Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Nuovo (New Castle)

Castel Nuovo, better known locally as Maschio Angioino, looks the way a castle should look - fierce stone, towers and turrets. Built as the new royal residence between 1279 and 1282 by Charles I of Anjou, it is rightfully one of Naples' most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gareth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A fascinating trip and a look into Naples long history. Our guide, Sonya, was both knowledgeable and enthusiastic about her city and made it a real pleasure. We were lucky enough to have her to ourselves, and my wife and I were very impressed.
Highly recommended, if you want to get past the outdated reputation of this lively city.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

lsphillips2

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

fun day

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Wyn P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Only person on tour which was disappointing.

Doing what: Naples by Night Tour Including Pizza Dinner

karoul t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fabulous. Sonia our guide was very informative and also sensitive to the interests of the group. We learned so much about beautiful Naples and ended at a true Napolitan pizza restaurant for dinner. Sonia stayed on past her tour time to converse with us and make us feel comfortable.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Jacqueline W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour was ok, it was a larger group than the 7 people we were expecting, but we got to see a couple of sights we hadn't seen walking around by ourselves. The Basilica was wonderful and the view from the hill was terrific. 2 hours was plenty of time, the city itself and Via Toledo can be done on your own.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

teresitapedraza

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour guide could hardly speak English. I had to serve as translator for the English speaking tourist, and I do not consider that that is my job.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Celeste J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour of Naples with Anna. We learned the importance of this wonderful city both historically and in modern times. The tour was fully packed with wonderful sightseeing and entertaining stories. There was virtually no dead time along the way. We came away with great appreciation for Naples and it is now one of our favorite Italian cities.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Dagmar L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a blast!

Doing what: Naples Segway Tour

Lemiel P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and guide, whose name I unfortunately can't recall now. Nevertheless, she was very knowledgeable and informative. I definitely recommend this tour. The negative here is that beautiful Naples is not being taken care by the authorities, consequently, it's falling apart and dirty. What a pity! Such a beautiful and historical city!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Kinsey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't say enough about how fantastic this tour was! Our local guide was an expert in all things Naples and was so friendly and helpful. She made every moment of the tour enjoyable and informative. Don't think twice..book this tour now!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on in my life, and I've been on quite a few. If I could give it 10 stars I would. Our tour guide spoke excellent English, she was extremely friendly, very knowledgeable and informative and went above and beyond to make our tour special. For example, one of the castles along our tour was unexpectedly accessible for free and our tour guide altered the tour and took us inside to show us some of the very special rooms and objects of the castle. She knew the history inside and out and was able to tell the stories in an interesting and engaging way. We ended the tour with a description of local Italian foods which we had never had before. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't bring our guide with us all over Italy so that we could learn more from her about it's amazing history. We highly recommend this tour and if you are able to get Sonia as your guide then you should consider yourselves very lucky. She is the best!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Catherine F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, would recommend it.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Margery E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful walking tour with Anna as our guide. She is friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgable. Brava!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Ivan E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was very informative on the area, showed us around town, gave tips on places to eat and shop. It was great to get the lay of the land. We were then able to feel comfortable exploring on our own.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Birthday Boy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We booked many tours during our trip to Italy
Unfortunatly this was our least favorite!

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Eve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this informative and enjoyable tour. Our guide was attentive and well informed, his enthusiasm for his native city came across well. The tour opened our eyes to the history all around us and made us want to return to Naples soon.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Naomi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tours were fantastic and the staff very helpful

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Nicky B Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are very lucky yesterday to have an almost private tour as we were just two people with Fabrizio, who was a fabulous guide. Young, knowledgeable and passionate about his city of Naples we had a great overview of the city, it's history and superb cultural heritage. We even visited one of the new metro stations as a contrast to the ancient gems which was an indication of the city moving forward to be a modern thriving city. I would highly recommend this tour and will definitely go back for a more I depth look at Naples. It's a fantastic city!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Courtney F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice quick overview of the city.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Greg T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was wonderful.... very knowledgable

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Kieron B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was our outstanding tour guide. We were lucky it was just the two of us with him which made it much more of a personal experience as of course, we were never out of sight or hearing. He delivered a fascinating tour with insight, personal anecdotes and with evident and obvious pride in his city. If you only have a limited time in Naples this is an ideal tour of the main highlights, if you have longer then of course you can return to your favourite points to delve deeper. The tour itself lasted around 2 hours and was at a leisurely to purposeful pace, rather than anything approaching breakneck speed so achievable for anybody of average mobility. Please do use Viator if you are at all wary of unprofessional operators, these guys deliver what they say they will, their tour guides are professional and prompt and the tours are very well organised. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Martin G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was a very knowledgeable guide. He was very passionate about Naples and its long history and culture which is multiple -Greek,Roman ,French and Spanish as well as Italian as well as its football team. He was sensitive to what we wanted to see and do , as well as good at showing to us the highlights of central and historic Naples.Highly recommended!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great walking tour- great time for Scott and I!
Our tour guide, Anna, showed us so much of Naples. Great pace and really informative. Anna was a great resource for information about Naples. Anna was on time and gave us her full attention for the hours we toured. The coffee at the end was a welcome finish.
This walking tour was a real win!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Anna was a terrific tour guide. She arrived on time and gave us a great tour of Naples.
Thanks, Anna!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

John D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The guide was lovely but her English is not great so she could not answer questions comfortably. We had already been in Naples for 2 days so were eager to see the area we hadn't explored -- the historical section of town. Thanks to poor time management on her part, we ended up spending 90 of our time on the promenade and in Castle dell Ova, which we had already seen. Overall very disappointing.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message