Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

One of the most popular castles in Europe, Germany's Neuschwanstein Castle is best known for having served as the inspiration for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle. Commissioned by the shy King Ludwig II of Bavaria as a private refuge, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1049 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Did the tour on mid of October. It started from Oberammergau, Linderhoft Palace and Neuschwanstein castle. Beautiful view along the way and beautiful castles. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had beautiful memories. I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maxine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour, well worth the money. An early start on a crisp morning, but very relaxing on the coach. The Bavarian countryside was beautiful and our first stop was Linderhof Castle. An optional tour of this castle is very good and worth doing. The surrounding countryside was quite stunning. Next stop was the town of Oberammergau beautiful. We had a reasonable amount of time to take in some sights.

Then onto Schwangau and the Neuschwanstein Castle. It took about 45 minutes to walk up to the castle, but don't worry, you won't be on your own. We didn't do a tour of this castle, just looking from outside it is awesome. Walking to Marienbrücke Queen Mary's Bridge took about another 20 minutes, but the views along the way are fantastic. One of the best views of the castle is from this bridge, but you won't be alone. The crowd was quite orderly and you just have to be patient. It's worth it.

Plenty of places to get food up the hill or down in the village, we had the standard bratwurst in a bun at the top of the hill and then enjoyed a hot drink at Hotel Müller, Then headed back to Munich at 4:30. It was good to be on the coach as it was getting fairly cold outside. Back in Munich about 6:30. Thanks to Elizabeth for her friendliness and professionalism and thanks to Daniel for delivering us back safely. A great day out.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Madhusudan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing trip. The Neuschwanstein castle is out of a fairy tale book! The guided tour was also pretty good. I would highly recommend this place as a must visit.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jessie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Originally booked for Neuschwanstein but was so happy Linderhof was included since it is not to be missed! Neuschwanstein is VERY crowded. My mom and I chose to walk to the castle instead of the horse drawn carriage or bus. I only recommend walking if you feel comfortable with hills since it is a very steep climb. Linderhof was our favorite part of the tour. I wish we had more time there since the gardens were stunning and we only had a few minutes to look at on our own. There was about a 45 minute stop in Oberammergau that I think could be cut in lieu of more time at Linderhof. While we liked Obermmergau, it was mostly just shopping.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing castle. Neuschwanstein is awesome. I now understand why Walt Disney chose this castle to duplicate for Sleeping Beauty. So beautiful and the views are to die for. If you can't handle walking up the side of the mountain, then you should grab a ride on the horse shuttle. If you do nothing else, make this your tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Austin from Radius Tours was fantastic and made sure everything had a great day and fun time travelling to Neuschwanstein Castle. The day went very smoothly and we learned a lot about the history of the castle and King Ludwig II. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in going to this castle. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

AG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fabulous time on this full day trip from Munich. Make sure that you wear good shoes, it's a hike up a hill to get to Neuschwanstein but absolutely worth it. The Linderhof castle was small but also lovely and a great place to take pictures and admire the mountains around you. The bus driver and the guide were lovely also. I would highly recommend doing this day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

greg.hakomaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The bus trip is the wa to go. A fun day trip and the castles were great to see. The stop to shop was good too. Very tight schedule but a lot to see and do. It is a long walk to Neuschwanstein but not that steep. Doable for most everyone but will take time for some.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Neuschwanstein - First telephone in a castle, running water, picturesque views of mountains and lakes... this place has it all. Plus you get to visit Oberammergau and Lindderhof.. this is a great day of sight seeing. Someone else takes care of the driving, beer and water are available. What is not to love?

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

SkyyStrike Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour gave us access to Linderhof, Neuschwanstein and Oberammergau. Tour guide was great, tour covers everything as described. Appreciate the options given during free and easy times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jingwei H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We really enjoyed the tour. Neuschwanstein castle, alps, and German countryside are amazing!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Miguel Sumera

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great bus tour of Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Neuschwanstein can be a little chaotic as it seems to be always busy at the drop off point. Try and buddy up with some of your fellow passengers so you don't get lost. Some of the best views of Neuschwanstein require a moderate amount of hiking. Unfortunately you can't take photos inside any of the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peter K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Note that pictures are NOT allowed inside the castles. If you want to take photos you will have to take of the exterior of the castle only.
Tour of Neuschwanstein is guided with the tour guide talking into a radio that you can hear with the provided receivers. Do not get too far back from the group as reception gets scratchy if you are too far back.
The bus ride was very comfortable on the Viator double decker bus. Viator guide was full of interesting information about Munich and the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

wickedsista

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Long day but got to see everything on the tour list. The castles were beautiful. Expect to hike up to Neuschwanstein and photography is not allowed inside. The bridge was closed that was the key point for taking photos of the castle, but we were able to find other locations to get the job done. The guide was very knowledgeable. I recommend this tour from Munich. The venture from Frankfurt would be too long.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elena K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice tour well organized. Overall very pleased with the tour, but Linderhof Castle is very small inside, and the group was way to big to fit in the small size rooms, should not be that way. It was not a problem in Neuschwanstein, as it has more room inside to accommodate the large group.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

irenetpete

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The castles were lovely, be prepared for crowds. I mean truly a ton of people. It was chaos, not by the tour company, but Neuschwanstein castle needs to limit the people on the castle grounds. It's just so packed to the point of being uncomfortable, Mary's bridge was a disaster of people pushing and shoving to get on the bridge, kind of ruined the experience though not the tour group's fault. I knew going with this tour group that it would be a large bus, but this was not just a big bus, but a BIG DOUBLE DECKER bus. So imagine what you think of a big tour group and then double it. Also my viator voucher said it left at 8:30, but to show up 20 minutes early. I came 30 minutes earlier at 8am and the bus was already crammed full. I had to sit on the top deck in the very last row crammed between 3 other people. So I am not sure what went wrong with the accuracy of the time on the voucher.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Franziska G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Our tour included Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles and the city of Oberammergau. We only had 40 minutes in Oberammergau before getting back on the bus to Neuschwanstein where we waited 45 minutes for our tour time. Logistics could have been better to allow more time in Oberammergau and less wait time at Neuschwanstein. Also, we booked an English speaking tour, but our bus did not have English narration.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Damian B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Castles were wonderful although the 45 minutes spent in the small town of Oberammergau was a wast of time as could not explore and would have been better spent in Neuschwanstein Castle to explore the lookout. This lookout was not mentioned at all by the tour guide... lucky did some research!!! The best place to get a photo!!
The entry Fee is 11euro per Castle per person yet we were charged 13euro each... Not sure why the difference but am sure the Tour guide made a good cash on the side at 4euro per person if seeing both Castles... So my suggestion is to buy your own tickets once you get to the Castles and to go to the lookout in Neuschwanstein..

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did this tour in October and had a great day out, the tour was full on but very interesting. Did both tours of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein both so different but beautiful. The guide was very good and tour was well organised. Had a stopover at a little town called Oberammergau famous for their passion play, which the guide explained the history of, the town was so beautiful surrounded by the Barvarian Alps. The guide explained the history of King Lugwig II which made touring the castles more wonderful. Linderhof is a lot smaller more like a mansion than a castle but no less impressive and the surrounds are beautiful, but the main attraction was Neuschwanstein even though it was never finished inside, it is still worth the tour but mind you there is about 300 steps of spiral staircases to climb but well worth it. You also have to walk up to the castle but lots of food and drink kiosks on the way but there is a shuttle bus or a horse and carriage that can take you there as well. Lovely day out, lots crammed into the day but well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Bill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling to foot of the German Alps was a great idea, and these guys make it easy to do. The price of a Viator-contracted tour is fair, and the local guides they use are eminently qualified. I think that the grandeur of Neuschwanstein Castle speaks for itself, so all that's left to do it visit the castle both inside and out.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Khaik Yong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a very enjoyable and memorable trip esp Neuschwanstein castle...and the fact that it had snowed the day before our visit

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Samantha C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a lot of fun! I would have preferred to go to the 2nd castle in Neuschwanstein instead of stopping in that one town to shop but overall it was a good experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Katherine M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! I was a dream come true to see Neuschwanstein in real life. The climb up to Neuschwanstein was way harder than what I initially thought. Lunch at Neuschwanstein was yummy but some places were closed the day that I was there so other places ended up being overcroweded and not taking anymore guests. I found a place to have lunch, it just took going to a few places. But overall this is 100 great tour to do.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jercan123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I has always been my dream to see Neuschwanstein Castle and I certainly wasn't disappointed. The castle art, tapestries, carvings, paintings, etc. were just amazing. The walk up the hill was well worth it - loved this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message