Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Naples Cruise Port

You’ll catch your breath at the sight of Mt. Vesuvius hovering on the horizon as you enter the Bay of Naples, and the encircling panorama of Naples lining the harbor. Naples’ busy shipping port is the gateway city for some of Italy’s most famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour. The guide for Pompeii was excellent and knowledgeable. Lunch was very good. the walk up Mt Vesuvius was difficult if not in shape. The path was rocky with loose gravel and there is a temperature change. The view is worth the hike.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Julie was was very knowledgeable and interesting. The driver was great on the difficult Almalfi roads. I highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Alvin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We arrived in Naples on a cruise ship, and the bus stop is right at the port. Additionally the transition point for each tour is within easy walking distance of the port so we were able to take two routes. Also the busses provided free wi-fi. We enjoyed this tour and consider it a very good value.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

travelman20056

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our recent tour was Naples was very well organized from beginning to end. Our tour guide Liza was excellent, very knowledgeable and passionate about her subject matter. Our minibus driver was very friendly and helpful as well. Overall, I would highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

woodchuck770

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Pepe was on time and easy to find. The scenery was awesome, shear cliff drop offs most of the way.
The shops in Sorrento were a thing to see, quite varied and friendly. The Lemonchilla was great.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Maureen R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The hop on bus was situated just outside the cruise terminal. Excellent way to visit all sights of Naples. Had time to travel on all routes. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rafael A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic time during this trip, we got off the cruise ship, and they were waiting for us in the parking lot, all of the tours and taxi cabs were waiting there, and there was a lady with a sign I think her name is Maria and the sign had like 20 last names in there, in small letters so you needed to get really close to see your name written there. Let me say this tour company is really clever, their logistics are amazing, they took a whole bus of people to Pompeii, they gave us coloured stickers to each continue on our different trips, for instance some people went to Vesuvius, others to Sorrento, so from Pompeii we departed in smaller but very adequate vehicles to our destinations. At Pompeii our admission tickets were included so we didn't need to do any lines, we entered as a group, the guide gave us audio devices so we could listen to everything she was saying, that was really good. She was very knowledgeable, funny, and very professional, we really enjoyed listening to her explanations. Pompeii is a very big place, so keep close to the group because you can get lost easily, I think it was very adequate everything we saw in there, bring adequate footwear because the floor is rocky and uneven. After that they took us to lunch, near the archaeological site of Pompeii, you could choose between pizza and pasta spaghetti... I have to disagree here with other reviews I read which said the pizza was wonderful, it wasn't for me.. the pizza had too much tomato salsa and very little cheese, almost non-existent, the crust was good and it was quite large. I wonder if the pasta would have been a better option. 1 drink was also included, I saw people drinking beer. After that, they took us to Sorrento, which was beautiful, and I'm glad they took us there in the smaller vehicle because the winding roads there are scary, they are too narrow. In Sorrento we had a little free time to shop around. They took us to a shop to try Limoncello and cookies and sweets made out of lemons... please try the lemon cookies! the ones that have a lemon filling, they are superb! although a bit expensive. It was a whole day trip and they took us back to the ship, it was a wonderful experience, we highly recommend booking this tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

mercedes.ferrer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was such an AMAZING tour!!! Our guide, Elisa is AWESOME and Pompeii is an unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a unique experience in Nápoles

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great and efficient tour. We had two different tour guides one for Pompeii and one for Mt Vesuvius both were very friendly and knowledgeable. The pizza was tasty and the tours were pleasant.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

L Har United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Pompeli portion of th tour was to long! Our guide went into too much detail in some of the areas! Some of the comments she made were in poor taste.. The restaurant could have been a little more prepared for such a large group. The Sorrento part of the trip was 5 star! What a beautiful drive. The bus driver was very nice to stop for photos along the coast! If I were giving advice to my friends, I would recommend spending more time enjoying the coast and places like Sorrento!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Lynn M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour is self was fine. However, I believe the pick-up and drop-off were to be at the cruise terminal. The vendor left me about a half-mile from the terminal and gave me instructions for how to walk back alone.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

RKV

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour was sub standard from the start. Driver was not standing with other guides displaying names. We finally found him and found he had a name list but did not display it. Driver did not speak English. We drove about 10 minutes then a woman jumped in the van. She was our guide but we had to race to another point to pick up an Italian couple who were mad. Suddenly our English tour became 2 languages. We continued to pick up other customers for other tours so we were either racing or waiting.

We were so excited about our Pompeii tour but were greatly disppointed. Our guide became the leader for about 40 more people.it took forever to get our audio guide and make a toilet stop. We then found out a dignitary was visiting that day so group entrance closed. Walked to other end of Pompeii, tried to enter but guide had not advised numerous people to check their backpacks so we waited again. Several members of the group took off on their own. We saw part of site but guide had no flag so time spent finding strays.

Leaving the site was the worst. Our guide took several people back to Naples on our original van. We were put on a large bus with no English speaking personnel to go back to Naples and choose 1 of 3 stops.

The whole day was a disappointment. We felt we were let down on our once in a lifetime visit. Tour agency seemed to be operating on spit as cell phone continuing to ring with changes in plan.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Shelley E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We booked a driver and a guide for this EXPENSIVE tour for THREE people. 1. We got a Spanish speaking guide and we do not speak Spanish. The driver spoke acceptable English and we insisted we would be fine without a guide. They insisted we have a guide and the problem was handled as quickly as possible. They insisted we must have checked the Spanish box even though I explained I booked on the phone. So, okay, it was our fault! 2. The vehicle was a mid sized sedan. The guide and driver sat in front. Luckily one of our participants was sick this day or one of us would have had to sit on the hump in the middle of the back seat for an all day driving tour. Trust me, we would have walked. 3. Both the driver and the guide smoked not inside of the car and as a result, the smell in the car wasn't great. 4. The driver and the guide spoke Italian between themselves much of the time which is uncomfortable. Obviously we don't know if they are talking and laughing about how stupid we are or where they are going to take us to kill us! 5. Guide was texting and took personal phone calls during our tour. We had MUCH Superior tour guides using Trip Advisor and calling the individual owners. Less expensive and much superior! On a positive note, the driver was a good driver and the guide was knowledgable as she stated she normally lead tour busses. She was not as adept at answering/explaining questions regarding social economic and the political environment as our other private guides had been so well versed in and glad to share.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

peter.curtis57 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great tour to go on and experience the Amalfi coast with its winding roads, beautiful seaside villages and towns and outstanding scenery. Our guide was very knowledgeable but their was a bit a language issue when we asked any questions. She did a great job overall and we saw a lot over the 8 hours. We stopped for lunch in Positano recommended by our driver and was so impressed with the view and the pizza the best we had in our visit Just an excellent tour overall .

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

jlirosi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

savvio was our driver but went out of his way to be a guide as well, beautiful scenery and also took us to a lovely restaraunt for lunch.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

CHRIS A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who wanted a quick into to Pompeii and Vesuvius. The guide was great and we were really lucky with weather. We had a very limited timeframe as we weer only in Naples for a day so this was perfect.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Accomplished just what we had hoped to see and visit. They were sure to get us back to our ship in plenty of time prior to departure.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow - what a great day!! Very nice van. The driver and guide met us at the port. The driver was excellent and very safe. Our guide was Analisa and she was amazing. She was very knowledgeable and had a great personality. So glad we spent the extra money to have a guide. Since it was just our group of four we were able to customize the time at each place. This is such a great tour and so much better than being on a big bus.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

brender

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic drive and sites. The driver spoke pretty good English and we would have wasted 300 adding a guide to supplement him. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Manuel was our driver for our trip along the Amalfi coast. From the time he picked us up at the port until he dropped us off at the end of the day Manuel gave us the most memorable day!! During the trip he pointed out so many beautiful spots and pulled over whenever he could so we could take pictures of the beautiful countryside. We visited Salerno, Almalfi and Positano where we had time to walk around,shop and even had lunch in a beautiful restaurant he suggested Da Costantino overlooking the sea. Manuel grew up in Naples so he was the perfect driver and guide to show us the Amalfi coast! Besides, what other guide serenades there guests in Italian while showing them his beautiful Italy? Great job Manuel! Thank you

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worked very well for our group. Saw everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cheryl V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pompeii was a wonderfully lead excursion that was both educational and fun. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Kristen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide Elise was awesome! She knew so much history!

The Tour of Naples was with a small group with direct pick-up from the ship. We got an amazing look at a magnificent basilica in Naples, a great overview of Naples at an amazing overlook, and time to stop and get delicious espresso! Elise was able to switch between French, Italian, and English, all with everyone feeling like they each got information, it was amazing!

Then our small group headed to Pompeii and we were joined by other groups. I saw on past reviews that this is where the group grew astronomically. We were lucky, as there wasn't a lot of cruise ships in that day, so our group didn't grow too unwieldy, but I could see how it could happen. We were able to stay with Elise, but people speaking different languages got other tour guides and went off on their own. It was a great tour of the ancient city, and we really enjoyed our time and our guide. We got to see so many things, and learn so much interesting history. This was far better than the tours offered by the cruise ship, because they were groups numbering upwards of 60! This was a nice group, no bigger than 25, and we were able to all stay together and listen to the great information from our amazing guide!

Thank you Viator for giving us a great day!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message