Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 498 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Keith J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We visited Linderhof on a rainy day in June but it was still beautiful, as were the gardens. The weather just added a certain charm to the day. Our time there was nice and relaxed.
Oberammergau is a quaint town with painted buildings, shops and cafes. It's like stepping into a fairytale! So lovely! We felt that there wasn't enough to time to explore it though and after tourist shopping we only had time for coffee, no lunch. The tour was on a Sunday, so not all the shops were open.
Must say that our tour guide was fantastic! She was so nice and informative!
Definitely an amazing day out from Munich and would do it again!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Giridharan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There was an English speaking tour coach and the tour guide was wonderful in narrating the history of Bavaria and Ludwig II. It was very well organized and we loved the linderhof castle. Awesome beauty amdist a scenic locale. Too good and I would recommend the tour any day !

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic day trip, the Linderhof Palace and Neushwanstein Castle are a must see. The tour is very comfortable, air conditioned coach and you are always kept in the know about the plan for the day and no queuing for tickets, the tour guide collects them in advance and hands them out to us. The tour includes a trip to a lovely village and time for lunch in the beautiful local restaurants. I would recommend this to all my friends going to Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Pooja Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, beautiful castles- bit of time pinch at linderhof but besides that love the Bus guide lisa- really beautiful live commentary. rest of things are greatly organized.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! The tour guide made the trip easy and very interesting. She was very patient and answered personal questions. We were very happy not to have to plan the day ourselves and let someone else do all the work!
Wish we had a little more time at Linderhof and less time at the village, but overall I would highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus was exceptional. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Top notch guide, this is the way to go. Spend the extra money and enjoy the journey. Only thing I would change is skipping the stop in the small town to have time in the gardens at Linderhof.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Rossana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1.        This tour has been one of the most fantastic tours I've done in my life
Reaching the castles of King Ludwig and admire its magnificent beauty , know the Linderhof Palace that is worth to walk and see and the small, charming village of Oberammergau in only 8 hours and without having to make the long lines
Our guide was very informative historically, was a pleasure and lucky for us to have her as a guide

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jalbin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see. Our guide Lucy was the best. She made the tour both fun and enlightening while taking the time to make sure everyone was having a good time. We loved Linderhof and it was a shame we didn't have more time there. At Neuschwanstein, be prepared for a vigorous walk if you don't take the shuttle or horse carriage up the hill although you will still need to walk if you do as they don't go the entire way up. Bring water. A wonderful day. If Lucy is your guide you will have a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Paulette.damico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visited Linderhof on a very rainy day, but it was still beautiful and worth getting soaked for. Oberammergau is worth a visit. Lovely painted buildings and the time we had there to look round was just right

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour that is well-organized. Great way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein in one day. Very convenient with a well-informed guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely love a good castle/palace tour and this was a dream come true. I have always wanted to see Neuschwanstein and it lived up to all of my expectations-magical and beautiful and amazing! I also loved Linderhof! Beautiful inside as well as the gardens outside! The meeting place was easy to find, it was a very well organized day, wonderful guide, very highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

diane e c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

OK, and it really simplifies the problems with getting appointed times and access to Neuschwanstein, but not nearly enough time for Linderhof, and Oberamergau wasn't really in keeping with the rest of the tour. The bus and the service were very good,

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Stella H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a nice tour and I really enjoyed it. But I have to say it is a pity it does not include a visit to the grotto of Linderhof Castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heidi H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Though this is long day, it is manageable, even for children since there are many things to see. Linderhof is a jewel. The bus is very comfortable and the pacing is really good. We had a very talkative tour person, she repeated her self all the time, which was a bit comical and somewhat annoying, but besides that, it was a great way to see some of Southern Germany's highlights by bus. I would recommend the tour change to have lunch in the beautiful town of Oberammergau instead of Neuschwanstein since the food by the castle isn't very good, and there are tons of people there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Christopher R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The only drawback is that you are not given enough time at Linderhof. It is not the fault of the tour company that you are herded through the castles in under 40 minutes and no photos are allowed in the castles. Nevertheless it is worth it and the guide our guide Christine are very good.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This luxury bus tour was exceptional and well worth the extra money! Sites were beautiful, and the alps are stunning. Our guide, Monica was outstanding. She was well informed and conveyed Germany's history in an interesting manner, with anecdotes on many subjects. Our driver, Frieda was friendly and warm, and we felt safe with her at the wheel. Neushwanstein visit was organized well, as was Linderhof. Glorious historic buildings! The village we visited was a perfect vignette into rural German life: I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was worth the money we paid for it - our main guide was very informative and entertaining. The guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were also great. We did the day trip because we didn't want to stress about making our own way to the castles and back to Munich. We were impressed by the amount of free time at each.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best tour from Munich. Very interesting story about king Ludwig II and his beautiful castles. Both Linderhof and Neuschwainstein castles are worth visiting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message