did a great job and this was money well spent. Speaking of which, bring some Euros on the tour, because there will be opportunities to buy beers along the way. As an added bonus, my kids now do the Cooper dance to let onlookers know that the plague is over. However, it was slightly awkward in church, especially for those that weren't aware of the plague in the first place.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Sondra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. The beer at the train station is a nice way to start things off, but it was a bit on the warm side. From there you ride the subway and lightrails to a few destinations and get some really great insight to the city, food, and beer. You will have to buy some beers but they are not expensive. Food was a traditional meat and sausage platter. It was raining when we went, I would have preferred to sit in the beer garten, but not sure that's ever an option. Highly recommend doing this tour. FYI it ends at the Hofbrauhaus, but otherwise has nothing to do with it. You will get there late, so meals will be limited if you plan on eating there. Go next door, not where the tour ends, much more fun and lively there than in the restaurant.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Philippa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip to the hofbrauhaus with tour guide Max. Nice small group. Great value highly recommend.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Aniruddha A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

City Cycling tour:
Cycling through city and visit to english gardens was nice experience. Our guide was Chris was very knowledgeable. We visited all the main squares in old city.

Beer tour in the evening was fantastic. It was very informative. Chris explained History and Beer culture of Munich when we visited Oktoberfest Museum and tested the beers. After that we went to Beer Garden and Hofbrauhaus.
Enjoyed both the tours!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian Beer and Food Evening

Terry

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Disappointed in Dinner at Hofbrauhaus. Did not get to experience the full atomosphere. Stuck in a room upstairs for supper. The trip to the Olympian tower was great.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

mroehl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This tour is not worth doing, The Hofbrauhaus was good but could be done on its own. The Olympic tower would be better during the day where you can really tell what you are looking at. The drink in the nightclub was actually a drink in a restaurant, where they did not know we were coming and it was very awkward. Save your money

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the tour and guide. The Oktoberfest museum was interesting. I didn't realize there was a HofbrauKeller and a HofbrauHaus, two separate stops, both requiring you to purchase your own beer. Would have been nice to get a free sample/taste from some place besides the Oktoberfest museum.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

katiejmoorefield

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

What made this trip was Keith; he was hilarious and made the group feel comfortable. You get about 4 beer tastings, but have to pay for your beer at the restaurant. You also are just dropped of at Hofbrauhaus. Four stars d/t the fact that I had to pay for a lot of my beer, spending around 35 euros

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

LeAnn A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Although we had an enjoyable evening, it was not as advertised. We did not go to any museum and learn any history of beer making. The tour company was scrambling at the last minute to find places to take us, the only set reservation was where we had food but still paid for our beer. As for ending at the Hofbrauhaus, that was a joke no reservation and long lines to get in, we literally stopped OUTSIDE and were told if you want to get in you'll have to wait in line!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fabulous time, though after leaving the Hofbrauhaus evrywhere else felt a little rushed. However in the scheme of things this mattered little a highly recommended tour if you can get on it.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Tim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, highly recommended! Food was great! Beer was great! Learned some history and met some great people. Ending the tour at the Hofbrauhaus was the bonus allowing some of us to experience one of the most traditional beer halls in the world.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Ray T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I will review in four parts. The bus tour of Munich at night was OK but due to the rain it was hard to see. Also repeating everything in English and German became tiring. The Hofbrauhaus dinner was good with a reserved table in a very crowded beer hall. This was the best part of the tour. Going to the top of the Olympic Tower would have been great if not for the wind and rain. Having a cocktail in a nightclub was Ok but could have been left out. It was not that great. Overall the trip was well guided and worth the price. Going to the dinner in the beer hall would have been enough to make it worthwhile.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Madison United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I would not recommend this tour and it was definitely not worth 74.25. The bus ride to Hofbrauhaus was ok there were facts given along the ride. During dinner at Hofbrauhaus everyone pretty much did there own thing, I didn't quite understand what was going on neither did my sister this left us to coming up with our own interpretations on what was happening. Afterwards we rushed over to the Olympic Tower, at the top it was very cold and there wasn't much to see. Then we went to a very conservative hotel Hilary Clinton stays there lol and we had a quiet drink and that was it, this definitely was not a club environment. During the drink me and the rest of the people on the tour discussed how this tour definitely did not meet our expectations and how we could have just went and had dinner at Hofbrauhaus by ourselves and ordered a drink. I would not recommend this tour to anyone under 50! I was sadly disappointed...

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Irene USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an awesome night! The Hofbrauhaus had great food and amazing entertainment. I especially loved the atmosphere inside the beer hall. Everyone was enjoying themselves in there! One of my favorite parts was when the chef came out with several musicians and started serving pig right in front of my table. Seeing Munich from the top of the Olympic Tower after our dinner was wonderful too!

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Fredrik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well organized with a tour bus taking us to the different destinations. I enjoyed the vegetarian dinner at Hofbrauhaus selection of mushrooms in a risotto. Typical German beer hall music that set the tone for the evening didn't disappoint either. The steins were flowing wild and it was Gemutlichkeit to 100. After a brief visit to the Olympic Tower, the final stop was a jazz club at a hotel called Bayerischer Hof. I decided to stay behind when the rest of the group were taken back by the bus to the starting point. Had a really good time practicing my German with the locals.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Vanessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We started out at the tour office having a beer, took the train and visited the beer museum, got many samples of different types of beer, and got a great selection of Bavarian food at the Hofbrauhaus Keller. It was a great tour and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Kevin V

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

couldn't see anything on from the bus ride or when at the Olympic park and tower. The only thing that makes the tour worth it was dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. We had the best table up against the stage and the food was good. Atmosphere at the hofbrauhaus is second to none.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Casey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Coming into this tour, I wasn’t sure what to expect – we’d seen both positive and negative reviews, but assumed those reviews were based on expectations (for instance, negative reviews for the Olympic Tower portion b/c it was too foggy – not something Viator or the tour guide could control… Or the ‘night club’ portion where there wasn’t enough seating, it was too loud, etc.). So we tried to go into this tour with an open mind and were pleasantly surprised with the outcome. Reiner, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history and culture of the city. He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and more than tolerable with our group when we took part in the bier consumption at the Hofbrauhaus dinner. The Hofbrauhaus was an absolute blast – we had a table along the perimeter of the room, so we had a perfect vantage point for taking it all in.

One caveat to our tour, they altered the order of the tour b/c it was Oktoberfest – we went to the night club after Hofbrauhaus, but before the Olympic Tower, so although we had a private room and it was a very pleasant atmosphere in the night club, the club/dancing portion hadn’t technically opened yet – we got there around 9 and it didn’t open until 10 for afterhours/live music – there were people eating dinner, but not the typical night club atmosphere you think of – at least from an ‘American’ perspective.

After the night club, we were bused to the Olympic Tower for an afterhours tour – we had a clear night, so it was very neat to see the city at night from that perspective. The Oktoberfest grounds were the highlight, with the Ferris wheel and roller coasters, all lit up off in the distance – very cool experience overall.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Candace V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome and would do it again. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The Hofbrauhaus and the top of the Olympic Tower to see Munich at night was amazing. This tour is a must do. I only gave it 4 stars because they could have skipped the night club.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth doing. The Hofbrauhaus was fun as was the trip to Olympic Park and the ride to the top of the tower for a beautiful view of Munich at night. A nightcap at a famous hotel was a plus. Good time, good food

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message