Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Romantic Road

Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hamburg castle is a well preserved real medieval castleRomantic road is a good ride . Rothenburg is a medieval town preserved in the same pattern as it would have been ages ago . lovely place . Had lunch in a very traditional restaurant A local sweet called 'snowball' is worth trying. Shopping ! chocolates Lindt and organic farm products Lebe Geshund. Can rest on the ride back .

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was disappointing that there was at least 3 spots on the Romantic Road under construction so we did not get to see all of it. What we saw was beautiful and Rothenburg and Harburg were amazing.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Miss Pat

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was disappointed with this tour. Following the Romantic Road meant zooming up the autobahn then turning off to a village when the driver needed a break. Not at all happy with our driver from Munich to Rothenburg, he didn't take enough care and we had a close call. However, Rothenberg was sensational. Our accommodation was beautiful at the Golden Rose, a little boutique hotel near to the centre of the city. I would do Rothenberg again but would find my own way there.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Johua S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Lots of travel for too little time to see the stops, by definition the romantic road needs to be taken at a slower pace to truly appreciate the sites. Sites are amazing but you may be better off doing a whole trip through the region as you may not get the experience you desire by taking this tour.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great comfortable bus day trip with excellent informative commentary provided by our guide Holger during our travels. Guided tour of Hamburg Fortress very worthwhile and gave great insight into the past. Visiting Rothenburg was like stepping into the pages of a storybook with its quaint stone and wooden houses, narrow cobblestone streets and surrounding thick stone wall. Easy to fill three hours spent there and would have enjoyed more. There is a lot of bus travelling on this day trip but very enjoyable seeing the passing landscapes and towns on travels up the Romantic Road. A great way to see this beautiful part of Barvaria especially if your time in the area is limited.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Keith J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! The castles were wonderful and we would highly recommend to visit them. The Hotel Muller was very nice with a great little balcony and a view of the mountains! A little more info regarding how the bus trip works would have been helpful. Since we didn't get the info until the 1st hotel and we were busy site seeing, we did not realize that the bus stops frequently for short visits to some of the towns on the romantic road. Rothenburg was also a fabulous unique town to visit...don't forget to stop at one of the many bakeries!

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Ian W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Rothenburg really was lovely, and it is very cool that you can climb up in the towers and walk all around the Rothenburg city walls at no charge and there was nobody up there!. The timber frame houses are very attractive, and the bakeries had these little treats they called snowballs sneeballen that we hadn't seen anywhere else in Germany. The Romantic Road itself, though, is nothing more than a highway with a name. The road itself is not an attraction and was simply given the moniker by US GIs after WWII. On this trip you are going to see Harburg Castle and Rothenburg, and that's it. Be prepared for a very long bus ride both ways. These places are not close to Munich. Also, what hurt the trip the most for us was that the guide would not stop talking at all the wrong times such as the entire ride back when nobody wants to hear someone go on and on and on about nothing in particular. Even on the way to the places, Holger, the guide, would often talk about things that had little or nothing to do with the sites we were visiting. Don't get me wrong - the complete abridged history of the Germanic state is interesting - but that's just not what you're going for when you book a Romantic Road tour. But again, I have to say Rothenburg was lovely, but the tour group was massive, and Holger needs to work on his approach.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Anna B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Castle Harburg and the medieval city of Rothenburg were interesting and charming. I gave this tour 3 vs. 5 stars not because of the content of the tour but the actual tour company/guide. Our guide seemed like a very nice gentleman but before we even got out of Munich we were informed that the bathroom facilities on our double-decker coach were for emergencies and that the bus would be taking ample bathroom breaks so please do not use the bus' facilites. We arrived at Harburg Castle, first, and promptly went to our bathroom break...ALL the passengers on the bus went and waited - and waited. The time spent on the bathroom break impacted the time we had to tour the castle. Additionally, I got the impression that Castle Harburg wasn't expecting such a large group as they seemingly ran out of guides. Our group was a very nice lady who spoke some English and confirmed she was not a guide but a staffer from the Castle. Still the castle was very interesting...just wish we had had more time to explore it. Back on the bus and driving along the Romantic Highway took us through scenic small towns and countryside. The bus was comfortable. We arrived at the medieval city of Rothenburg and once again we ALL had to take a bathroom break! We then walked through the city walls, into the city and up to the city center about 1/4 of mile or less where our guide gave us a 5 minute info session and then we were on our own. Why couldn't we have simply walked straight to the city center, heard the 5 minute info session and then dispersed - those needed the facilities could then go - no idea? Rothenburg is charming and lovely. I wish we had had more time to see more of it. I could've given this tour 5 stars if it hadn't been for the feeling of being herded around and wasting valuable time while 40 adults/young adults had to use the bathroom at each stop.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Galen S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Rothenburg and Harburg fortress towns were very picturesque, especially the former.

We were given a guided tour of the Harburg Keep. While at Rothenburg we were left on our own devices to wander around this town. We were supplied with a map that denoted the best vantage points and structures of interest. This worked out well for us.

Sadly the Romantic Road part didnt live up to its name. Due to the distance we had to cover in the day, the bus had to mainly take the Autobhan. This part of the Munich environs wasnt very picturesque, mainly flat farmland, either covered in crops or solar panels. This was rather disappointing and many fellow tourists fell asleep.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was definitely a great way to spend the day, traveling down the Romantic Road while hearing about the sights we saw along the way. Our tour guide Debbie was very informative, entertaining and very enthusiastic. The historical Harburg castle was well worth the visit - amazing to see something so old. And of course Rothenburg ob der Tauber was quite charming. I felt like this tour gave us plenty of time in each location, and while I enjoyed the tour of the castle it was nice to have time on our own in the town. There is so much to explore and cute stores for shopping. I would definitely recommend this tour as this area of Germany is very quaint and worth seeing.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Diana H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Rothenburg was lovely and I would recommend to all. However, I would probably just go by train on my own if I were to do this again. While it wouldn't go on the Romantic Road, it is a bit quicker travel time and not waiting for a large group. Our guide was very friendly and informative, though

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

MRS D G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a great day out. The tour was well organised. It was a lovely drive north from Munich along the Romantic Road, through picturesque villages with architecture dating back many centuries. Our stop at Harburg to view the Palace/Fortress built to protect the King from his enemies was ever so interesting, and the history well explained. The highlight for me was the beautiful Rothenburg. It was magical and belonged on a Christmas card. It was a 10.5 hour trip but well worth it. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

br_juanda

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

this trip is decent, rothenburg is a small and pretty medieval town, but the harburg castle is really underwhelming and i really dont find anything romantic about the road we are taking in this trip.
so overall a so so experience and still worth doing.
but if you missed it, you really dont lose much.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

NICOLE C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Day 1: Salzburg and Lake District

This was an absolute delight! The beautiful Austrian towns and trinkets make the trip well worth it.

Day 2: Romantic Road and Rothenburg

The trip to Rothenburg is worth the entire trip. The visit to the Harburg castle was underwhelming. They can pick a different castle or take it out altogether. But, the city of Rothenburg was spectacular! The only complaint I have is how cold it was on the bus. Despite being asked several times to adjust the heat, it was never done. I had to travel in headgear, a scarf, sweater, pea coat, gloves and a BLANKET in attempt to be warm on the bus. Unacceptable.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Craig

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour is a lot of driving and the romantic road may be a little over sold. The castle is good, Rothenburg is beautiful, make sure you leave the main street. I would do this again, but would not put it high on the list. The guide was pretty good.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Rons

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a wonderful tour. Really romantic as it says.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

cally h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Salzburg was a lot of fun! I really enjoyed the boat ride at the end of the day. It was a final touch to an already wonderful day. The romantic road tour was also a good experience. I really enjoyed the castle on the way to Rothenburg.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

mdolsen

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the Salzburg and Lake District and Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day trips. Our guide for the Salzburg trip was a very fast walker and with the amount of other people on tours and visiting Salzburg we ended up losing her. Luckily she did tell us before we left the bus what time we needed to be back on the bus if you aren't there they will leave you behind. I do have one recommendation for tour guide or tour company - the guide should have a stick with the name of the tour and the tour company on it so we can follow the tour and not get left behind.

The Romantic Road and Rothenburg trip was well worth the money. Such beautiful country and Rothenburg is a great medial town. Our tour guide was wonderful. She was always smiling and joking with us. This is a must do trip.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

lwilliams

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Romantic Road tour is another recommended tour. Although the Romantic Road is not romantic by any definition it was worth the effort and long day in order to visit Rothenburg. Most of the day seemed to be spent on the bus but the time spent in the quaint, but congested town of Rothenburg is memorable and a must when visiting Munich.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

prasad s

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hi,
On July 19th 2015, as part of the 3-day Munich to
Frankfurt Romantic Road tour, we took the bus operated by Touring
Tours and Travel from Munich and this was supposed to cover
both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. However the tour guide said that
Neuschwanstein was very crowded and said that given guided tour slots
available, he will first go to Neuschwanstien and then to Linderhof
castle. We told him that we have accommodation booked at Hotel
Muller but that didn't matter.

At Neuschwantien, the guide hurried us up so much to keep
the tour slot 12:20pm for 20 people and 12:45pm for the
remaining that he made us skip going to the St. Mary's
bridge for a view of the castle. This was very disappointing.


After checking in at Hotel Muller, we enquired on bus facilities
and taxi options if we went to Linderhof but given that
it was a Sunday, these options were limited and the taxi
charges were exorbitant. The people at Hotel Muller were very helpful
in this regard. In the end we chose to skip going
to Linderhof castle as the bus left for Linderhof at around
3pm and there was no easy way of returning to Hotel
Muller that day. We are extremely disappointed for not seeing Linderhof
castle and wanted to bring this to your attention.

On the positive side, the rest of the trip from Neuschwanstien
to Frankfurt was excellent and went according to plan. The hotel
at Rothenburg was very nice as well.

thanks
prasad

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Bee Eng A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour meeting point was convenient and the bus ride was comfortable even with a toilet!. Tour guide was pretty informative and Harburg castle was quite interesting. Scenery along the Romantic Road was pretty, passing by small towns and such.

The highlight of the day tour - Rothenburg - was most enjoyable, self-sightseeing the well-preserved medieval town. Lots of spots for photographs! There was sufficient time to go through the inner medieval town sights leisurely, have a decent lunch and shop we didn't go via the castle wall route but I'm sure there would have been enough time to cover that too.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Ronald N D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fun ride on the bus through the Germany country side, even though it was not romantic. The guide explained how the name came about. The castle we saw was great and the well preserved medieval town was wonderful with enough time to look around, eat and shop

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We were disappointed with the Romantic Road part of this tour. We were expecting a more scenic drive. The drive from Munich to Rothenburg was boring with not much to see. The stop in Harburg to visit the castle was OK but several of the rooms were not open and there is construction and updating going on, so it wasn't that great. The town of Rothenburg was a lot of fun, and we wished we could have stayed there longer and not spent so much time in Harburg.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Melissa M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

A little too expensive for the tour. You did not have a choice of either seeing the church or crimson museum... You had to do the church. Did not travel along the romantic road for very long. Bit if a disappointment.

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

manakejo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message