Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Naples Cruise Port

You’ll catch your breath at the sight of Mt. Vesuvius hovering on the horizon as you enter the Bay of Naples, and the encircling panorama of Naples lining the harbor. Naples’ busy shipping port is the gateway city for some of Italy’s most famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! We opted just for the driver and could not have been happier. Giovanni was amazing. He was waiting outside the cruise terminal right when we got off and during the long drive to the Amalfi coast he told us about the history of the places we were visiting and kept us well entertained. He stopped all along the drive so we could take beautiful pictures of the scenery. Since we went in December we had no traffic at all so we were able to stay in the towns a little longer than normal. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Lynedah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow, great guide. Amazing tour. It is one of those places you will never forget. Well worth having a guide for this one.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

avinashchukkapalli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the best trips we have taken. Amazing driver and tour guide. Though he knew minimal english, he was able to understand and he being a local, he was able to add his flair to the trip. He knew all the scenic spots and he knew the local pretty well. Definitely a trip that you should take and if you are coming off a cruise, Simpy go for this. The shore excursion offered by the cruise is expensive and it doesnt cover the places that this trip offers. Just its simply worth it.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is actually much longer than described in the itinerary and I am glad we didn't have anything else explained for the excursion. We had a very nice lunch and then had the opportunity to venture to the top of mt. Vesuvius. I would highly recommend this tour as well.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour provided a great insight on Naples city. We got to see a lot of the sights in a short amount of time that allowed for extra exploring opportunities.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

redldebug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a beautiful trip.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Andrea R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A good tour, The part in naples was especially good! our guide had a lot of love for her city and a huge desire to transmit that love in us showing us her city in a beautiful way! In Pompeii we find another type of guide good also but different, much knowledge, little passion.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Marion B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

After being picked up at the port we spent about an hour picking up others from various hotels before leaving the city. A full bus load 40 people. When we arrived at Pompeii we were issued with audio equipment which allowed us to take photos while listening to the information. There were many big groups on the site.
Our pizza lunch at a nearby cafe was very tasty then we divided into different groups according to the next part of our itinerary. We were only 12 going to Sorrento. A very pretty drive along the coast then a stroll along the quaint streets and a view of the coast from above. No time to linger as we had to keep to our time schedule.
We ended up with very tired legs as virtually everywhere was cobble stones.
Maria was a wealth of information and it was delivered non stop - how she kept going I don't know.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Damien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good Value for money, punctual and well organised .

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

fred

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent day, great guide

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

YangtzeCruiser United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We knew this was going to involve a quickie tour of Pompeii and a quickie hike up to the rim of Vesuvius and back down. If you want more time at either place, this is not the tour for you. Pompeii was the nexus for at least three different tours Pompeii, Pompeii and Vesuvius, and Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast, and we wasted about half an hour waiting for all of the groups to arrive. Lunch was excellent - a large, perfectly prepared personal pizza Margherita and a glass or two of the local vino. And then there was Vesuvius. That was one steep climb! And, from the top, it's easy to see how vulnerable both Pompeii and Naples are. Furthermore, the gases coming out of the crater didn't totally reek of sulfur Two disappointing aspects: 1 not enough time. 2 by the time we got to the top is was getting late and much of the crater was in shadows. To be fair, 16:30 shadows in mid November are considerably longer than they would be in late June. It would have been nicer if we had climbed Vesuvius first, then visited Pompeii after lunch. All-in-all, a nice way to cram both Pompeii and a Vesuvius climb into a single shore excursion.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sally Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We are very happy we took this tour.
I would have liked more time at the top of Vesuvius. We waited for the complimentary English program/tour given by the park rangers others on our bus didn't. And we are glad we did because it was really informative, but the rangers were very wishy washy on when it would start. After the program finished, we quickly hoofed it to the other side of the crater to look down at Pompeii. We did have to jog the entire way down the path to get back to the bus in time. But it was very worth it.
Then we went to lunch. They were trying to feed 100 of us pizza or spaghetti, but most chose pizza all at once. Since Florence is the birthplace of pizza, I would have expected better. The pizza was just ok. My pizza was actually half uncooked raw dough, cheese not melted, but the pizzas were big, so I just ate the cooked part and then ate a bit of my husband's pizza that was fully cooked.
The Pompeii tour is given by a guide that is certified and is a different person than your bus escort. The guy was excellent and we really felt like we got a good feel for what it was like to live there before/during/after the explosion.
We had a few minutes after the Pompeii tour and tasted the Limoncello Creme different from Limoncello at a shop just outside the gates -- wish I'd bought some!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

WAYNE H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

BE IN GOOD PHYSICAL SHAPE FOR THIS TOUR. IT WAS VERY FAST PACED

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour. The guide for Pompeii was excellent and knowledgeable. Lunch was very good. the walk up Mt Vesuvius was difficult if not in shape. The path was rocky with loose gravel and there is a temperature change. The view is worth the hike.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Julie was was very knowledgeable and interesting. The driver was great on the difficult Almalfi roads. I highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Alvin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We arrived in Naples on a cruise ship, and the bus stop is right at the port. Additionally the transition point for each tour is within easy walking distance of the port so we were able to take two routes. Also the busses provided free wi-fi. We enjoyed this tour and consider it a very good value.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

travelman20056

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our recent tour was Naples was very well organized from beginning to end. Our tour guide Liza was excellent, very knowledgeable and passionate about her subject matter. Our minibus driver was very friendly and helpful as well. Overall, I would highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

woodchuck770

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Pepe was on time and easy to find. The scenery was awesome, shear cliff drop offs most of the way.
The shops in Sorrento were a thing to see, quite varied and friendly. The Lemonchilla was great.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Maureen R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The hop on bus was situated just outside the cruise terminal. Excellent way to visit all sights of Naples. Had time to travel on all routes. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rafael A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic time during this trip, we got off the cruise ship, and they were waiting for us in the parking lot, all of the tours and taxi cabs were waiting there, and there was a lady with a sign I think her name is Maria and the sign had like 20 last names in there, in small letters so you needed to get really close to see your name written there. Let me say this tour company is really clever, their logistics are amazing, they took a whole bus of people to Pompeii, they gave us coloured stickers to each continue on our different trips, for instance some people went to Vesuvius, others to Sorrento, so from Pompeii we departed in smaller but very adequate vehicles to our destinations. At Pompeii our admission tickets were included so we didn't need to do any lines, we entered as a group, the guide gave us audio devices so we could listen to everything she was saying, that was really good. She was very knowledgeable, funny, and very professional, we really enjoyed listening to her explanations. Pompeii is a very big place, so keep close to the group because you can get lost easily, I think it was very adequate everything we saw in there, bring adequate footwear because the floor is rocky and uneven. After that they took us to lunch, near the archaeological site of Pompeii, you could choose between pizza and pasta spaghetti... I have to disagree here with other reviews I read which said the pizza was wonderful, it wasn't for me.. the pizza had too much tomato salsa and very little cheese, almost non-existent, the crust was good and it was quite large. I wonder if the pasta would have been a better option. 1 drink was also included, I saw people drinking beer. After that, they took us to Sorrento, which was beautiful, and I'm glad they took us there in the smaller vehicle because the winding roads there are scary, they are too narrow. In Sorrento we had a little free time to shop around. They took us to a shop to try Limoncello and cookies and sweets made out of lemons... please try the lemon cookies! the ones that have a lemon filling, they are superb! although a bit expensive. It was a whole day trip and they took us back to the ship, it was a wonderful experience, we highly recommend booking this tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

mercedes.ferrer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was such an AMAZING tour!!! Our guide, Elisa is AWESOME and Pompeii is an unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a unique experience in Nápoles

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great and efficient tour. We had two different tour guides one for Pompeii and one for Mt Vesuvius both were very friendly and knowledgeable. The pizza was tasty and the tours were pleasant.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

L Har United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Pompeli portion of th tour was to long! Our guide went into too much detail in some of the areas! Some of the comments she made were in poor taste.. The restaurant could have been a little more prepared for such a large group. The Sorrento part of the trip was 5 star! What a beautiful drive. The bus driver was very nice to stop for photos along the coast! If I were giving advice to my friends, I would recommend spending more time enjoying the coast and places like Sorrento!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Lynn M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour is self was fine. However, I believe the pick-up and drop-off were to be at the cruise terminal. The vendor left me about a half-mile from the terminal and gave me instructions for how to walk back alone.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message