Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sandra H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide at Pompei was excellent, very informative.
It was to be a full day tour and the hotel pick up was 1025, arriving at Pompeii after 11 AM. After picking up other guests and with lunch and traffic, the time at Vesuvius was way too short. There are local free guides at the volcano but we did not have enough time to have a tour. I needed at least another hour and some geology discussion to appreciate this wonderful site. I suggest the start at 8 AM at the latest.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Robert B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour of Pompeii, while it was guided, did not focus on any of the major sites within the ruins. We say a house, some streets and the forum.....it was not enough. Then, the trip to Vesuvius was a disaster in a bus too big for the roads....we got to the crater and had to climb up slippery steep hills only to find guides at the top for money.....there was no history of the volcano.....again, could have been good but was not.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Pompeii trip was amazing! Hiking up Mount Vesuvius was tough but it was worth it to be able to stand at the crater of this volcano. The guides in Pompeii were knowledgable and engaging. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stéphane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour and very knowledgeable guides, Inga and Alessjandra. Superb commentaries, historical content which I adore. Lunch was a very good and please choose marguarita! The driver was also quite a stunt driver in that road leading to Vesuvius. The hiking on the volcano was great for someone who trains regularly like myself.... can be difficult for most though but it is worth it!!
Pompeii is extraordinary! One very slight complaint is I wish we had more free time, really 5 minutes..?
Other that my personnalise over curiousness, tour is 10/10
Again, Inga and Alessjandra are very enjoyable guides. Loved it and btw, please do take the suggestions.... food or other sites to visit while in Roma!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

monique_little

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The highlight of this tour is the lunch and wine tasting - the food and service is generous and the setting lovely. The hike is nothing more than a gentle uphill stroll, takes about 10 mins to get to the top, where the views are amazing. The 4x4 drive is really a gimmick - it's a paved road with some potholes. A rental car could go up this road if it were open to the public - like the road on the other side of Vesuvius. Our guide, whilst nice, knew very little about the region or the volcano, and as a result, filled in the time by saying the same thing over and over. I wouldn't bother with this tour again.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Tour from Sorrento Including Hike, Lunch and Wine Tasting

Charlotte G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well organised. 2 hours in Pompeii seeing the highlights. Didn and #39;t see garden of fugitives as I guess too far out of the centre. Climbed Vesuvius with the children, 7 and 9. They loved the volcano, not so fussed about Pompeii. Thought the trip was worth the money.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Simon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i highly recommend this interesting and enjoyable tour to the Pompeii ruins and Mount Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating. Lots to see and ponder. And then after a pleasant lunch you walk to the top of a volcano! How amazing that was. All done under expert guidance.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

CONSTANCE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent walk through your seeing all angles of the ancient city. Guide was very easy to understand, took a good amount of time to explain the sites. Also hike up to Mt Vesuvius was a great experience to look into the mouth of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were staying in Sorrento and took the train to meet the group in Naples at 10:30. Group was easy to locate near the train station. The tour guides were great!! The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and our guide did a great job keeping everyone together while moving forward the whole time. We had lunch at a restaurant with great Neapolitan pizza before going on to Mt. Vesuvius. Hiking 900 m up to the top of the volcano was an incredible experience! My husband and I were very happy we did this tour to see both amazing sites. We got back to Naples at 5:30 exactly and had time to explore some more of Naples, eat more pizza, and catch the last train back to Sorrento!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you have extra days in Rome, then this trip is definitely worth doing. it will take up a full day but it is totally worth it.
We went on this tour on the 1st of July, The guides were both very knowledgeable and told us cool stories all the way to Pompeii and back which made the trip feel a lot shorter than it is. They also provided us with extremely useful tips about how to avoid tourist traps and pointed out great places for dinner and Gelato in Rome.
The ruins of Pompeii in the archaeological site wouldn't have been as interesting if it wasn't for our assigned guide who explained every corner and had a story for almost everything there.
The pizza we got for lunch was just perfect, and it was served with a simple salad and a drink.
The hike up to Mount Vesuvius was a lot easier and shorter than I had expected and my friend and I were able to reach the top very easily. The view of the cities from the top made it all worth the while. However, we are both very athletic so if you do not have a minimum basic level of fitness, you will not be able to reach the top. especially not in the very short time frame they gave us
My only negative comment is that the time frame provided to hike mount Vesuvius up and down was not enough for us to enjoy the view and relax at the top I mean how many times would you hike up a volcano in your life? and to just get 5 to 10 minutes at the top before being rushed back down is just disappointing.
Other than that, the trip was perfect. Thank you Alexandria and Inga

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shreyank M India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was very well-organized. Our guide Elisa at Pompeii was very knowledgeable and explained everything in great detail. She even answered all our questions. She gave us plenty of time to take pictures. All in all an excellent tour guide.

We then had a nice lunch at a restaurant where the portions were generous we each were given a pizza.

Only downside was that there was not sufficient time to peruse all of the souvenirs at Pompeii.

Then, we went to Mt. Vesuvius. Our tour guide Manuela was good. She informed us about the history, the produce and the every-day life of the towns around the active volcano. We hiked to the top and back. Ideally we would liked more time at the top of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

DJ Borja United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becky and Dimitri made this trip quite enjoyable! It was not a dull bus ride where you sit in silence from point A to point B. They had so much information and stories about sites along the way and they were also hilarious. The tour of Pompei was a very insightful experience and having pizza in a city that created pizza was really good. However, the highlight of this trip was hiking Mt. Vesuvius. Looking into a crater of an active volcano and then turning around to a breathtaking view is definitely work the hike!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with regards to bus trip, tour guide and the walk around the Pompeii ruins. The Mt. Vesuvius climb was strenuous and really dirty because of the dry conditions on the volcano. Highly recommend the tour without the Mt. Vesuvius climb up the dusty gravel path with a large number of visitors. Possibly if the path was in better condition or fewer visitors it would be more enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Lilly our guide in Pompeii was fantastic. Funny and full of information and knew the spots to be. Our only comment really was the size of the group made it more difficult to get around in the crowds. Mandela on the Mt Vesuvius bus ride was also very good. Funny, entertaining and a lot of info on the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

ANA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lucas was great. He has so much information. In our way to Pompei, he kept giving us information that made the trip look so much shorter. The tour guide in Pompei was good, but the visit to the volcano crater, Vesuvius, took to much time and we had only one hour and a half in Pompei.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Nadine B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii. Be prepared for a very long day, however the tour was on time, well organized, informative, and entertaining. Our tour guides Luka and Robert were amazing! They were very personable and their delivery of the information was quite entertaining. We both learned a lot about the region/sites. The views from the top of Mt. Vesuvius are beautiful and looking into the crater of an active volcano is a unique experience. Lunch was tasty and satisfying. Pompeii is a lot larger than I had anticipated. It is impressive how much they have excavated and the condition the site is in despite being exposed to the elements. This trip was a memorable part of our overall trip to Southern Italy. I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Nicole R B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Stephanie was an excellent tour guide. Pompeii was incredible. We got rained out and were unable to visit Mount Vesuvius, however the back-up option of going to Solfatara Volcano was amazing, even in the rain. I think we got a better experience going to the volcano and walking in the crater rather than climbing up Mount Vesuvius. The only negative thing I would say is that it's a bit deceiving to say that you head into Naples for a pizza lunch. I thought we were actually going to be going to Naples and would have some time to explore, which is not the case. That being said, the pizza lunch was delicious!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guides Julio and Antonella were very informative and kept us amused throughout. The journey was long 3 hours but felt shorter owing to their anecdotes and historical/geographical facts. Thankfully the bad weather during the coaches' ascent up the volcano disappeared by the time we reached the summit and the view of both Vesuvius and Naples was breathtaking. The climb to the crater is fairly steep but there are great views from the coach park should you be feeling less energetic. Pompeii was beautiful and the level of preservation incredible. You could spend hours there and not see everything. Our stops for breakfast and lunch were in similarly scenic locations and the food was good. I really have no complaints.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella and Robert were our wonderful guides. Robert was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of Rome, the region and Vesuvius that he was addictive and has a fun way of sharing his knowledge. Antonella was very helpful, kind and informative and between them they made a great team and I would certainly hope to be in their company again if I get the chance to return. The trip was well organised and worth paying for the ticket. Pompeii was fascinating and our guide on site was very up on her subject also with lots of information and stories. Climbing that last stretch of Vesuvius, almost vertically lol, and becoming one of Roberts Vessies was exhilarating and a major achievement. It certainly worked off the traditional pizza lunch that was also part of the trip. The coach ride up and down the volcano is just as exciting and the views are magnificent. If I am fortunate enough to return to Rome or the region, I would not hesitate booking this day trip again. It's a long day from Rome ...... 7.30am to around 8pm ....... but well worth it and you get a couple of bathroom breaks at a very nice coffee/souvenir shop below Monte Cassino. The total travel time is around 6 hours, but definitely on the return journey you are grateful for the time to get a nap. You will need it. Great day and, again, Antonella and Robert were outstanding guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message