Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

One of the most popular castles in Europe, Germany's Neuschwanstein Castle is best known for having served as the inspiration for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle. Commissioned by the shy King Ludwig II of Bavaria as a private refuge, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1056 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marichris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A visit to Neuschwanstein Castle is like stepping into the pages of a storybook. On our journey to Neuschwanstein, we passed through the picturesque Bavarian Alps and through a few small towns, making stops at Linderhof Castle and Oberammergau. We reached Neuschwanstein mid afternoon, and after a brisk walk to the top of the mountain, were free to explore the castle grounds for a few hours. Make sure to take a picture from Marion Bridge as this is definitely the best photo spot. Overall, a wonderful day with amazing scenery and a great guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Scott J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Linderhof was beautiful inside and out. I enjoyed the short walk to the castle especially passing a swan in the pond on the way. There wasn't much to see in Oberammergau during the winter but the fairytale painted buildings were prett,y and we had 30 minutes to shop. Neuschwanstein was gorgeous from the outside with the snow, and although the inside tour is short, it was worth the trip. Overall, while this trip was a little rushed, it was so we could do everything and I'm glad we did. I'd say don't miss this one.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. Linderhof is beautiful on the inside, and breathtaking from the outside. Neuschwanstein is also a must see for anyone staying in/near Munich. Our tour guide was great. Tour was well organized. Definitely recommend to anyone considering this experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michele R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour made the visit to Neuschwanstein very easy! Our guide Keith was very knowledgable with a great sense of humor although you are given a separate guide to tour the castle. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jessica W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

I have taken three previous tour of Neuschwanstein from Munich, and this was a veritable disaster. The issues were almost completely due to the incredibly tight time-frame for the tour. The train left Munich on time i mean, it is Germany, so of course the train was on time. We arrived in Fussen at the scheduled time. Once you get there, you are responsible for getting yourself up to the castle, which I found strange. There are 3 options: walking 45 minutes up a steep hill, horse carriage 20 min ride roughly a 30 minute wait in line paying for a ticket, or a bus 15 minute ride 45 minute wait to get on 6 fee. We had 90 minutes to get up to the castle once we got off the bus. Keep in mind, if we didn't get something to eat either before or after the tour, we would be starving for about 7 hours- so we got food to-go at the tiny imbiss at the bottom of the hill, which took abut 20 minutes.

My husband and I decided to wait for the bus since walking was physically out of the question or me after walking our way though Europe for the previous 3 weeks, and the line for the carriage was super long. The line was very long and the passengers were being jammed in each of the 2 buses on each trip. We BARELY made it on the last bus before our tour and had to literally run up the rest of 15 minute-worth of hill after the bus stop to make it to the tour time, which we made with 30 seconds to spare the tickets times are very precise to get through the turn-style
The tour was all of 30 minutes long inside the castle, and we realized that we had to RUN back to the bus or down the hill to get to the train on time after the tour..so no gifts, no extra pictures, no enjoying the view...we just had to run or risk getting stuck in fussen.

We took over 25 different scheduled tour while we were in Europe and, comparatively, this tour was pathetic. We were completely unable to enjoy the castle, and ended up just stressing about making it to the bus or train on time. Thank god we were physically fit enough to do the running we did, otherwise we would probably still be in fussen. Find a different tour that actually cares if you enjoy yourself.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Did the tour on mid of October. It started from Oberammergau, Linderhoft Palace and Neuschwanstein castle. Beautiful view along the way and beautiful castles. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had beautiful memories. I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maxine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour, well worth the money. An early start on a crisp morning, but very relaxing on the coach. The Bavarian countryside was beautiful and our first stop was Linderhof Castle. An optional tour of this castle is very good and worth doing. The surrounding countryside was quite stunning. Next stop was the town of Oberammergau beautiful. We had a reasonable amount of time to take in some sights.

Then onto Schwangau and the Neuschwanstein Castle. It took about 45 minutes to walk up to the castle, but don't worry, you won't be on your own. We didn't do a tour of this castle, just looking from outside it is awesome. Walking to Marienbrücke Queen Mary's Bridge took about another 20 minutes, but the views along the way are fantastic. One of the best views of the castle is from this bridge, but you won't be alone. The crowd was quite orderly and you just have to be patient. It's worth it.

Plenty of places to get food up the hill or down in the village, we had the standard bratwurst in a bun at the top of the hill and then enjoyed a hot drink at Hotel Müller, Then headed back to Munich at 4:30. It was good to be on the coach as it was getting fairly cold outside. Back in Munich about 6:30. Thanks to Elizabeth for her friendliness and professionalism and thanks to Daniel for delivering us back safely. A great day out.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Madhusudan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing trip. The Neuschwanstein castle is out of a fairy tale book! The guided tour was also pretty good. I would highly recommend this place as a must visit.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Carla S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fantastic. Our guide Nick was very knowledgeable and went above and beyond to provide us with information not only about Neuschwanstein but Munich as well. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jessie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Originally booked for Neuschwanstein but was so happy Linderhof was included since it is not to be missed! Neuschwanstein is VERY crowded. My mom and I chose to walk to the castle instead of the horse drawn carriage or bus. I only recommend walking if you feel comfortable with hills since it is a very steep climb. Linderhof was our favorite part of the tour. I wish we had more time there since the gardens were stunning and we only had a few minutes to look at on our own. There was about a 45 minute stop in Oberammergau that I think could be cut in lieu of more time at Linderhof. While we liked Obermmergau, it was mostly just shopping.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

khrys89

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Unfortunately there was a suspension bridge that was accessible to tourists that would have been famtastic for photos of Neuschwanstein castle that our tour guide did not tell us about. Was a little annoyed because of this

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing castle. Neuschwanstein is awesome. I now understand why Walt Disney chose this castle to duplicate for Sleeping Beauty. So beautiful and the views are to die for. If you can't handle walking up the side of the mountain, then you should grab a ride on the horse shuttle. If you do nothing else, make this your tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Austin from Radius Tours was fantastic and made sure everything had a great day and fun time travelling to Neuschwanstein Castle. The day went very smoothly and we learned a lot about the history of the castle and King Ludwig II. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in going to this castle. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

AG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fabulous time on this full day trip from Munich. Make sure that you wear good shoes, it's a hike up a hill to get to Neuschwanstein but absolutely worth it. The Linderhof castle was small but also lovely and a great place to take pictures and admire the mountains around you. The bus driver and the guide were lovely also. I would highly recommend doing this day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

greg.hakomaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The bus trip is the wa to go. A fun day trip and the castles were great to see. The stop to shop was good too. Very tight schedule but a lot to see and do. It is a long walk to Neuschwanstein but not that steep. Doable for most everyone but will take time for some.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Neuschwanstein - First telephone in a castle, running water, picturesque views of mountains and lakes... this place has it all. Plus you get to visit Oberammergau and Lindderhof.. this is a great day of sight seeing. Someone else takes care of the driving, beer and water are available. What is not to love?

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

SkyyStrike Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour gave us access to Linderhof, Neuschwanstein and Oberammergau. Tour guide was great, tour covers everything as described. Appreciate the options given during free and easy times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jingwei H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We really enjoyed the tour. Neuschwanstein castle, alps, and German countryside are amazing!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Miguel Sumera

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great bus tour of Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Neuschwanstein can be a little chaotic as it seems to be always busy at the drop off point. Try and buddy up with some of your fellow passengers so you don't get lost. Some of the best views of Neuschwanstein require a moderate amount of hiking. Unfortunately you can't take photos inside any of the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peter K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Note that pictures are NOT allowed inside the castles. If you want to take photos you will have to take of the exterior of the castle only.
Tour of Neuschwanstein is guided with the tour guide talking into a radio that you can hear with the provided receivers. Do not get too far back from the group as reception gets scratchy if you are too far back.
The bus ride was very comfortable on the Viator double decker bus. Viator guide was full of interesting information about Munich and the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

wickedsista

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Long day but got to see everything on the tour list. The castles were beautiful. Expect to hike up to Neuschwanstein and photography is not allowed inside. The bridge was closed that was the key point for taking photos of the castle, but we were able to find other locations to get the job done. The guide was very knowledgeable. I recommend this tour from Munich. The venture from Frankfurt would be too long.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elena K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice tour well organized. Overall very pleased with the tour, but Linderhof Castle is very small inside, and the group was way to big to fit in the small size rooms, should not be that way. It was not a problem in Neuschwanstein, as it has more room inside to accommodate the large group.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

irenetpete

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The castles were lovely, be prepared for crowds. I mean truly a ton of people. It was chaos, not by the tour company, but Neuschwanstein castle needs to limit the people on the castle grounds. It's just so packed to the point of being uncomfortable, Mary's bridge was a disaster of people pushing and shoving to get on the bridge, kind of ruined the experience though not the tour group's fault. I knew going with this tour group that it would be a large bus, but this was not just a big bus, but a BIG DOUBLE DECKER bus. So imagine what you think of a big tour group and then double it. Also my viator voucher said it left at 8:30, but to show up 20 minutes early. I came 30 minutes earlier at 8am and the bus was already crammed full. I had to sit on the top deck in the very last row crammed between 3 other people. So I am not sure what went wrong with the accuracy of the time on the voucher.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Franziska G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Our tour included Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles and the city of Oberammergau. We only had 40 minutes in Oberammergau before getting back on the bus to Neuschwanstein where we waited 45 minutes for our tour time. Logistics could have been better to allow more time in Oberammergau and less wait time at Neuschwanstein. Also, we booked an English speaking tour, but our bus did not have English narration.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Damian B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Castles were wonderful although the 45 minutes spent in the small town of Oberammergau was a wast of time as could not explore and would have been better spent in Neuschwanstein Castle to explore the lookout. This lookout was not mentioned at all by the tour guide... lucky did some research!!! The best place to get a photo!!
The entry Fee is 11euro per Castle per person yet we were charged 13euro each... Not sure why the difference but am sure the Tour guide made a good cash on the side at 4euro per person if seeing both Castles... So my suggestion is to buy your own tickets once you get to the Castles and to go to the lookout in Neuschwanstein..

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message