Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! The tour guide made the trip easy and very interesting. She was very patient and answered personal questions. We were very happy not to have to plan the day ourselves and let someone else do all the work!
Wish we had a little more time at Linderhof and less time at the village, but overall I would highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus was exceptional. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Top notch guide, this is the way to go. Spend the extra money and enjoy the journey. Only thing I would change is skipping the stop in the small town to have time in the gardens at Linderhof.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Rossana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1.        This tour has been one of the most fantastic tours I've done in my life
Reaching the castles of King Ludwig and admire its magnificent beauty , know the Linderhof Palace that is worth to walk and see and the small, charming village of Oberammergau in only 8 hours and without having to make the long lines
Our guide was very informative historically, was a pleasure and lucky for us to have her as a guide

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jalbin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see. Our guide Lucy was the best. She made the tour both fun and enlightening while taking the time to make sure everyone was having a good time. We loved Linderhof and it was a shame we didn't have more time there. At Neuschwanstein, be prepared for a vigorous walk if you don't take the shuttle or horse carriage up the hill although you will still need to walk if you do as they don't go the entire way up. Bring water. A wonderful day. If Lucy is your guide you will have a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Paulette.damico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visited Linderhof on a very rainy day, but it was still beautiful and worth getting soaked for. Oberammergau is worth a visit. Lovely painted buildings and the time we had there to look round was just right

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour that is well-organized. Great way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein in one day. Very convenient with a well-informed guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

diane e c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

OK, and it really simplifies the problems with getting appointed times and access to Neuschwanstein, but not nearly enough time for Linderhof, and Oberamergau wasn't really in keeping with the rest of the tour. The bus and the service were very good,

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Stella H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a nice tour and I really enjoyed it. But I have to say it is a pity it does not include a visit to the grotto of Linderhof Castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heidi H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Though this is long day, it is manageable, even for children since there are many things to see. Linderhof is a jewel. The bus is very comfortable and the pacing is really good. We had a very talkative tour person, she repeated her self all the time, which was a bit comical and somewhat annoying, but besides that, it was a great way to see some of Southern Germany's highlights by bus. I would recommend the tour change to have lunch in the beautiful town of Oberammergau instead of Neuschwanstein since the food by the castle isn't very good, and there are tons of people there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Christopher R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The only drawback is that you are not given enough time at Linderhof. It is not the fault of the tour company that you are herded through the castles in under 40 minutes and no photos are allowed in the castles. Nevertheless it is worth it and the guide our guide Christine are very good.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This luxury bus tour was exceptional and well worth the extra money! Sites were beautiful, and the alps are stunning. Our guide, Monica was outstanding. She was well informed and conveyed Germany's history in an interesting manner, with anecdotes on many subjects. Our driver, Frieda was friendly and warm, and we felt safe with her at the wheel. Neushwanstein visit was organized well, as was Linderhof. Glorious historic buildings! The village we visited was a perfect vignette into rural German life: I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was worth the money we paid for it - our main guide was very informative and entertaining. The guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were also great. We did the day trip because we didn't want to stress about making our own way to the castles and back to Munich. We were impressed by the amount of free time at each.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best tour from Munich. Very interesting story about king Ludwig II and his beautiful castles. Both Linderhof and Neuschwainstein castles are worth visiting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Patricia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend. Linderhof Palace was a winner! Nice stop over villages. A bit disappointed with Neuscheanstein Castle itself ... Expected more, but still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Galen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To visit Munich is to visit the castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The tour was excellent and Gerda our guide was informative and amusing.

The drive to the castles went through spectacular Alpine countryside. Although the trip was marred by grey skies and occasional torrential rain, the vista was still picturesque and dramatic. It was different from the standard sunny, blue skied portraits of the postcards, but nonetheless wonderful.

Tours within the castles were very informative and the guides were willing to answer any questions. You never felt rushed.

Definitely recommend this tour whatever the weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip... comfortable bus, tour guide was amazing and she gave us a lot of information about Munich and the palace. Linderhof was small but beautiful. Be sure to go on a nice day because the grounds are amazing. Oberammergau is a quaint town with shops and cafes. I would recommend this trip to experience the true heart of Bavaria.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message