Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

One of the most popular castles in Europe, Germany's Neuschwanstein Castle is best known for having served as the inspiration for Walt Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle. Commissioned by the shy King Ludwig II of Bavaria as a private refuge, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1034 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing castle. Neuschwanstein is awesome. I now understand why Walt Disney chose this castle to duplicate for Sleeping Beauty. So beautiful and the views are to die for. If you can't handle walking up the side of the mountain, then you should grab a ride on the horse shuttle. If you do nothing else, make this your tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Franziska G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Our tour included Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles and the city of Oberammergau. We only had 40 minutes in Oberammergau before getting back on the bus to Neuschwanstein where we waited 45 minutes for our tour time. Logistics could have been better to allow more time in Oberammergau and less wait time at Neuschwanstein. Also, we booked an English speaking tour, but our bus did not have English narration.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Damian B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Castles were wonderful although the 45 minutes spent in the small town of Oberammergau was a wast of time as could not explore and would have been better spent in Neuschwanstein Castle to explore the lookout. This lookout was not mentioned at all by the tour guide... lucky did some research!!! The best place to get a photo!!
The entry Fee is 11euro per Castle per person yet we were charged 13euro each... Not sure why the difference but am sure the Tour guide made a good cash on the side at 4euro per person if seeing both Castles... So my suggestion is to buy your own tickets once you get to the Castles and to go to the lookout in Neuschwanstein..

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did this tour in October and had a great day out, the tour was full on but very interesting. Did both tours of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein both so different but beautiful. The guide was very good and tour was well organised. Had a stopover at a little town called Oberammergau famous for their passion play, which the guide explained the history of, the town was so beautiful surrounded by the Barvarian Alps. The guide explained the history of King Lugwig II which made touring the castles more wonderful. Linderhof is a lot smaller more like a mansion than a castle but no less impressive and the surrounds are beautiful, but the main attraction was Neuschwanstein even though it was never finished inside, it is still worth the tour but mind you there is about 300 steps of spiral staircases to climb but well worth it. You also have to walk up to the castle but lots of food and drink kiosks on the way but there is a shuttle bus or a horse and carriage that can take you there as well. Lovely day out, lots crammed into the day but well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Bill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling to foot of the German Alps was a great idea, and these guys make it easy to do. The price of a Viator-contracted tour is fair, and the local guides they use are eminently qualified. I think that the grandeur of Neuschwanstein Castle speaks for itself, so all that's left to do it visit the castle both inside and out.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Khaik Yong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a very enjoyable and memorable trip esp Neuschwanstein castle...and the fact that it had snowed the day before our visit

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Samantha C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a lot of fun! I would have preferred to go to the 2nd castle in Neuschwanstein instead of stopping in that one town to shop but overall it was a good experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Katherine M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! I was a dream come true to see Neuschwanstein in real life. The climb up to Neuschwanstein was way harder than what I initially thought. Lunch at Neuschwanstein was yummy but some places were closed the day that I was there so other places ended up being overcroweded and not taking anymore guests. I found a place to have lunch, it just took going to a few places. But overall this is 100 great tour to do.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jercan123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I has always been my dream to see Neuschwanstein Castle and I certainly wasn't disappointed. The castle art, tapestries, carvings, paintings, etc. were just amazing. The walk up the hill was well worth it - loved this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Nimat F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Neuschwanstein castle is one of the best places to visit in the world even though they don't let you to stay inside the castle for long timed tour due to thousands of people visiting it everyday. Lucy was a very good guide. The other places that are part of the tour were also worth a visit, though I wish we had more time to spend inside them too.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The extra money for this small group tour was well worth it. Spacious seats and a very comfortable ride through scenic Bavaria. I never felt as if I was part of a herd. The guide (wish I remembered her name) was very knowledgeable and informative. The description of the tour was spot on, and met or exceeded my expectations. Could you spend more time in Neuschwanstein, Linderhof and Oberammagau? Sure, but I was able to see 3 beautiful places in one day in perfect weather. I was extremely satisfied and the tour was one of the highlights of my recent vacation in Europe.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Oleksandr M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Neuschwanstein is obviously one or the most charming places you can go, located near the Bavarian Alps just half a click from the Austrian border it's quite romantic and spectacular. You would enjoy both surrounding landscapes and the castle itself observing the beauty of the castle and nature outside watching the paragliders in the air above.
Try planning your trip on a sunny day to get best pictures from around the castle and of course Marienbrucke.
Also, special thanks to our tour guide Verena from Radius Tours who was keeping us engaged with her stories of the castle and King Ludwig all the way from the very first second of our tour to the last one.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

jim.azarelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great Tour and a spectacular Value. If you get a chance to do this tour, don't hesitate. Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau and the village of Oberammergau in a 10.5 hour tour is jam packed. Tickets for the tours inside both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were taken care of by the fabulous guide for an additional 21 euro. Everything was made very convenient.Plenty of time was spent at Neuschawnstein/Hohenschwangau. Oberammergau village was a quick shopping stop with beautiful Fairy Tale painted homes and businesses. I found prices for souvenirs cheaper here than Munich. Overall a fairy tale trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I thought this tour was excellent. The castles were interesting even though it rained and was chilly most of the day. I walked the road up to Neuschwanstein but it's possible to take a shuttle bus or horse drawn carriage as well. Our guide, Lucy Lucia was well organized and handled our large group effortlessly. She anticipated problems before they occurred and provided informed and interesting commentary throughout the trip. I was impressed and attribute the success of our tour to her preparation.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kaitlin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was probably my most memorable day on this trip to Europe! The castles were beautiful and the guides were great. When we went to the town of Oberammergau, it just was not enough time there. That was the only portion of the trip that felt rushed. Being at the Neuschwanstein Castle was amazing. My only recommendation was to skip going for lunch and bring your own for the hour they give you to eat. Walk around the grounds and take it all in. Definitely glad we didn't stop at the restaurant. Paddle boats were cheap and a great way to see the castles from the water! Highly recommend that!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Monte A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Neuschwanstein Castle is a spectacular sight to behold and a must-see for everyone.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guests met up at Mike's Bikes in Munich, it seemed there was a little delay getting started. Walked to a very comfortable bus several blocks away. Natalia gave an informative introduction to the planned events and discussed various points of interest as we passed them leaving Munich. A couple movies were played on the bus reviewing Ludwig II's life and controversial death, but because of various passengers' conversations it was difficult to hear the audio.

There is a choice of joining the bike ride in the morning and touring Neuschwanstein, or touring Hohenschwangau in the morning and Neuschwanstein in the afternoon. We chose the latter. The hike up from the former to the latter is steep, and with good weather it is rather warm. Brad and Maikka were experts at making sure everybody reached the destination, considering the varying paces. They are also very good at drilling into the guests the necessity for everyone to be prompt at the meeting places, such that no one or several stragglers would hold up the entire tour group. Worked like a charm! They were excellent and pleasant hosts.

Definitely recommend this trip to others, well worth the expense: fun, informative, and full of exercise! We can't speak for the bike ride, but we cycle at home and figured we had better see Hohenschwangau while we were there.

The state guides in the castles were independent of Mike's Bikes. Our guide through the lower castle had a wonderfully amusing delivery: she would introduce a room or item in the room, pause for several seconds, and then surprise us with a funny and curious fact regarding it. Very relaxing tour. Neuschwanstein was a little faster paced, like a people mover to keep the groups proceeding through. Primarily a function of the two guides' personalities.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Jazminearogers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!!! best part of visiting Munich. Maximus was a great guide and gave us such good insight into munich. The little town we stopped at on our way between Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was so awesome! I also highly recommend to any one to purchase most of your souvenirs here because you won't find a better price!!

We walked up the mountain to the castle, it was a tiring walk but well worth it once we made it to the top! Don't forget to walk to the bridge so that you can see the perfect view!

Don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jniemeyer316

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful excursion from start to finish. Finding the starting point for the tour was a tad tricky, being without a phone/not knowing German, but the guides could not have been nicer! They made certain the entire group staying together and that we were well informed during the entire trip. We had a gorgeous day for the bike ride, as well as the castle tour. Plenty of places and time to stop and take in the scnenery and snap some pictures. Lunch was delicious, with breath-taking views. Easy, relaxing, nice break from our trip where someone else could take the reigns. So happy we chose this instead of going the tour of Neuschwanstein from Munich on our own. Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Joshua G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Christine was awesome and very friendly. The tour bus driver did an excellent job as well. Lots of cool and unique history given while traveling to all stops. Loved the Linderhof castle tour. My wife and I both did not enjoy the Neuschwanstein castle tour however. All in all a great.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was worth the climb to see Neuschwanstein. Linderhof was wonderful too. It is a shame he didn't get to finish all three castles.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Robert E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall a fantastic and informative tour. Monica, our guide, was amazing. Full of great info and fun-facts, she kept us all on-track and entertained. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were gorgeous. The sole improvement we would suggest is considering omitting the stop in Oberammergau. While it was a lovely spot, we had only 30 minutes to explore/shop which was not nearly enough and the whole detour felt very rushed. Very small issue for an otherwise wonderful and fun-filled day!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Sarah H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Both castles were excellent and the tour guide was very informative. I could have done without the stop to the Bavarian village and had more time at Neuschwanstein. Also, note that the tour bus follows the same route/time frame as a large number of other tour groups so the stops are all pretty packed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phillip B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a lovely tour. A visit to Neuschwanstein had been on our bucket list for several years. Our time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was enjoyable with the bonus of great weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message