Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Domovich1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We just got back from the Vesuvious and Pompei tour and we have to say that it was an extraordinary experience and we owe it to our tour guides. We went with a group of about 16 people and it was with Demitri and Robert. Both were incredibly knowledgeable, but most importantly they were captivating story tellers. On the bus, no one slept but listened astutely and laughed with gusto at the many stories, history, and anecdotes. On the way to Vesuvius there was a car accident a few Km ahead and we lost about an hour in traffic. To make up for it, the tour guides called our lunch restaurant ahead to place our order so that we can be on schedule and yet see the attractions that we wanted to see. They could have simply cut the time out of one of the attractions but instead they came up with a solution. I feel like I would travel with their company city wonders again. As for the attractions they are breath taking. The hike up Mount Vesuvius is gorgeous and filled with Vistas and picture opportunities. How often does one get to climb a volcano? It was a once in a lifetime experience. We were worried about going in mid November to Vesuvius as we read countless stories about adverse weather but it was clear, about 60 degrees, which made it perfect for the walk up. Its 20-30 minutes to the crater if you are in average shape, yes round is a shape . Pompei was really interesting, it was a lot bigger than I expected and so well preserved. You really get a sense of what an ancient city was like. The tourguide we had Enzo was intriguing as well. He took us back to a time whether the ancient city of pompei was bustling with life while we walked and admired the well preserved city.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jason K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Interesting Italian history told by the guide on the bus ride to Pompeii about the area we were driving through. The scenery is also pretty nice. Had a short break about half way there and back, just long enough to use toilet, get a snack, and something to drink.

On Mount Vesuvius, we were pretty much on our own to walk up the volcano, a slow steady incline all the way to the ridge. Great views from the trail on Mount Vesuvius into the volcano and to Naples and the coast. Personally, once you climb high enough to see into the volcano, anything you walk beyond that is not needed.

Then an authentic Naples pizza was provided for lunch, but unfortunately not in Naples exactly. So dont expect to see Naples except from the top of Mount Vesuvius. Traditional Naples pizza is tomato sauce, mozzarella, and basil. Ive had better while in Italy.

They provided an experienced guide for seeing Pompeii. This was truly incredible to see such a large city uncovered. You actually walk the streets and see the buildings as they were in 79 AD, OK, not exactly, but a lot of the buildings remain standing. These buildings except for the wooden parts are intact and not in ruins. I would have liked more free time in Pompeii.

Excellent day trip from Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Geoffrey Marshall Barbados

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour! The City Wonders guides Ahmed and Kiara kept us fully informed throughout the entire tour. It is a once in a lifetime opportunity to tour Pompeii, a city which was buried by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius and then immediately hike up that same volcano a few hours after. Just an awesome and unforgettable day! The pizza at lunch was also great!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was done in reverse, Vesuvius then Pompeii. Even if you're out of shape, you can walk to the rim of the volcano. The drive up was long along narrow streets in a bus. The walk to the top, and all the way to the far end of the rim, was simple and pleasant. There is even a place to grab some water or wine I opted for the wine, hey, it's vacation. On the way up the mountain the tour guide will tell you history of Mt Vesuvius. Before the tour started in Pompeii they fed us lunch, pizza and a drink. This was actually the best pizza we had in Italy. You can do Pompeii on your own, but a tour guide REALLY makes the trip more enjoyable unless you are a history buff and wish to discover things on your own. We were picked up and dropped off near our hotel in Naples so that made it a real convenience. Definitely worth the money and time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Chiara and Becky the tour guides were excellent. They were very informative and fun. The Hike up Mount Vesuvius was fun and a bit daunting considering the fact that this volcano caused such destruction.

The tour of Pompeii was also fun. We did not realize how big the city is and all that was buried. Its like time stood still.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

FIONA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the most amazing day! Our guide was Roberto, delightful personality and geologist Geology rocks! from Naples. He had lived in US and delivered an excellent, informed and anecdotal commentary in perfect English and often had the 42 tourists in our coach laughing at his well timed humour. There was a three hour drive with a comfort break by the best coach driver ever, Rommel maybe wrong spelling. He negotiated the long winding road up and down Vesuvius with incredible skill. Our first stop was the active volcano Vesuvius and we were give nearly two hours to climb it, view the crater and the excellent views over Naples and to descend back to our coach. So enjoyable and exhausting for the less fit among us because the terrain is loose and uneven but well worth the effort. Then to Pompeii and due to Roberto's knowledgeable introduction and the detailed expertise of the local guide we walked and lived in the footsteps of the Ancient Romans. We learned of the uncovering of this wonder from the volcanic ash where it lay buried for centuries and could see first hand how the incredible engineering and building skills of Romans 2000 years ago have remained in practices today and . A Neopolitan pizza restaurant provided the included lunch with wine, totally delicious and sociable at round tables of six. Can't recommend it enough, 5 stars aren't enough.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

vushakova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a truly magical tour. We started with a short walk up Mt. Vesuvius which was spectacular. The view of Pompei from above was amazing and the crater of the volcano was unique. Lunch was delicious pizza in Naples! and our tour guide in the ruins of Pompeii was funny and smart. We had an amazing time thanks to our two tour guides Chiara and Andy, both of whom were warm, knowledgeable and hilarious. I highly recommend 'City Wonders' for any tour in Italy. They are a great agency!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

calfan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Super tour of both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The tour of Pompeii was comprehensive and the tour guide knew her information. I was pleased with the number of sites within Pompeii we were able to see/visit. The lunch was OK. The 2nd part of the tour to Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking after you reached the top of the path to the volcano crater. The tough part was climbing the path to the top. My wife could not climb it and my heart was racing during the climb, but once I made it to the top, it was well worth it. Of course getting to the staging site for the climb was rather scary, as there were too many buses when we went and the buses trying to leave were often interfering with the buses going up. I would still recommend this particular tour. I checked off one of my bucket list wants on this one.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sandra H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide at Pompei was excellent, very informative.
It was to be a full day tour and the hotel pick up was 1025, arriving at Pompeii after 11 AM. After picking up other guests and with lunch and traffic, the time at Vesuvius was way too short. There are local free guides at the volcano but we did not have enough time to have a tour. I needed at least another hour and some geology discussion to appreciate this wonderful site. I suggest the start at 8 AM at the latest.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Robert B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour of Pompeii, while it was guided, did not focus on any of the major sites within the ruins. We say a house, some streets and the forum.....it was not enough. Then, the trip to Vesuvius was a disaster in a bus too big for the roads....we got to the crater and had to climb up slippery steep hills only to find guides at the top for money.....there was no history of the volcano.....again, could have been good but was not.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stéphane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour and very knowledgeable guides, Inga and Alessjandra. Superb commentaries, historical content which I adore. Lunch was a very good and please choose marguarita! The driver was also quite a stunt driver in that road leading to Vesuvius. The hiking on the volcano was great for someone who trains regularly like myself.... can be difficult for most though but it is worth it!!
Pompeii is extraordinary! One very slight complaint is I wish we had more free time, really 5 minutes..?
Other that my personnalise over curiousness, tour is 10/10
Again, Inga and Alessjandra are very enjoyable guides. Loved it and btw, please do take the suggestions.... food or other sites to visit while in Roma!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

monique_little

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The highlight of this tour is the lunch and wine tasting - the food and service is generous and the setting lovely. The hike is nothing more than a gentle uphill stroll, takes about 10 mins to get to the top, where the views are amazing. The 4x4 drive is really a gimmick - it's a paved road with some potholes. A rental car could go up this road if it were open to the public - like the road on the other side of Vesuvius. Our guide, whilst nice, knew very little about the region or the volcano, and as a result, filled in the time by saying the same thing over and over. I wouldn't bother with this tour again.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Tour from Sorrento Including Hike, Lunch and Wine Tasting

Charlotte G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well organised. 2 hours in Pompeii seeing the highlights. Didn and #39;t see garden of fugitives as I guess too far out of the centre. Climbed Vesuvius with the children, 7 and 9. They loved the volcano, not so fussed about Pompeii. Thought the trip was worth the money.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Simon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i highly recommend this interesting and enjoyable tour to the Pompeii ruins and Mount Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating. Lots to see and ponder. And then after a pleasant lunch you walk to the top of a volcano! How amazing that was. All done under expert guidance.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

CONSTANCE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent walk through your seeing all angles of the ancient city. Guide was very easy to understand, took a good amount of time to explain the sites. Also hike up to Mt Vesuvius was a great experience to look into the mouth of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were staying in Sorrento and took the train to meet the group in Naples at 10:30. Group was easy to locate near the train station. The tour guides were great!! The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and our guide did a great job keeping everyone together while moving forward the whole time. We had lunch at a restaurant with great Neapolitan pizza before going on to Mt. Vesuvius. Hiking 900 m up to the top of the volcano was an incredible experience! My husband and I were very happy we did this tour to see both amazing sites. We got back to Naples at 5:30 exactly and had time to explore some more of Naples, eat more pizza, and catch the last train back to Sorrento!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you have extra days in Rome, then this trip is definitely worth doing. it will take up a full day but it is totally worth it.
We went on this tour on the 1st of July, The guides were both very knowledgeable and told us cool stories all the way to Pompeii and back which made the trip feel a lot shorter than it is. They also provided us with extremely useful tips about how to avoid tourist traps and pointed out great places for dinner and Gelato in Rome.
The ruins of Pompeii in the archaeological site wouldn't have been as interesting if it wasn't for our assigned guide who explained every corner and had a story for almost everything there.
The pizza we got for lunch was just perfect, and it was served with a simple salad and a drink.
The hike up to Mount Vesuvius was a lot easier and shorter than I had expected and my friend and I were able to reach the top very easily. The view of the cities from the top made it all worth the while. However, we are both very athletic so if you do not have a minimum basic level of fitness, you will not be able to reach the top. especially not in the very short time frame they gave us
My only negative comment is that the time frame provided to hike mount Vesuvius up and down was not enough for us to enjoy the view and relax at the top I mean how many times would you hike up a volcano in your life? and to just get 5 to 10 minutes at the top before being rushed back down is just disappointing.
Other than that, the trip was perfect. Thank you Alexandria and Inga

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shreyank M India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was very well-organized. Our guide Elisa at Pompeii was very knowledgeable and explained everything in great detail. She even answered all our questions. She gave us plenty of time to take pictures. All in all an excellent tour guide.

We then had a nice lunch at a restaurant where the portions were generous we each were given a pizza.

Only downside was that there was not sufficient time to peruse all of the souvenirs at Pompeii.

Then, we went to Mt. Vesuvius. Our tour guide Manuela was good. She informed us about the history, the produce and the every-day life of the towns around the active volcano. We hiked to the top and back. Ideally we would liked more time at the top of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

DJ Borja United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becky and Dimitri made this trip quite enjoyable! It was not a dull bus ride where you sit in silence from point A to point B. They had so much information and stories about sites along the way and they were also hilarious. The tour of Pompei was a very insightful experience and having pizza in a city that created pizza was really good. However, the highlight of this trip was hiking Mt. Vesuvius. Looking into a crater of an active volcano and then turning around to a breathtaking view is definitely work the hike!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with regards to bus trip, tour guide and the walk around the Pompeii ruins. The Mt. Vesuvius climb was strenuous and really dirty because of the dry conditions on the volcano. Highly recommend the tour without the Mt. Vesuvius climb up the dusty gravel path with a large number of visitors. Possibly if the path was in better condition or fewer visitors it would be more enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message