Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

One of the most popular castles in Europe, Germany's Neuschwanstein Castle is best known for having served as the inspiration for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle. Commissioned by the shy King Ludwig II of Bavaria as a private refuge, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 999 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

blan2tc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Saw a lot in one day without having to hire a car. Plenty of time to walk to Neuschwanstein and do timed tour and walk back to coach. Loved Linderhof too. Quick tour there. Not much time to see gardens before we had to be back on coach. Not much to see at Oberamergau though.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Liliana V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Choose this trip!!!!! Reasons:
1. It's a small group we were 15 and it's easier to get into the bus on time, it's more civilized and quiet
2. The bus is extremely confortable
3. You go to Neuschwanstein first during the morning so you avoid big crowds in the afternoon
4. Plenty of time to see it all
5. In Oberammergau you MUST GO INSIDE THE CHURCH

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Claudio A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour. The castles of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are spectacular and well worth a visit.
The tour was well organized and the guide very helpful and prepared.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Roseyparr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Neuschwanstein Castle. We had an amazing tour guide who gave us really good history. She was also very organised and got us up to the castle with the mini bus, which was appreciated.
Thanks Verena

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Rand N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because Gray Line tries to sell out their buses, this small group tour was well worth it. When we went, there were only twenty people on the bus, which offered very comfortable seats with plenty of room. The snacks were nice and our tour guide was quite efficient. The visits to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof justify the trip, but we also visited Oberammergau--a very pleasant surprise. The only downside: this is a very full day and a very busy itinerary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Neuschwanstein is a must see, and our guide Hein was great--informative and very organized. It's a long day 10 am - 8 pm but absolutely worth it

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Dr Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Luxury coach was excellent.....never seen a bus like it! With just 14 of us, the guide, Holger, was informative and very organised and helpful, and the Neuschwanstein Castle just shouts out for itself. It is fabulous and the entire area very beautiful. We also liked the Linderhof visit and thought the entire package very worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for a great tour of Schloss Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. A wonderful day and a great guide and bus driver.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Radius took excellent care of us during our full-day tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. Our guide, Aidan was engaging and very informative giving us lots of little insider facts that the tour run by the castle would have completely missed. He was also super helpful in helping everyone on the tour make the most of their time at the castle and in Munich overall. We left enchanted by the beauty of the castle and surrounding area as well as the story of Ludwig II and the Wittelsbach dynasty. I would highly recommend to anyone spending a few days in Munich!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Joaquim Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is a good way and efficient way to have a day out to visit Neuschwanstein Castle. This is a group tour so understandably there are quite a lot of people in the group and at times it may seem crowded.

There are several options and that was explained to you while you are on the bus. I took the most common option to have a bicycle ride, lunch and then followed by a guided tour to the castle. The other option was to go on your own after arriving there.

The bicycle ride through the Bavarian countryside was nice. It was a really nice day. The condition of the bicycle was alright but not the most comfortable. The lunch was standard and you pay your own. The guided tour in the castle was informative but it was a bit of a rush. This was understandable as you have thousands of people going through this every day. You will have to pay extra for the guided tour.

While you can take a bus up to the castle for 2 Euro, the only sensible option is to walk down when you are done. This is because you are like 30 down already when you walk down from the bus station to the castle. One caution is that the walk down can be tough especially for those with bad knees.

Our guides were Brad and his girlfriend and they were very professional and helpful. Brad even entertained us with his card tricks just after lunch. I think he will do well in a casino. Kelly attended to us on the bus and she was nice.

The tour is well run and you can see the passion and enthusiasm in the people who manages it. However I would like to suggest that they tone down on the reminder of the gratitude. The owner mentioned it on the DVD and Brad did as well. We all understand it is customary and I think it should just be left with the guide's explanation. In my opinion, overselling it undermines the good work that the guides were doing.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time visiting Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Such a beautiful part of the world. The tour guide Ursula was well versed in the history and sights as we went along. Wear comfy walking shoes because there is alot of walking/stairs. Truly spectacular places to see. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Miss Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, however the climb to reach Neuschwanstein Castle proved to be a bit too much for us oldies. Needless to say we had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Patric F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The highlight of this tour is the visit to Neuschwanstein castle. You get to spend 4 hours walking around the castle and taking a tour. This is the perfect amount of time to see the castle from all angles. The Linderhof castle is visited before Neuschwanstein, and you're not there for very long. I could have done without seeing the Linderhof castle, it's much smaller. I docked 1 star because the tour guide seemed like he didn't want to be there. He didn't engage us very much and was very monotone in his speaking. Other than that, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gamaliel M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The Bavaria area for this tour is amazing with breathtaking views. Several things to consider:
In the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles the time is too short with not much time to see around and take photos.
Oberammergau is a beautiful town that deserves more time.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Nic1206

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was a well run and organised tour. The tour guide was knowledgeable and communicated well with everyone on the bus. We enjoyed the scenery on the way to the castles as we could admire the alps and pretty vistas of Bavarian houses and villages. Linderhorf castle, while smaller, was ornate and had some beautiful gardens and landscaping. The special guide at this castle was entertaining and engaging and kept you very interested. Neuschwanstein castle is considered the highlight of the tour and the area below it is busy with many tourists and souvenir shops. As others have mentioned, to get to the castle you either have to walk up a steep road for 20min, get a slow horse and cart, or take the shuttle bus. We elected to walk and as we are quite fit it was not too bad. Once we finally got to the castle and were able to go in I was unfortunately a little disappointed. Yes, it is magical from the outside, but inside is unfinished and not as elaborate as the other castle. Also, the guide was difficult to hear and appeared to be going through the motions. At times you could hear other tour groups in the next room and felt like you were being rushed through to allow maximum groups to be taken through the castle. We enjoyed the tour as we got to see some lovely sights and countryside, but feel Neuschwanstein is perhaps over rated.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

weedesmond

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The visit to both castles was great especially Neuschwanstein. Nevertheless, this could be a trip we can do it on our own without joining a day tour hence the low rating. At the start of the journey, we were given two options either join the guides on a bike tour followed by a visit to the Neuschwanstein Castle or visit both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles on your own. We decided to go for the latter option but what this means is the cost of the tour excluding entrance tickets to the castles you are paying for is the price for the coach transport between Munich and Hohenschwangau village. Therefore, I did not see the value of joining the day tour if you are picking option 2. However, both the guides, Ryan and Kelly, were fantastic and both made sure none of us were left behind on our way back to Munich especially those who picked option 2.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

dongping m

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We have bad experience on this tour.
When we arrive castle area, Mike's Bike tour guide leave useight people,three family,Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit to a local guide.The local guide give us tickets both for Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau Castle. He tell us, visit Hohenschwangau Castle first 11:55am, then look around, have a lunch, he will meet us on 2:45pm. He repeat three times, 2:45pm!
All of us eight people come back on time. But the guide is disappear! We waiting one hour for him, we all miss the next schedule3:55pm. we have to buy a new tickets by us self, take shuttle bus by pay self to go Neuschwangau Castle.
Surprised, the guide stay at entrance of Neuschwangau Castle!
But Viator make 20 money return in short order.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour!! Dino was a great driver and took us to see the most beautiful castles of King Ludwig. We had plenty of time to view the Neuschwanstein Castle. I recall being there 4 hours. Even though at the second stop in the small village we visited was very short, I believe this is the right decision to spend the most time at the last stop. We were so lucky the weather held up. It was truly a great day. We also had plenty of time to shop as well and have some lunch at the last stop. We left at 8:30 and returned close to 7 pm back to Munich. It is a day we'll never forget.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an enthusiastic and friendly tour guide - Austin - who kept us all together for the journey to and from the castle from Munich. Austin stopped periodically to talk about Ludvig II and how the castle came to be in his own style which was funny, factual and compelling. I highly recommend this tour, and Austin, as both were well organised and allowed us to skip all the tourist lines and long walk up to the castle. Everything was smooth and easy and it was an enjoyable day.
Don't go to Neuschwanstein yourself - go through this tour and make your day quicker and easier!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had wonderful experience with our trip to Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Petra, did an excellent job providing historical background, guiding us through the trains/bus, and making sure everyone received personal attention.

If we had it to do over, I would include the Hohenschwangau tour too- just to see more of the interior of the castles because the interior tour of Neuschwanstein is only 30-40mins. Also, I would recommend taking the bus to the castle rather than walking due to the time limit you have. This would allow you to see more of the castle grounds/Marian bridge before your group goes into the castle.

We were very pleased with our trip- Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

markpbyers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide couldn't have been better. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The tour of the castle interior was rather short and by audio guide because that's how Neuschwanstein is run... but there was plenty to absorb from our real guide before and after. The grounds were fun to explore as well. Also: getting to the castle is slightly complicated, so having a guide is a definite plus!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Olivia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour made it easy to get to the castle and provided us with some background information on Ludwig and the history behind Neuschwanstein. Train ticket there, bus to the site, lunch stop, bus to the top of the crazy hill, and back to Munich all for one price!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Keith from Scotland was amazing! We had such a great time with him and found him to be supremely knowledgeable about the area and history of Fussen and Neuschwanstein. Would definitely do this tour again when I return to Germany!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message