Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 797 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour!! Dino was a great driver and took us to see the most beautiful castles of King Ludwig. We had plenty of time to view the Neuschwanstein Castle. I recall being there 4 hours. Even though at the second stop in the small village we visited was very short, I believe this is the right decision to spend the most time at the last stop. We were so lucky the weather held up. It was truly a great day. We also had plenty of time to shop as well and have some lunch at the last stop. We left at 8:30 and returned close to 7 pm back to Munich. It is a day we'll never forget.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an enthusiastic and friendly tour guide - Austin - who kept us all together for the journey to and from the castle from Munich. Austin stopped periodically to talk about Ludvig II and how the castle came to be in his own style which was funny, factual and compelling. I highly recommend this tour, and Austin, as both were well organised and allowed us to skip all the tourist lines and long walk up to the castle. Everything was smooth and easy and it was an enjoyable day.
Don't go to Neuschwanstein yourself - go through this tour and make your day quicker and easier!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had wonderful experience with our trip to Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Petra, did an excellent job providing historical background, guiding us through the trains/bus, and making sure everyone received personal attention.

If we had it to do over, I would include the Hohenschwangau tour too- just to see more of the interior of the castles because the interior tour of Neuschwanstein is only 30-40mins. Also, I would recommend taking the bus to the castle rather than walking due to the time limit you have. This would allow you to see more of the castle grounds/Marian bridge before your group goes into the castle.

We were very pleased with our trip- Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

markpbyers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide couldn't have been better. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The tour of the castle interior was rather short and by audio guide because that's how Neuschwanstein is run... but there was plenty to absorb from our real guide before and after. The grounds were fun to explore as well. Also: getting to the castle is slightly complicated, so having a guide is a definite plus!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Olivia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour made it easy to get to the castle and provided us with some background information on Ludwig and the history behind Neuschwanstein. Train ticket there, bus to the site, lunch stop, bus to the top of the crazy hill, and back to Munich all for one price!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Keith from Scotland was amazing! We had such a great time with him and found him to be supremely knowledgeable about the area and history of Fussen and Neuschwanstein. Would definitely do this tour again when I return to Germany!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Rospow USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth the extra cost. The bus was the nicest I've been in - full size bus with individual captains chairs, snacks and coffee on the way there and beer on the way back. Ursula was a fantastic guide. And the castles are amazing. Definitely take the shuttle bus to The bridge to get the view of Neuschwanstein. Very nice walk down. And the Bavarian Alps are beautiful. Great day out of Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

drj1956

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip to the two castles and Lucy our guide was a real gem, informative with a wicked sense of humour.
The down side was the food at Neuschwanstein! As time was limited there was not enough time to eat in the very busy restaurants as the queue to the transport buses to the castle was so long we used the fast food outlets. The food was horrible and the standard of hygiene was appalling!
We thought that a longer stop at Oberammergau would have been better for an early lunch or snack. As it was so quiet there would have been ample time for this and to see the whole town.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jeffrey W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour, the guide was very knowledgeable, the palaces and Bavarian countryside are awesome. It would have been nice to have an extra hour at Neuschwanstein to really see everything.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jalbin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see. Our guide Lucy was the best. She made the tour both fun and enlightening while taking the time to make sure everyone was having a good time. We loved Linderhof and it was a shame we didn't have more time there. At Neuschwanstein, be prepared for a vigorous walk if you don't take the shuttle or horse carriage up the hill although you will still need to walk if you do as they don't go the entire way up. Bring water. A wonderful day. If Lucy is your guide you will have a great tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

rregan1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time on our small group tour to Neuschwanstein Castle. Our guide Petra, was so friendly and knowledgeable. Would absolutely book this tour again.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great full day tour to Neuschwanstein - our tour guide was very knowledgeable. You start with a train ride followed by a bus, then you can decide whether to hike up the very steep hill please note it is tough or take a horse-drawn carriage. You tour around the castle then have a couple hours for yourselves to venture up to Mary's Bridge please note this was closed and I was told it will be for the near future due to damage from landslides or head over to the Hohenschwangau castle which is back down the hill and across the way. I went past Mary's bridge to a clearing where you could see the iconic view of the castle with Mary's bridge in front.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour that is well-organized. Great way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein in one day. Very convenient with a well-informed guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide and a small number of people on the tour, which kept things very manageable. Everything was very efficient and I'm so glad we chose to tour Neuschwanstein this way. The horse drawn carriage ride at the end was a nice touch! Would do the same tour again!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Trish S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Tour Leader and Bus Driver both were professional, pleasant, courteous and helpful. The tour was very good in that it included several main sites all in one day. The only thing was that some people who are not in good shape might have some problems climbing up to Castle Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lorri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very unusual experience while on this tour to the Neuschwanstein Castle. We enjoyed 2 nice train rides and then a bus ride to get to the castle. Upon arriving, we ate lunch at a nice cafe and then began our steep walk up to the Castle which took an hour. The actual tour of the castle is about 45 minutes. Susanna, our guide did a great job with giving us loads of information about the history of the castle. After leaving the site, we returned to Munich via the bus and train. It happened that on this day, Munich experienced a shooting in a shopping mall and just as we were getting into the vicinity of central Munich, we heard about it on the train. The decision was made for us to get off the train at the train stop Munich - Pasing since it was outside the area that the shootings were occurring. Susanna did a great job keeping our group together during the chaos and advised us to stop in at a biergarten in the area to have dinner as we waited to hear about updates as to what was going on in the city center. We spent several hours in the restaurant and later learned that all trains, buses, were shut down and taxis were very limited. As the night wore on, Susanna stayed with us and then made the very generous offer that her husband would be arriving soon to the restaurant and would shuttle groups of us back into the city to our hotels! What a lifesaver for us, since we had no other way to get back to our hotel. We were very grateful for the kindness of Susanna and her husband. We can't say enough about these 2 people and how helpful they were to us and other members of our tour group!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely love a good castle/palace tour and this was a dream come true. I have always wanted to see Neuschwanstein and it lived up to all of my expectations-magical and beautiful and amazing! I also loved Linderhof! Beautiful inside as well as the gardens outside! The meeting place was easy to find, it was a very well organized day, wonderful guide, very highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Linderhof is small but beautiful.

Upon arriving at Neuschwanstein, there was a heavy rain. The guided tour inside the castle is interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

diane e c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

OK, and it really simplifies the problems with getting appointed times and access to Neuschwanstein, but not nearly enough time for Linderhof, and Oberamergau wasn't really in keeping with the rest of the tour. The bus and the service were very good,

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Holly H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Could have spent more time at the Neuschwanstein. It was only a 30 minute tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message