Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 537 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marichris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A visit to Neuschwanstein Castle is like stepping into the pages of a storybook. On our journey to Neuschwanstein, we passed through the picturesque Bavarian Alps and through a few small towns, making stops at Linderhof Castle and Oberammergau. We reached Neuschwanstein mid afternoon, and after a brisk walk to the top of the mountain, were free to explore the castle grounds for a few hours. Make sure to take a picture from Marion Bridge as this is definitely the best photo spot. Overall, a wonderful day with amazing scenery and a great guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Scott J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Linderhof was beautiful inside and out. I enjoyed the short walk to the castle especially passing a swan in the pond on the way. There wasn't much to see in Oberammergau during the winter but the fairytale painted buildings were prett,y and we had 30 minutes to shop. Neuschwanstein was gorgeous from the outside with the snow, and although the inside tour is short, it was worth the trip. Overall, while this trip was a little rushed, it was so we could do everything and I'm glad we did. I'd say don't miss this one.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. Linderhof is beautiful on the inside, and breathtaking from the outside. Neuschwanstein is also a must see for anyone staying in/near Munich. Our tour guide was great. Tour was well organized. Definitely recommend to anyone considering this experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Did the tour on mid of October. It started from Oberammergau, Linderhoft Palace and Neuschwanstein castle. Beautiful view along the way and beautiful castles. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had beautiful memories. I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lauren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! The climb up to the castle was work, if you're older I would definitely recommend getting the carriage. The castle in Linderhoff was beautiful and the drive through the mountains was fabulous. I enjoyed our short stop in Ommerammergau as well.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maxine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour, well worth the money. An early start on a crisp morning, but very relaxing on the coach. The Bavarian countryside was beautiful and our first stop was Linderhof Castle. An optional tour of this castle is very good and worth doing. The surrounding countryside was quite stunning. Next stop was the town of Oberammergau beautiful. We had a reasonable amount of time to take in some sights.

Then onto Schwangau and the Neuschwanstein Castle. It took about 45 minutes to walk up to the castle, but don't worry, you won't be on your own. We didn't do a tour of this castle, just looking from outside it is awesome. Walking to Marienbrücke Queen Mary's Bridge took about another 20 minutes, but the views along the way are fantastic. One of the best views of the castle is from this bridge, but you won't be alone. The crowd was quite orderly and you just have to be patient. It's worth it.

Plenty of places to get food up the hill or down in the village, we had the standard bratwurst in a bun at the top of the hill and then enjoyed a hot drink at Hotel Müller, Then headed back to Munich at 4:30. It was good to be on the coach as it was getting fairly cold outside. Back in Munich about 6:30. Thanks to Elizabeth for her friendliness and professionalism and thanks to Daniel for delivering us back safely. A great day out.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jessie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Originally booked for Neuschwanstein but was so happy Linderhof was included since it is not to be missed! Neuschwanstein is VERY crowded. My mom and I chose to walk to the castle instead of the horse drawn carriage or bus. I only recommend walking if you feel comfortable with hills since it is a very steep climb. Linderhof was our favorite part of the tour. I wish we had more time there since the gardens were stunning and we only had a few minutes to look at on our own. There was about a 45 minute stop in Oberammergau that I think could be cut in lieu of more time at Linderhof. While we liked Obermmergau, it was mostly just shopping.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

AG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fabulous time on this full day trip from Munich. Make sure that you wear good shoes, it's a hike up a hill to get to Neuschwanstein but absolutely worth it. The Linderhof castle was small but also lovely and a great place to take pictures and admire the mountains around you. The bus driver and the guide were lovely also. I would highly recommend doing this day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

h m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was really well organised. Max our tour guide was very informative and was very personable.
Started off at Linderhofen and time spent there was exactly right enough time for tour and shopping.
Next to Oberammergau not enough time here but Max gave us great shopping tips.
Then to the castle this didn't disappoint plenty of time to get to the cast!e tour and food and shopping.
The coach had a toilet on board and you could buy drinks as well
Would say if you're visiting Munich this tour is well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

SkyyStrike Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour gave us access to Linderhof, Neuschwanstein and Oberammergau. Tour guide was great, tour covers everything as described. Appreciate the options given during free and easy times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

wortyman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Castle and palace! Our tour guide was very informative during the whole trip. Linderhof is a small palace and the tour through the palace was a little to crowded, would have enjoyed it much more if it were a smaller group.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

You can't control the weather. Neuschawnstein was covered in fog and we couldn't see much of the castle exterior, much less the alps, even when we were right there. In winter, the Linderhof gardens / fountains are closed so imagine it is much prettier in the summer time. Our tour bus was multi-lingual with Spanish over English for the speaking and who got to tour first when it came to entry times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Miguel Sumera

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great bus tour of Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Neuschwanstein can be a little chaotic as it seems to be always busy at the drop off point. Try and buddy up with some of your fellow passengers so you don't get lost. Some of the best views of Neuschwanstein require a moderate amount of hiking. Unfortunately you can't take photos inside any of the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elena K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice tour well organized. Overall very pleased with the tour, but Linderhof Castle is very small inside, and the group was way to big to fit in the small size rooms, should not be that way. It was not a problem in Neuschwanstein, as it has more room inside to accommodate the large group.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did this tour in October and had a great day out, the tour was full on but very interesting. Did both tours of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein both so different but beautiful. The guide was very good and tour was well organised. Had a stopover at a little town called Oberammergau famous for their passion play, which the guide explained the history of, the town was so beautiful surrounded by the Barvarian Alps. The guide explained the history of King Lugwig II which made touring the castles more wonderful. Linderhof is a lot smaller more like a mansion than a castle but no less impressive and the surrounds are beautiful, but the main attraction was Neuschwanstein even though it was never finished inside, it is still worth the tour but mind you there is about 300 steps of spiral staircases to climb but well worth it. You also have to walk up to the castle but lots of food and drink kiosks on the way but there is a shuttle bus or a horse and carriage that can take you there as well. Lovely day out, lots crammed into the day but well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shastagwen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so much fun! Linderhof was smaller than I expected however, it was 100 worth seeing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the tour was very informative. Neuschwanstien was incredible even though the tour itself was pretty lacking. You receive an audio guide while you're ushered from room to room by a guide. The inside is incredible so I suggest the tour. If you decide to go to Marienbrucke the bridge you can take pictures of the castle from I suggest grabbing lunch at the Bistro and then walking up. We took our sandwiches with us and ate them once we made it to the bridge. The view is worth the steep hike. Our tour guide, Monica, was so nice and helpful. I would take a tour with her any day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The extra money for this small group tour was well worth it. Spacious seats and a very comfortable ride through scenic Bavaria. I never felt as if I was part of a herd. The guide (wish I remembered her name) was very knowledgeable and informative. The description of the tour was spot on, and met or exceeded my expectations. Could you spend more time in Neuschwanstein, Linderhof and Oberammagau? Sure, but I was able to see 3 beautiful places in one day in perfect weather. I was extremely satisfied and the tour was one of the highlights of my recent vacation in Europe.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jim.azarelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great Tour and a spectacular Value. If you get a chance to do this tour, don't hesitate. Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau and the village of Oberammergau in a 10.5 hour tour is jam packed. Tickets for the tours inside both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were taken care of by the fabulous guide for an additional 21 euro. Everything was made very convenient.Plenty of time was spent at Neuschawnstein/Hohenschwangau. Oberammergau village was a quick shopping stop with beautiful Fairy Tale painted homes and businesses. I found prices for souvenirs cheaper here than Munich. Overall a fairy tale trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jazminearogers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!!! best part of visiting Munich. Maximus was a great guide and gave us such good insight into munich. The little town we stopped at on our way between Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was so awesome! I also highly recommend to any one to purchase most of your souvenirs here because you won't find a better price!!

We walked up the mountain to the castle, it was a tiring walk but well worth it once we made it to the top! Don't forget to walk to the bridge so that you can see the perfect view!

Don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Vi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable not only on the story of King Ludwig, but also into the history of the towns passed/visited. Her enthusiasm for King Ludwig really brought his story and that of his castles to life! The castles themselves were beautiful, although a bit more time to explore the grounds of Linderhof would have been good. The short visit into Oberammergau was also a highlight- a very cute little town which again we would've loved to have spent more time in. Understandably though it was a long day with a lot to cover so with that in mind, the times allocated were reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joshua G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Christine was awesome and very friendly. The tour bus driver did an excellent job as well. Lots of cool and unique history given while traveling to all stops. Loved the Linderhof castle tour. My wife and I both did not enjoy the Neuschwanstein castle tour however. All in all a great.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was worth the climb to see Neuschwanstein. Linderhof was wonderful too. It is a shame he didn't get to finish all three castles.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Robert E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall a fantastic and informative tour. Monica, our guide, was amazing. Full of great info and fun-facts, she kept us all on-track and entertained. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were gorgeous. The sole improvement we would suggest is considering omitting the stop in Oberammergau. While it was a lovely spot, we had only 30 minutes to explore/shop which was not nearly enough and the whole detour felt very rushed. Very small issue for an otherwise wonderful and fun-filled day!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phillip B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a lovely tour. A visit to Neuschwanstein had been on our bucket list for several years. Our time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was enjoyable with the bonus of great weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message