Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charlotte G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was well organised. 2 hours in Pompeii seeing the highlights. Didn and #39;t see garden of fugitives as I guess too far out of the centre. Climbed Vesuvius with the children, 7 and 9. They loved the volcano, not so fussed about Pompeii. Thought the trip was worth the money.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Simon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i highly recommend this interesting and enjoyable tour to the Pompeii ruins and Mount Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating. Lots to see and ponder. And then after a pleasant lunch you walk to the top of a volcano! How amazing that was. All done under expert guidance.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

CONSTANCE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent walk through your seeing all angles of the ancient city. Guide was very easy to understand, took a good amount of time to explain the sites. Also hike up to Mt Vesuvius was a great experience to look into the mouth of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were staying in Sorrento and took the train to meet the group in Naples at 10:30. Group was easy to locate near the train station. The tour guides were great!! The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and our guide did a great job keeping everyone together while moving forward the whole time. We had lunch at a restaurant with great Neapolitan pizza before going on to Mt. Vesuvius. Hiking 900 m up to the top of the volcano was an incredible experience! My husband and I were very happy we did this tour to see both amazing sites. We got back to Naples at 5:30 exactly and had time to explore some more of Naples, eat more pizza, and catch the last train back to Sorrento!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Christina R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you have extra days in Rome, then this trip is definitely worth doing. it will take up a full day but it is totally worth it.
We went on this tour on the 1st of July, The guides were both very knowledgeable and told us cool stories all the way to Pompeii and back which made the trip feel a lot shorter than it is. They also provided us with extremely useful tips about how to avoid tourist traps and pointed out great places for dinner and Gelato in Rome.
The ruins of Pompeii in the archaeological site wouldn't have been as interesting if it wasn't for our assigned guide who explained every corner and had a story for almost everything there.
The pizza we got for lunch was just perfect, and it was served with a simple salad and a drink.
The hike up to Mount Vesuvius was a lot easier and shorter than I had expected and my friend and I were able to reach the top very easily. The view of the cities from the top made it all worth the while. However, we are both very athletic so if you do not have a minimum basic level of fitness, you will not be able to reach the top. especially not in the very short time frame they gave us
My only negative comment is that the time frame provided to hike mount Vesuvius up and down was not enough for us to enjoy the view and relax at the top I mean how many times would you hike up a volcano in your life? and to just get 5 to 10 minutes at the top before being rushed back down is just disappointing.
Other than that, the trip was perfect. Thank you Alexandria and Inga

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shreyank M India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was very well-organized. Our guide Elisa at Pompeii was very knowledgeable and explained everything in great detail. She even answered all our questions. She gave us plenty of time to take pictures. All in all an excellent tour guide.

We then had a nice lunch at a restaurant where the portions were generous we each were given a pizza.

Only downside was that there was not sufficient time to peruse all of the souvenirs at Pompeii.

Then, we went to Mt. Vesuvius. Our tour guide Manuela was good. She informed us about the history, the produce and the every-day life of the towns around the active volcano. We hiked to the top and back. Ideally we would liked more time at the top of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

DJ Borja United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becky and Dimitri made this trip quite enjoyable! It was not a dull bus ride where you sit in silence from point A to point B. They had so much information and stories about sites along the way and they were also hilarious. The tour of Pompei was a very insightful experience and having pizza in a city that created pizza was really good. However, the highlight of this trip was hiking Mt. Vesuvius. Looking into a crater of an active volcano and then turning around to a breathtaking view is definitely work the hike!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with regards to bus trip, tour guide and the walk around the Pompeii ruins. The Mt. Vesuvius climb was strenuous and really dirty because of the dry conditions on the volcano. Highly recommend the tour without the Mt. Vesuvius climb up the dusty gravel path with a large number of visitors. Possibly if the path was in better condition or fewer visitors it would be more enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Lilly our guide in Pompeii was fantastic. Funny and full of information and knew the spots to be. Our only comment really was the size of the group made it more difficult to get around in the crowds. Mandela on the Mt Vesuvius bus ride was also very good. Funny, entertaining and a lot of info on the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

ANA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lucas was great. He has so much information. In our way to Pompei, he kept giving us information that made the trip look so much shorter. The tour guide in Pompei was good, but the visit to the volcano crater, Vesuvius, took to much time and we had only one hour and a half in Pompei.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Nadine B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii. Be prepared for a very long day, however the tour was on time, well organized, informative, and entertaining. Our tour guides Luka and Robert were amazing! They were very personable and their delivery of the information was quite entertaining. We both learned a lot about the region/sites. The views from the top of Mt. Vesuvius are beautiful and looking into the crater of an active volcano is a unique experience. Lunch was tasty and satisfying. Pompeii is a lot larger than I had anticipated. It is impressive how much they have excavated and the condition the site is in despite being exposed to the elements. This trip was a memorable part of our overall trip to Southern Italy. I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Nicole R B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Stephanie was an excellent tour guide. Pompeii was incredible. We got rained out and were unable to visit Mount Vesuvius, however the back-up option of going to Solfatara Volcano was amazing, even in the rain. I think we got a better experience going to the volcano and walking in the crater rather than climbing up Mount Vesuvius. The only negative thing I would say is that it's a bit deceiving to say that you head into Naples for a pizza lunch. I thought we were actually going to be going to Naples and would have some time to explore, which is not the case. That being said, the pizza lunch was delicious!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guides Julio and Antonella were very informative and kept us amused throughout. The journey was long 3 hours but felt shorter owing to their anecdotes and historical/geographical facts. Thankfully the bad weather during the coaches' ascent up the volcano disappeared by the time we reached the summit and the view of both Vesuvius and Naples was breathtaking. The climb to the crater is fairly steep but there are great views from the coach park should you be feeling less energetic. Pompeii was beautiful and the level of preservation incredible. You could spend hours there and not see everything. Our stops for breakfast and lunch were in similarly scenic locations and the food was good. I really have no complaints.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella and Robert were our wonderful guides. Robert was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of Rome, the region and Vesuvius that he was addictive and has a fun way of sharing his knowledge. Antonella was very helpful, kind and informative and between them they made a great team and I would certainly hope to be in their company again if I get the chance to return. The trip was well organised and worth paying for the ticket. Pompeii was fascinating and our guide on site was very up on her subject also with lots of information and stories. Climbing that last stretch of Vesuvius, almost vertically lol, and becoming one of Roberts Vessies was exhilarating and a major achievement. It certainly worked off the traditional pizza lunch that was also part of the trip. The coach ride up and down the volcano is just as exciting and the views are magnificent. If I am fortunate enough to return to Rome or the region, I would not hesitate booking this day trip again. It's a long day from Rome ...... 7.30am to around 8pm ....... but well worth it and you get a couple of bathroom breaks at a very nice coffee/souvenir shop below Monte Cassino. The total travel time is around 6 hours, but definitely on the return journey you are grateful for the time to get a nap. You will need it. Great day and, again, Antonella and Robert were outstanding guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kathlyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Ooops...my computer shut down in middle of my review...don't know if it sent so I will repeat. The weather was dreadful, pouring rain all day except for a brief reprieve at the Pompei site. The guides were great, being very attentive, getting ponchos for people who didn't have umbrellas, telling us historical stories on the bus, treating us to limoncello on the way home. Pompei guide was also very good. We were unable to visit Mt Vesuvius which was closed due to the weather.I personally was very happy with the museum substitute. Climbing up a volcano in the rain and mud was not appealing especially when I have a live volcano in my own backyard Mt. St Helens in WA state. Lunch was OK...I prefer Rome pizza...restaurant ambiance was nice AND special bonus there was a vintage FIAT car show happening at the restaurant! My husband is a car collector mostly Studebakers and happening upon a car show in Italy was a plus! I would definitely take another tour with these two tour guides..or GUYS as Julia says Lucca and Julia. This was our only tour during the 2 weeks we were in Italy and I would NOT have wanted to navigate the Rome to Pompei trip on my own, especially in the rain. If we were not leaving two days later I would have signed up for the local or Catacombs tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

keith1955

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a Fantastic day out. Rob and Becky were absolutely BRILLIANT, and really knew their stuff. We have never learnt so much in such a short time. What a great History lesson. The Restaurant where we had lunch was great, and the food far exceeded our expectations.
Lots of tips and advice was given to us about every day life in Rome, and proved to be very usefull during our stay in Rome.
The coach journey was very comfortable, and the rest breaks were well timed. It was also good that our driver had Ice Cold bottles of water on the coach at 1 each, which saved buying it at silly prices from the places we visited.
The tour around Pompeii, was very informative and well planned.
The trip up Mount Vesuvius was to say the least, a VERY interesting coach drive, and the walk to the top was hard work for us at 60 yrs old , but well worth it when you get there. Fantastic views from 4,300 feet up a volcano, above the clouds.
The journey back to Rome was full of more history and very useful tips about where to go, and what to see in Rome, including some good restaurants and Gellato shops.
My wife and I can't praise this duo enough for making it a great day, and we highly recommend it.
Thank You Becky and Rob for a GREAT day out.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cody G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Pompeii is obviously a must see for anyone so this tour is worth doing just for that. The guides were all very informative, fun and entertaining with good stories even for the long 3 hour each way drive. The only downside was that there was a bit of bad planning, Mt. Vesuvius was closed which was a possibility as stated in the tour info but the backup option of the museum in Naples was also closed not sure why so we ended up with a 3rd option of another Volcano, although cool to see either of the other options that were stated in the information would have been preferred.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kiron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and would recommend to anyone. The Pompeii tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Lunch was good and plenty of it so you had energy before the climb up Vesuvius. Amazing views at the top of the volcano and a fantastic experience. Only suggestion would be to leave earlier to give more time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

SarahMain91 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a day! We saved this tour for our last full day and it was truly a great way to have ended our holiday!
We had Giulio and Roberto as our guides on the 21/09/15, although it was a long day they certainly kept us entertained, they work really well together, bouncing off one another which is rather comical too.
Both are very knowledgeable and passionate.
The morning we spent in Pompeii, which was more than what I expected, it was beautiful yet moving to see the ruins and delve deeper into the history of what had once been a great trading port and city.
After lunch we took to Mount Vesuvius, the climb and the views of the volcano and the surrounding below were breathtaking, it was well worth it the 30 minute hike to the top.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kevin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

I booked this tour a week in advance after first checking that the weather forecast was for a sunny day. Of course, on the day the forecast was wrong and we were unlucky to have cloudy, drizzly weather. However, this is not the reason for my low rating. At the restaurant our guide assured everybody not to worry - because of the weather, he said, we would not be able to enjoy the views over the bay but the crater was above the cloud and was clear. Of course it wasn't. It was completely shrouded in mist and we saw nothing. The disappointment for me was that during the bus trip up the guide said very little and gave virtually no insight into the history of the volcano. Most people were disappointed with the weather and I felt the guide could at least have used some enthusiasm to brighten the mood a bit. Then when we arrived at the gate to the Vesuvius National Park the guide announced, almost with relief I sensed, that, happily, the gate was open. Really? What would have happened if we'd got there to find it closed? It was clear the guide did not know the conditions at the top. Of course, we are disappointed that the tour did not work out as expected because of the weather, however, at least my wife and I can now claim that we've been to the top.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

Cherie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing trip. I took my 17 and 7 year old they also loved it. The ruins are amazing and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. I was amazed at how large the city is. We hiked to the top of Mt. Vesuvius and saw into the crater! WOW! I did not realize it is an active volcano - so go soon!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Antonella was a very good guide along with her partner forget the name currently They gave us a nice account of history along the bus route with much information about the areas we drove through. They helped us out with restaurant choices in Rome. They even talked to us about Venice and Florence. They were very good with English. The actual tour through Pompeii was incredible. The insite into the development of the city of Pompeii, the recount of the eruption, the relics shown were all amazing. The tour was the highlight of our Rome vacation. We made the trek from the bus stop to the top of Vesuvius. It was a good view of the Volcano no lava or steam and vista of Naples though cloudy. This trip is well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message