From its roots as a medieval salt-trading center, through the rule of the mid-19th century 'Mad King' King Ludwig II, to the devastation of the World Wars, Munich has a long and colorful history and there are plenty of historic sights to see. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dr. W. Randall R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This excursion was historic as well as beautiful.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Roland B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour overall. Tour guide was very informative and provided a lot of background on history of the area and the areas leading up to the Eagle's nest. I really learned a lot on the tour and it was exciting to be immersed in such a historically significant place.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide who told us about the historical context of Dachau and interesting details about people/the surrounding area. Ex. Pregnant women sometimes have their children out of town to make sure their children's birthplace isn't Dachau. The guide gave a fairly comprehensive overview of what happened in the beginning, middle, and end of the war in relation to Dachau and was really receptive to questions of all sorts.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is all about the guide, and Steve is excellent. His narration is enlightening, his insights are nuanced, and his timing is perfect. Without a guide in a place like this, it's just old, empty space, unless you have some sort of audio commentary. Although I prefer audio guides or web apps for art museums, places like concentration camps and other living historical sites are done justice by live guides such as Steve.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great historical tour! Keith is a very knowledgeable guide and makes the afternoon really a fun time.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Jacob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Keith gave a strong tour of Dachau. He integrated the historical significance of this memorial with good descriptions of the hardships endured by those imprisoned.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site and Third Reich Walking Tour

Ryan Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent, alternative tour of Munich for the historically curious visitor. Very knowledgable tour guide and a very comprehensive overview of the the rise of the Nazi Regime from the streets of Munich.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

patricia.karakashian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If I could give five stars to the guide Steve the Brit I would. Well done.... he was a virtual, historical well of knowledge. It was the best of the tours.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

mcandrp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great historic tour. Sobering but had great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. For such an important historical place, the 5-hr return trip visit seemed to be a bit short, may worth considering a full-day trip if available. Its a definitely chilling reminder of the events that took place there especially on a chilly, foggy day in January, let one's imagination takes over.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well informed and richly detailed. Guide was a walking encyclopedia of historic facts and brought to live the significant events.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

bvye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our young journalist tour guide made our walk through Munich very enjoyable and we all came away with a better understanding of the area and what historical events shaped Munich.

Doing what: Private Munich Old Town and Third Reich Walking Tour

judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Sophie and driver Alex were excellent. Sophie spoke very well and gave us a lot of historical content
and local information. Alex took some side roads to avoid an accident on the way back and we had the added bonus of driving thru some beautiful Bavarian towns. The Eagle's Nest has long been on our wish list and this tour did not disappoint. We were blessed with a brilliant day and therefore had amazing views of the Alps from the mountain top. The operation was professional and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

REYNALDO M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was an amazing experience, our guide was a great connoisseur of historical events that happened there . Although a sad place , it is also a place for hope

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Nicki B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris, our Aussie guide, was awesome. He knew his history, informed us well. He was enthusiastic and managed to keep the tour very upbeat and fun, despite the seriousness of it. It's worth noting that we saw much of Munich on this tour, including everything on the Top Ten Things To Do In Munich lists found online. This tour covered resistance fighters/sights as well. It is worth noting that the company that runs these bike tours is run very well and efficiently. They were professional yet fun, and punctual! We went on three tours in Paris that were twice the price that didn't compare to this tour. The Third Reich Bike tour is perfect for anyone looking to see historical sights of all kinds while in Munich, and I will absolutely recommend family and friends to take it.

Doing what: Third Reich Bike Tour in Munich

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great historic tour. Everyone who goes to Munich should go.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Lovely P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I were glad that we got to experience this tour. The tour guide provided a lot of historical facts occurred in this place. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

After a rocky start due to a miscommunication of exactly where to meet, we had the most amazing trip. Thank you to Steve Whitehall and the people at the tour company as well as the sweet hotel clerk at Hotel Schlicker. Steve was amazing as he continued to surprise us with all he knew about the Third Reich's role in the area we are in. We learned so many things and he was a wealth of information as well as being armed with old photographs that made the stories come alive. W ended the trip dining,and drinking with him in a historical pub that was off the beaten path of tourists. Thank you so much for everything!

Doing what: Private Munich Old Town and Third Reich Walking Tour

Gilbert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide met us at the time and place arranged. He was full of information and energy about the subject! He even had a picture album with historical pictures of the sites we visited. He explained in detail the history of the rise of Hitler from his arrival in Munich to his leadership of the Third Reich. His approach to the subject was even handed and informative. This tour is a must to appreciate the surviving WWII historical sites in Munich. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Bruce N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A really worthwhile tour. The guide Geoff was fantastic and worked through the site including the memorials and historic parts of the site at a good pace and provided ample time and opportunity for questions.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very somber tour, but exactly as it should have been. Excellent presentation of history of the camp and the historical circumstances. Diana was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You don't want to miss this sobering historic place. Our guide was very helpful and went over and above our expectations.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, our tour guide, Steve, was so knowledgeable about this entire historical period. I would highly highly recommend this tour. Even though you can go to Dachau without a tour, I certainly felt that having a tour guide was very beneficial.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Willliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour, and Steven provided fantastic historical background. His insights greatly enhanced the tour and made it a very special experience. He was able to treat a sober experience with the respect required, but still present a historical perspective far beyond what is usually covered in history books. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to not just see Dachau, but really experience and learn about Dachau.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Merlin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an awesome tour. The weather was perfect, nice and sunny. Our guide was a 5 star guide. He gave us a ton of historic information that was really interesting. Plus he was just a great person.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message