Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 780 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jalbin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see. Our guide Lucy was the best. She made the tour both fun and enlightening while taking the time to make sure everyone was having a good time. We loved Linderhof and it was a shame we didn't have more time there. At Neuschwanstein, be prepared for a vigorous walk if you don't take the shuttle or horse carriage up the hill although you will still need to walk if you do as they don't go the entire way up. Bring water. A wonderful day. If Lucy is your guide you will have a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

rregan1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time on our small group tour to Neuschwanstein Castle. Our guide Petra, was so friendly and knowledgeable. Would absolutely book this tour again.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great full day tour to Neuschwanstein - our tour guide was very knowledgeable. You start with a train ride followed by a bus, then you can decide whether to hike up the very steep hill please note it is tough or take a horse-drawn carriage. You tour around the castle then have a couple hours for yourselves to venture up to Mary's Bridge please note this was closed and I was told it will be for the near future due to damage from landslides or head over to the Hohenschwangau castle which is back down the hill and across the way. I went past Mary's bridge to a clearing where you could see the iconic view of the castle with Mary's bridge in front.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour that is well-organized. Great way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein in one day. Very convenient with a well-informed guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide and a small number of people on the tour, which kept things very manageable. Everything was very efficient and I'm so glad we chose to tour Neuschwanstein this way. The horse drawn carriage ride at the end was a nice touch! Would do the same tour again!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

diane e c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

OK, and it really simplifies the problems with getting appointed times and access to Neuschwanstein, but not nearly enough time for Linderhof, and Oberamergau wasn't really in keeping with the rest of the tour. The bus and the service were very good,

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Holly H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Could have spent more time at the Neuschwanstein. It was only a 30 minute tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day with a great tour guide. The coach really was a luxury coach! The Neuschwanstein castle was great as was Linderholf castle. It was a shame that the bridge near Neuschwanstein castle was closed at the time. Linderholf was lovely but not much time to explore the grounds there.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was worth the money we paid for it - our main guide was very informative and entertaining. The guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were also great. We did the day trip because we didn't want to stress about making our own way to the castles and back to Munich. We were impressed by the amount of free time at each.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Valerie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Could spend more time at Oberammergau and castle neuschwanstein because it felt rushed. But if all you want is to tour castles, it was fantastic!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Amy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, Christine. The driver was a pleasant woman with a great sense of humor. I didn't feel rushed by them. The tour inside Neuschwanstein did, however feel rushed different guides.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Galen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To visit Munich is to visit the castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The tour was excellent and Gerda our guide was informative and amusing.

The drive to the castles went through spectacular Alpine countryside. Although the trip was marred by grey skies and occasional torrential rain, the vista was still picturesque and dramatic. It was different from the standard sunny, blue skied portraits of the postcards, but nonetheless wonderful.

Tours within the castles were very informative and the guides were willing to answer any questions. You never felt rushed.

Definitely recommend this tour whatever the weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lance F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome. I really enjoyed the convenience of the tour. Our tour guide was outstanding! Very knowledgable w great trivia.

Recommend extending trip to give a little more time at Neuschwanstein.

Also, wanted to tour both Neuschwanstein and hohenschwangen but did not see a tour.

Lance

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michele B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful day. Our Grayline tour guide Maria was very entertaining and had a lot of good information. The castles were very picturesque. Wish we would have spent a little more time in the village, but we were on a schedule. The walk up to Neuschwanstein was quite the walk up hill, pay the money and ride the carriage. Downside, the castle entry fees were separate. I wish the extra 23 euro was included in the ticket price, it is an easily forgotten detail.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Najwa Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would highly recommend this trip. Very comfortable bus. I travel a lot and have taken numerous tours, by far this is the more comfortable buses. Helpful guide and driver. The landscape and Neuschwanstein castle are worth the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It would be hard to see both places in one day on your own. This tour had the benefit of taking care of the tickets so that there was no standing in line. Only disappointment was that that Marianbrucke at Neuschwanstein was closed not the tour operators fault and would have liked more time at Linderhof.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shelene Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with spacious seats on the bus. The water, coffee, beer and snacks were a nice touch. Our guide spoke great English and was very informative. A wonderful and stress-free way to explore both castles and see some of Bravaria. We enjoyed the free time we had at Neuschwanstein to explore the town and have lunch. Nice balance between a tour group and independent time.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message