Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

You can't control the weather. Neuschawnstein was covered in fog and we couldn't see much of the castle exterior, much less the alps, even when we were right there. In winter, the Linderhof gardens / fountains are closed so imagine it is much prettier in the summer time. Our tour bus was multi-lingual with Spanish over English for the speaking and who got to tour first when it came to entry times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did this tour in October and had a great day out, the tour was full on but very interesting. Did both tours of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein both so different but beautiful. The guide was very good and tour was well organised. Had a stopover at a little town called Oberammergau famous for their passion play, which the guide explained the history of, the town was so beautiful surrounded by the Barvarian Alps. The guide explained the history of King Lugwig II which made touring the castles more wonderful. Linderhof is a lot smaller more like a mansion than a castle but no less impressive and the surrounds are beautiful, but the main attraction was Neuschwanstein even though it was never finished inside, it is still worth the tour but mind you there is about 300 steps of spiral staircases to climb but well worth it. You also have to walk up to the castle but lots of food and drink kiosks on the way but there is a shuttle bus or a horse and carriage that can take you there as well. Lovely day out, lots crammed into the day but well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shastagwen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so much fun! Linderhof was smaller than I expected however, it was 100 worth seeing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the tour was very informative. Neuschwanstien was incredible even though the tour itself was pretty lacking. You receive an audio guide while you're ushered from room to room by a guide. The inside is incredible so I suggest the tour. If you decide to go to Marienbrucke the bridge you can take pictures of the castle from I suggest grabbing lunch at the Bistro and then walking up. We took our sandwiches with us and ate them once we made it to the bridge. The view is worth the steep hike. Our tour guide, Monica, was so nice and helpful. I would take a tour with her any day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The extra money for this small group tour was well worth it. Spacious seats and a very comfortable ride through scenic Bavaria. I never felt as if I was part of a herd. The guide (wish I remembered her name) was very knowledgeable and informative. The description of the tour was spot on, and met or exceeded my expectations. Could you spend more time in Neuschwanstein, Linderhof and Oberammagau? Sure, but I was able to see 3 beautiful places in one day in perfect weather. I was extremely satisfied and the tour was one of the highlights of my recent vacation in Europe.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jim.azarelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great Tour and a spectacular Value. If you get a chance to do this tour, don't hesitate. Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau and the village of Oberammergau in a 10.5 hour tour is jam packed. Tickets for the tours inside both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were taken care of by the fabulous guide for an additional 21 euro. Everything was made very convenient.Plenty of time was spent at Neuschawnstein/Hohenschwangau. Oberammergau village was a quick shopping stop with beautiful Fairy Tale painted homes and businesses. I found prices for souvenirs cheaper here than Munich. Overall a fairy tale trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jazminearogers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!!! best part of visiting Munich. Maximus was a great guide and gave us such good insight into munich. The little town we stopped at on our way between Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was so awesome! I also highly recommend to any one to purchase most of your souvenirs here because you won't find a better price!!

We walked up the mountain to the castle, it was a tiring walk but well worth it once we made it to the top! Don't forget to walk to the bridge so that you can see the perfect view!

Don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Vi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable not only on the story of King Ludwig, but also into the history of the towns passed/visited. Her enthusiasm for King Ludwig really brought his story and that of his castles to life! The castles themselves were beautiful, although a bit more time to explore the grounds of Linderhof would have been good. The short visit into Oberammergau was also a highlight- a very cute little town which again we would've loved to have spent more time in. Understandably though it was a long day with a lot to cover so with that in mind, the times allocated were reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joshua G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Christine was awesome and very friendly. The tour bus driver did an excellent job as well. Lots of cool and unique history given while traveling to all stops. Loved the Linderhof castle tour. My wife and I both did not enjoy the Neuschwanstein castle tour however. All in all a great.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was worth the climb to see Neuschwanstein. Linderhof was wonderful too. It is a shame he didn't get to finish all three castles.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Robert E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall a fantastic and informative tour. Monica, our guide, was amazing. Full of great info and fun-facts, she kept us all on-track and entertained. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were gorgeous. The sole improvement we would suggest is considering omitting the stop in Oberammergau. While it was a lovely spot, we had only 30 minutes to explore/shop which was not nearly enough and the whole detour felt very rushed. Very small issue for an otherwise wonderful and fun-filled day!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phillip B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a lovely tour. A visit to Neuschwanstein had been on our bucket list for several years. Our time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was enjoyable with the bonus of great weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

excellent trip with a very knowledgeable guide. Added stop at Obergammerau was very much appreciated. Castles were spectacular, with Linderhof reminding me of Versailles, and Neuschwanstein being the perfect model for Disneyworld.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

yixiu.yao

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour has been well organized, where our guide has prepared all the tickets and given us clear instructions on how to redeem them at each attraction. The guide is very knowledgeable, sharing background information and history with us as we made our way to each attraction.
Between Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, we stopped over at a small village with various souvenir and handcraft shops. For those who are interested, this would be the place to pick up a traditional cuckoo clock. For the uninitiated, you may find the stopover to be a little too long. Lunchtime was slightly later than we had expected, hence I would advise those who are taking the tour to have a good breakfast that day.
The crowd at Neuschwanstein was significantly more overwhelming. The tour bus dropped us off at the foot of the hill and we were to make our own way to/from Neuschwanstein at the top of the hill there were a few transportation options. This was where things got a little confusing and we had difficult making our way back down. In the end, we were late and might have almost missed the tour bus. If the transportation to/from Neuschwanstein is organized for the group, that may be helpful.
All in all, we had a wonderful time on this tour and I would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Keti Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I'm not sure how to rate this tour. When I arrived at the bus depo operated by greyline, they advised me to the bus I need to go on my overnight tour. While on the bus Nancy our tour guide had no idea I was on a overnight tour not a good start, I'm very nervous at this stage - praying I was not on the wrong bus when I question her what do you mean you don't know she kinda ignored me. Nancy was a terrible guide , she was not organised at all. We waited so long out side the ticket area when we arrived at linerhof - she could not organise her group. Linderhof was beautiful - amazing castle and the grounds were gorgeous. Very picturesque.
I approached the tour guide again and she said the hotel at Fussen should have all my info when we arrive at neuschwanstein castle. Once we arrived Nancy took me to Hotel Muller if it wasn't for the hotel staff my nerves would not have settle
Neuschwanstein Castle WAS AMAZING it was breathtaking. I was relaxed by this stage I had checked into the hotel and all was good. I was happy. I was enjoying my afternoon at the castle. Once all the tourist left Fussen, it was such a quite little town. Beautiful, surround by both castles. The next day the hotel organised my tickets too Hohenschwangau castle. Everyone at the hotel was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious.
So I'm not sure if I rate the tour on what I saw or how I felt when the tour guide had no idea I was on an overnight tour, and really didn't seem to care! If I had to do it all again I would stay overnight but plan the thing myself. And not book this tour. Definitely stay at hotel Muller.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Brianna Q

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I loved these castles, they were breathtaking. I did feel a little rushed at the first 2 stops. I wish we would have had more time at Linderhof, but I understand that we were fitting a lot into one tour. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Bryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guides and timing was spot on. The time after the Linderhof Castle and small town could have been a little longer.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

blan2tc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Saw a lot in one day without having to hire a car. Plenty of time to walk to Neuschwanstein and do timed tour and walk back to coach. Loved Linderhof too. Quick tour there. Not much time to see gardens before we had to be back on coach. Not much to see at Oberamergau though.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Claudio A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour. The castles of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are spectacular and well worth a visit.
The tour was well organized and the guide very helpful and prepared.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rand N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because Gray Line tries to sell out their buses, this small group tour was well worth it. When we went, there were only twenty people on the bus, which offered very comfortable seats with plenty of room. The snacks were nice and our tour guide was quite efficient. The visits to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof justify the trip, but we also visited Oberammergau--a very pleasant surprise. The only downside: this is a very full day and a very busy itinerary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dr Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Luxury coach was excellent.....never seen a bus like it! With just 14 of us, the guide, Holger, was informative and very organised and helpful, and the Neuschwanstein Castle just shouts out for itself. It is fabulous and the entire area very beautiful. We also liked the Linderhof visit and thought the entire package very worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for a great tour of Schloss Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. A wonderful day and a great guide and bus driver.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time visiting Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Such a beautiful part of the world. The tour guide Ursula was well versed in the history and sights as we went along. Wear comfy walking shoes because there is alot of walking/stairs. Truly spectacular places to see. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall we were very happy but would have liked more time at Linderhof. We could have skipped the hour long stop at Oberammergau - mostly souvenir shopping. We were the only overnighters on the trip. At lunch our guide checked us into Hotel Muller and we were on our own until 4:30 the next day.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Patric F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The highlight of this tour is the visit to Neuschwanstein castle. You get to spend 4 hours walking around the castle and taking a tour. This is the perfect amount of time to see the castle from all angles. The Linderhof castle is visited before Neuschwanstein, and you're not there for very long. I could have done without seeing the Linderhof castle, it's much smaller. I docked 1 star because the tour guide seemed like he didn't want to be there. He didn't engage us very much and was very monotone in his speaking. Other than that, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message