Nairobi ATTRACTIONS See all

Nairobi National Park

With the exception of zoos, there are few places on earth that put visitors face-to-face with wild animals in urban settings. This is what makes Nairobi National Park, the first game reserve in Kenya, so unique. Located just a few kilometers south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Valerie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day. George and Elphas made us feel very welcome. Elphas our driver was very knowledgable and friendly. All the places we visited were everything we had hoped for. We did this day tour as we had a free day before out Safari tour began. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

tanya_h86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an amazing time, the tour had the right amount of activities and our tour guide was amazing. The only thing I didn't enjoy as much as I would have wanted was that the David Sheldrick Wildlife trust was too full of people and was hard to look at the elephants, but over all it was amazing. We got to see 4 out of the big 5!

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Clarke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great driver and guide. Worked hard for us to make sure we saw as much as we could. Great attitude and funny.

Doing what: Nairobi National Park Tour

Cyndi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

George was an excellent tour guide - very knowledgeable and entertaining. We saw many different animals in the National Park and he gave us a great tour of the Giraffe Center. Come prepared with bug spray and be advised that the Elephant Orphanage can be very muddy if it has rained. But well worth getting your shoes a little dirty to see the great work they are doing there.

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

George was a helpful, friendly, and informative guide who went out of his way to ensure I saw as much as possible during the trip.

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Lisette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I want to start off by saying I am so happy I booked this tour. I was picked up in the morning, right on schedule. We headed first to the giraffe center (great idea as it clearly gets very crowded), followed by the orphange and national park. George was a great guide. I would definitely recommend!!!!

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Adrian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip. Douglas was good at organising for us and David was an excellent driver for us

Doing what: Nairobi National Park tour, David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Giraffes & Karen Blixen Museum Tour in Nairobi

Rhonda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

There is no better tour guide than George! This was easily my best day in Nairobi:
-the other people on the trip were wonderful!
-George was knowledgeable about evertyhign we wanted to know about, funny, and has a wonderful personality.
-The booking was easily done on short notice.
-Having the safety of a great guide and driver was well worth it for a woman traveling alone in Nairobi! My fiance says that George is his favorite Kenyan for how safe and easy he made the day.
-George is a deep fountain of knowledge about all of the animals - so I felt like this was a fantastic deal compared to going far on safari.
-George knows everyone at each stop, so it means you never feel like an outsider!
-p.s. There is a similar booking for cheaper 160, but that one doesn't streamline park entrance fees and this one does. Be sure to avoid that one!

If you're not sure about this booking, just trust me here!

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Paulette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing!!! George, our tour guide, was patient - stopping and starting the jeep to suit our photographic needs. The National Park was enormous with plenty of opportunity for us to see the animals in their natural surroundings. Feeding the giraffes was a treat! The Karen Blixem museum provided great insight into the European influence over Kenyan custom and decor. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable and nice. I enjoyed the National Park as well as the Giraffe Center but could have easily done without the Karen Blixen Museum. We did ask the guide to take us to see something cultural and were taken to the Bomas. They had a professional dance crew recreating traditional tribal dances, initiations, etc. It was very fun and entertaining. I would recommend that over the museum any day!

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Disa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Michael was very friendly and helpful. They picked me up from a small lodge which a is a little out of way and were pretty nice about it. I ended up on a solo tour since nobody else was scheduled for that day. I asked if I could cut the park trip short and go to the elephant orphanage as well and Micheal agreed right away (of course I paid separately for that ticket). Fun tour! Would recommend to everyone coming to Nairobi. Thank you Michael.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Jacqueline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Michael was a wonderful guide. He was on time and easy to talk to. He worked very hard to ensure I got the most out of the tour. He was familiar with the park and knew where and when to see the most game. As a result I saw lions, hippos, rhinos,giraffe, water buffalo, ostrich, and hundreds of zebras, antelopes, and gazelles. It was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

MARIO B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My trip to Nairobi was fantastic. i had a great time. i went during their raining season which is May-Sep . The weather is good and my tour guide was great

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Jungleyell USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I was the only one on the tour the day I signed up and they sent a driver to my hotel in Nairobi. The driver was courteous and knowledgable and friendly. Since I was the only one, I opted to spend most of the day in the National Park. a few minutes in the Giraffe Center and skipped the museum altogether. I enjoyed the park SO much - we saw lions, rhino, zebra, tons of giraffe and impala and gazelles. We saw baboons, ostriches, buffalo - just about like being on a safari without leaving Nairobi! Incredible wildlife and photo opportunities with them. The giraffe center was a bit of a letdown, but anytime you see wildlife actually in the WILD and then see them in captivity it's going to feel like that... But I loved my outing in Nairobi!

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Alexander M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I really enjoyed this trip and feel like I got my money's worth. I had door-to-door service from my hotel to each of the parks with a driver who knew where he was going, and I got to spend a lot of time with the animals.

However, a few items of note for people who are comparing options:
- The going rate for these trips seems to be approx 160. This trip does not include admission to Nairobi National Park, Sheldrick, the Giraffe Sanctuary or Karen Blixen's house.
- The description is not entirely accurate: When I was picked up the driver told me our tour would be over at 1:30 pm the description says 4:30 pm. Also, the Bomas visit was presented as a 50 option if we wanted to extend our day past that 1:30 pm end time.
- The timeframe for this trip is based upon the Sheldrick visit since the orphanage is only open from 11-12. Despite this, by the time we got to the giraffe sanctuary immediately after Sheldrick around 12:30 our driver told us we were running behind schedule even though we still had lunch and the Blixen house on our itinerary. So I think the inconsistencies in timing and itinerary may be an attempt at an upsell.

Doing what: Nairobi National Park tour, David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Giraffes & Karen Blixen Museum Tour in Nairobi

Note from Viator: Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for your tour experience! Our local tour operator has assured us they will be doing all they can to rectify the timing issues and inconsistencies highlighted in your review. We are glad to hear you were still able to enjoy the trip overall and look forward to being of service to you again in the future! Happy Travels!

Alexandre D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour at Nairobi National Park and the Elephant Orphanage definitively worth it. In the case of the National Park, we did the tour with local guards from the Park in an open truck, which was at the same time quite safe and interesting.
On the other hand, although the driver who picked us up was very kind, he was basically a driver instead of a touristic guide. In addition, the car was a old Toyota Corolla instead of an appropriate and large touristic vehicle such as an Van or SUV. it was not comfortable at all

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Manfred K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The giraffe center and elephant orphanage are absolutely fantastic and well worth a visit. The visit to the Nairobi National Park was also good. All in all a tour well worth taking. Perhaps a recommendation is that the tour should start early around 8:30am with the Giraffe Center first and then leave for the elephant orphanage at 9:45am. It is important to get to the elephant orphanage early as it gets very crowded on weekends. This then leaves more time to spend in the Nairobi national park

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Bruno H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Rainy and cloudy day...and difficult to spot animals in this period of the year, but we could see Lions, Rhyno far far away, tons of Impalas and zebras and some beautiful Giraffes.
A short 3 hours tour, but a nice getaway from the city..

Doing what: Nairobi National Park Tour

saka a

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nairobi National Park Tour

Verne C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Lucked out and was the only one on the tour this day and this definitely allowed for a personal touch by the guide. Loved the Park, Museum, and Giraffe Center.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

antheald

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I was on my own for this tour, so Michael was my personal guide for the day, and very personable he was too. I was surprised how few others were at the National Park so even though it is close to the city you really do feel as though you are getting out into the wild. Saw plenty of giraffe, zebra, ostrich, buffalo, rhino, antelope, gazelle, impala and monkeys. I also really enjoyed the Karen Blixen museum, having read 'Out of Africa', and had an informative and enthusiastic guide there. As others have said, the giraffe centre is a brief stop off that I could easily have done without, and the stop off at the 'curio' shop could also be dispensed with. I hate haggling, but also hate seeming rude, so stupidly ended up paying over the odds for a couple of nick-nacks that I could have picked up for half the price at the airport, but I didn't let that spoil my day. If you've just got a day to kill in Nairobi, I reckon you could do far worse than this pleasant and hassle-free tour.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Gerald D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Michael was polite and very friendly. Despite the Nairobi traffic once we were in the park the only animals we would like to have seen but did not see were Lions. We saw most everything else too numerous to mention, some very close by, and whether this was down to Michael the driver or pure good luck we will never know but we were both very impressed with our first Safari. The Langata giraffe tour is a must 'Daisy' being the star. We were unable to complete the Karen Blix tour due to time constraints so maybe next time! I am unable to attach any of our many photo's as at the time of writing I am back in Africa on another mission.

Doing what: Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi

Rita K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Nice attractions, 'must see' -package on a reasonable price.
The only thing that was under the expectation is the tourguide, who was rather a driver for the day, than a real tourguide with nice stories, enthusiastic behavior...etc.

Doing what: Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message