Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 508 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guides and timing was spot on. The time after the Linderhof Castle and small town could have been a little longer.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

blan2tc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Saw a lot in one day without having to hire a car. Plenty of time to walk to Neuschwanstein and do timed tour and walk back to coach. Loved Linderhof too. Quick tour there. Not much time to see gardens before we had to be back on coach. Not much to see at Oberamergau though.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Claudio A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour. The castles of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are spectacular and well worth a visit.
The tour was well organized and the guide very helpful and prepared.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rand N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because Gray Line tries to sell out their buses, this small group tour was well worth it. When we went, there were only twenty people on the bus, which offered very comfortable seats with plenty of room. The snacks were nice and our tour guide was quite efficient. The visits to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof justify the trip, but we also visited Oberammergau--a very pleasant surprise. The only downside: this is a very full day and a very busy itinerary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dr Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Luxury coach was excellent.....never seen a bus like it! With just 14 of us, the guide, Holger, was informative and very organised and helpful, and the Neuschwanstein Castle just shouts out for itself. It is fabulous and the entire area very beautiful. We also liked the Linderhof visit and thought the entire package very worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for a great tour of Schloss Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. A wonderful day and a great guide and bus driver.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time visiting Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Such a beautiful part of the world. The tour guide Ursula was well versed in the history and sights as we went along. Wear comfy walking shoes because there is alot of walking/stairs. Truly spectacular places to see. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall we were very happy but would have liked more time at Linderhof. We could have skipped the hour long stop at Oberammergau - mostly souvenir shopping. We were the only overnighters on the trip. At lunch our guide checked us into Hotel Muller and we were on our own until 4:30 the next day.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Patric F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The highlight of this tour is the visit to Neuschwanstein castle. You get to spend 4 hours walking around the castle and taking a tour. This is the perfect amount of time to see the castle from all angles. The Linderhof castle is visited before Neuschwanstein, and you're not there for very long. I could have done without seeing the Linderhof castle, it's much smaller. I docked 1 star because the tour guide seemed like he didn't want to be there. He didn't engage us very much and was very monotone in his speaking. Other than that, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Keith J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We visited Linderhof on a rainy day in June but it was still beautiful, as were the gardens. The weather just added a certain charm to the day. Our time there was nice and relaxed.
Oberammergau is a quaint town with painted buildings, shops and cafes. It's like stepping into a fairytale! So lovely! We felt that there wasn't enough to time to explore it though and after tourist shopping we only had time for coffee, no lunch. The tour was on a Sunday, so not all the shops were open.
Must say that our tour guide was fantastic! She was so nice and informative!
Definitely an amazing day out from Munich and would do it again!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Giridharan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There was an English speaking tour coach and the tour guide was wonderful in narrating the history of Bavaria and Ludwig II. It was very well organized and we loved the linderhof castle. Awesome beauty amdist a scenic locale. Too good and I would recommend the tour any day !

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic day trip, the Linderhof Palace and Neushwanstein Castle are a must see. The tour is very comfortable, air conditioned coach and you are always kept in the know about the plan for the day and no queuing for tickets, the tour guide collects them in advance and hands them out to us. The tour includes a trip to a lovely village and time for lunch in the beautiful local restaurants. I would recommend this to all my friends going to Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The drive to the castles was beautiful. Linderhof was built as a hunting lodge by Ludwig II. We stopped at the small town of Oberammergau, home of the Passion Play. Neuschawnstein Castle the Disney castle was built in 1869. It is quite a trek to walk up to the castle and once inside there are about 300 steps. We are glad we took the hike. The view from up top is amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Pooja Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, beautiful castles- bit of time pinch at linderhof but besides that love the Bus guide lisa- really beautiful live commentary. rest of things are greatly organized.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! The tour guide made the trip easy and very interesting. She was very patient and answered personal questions. We were very happy not to have to plan the day ourselves and let someone else do all the work!
Wish we had a little more time at Linderhof and less time at the village, but overall I would highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus was exceptional. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Top notch guide, this is the way to go. Spend the extra money and enjoy the journey. Only thing I would change is skipping the stop in the small town to have time in the gardens at Linderhof.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Rossana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1.        This tour has been one of the most fantastic tours I've done in my life
Reaching the castles of King Ludwig and admire its magnificent beauty , know the Linderhof Palace that is worth to walk and see and the small, charming village of Oberammergau in only 8 hours and without having to make the long lines
Our guide was very informative historically, was a pleasure and lucky for us to have her as a guide

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jalbin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see. Our guide Lucy was the best. She made the tour both fun and enlightening while taking the time to make sure everyone was having a good time. We loved Linderhof and it was a shame we didn't have more time there. At Neuschwanstein, be prepared for a vigorous walk if you don't take the shuttle or horse carriage up the hill although you will still need to walk if you do as they don't go the entire way up. Bring water. A wonderful day. If Lucy is your guide you will have a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Paulette.damico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visited Linderhof on a very rainy day, but it was still beautiful and worth getting soaked for. Oberammergau is worth a visit. Lovely painted buildings and the time we had there to look round was just right

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour that is well-organized. Great way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein in one day. Very convenient with a well-informed guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely love a good castle/palace tour and this was a dream come true. I have always wanted to see Neuschwanstein and it lived up to all of my expectations-magical and beautiful and amazing! I also loved Linderhof! Beautiful inside as well as the gardens outside! The meeting place was easy to find, it was a very well organized day, wonderful guide, very highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message