Oktoberfest is by far the largest beer festival in the world, attracting more than 7 million visitors to Munich every year to enjoy the liquid gold. The 16-day event's temporary sparkling city of 34 vast beer tents, fairground attractions, music ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Randy P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the best way to see Oktoberfest. Walk though parts of Munich then on the train to Oktoberfest. We had an amazing time with the group.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Msumaryann United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent group and tour guides. It was an informative walk through the Oktoberfest grounds and we enjoyed hearing the history and fun facts. Our tables were comfortable at the Hofbrau Tent and waitresses attentive. You get two huge beers but can choose a Radler which is cut with lemon! The chicken is good and if you want other menu items they just charge the difference. Bathrooms were not crowded since during day. Men will be cajoled for a tip in restroom women'' room just had a basket out for change. Our guide Daniel was fun and shared helpful tips as we planned to return the next night. There is a short walk from train stop to grounds so wear comfortable shoes. The tour ends up in the tent around 12:30. He stopped for us to take our ferries wheel ride. Not scary and doesn't make one dizzy. Big boxes that hold 8. Everyone is in a great mood by the end of first beer! We had a raucous time and learned many songs from our neighboring table of Germans!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely Fantastic. Had a ball. This is an absolute must for first timers to Oktoberfest. Tour was great and the beer was better!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

jenna f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent! Best way to go to Oktoberfest and make sure you get a seat a table!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

Tara.tank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great! The tour guide was well spoken, knowledgeable, and entertaining. Once we got to the beer tent, we were served quickly. Great experience. Would do it again!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

Randal O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip and a great way for a New Octoberfester to get to know the event.

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

Gerald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Never had so much fun with a group of strangers!! After all, we DID have the BEST table in our group! Everyone chipped in for Ian's future liver transplant, don't know how he does that every day!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jay was highly informative and entertaining, we all had a blast! 5 stars!!

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Verge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The city tour and than reserved seats in an Oktoberfest tent was great and well planned. Recommend to those who wants to experience it without having to find your own way around and your own a table. It does get busy in all the tents.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour starts off by a morning walk around the inner city of Munich learning about its general history, how it was founded, major historical events and characters that make up Munich's history. One also learns about the history of beer brewing in Munich and how the German purity law came about for the brewing of beer. There are Oktoberfest themes running through the tour with stops outside shops that sell Oktoberfest costumes so that one can admire the costumes and learn about them such as what it means if a woman wearing a Dirndle ties her apron with a bow in the front, or on the left or on the right or behind her back. By midday one has is entering the Oktoberfest grounds and taking a tour with the tour guide around the fair grounds and on to the tent where the table booking is. If you do not like to drink beer but another drink such as wine, then tell the tour guide and he will speak to the beer waitress to sort you out with a drink that you like. You can also drink non alcoholic drinks. You are given two coupons for your beer which you can use as a type of money to buy drinks from the menu that the waitress hands to you when you are seated at your table. Or else you drink the beer that is brewed by the brewery that is represented by the tent you are in. The other coupon you have is for the half a chicken. If you are a vegetarian you can order something else from the menu. Take cash with you to pay the waitress for side dishes you order to eat with your half chicken. One can order for example sauerkraut, pretzels they are huge and a board with three different types of Bavarian cheeses served with slices of black bread. You also need cash to tip the waitress and to pay for fair grounds rides once the afternoon session is over in the tent. I visited Munich on my own and I went to the Oktoberfest on my own. By joining a tour group I was able to make friends with the people who were at my table. They were a family group and I joined them after the afternoon the session in the tent was over for a ride on the ferris wheel as well as some other fair ground rides. We visited two small tents in the evening for drinks and to listen to the bands playing and singing. An evening session in a tent is livelier than an afternoon session. The big tents were all booked up so we could not get in to any of them in the evening but this was not the case with the smaller tents. We also sat outside one of the big tents in their beer garden for a while under an overhead heater. Make sure you learn the German beer drinking song 'Ein Prosit' before going on this tour. One sings it every 15 to 20 mins while in a tent. I recommend this tour to first timers to the Oktoberfest and to people travelling on their own. The tour guide was warm and friendly. The festival is well organised, good security and lots of toilet facilities that are very clean.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. The tour started with an English-speaking 90 minute tour of the history of Munich, including Marienplatz, the old market, Hofbrauhaus, Max-Joseph Platz, Odeonsplatz, and of course Oktoberfest. We had reserved seats in Lowenbrau with 2L of beer and a chicken each. We had the tables all afternoon to relax and enjoy. Jim was a great host and tour guide. Would gladly do this again!

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were a group of 8. We really enjoyed the walking tour. Our guide had a lot of knowledge and patient ... as we were silly and enjoying the day. I have to say having reserved seats in the tent was so important. There are so many people and if you do not have reserved seats you will not get served. Had a blast at Oktoberfest. Food, beer and atmosphere were amazing.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Patrick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and funny. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would definitely recommend it !

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Roy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A fantastic way of getting some perspective and insight about Oktoberfest! Highly recommended and enjoyable. Also a great way to ensure you get a seat at a tent really these are buildings constructed just for Oktoberfest and then taken down after the festival. A most memorable day.

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

pittley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was definitely a highlight of our trip. Even though we had been in Munich for a couple of days prior to the tour, the tour provided so much detail around the city and it's history that we would never had found on our own. Our guide was not only informative but had a great sense of humor. Oktoberfest was everything we had hoped it would be. Lots of fun, music and a great atmosphere of friendship. I would definitely recommend this tour. We will go back to Munich - so much to see - so little time!

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Stanislas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was very fun, we were lucky to have an amazing tour guide Bridgitte that showed us around before entering the tent. Wished our reservations were longer as we has a great time and definitely would have been much better to sit down unstead of the 2nd floor.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

baiju s

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour was fun. Wish they had better location for tent seating arragment. Most of the action was in the center. We were off the side with almost no view. Over all fun. Toure guide were fun.

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

YQMer

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

An excellent experience. Very good guides with excellent knowledge of the city and the Fest.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Jack K. S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Should of had a itinerary given us during our walk, Jim was a little too fast with other stuff instead not related with the tour.
Didn't stay long at our table. Seemed in a hurry to get out and go home.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

elise.kidd

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Tour was interesting, we learned a lot! However, the walking part that was supposed to be 90 minutes, was close to 2.5 hours while it was cold and raining -- not ideal to have a tour go over. The reservation was in the Lowenbrau tent which was a nice decor but I didn't find the tent very inviting and it was not very lively like some of the other tents. The guides were good and a very nice family, but did leave after about an hour in the tent.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

debs28270

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Historic tour consisted of a walk from the meeting place at the train station to the Oktoberfest tent with the guide providing a few bits of info about the fest along the way. There are better tours available but having a guaranteed seat in the reserved section of the tent was worth it.

Doing what: An Evening at Oktoberfest at the Hofbrau Tent Including Dinner and a Historical Walking Tour

Alexander L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Overpriced for a reserved seating at the Hofbrauhaus - there were plenty of tables available without a reservation. Some interesting facts during the tour of the Oktoberfest grounds however not worth the price. The seating at the Oktoberfest is in the early afternoon where tables are usually easy to come by so not required to have a reservation.

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

kathleen l

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The hotels and the cities on the tour were excellent and very enjoyable. We had three drivers on the tour. The first one was two hours late picking us up. He was rude, didn't inform us of a schedule and shortened our stops to 15 minutes each to get back on schedule. He was a very scary driver who did not speak English, drove too fast, tailgated and continually yelling at the other drivers. The second driver was excellent, courteous, had a schedule which he gave us a copy and stuck to it. The third driver was again 90 minutes late. The bus was overcrowded and we had to keep our luggage with us in our seats. There were not stops which we are not informed of any schedule. The bus restroom was broken. I recommend touring the Romantic Road but not on this tour. This tour reminded me why I book my own vacations without using a tour company.

Doing what: Small-Group Munich City and Oktoberfest Tour Including Reserved Oktoberfest Tent Table

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was absolutely worth it. Oktoberfest is so much fun with a great group of people. Our tour guide was wonderful. She was funny, friendly and informative. It was rainy but it didn't spoil the fun.

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message