From the southern German city of Munich the Austrian border is just one and a half hours away through lilting Bavarian countryside. And once on the other side, you find yourself in the beautiful Baroque city of Salzburg, nuzzling the alpine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Craig our guide was awesome and he done his best to make our Salzburg experience amazing .The low light of the tour for us is when we had a free time and Craig had told us all the meet up time and point and not everybody turned up and we had to leave people behind .This was not Craig's fault .i had a touch of sunstoke when we arrived in Munich and he ensured i had everything i needed to ensure i was comfortable.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Lorri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What isn't there to like in Salzburg - the birthplace of Mozart and the location for the filming of The Sound of Music. Lovely train ride to see the countryside outside the city of Munich and the beautiful town of Salzburg. Our guide kept us well informed before, during and after the tour. Wonderful, well organized tour and we thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great day trip from Munich to Salzburg. It was very enjoyable, we had a great tour guide and Salzburg is beautiful. Don't miss it.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Diana L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful addition to all Munich has to offer. This gets you into the mountains, and the lake cruise was fabulous! Do take the time to visit the cemetery on your way up to the castle on Salzburg.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Brad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a wonderful day trip. Scheduling was easy with daily departures from the Munich Central Train station. The tour guide was very courteous and knowledgeable of the Salzburg area and history and was able to make recommendations on food and locations where we might find very specific local novelties. On the tour, you'll see all of the key tourist attractions plus enjoy a wonderful train ride to and from Munich. Plan on lots of walking around the city. One final note, our guide Ardit, was great and a good representative for Viator. I look forward to our next visit and plan on booking another trip with them.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to get to Salzburg. Our tour guide Jeff was very nice and informative. It was fun to hear commentary from him on the train ride down there. He gave us a nice overview of the city and then it was great to have free time to do whatever we chose. It made it easy to get back and forth on the train for novices. He was also very helpful with other information regarding transportation, etc around Munich. I would totally recommend this trip

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Had plenty of time to roam around but yet our guide provided a detailed tour of the highlights of Salzburg! If you have extra time in Munich I suggest this day trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Olivia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We visited Munich in January this year and decided to do this day trip to Salzburg. Our guide was really lovely and welcoming and managed cater for our group in English, German and Spanish! We met her at Munich station and spent the whole day exploring Salzburg. The city is absolutely beautiful, and was covered in snow when we went! I would HIGHLY recommend going up to the top of the Fortress in your spare time on this trip as the views are just breathtaking! The cable car was closed due to the weather when we went, but if you can manage the hike I would definitely give it a go. All in all, a fabulous day trip that I would highly recommend to anybody wishing to explore!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Anish G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I think the only word which comes to my mind, when I think of this tour is wonderful

And the credit for the same go to two things.

1. Jeff One of the best tour guides I have ever met anywhere.

2. The March weather

Its a very well organised tour for someone who wants to spend just a day in Salzburg, getting to see nearly everything in town.

They are right in saying that you get time off for personal roaming around.

Jeff is an excellent historian and a very warm person, I am glad he was there that day, which made I trip all the more special.

One must spend time in the old city and get to learn about Mozart, his tastes, his rich history. Feasting Hohensalburg is a worth a visit especially on a clear day, where fleeting glimpses of the Alps are visible

Highly recommended from Munich for everyone interested.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a lovely trip to Salzburg from Munich ... Every thing was on time and went according to the program ... A very beautiful city steeped in history , something of interest around every corner... Lovely Christmas markets .... Would recommend!!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide, Jeff, was personable and knowledgeable of the city of Salzburg. He was very good at getting the large group of people to the train, bus, then walking through Salzburg and back again. He counted noses occasionally, which was good, as there were many tour groups in Salzburg on that Saturday on December. Seeing the town of Salzburg was a good day trip from Munich and worth the time and effort it took to do it. It was a memorable trip and I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Alfian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely trip, good introductory to the city of Salzburg, and definitely creating the urge to revisit back this city in the future.

Susan was our tour guide for that day, and she was great! informative, entertaining, and genuinely cares for the tour. We asked points of interest that's probably out of the trip coverage, and she told us what's worth doing and a lot more. We had some hick-ups returning to Munich that day due to refugee problems, but Susan reassured the group, and guided us back smoothly.

Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone who's interested to take part in the tour, if you are curious about Salzburg, or if you simply love Sound of Music/Mozarts.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time on the tour to Salzburg. The fun started on the train ride. Our guide, Lucia, was wonderful. She began giving us history while on the train and didn't stop until we were back to Munich. She had so much to tell and was so knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone. Be sure to have coffee and cake at the Sachor Hotel. It's worth it!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! Salzburg is a very nice little city, recommend having lunch at the top of the Fortress. Not a lot of time to see everything, but that is expected on short day trips like this. The highlight of the whole trip though is definitely the Lake District! Lake Wolfgangsee is absolutely beautiful! The guide was very knowledgeable providing information on both the Munich area and Austria.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

rizziero o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss the opportunity to do Salzburg for a day if your in Munich. We had a very helpful tour guide, Luthia, who was organized and answered questions but didn't drag out the touring too long. It was actually perfect for my family since we enjoy doing things at our own pace. Luthia gave the group 3 hours to go explore the city, even encouraging us to try to get lost... that it was impossible... but to get the most out of it. She was right, the city is small and manageable enough to navigate with or without the maps she provided us. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to book a stay in Salzburg next time we're in Europe. A must if you've got a day to venture out of Munich in with a highly energetic, fun, organized guide like Luthia.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour worked very well, meeting at station in Munich, train to Salzburg all in good time and not rushed. Our guide Lucia was excellent, she had a wealth of experience and gave us Top Tips on what to do in the 3 hours freetime we had. It did go very quickly so her advice to keep moving and where to go was very welcome. she also knew all her Sound of Music and Mozart sights and information which was brilliant. For a day trip it was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend it if you only have the one day.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

mail2bkrishna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide nancy was very knowledgeable about the place and took us through the places of interest. Early start from munich and little more free time in salzburg would have made it much more pleasant ex.addition of cable car ride in salzburg. Otherwise I enjoyed this trip and recommend it to others as a must to do..

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Evie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour I took on my entire trip. Our tour guide, Ian, was absolutely hysterical and friendly, as well as very knowledgeable and informative. He made the journey very fun, and I learned a lot about Salzburg and its history. Salzburg is one incredible city, and I felt we had plenty of time to walk around on our own, even after the hour tour given by Ian. You do have the option to leave the group as soon as you arrive if you'd like an extra hour of free time. If you're in Munich and have time for this tour, you won't be disappointed! It was perfect!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Stephen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out in Salzburg. Our guide Jeff was excellent. The train journey from Munich to Salzburg was very picturesque with some great views of the Alps.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I travel for work and am lucky to be spending a lot of time overseas. I take tours in most cities I visit, and I have to say this was by far my favorite tour thus far. I absolutely LOVED Salzburg. What a beautiful city. Well worth the day trip from Munich. We got to tour several of the highlights from the Sound of Music, as well as see a lot of the history of the city. By far one of my favorite European cities! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Jeffrey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a great value. Just the right amount of time needed to see the city. The train ride is thru some of the most scenic country side in europe. If you are visiting Munich for a few days, spend one of your days in Salzburg and come back at night to a great dinner in a Munich Restuarant..

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Robin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A good way to get to Salzburg from Munich. Maxine, the guide was very friendly and informed us at the beginning of the rail journey about Salzburg and what we would be seeing. The walking part was very good - the only drawback being the crowds of people in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

R n D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent time on our day trip to Salzburg and back. Our tour guide Alun was friendly and informative and gave us all the practical details (where to eat, how long we should take at every place of interest etc) which was very helpful. Salzburg is only a 2 hour journey from Munich and as such is a small-ish city, so although we were there only for a day we did get a good sense about the layout of the city and it's history. It was a beautiful day to visit, and we had a lovely time. Thanks Alun!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

mary s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Salzburg was amazing! The town is beautiful and the trip from munich was very easy on the train. Our tour guide was lovely, Yolanda. And she was very knowledgeable! I would have liked more time in the city because the day flew by. I would have enjoyed more sound of music connections.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message