There’s more to Munich than Oktoberfest – whether it’s beer halls, history, arts, or sport, Germany's second largest city has plenty to keep visitors occupied. It's located within some of the world's most beautiful scenery: alps, lakes, and truly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic night, Iain our guide was fantastic. Starting the night off with a beer in the train station is a bonus then learning about the history and importance of the beer while drinking all the samples :D the food in the Hofbraukellar is delicious as well so I would strongly recommend anyone going to Munich to do this tour

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Daniel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic - Keith was an excellent guide and really helped lay the foundation for how Hitler rose to power. The tour was also excellent for our first full day in Munich, giving us a good lay of the land and understanding of how the city is set up.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

SamH United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really great way to see Munich. The stop at the English garden was nice.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

When we booked this tour, I thought it was a good value for the food and drinks actually both were great! . The great surprise was both our guide Ian and the fellow participants on the tour. Our guide was very informative and entertaining on the history of brewing and customs in Munich and the group was a mix of people which made it 3x more fun than I imagined. The Oktoberfest Museum was good, the beer and food were outstanding and the atmosphere was memorable. We recommend this tour to anyone in Muenchen for the first or anytime who wants to have fun.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

shelley.sneed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was from Oregon and was outstanding. She had a deep knowledge of beer, Munich and was very fun and enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Kristen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour company had great service and a great sense of humor. Konrad, our guide for the day, was super knowledgeable and great fun. This tour is not too much for a town like Munich in which you could even spend more time - in case you are wondering. This four hour Segway tour gives a great historical overview, is lots of fun, and well worth it. Would definitely take this tour again and would definitely recommend the company!

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see and learn about the history of Munich. Our guide was very informative with a touch of humour thrown in. Being a morning tour it gave us plenty of time in the afternoon to explore more.

Doing what: Munich Old Town Walking Tour

Jamie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did this tour the first night we were in Munich and our guide Keith was great. We met some nice people during the tour and learned alot about Bavarian food and beer.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

jenna f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best tour to take in Munich! Pay the money and go on the Luxury Coach, it was well worth it. Ursula the tour guide was outstanding as well! We heard from many others how they took trains, buses and horses to get to the top. Our tour was much easier, although some walking and stairs are necessary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Des H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Matt our tour guide was excellent. His knowledge of the history of Munich enhanced the thrill of riding segways for the first time.

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

Yolanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

this tour was amazing and surpassed our expectations. Our guide was the best! He was from Ireland and so very pleasant. He was not only incredibly courteous but very information and knew his history of Munich. We invited him to have lunch with us and his presence added richness to our private tour for 8 seniors on our first time in Munich. Bravisimo!!!!!!!! I cannot remember his name but he is from Ireland and so informative. HE is a keeper for sure!! Thank you.

Doing what: Private Munich Old Town and Third Reich Walking Tour

hawaiianjoyce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gerta, our guide was terrific. This was a fantastic tour that should be taken by all visitors to Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. You don't get a lot of time in each place but you must remember you are seeing a lot in one day outside of Munich. Christine our commentator was excellent. Bus was very nice. Snack box of candy bars and some peanuts was not really very good. I'd have preferred something more healthier or less sugar. anyhow I certainly would recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really fun! Were given beers as soon as the trip started and then had great samples along the way. The Hofbrauhaus was too full to sit down and have a beer at when the tour concluded. I definitely recommend this tour for your first night in Munich!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Edipola L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great guide great driver n great package. Shouldnt missed this tour first timer to Munich

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the fun things to do in Munich, A lot depends on the Guide we had The big Irish Keith- great guy
took us through old joints in old town tasting various beers Light and dark Augustiners ,H and P, cheese , pretzels , etc . We would down a beer , hop on to a tram or underground go to the next one and so on . we even got to taste the fresh brew for Octoberfest. Finally a bit tipsy we were left in a good locale and expected to find our way back to the hotel. Thrilling

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

C J F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Dani gets a big thumbs up from us. She gave us good insights into the Munich beer history and culture and we had a fun evening ending with more drinks at the Hofbrauhaus with our new found friends from the tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Don A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A tour not to be missed! Keith (Scottish) knows Munich and #39;s beer and beer history like a native and made the tour great fun. I went along alone but soon found myself amongst friends!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We wound up with essentially a private tour with Tex, the manager. As a German National who grew ip in Houston, his English is perfect even the idioms and he has an American sense of humor. The Segways are fun, fast and easy to ride while soaking up a great deal of Munich history from the early kings through the Third Reich. His deep local knowlege took us through spaces most tourists probaly never see, including Surf's Up, a man-made surfing facility in the heart of the Englisher Garten. A great way to introduce yourself to Munich!

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

Rospow USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth the extra cost. The bus was the nicest I've been in - full size bus with individual captains chairs, snacks and coffee on the way there and beer on the way back. Ursula was a fantastic guide. And the castles are amazing. Definitely take the shuttle bus to The bridge to get the view of Neuschwanstein. Very nice walk down. And the Bavarian Alps are beautiful. Great day out of Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

toris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Dani was our guide and entertained us with all of her beer and Bavarian knowledge! I did not want to do a drunken bar crawl so this was an awesome tour where we learned a lot while still getting a buzz : I highly recommend for anyone staying in Munich.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Lynda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

After we finished our Dachau tour, Ian took us our next a Barvarian Beer Tour! Even though I'm not a beer drinker it was a fabulous tour, very informative and lots of fun. We met lots of people from all over and enjoyed a great meal together. Thankyou Ian for a fantastic night, Munich by night is stunning.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Kristen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Keith was our tour guide and he was so funny, knowledgeable and nice. This tour was a great introduction to Bavarian food and beer and my husband really loved it! The places we visited were full of history and of course, beer samples! Our group quickly became friends and it felt like we all knew each other and we all had a great time exploring Munich's beer scene by night, enjoying Bavarian food and laughing along the way. Overall great tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Keith our guide was awesome.if you love beer and want to enjoy the Munich culture of beer this tour is for you.we had so much fun on this tour and it is one of our fondest memories

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message