There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

W W S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked this trip directly on Viator, because it cost much less than through our cruise ship and we were very pleased. The pick up was handled easily near our ship in the port by curteous Simona. We drove about a half hour in a small shuttle bus to Pompei with very friendly and informative Tania, then joined a larger group to tour the ruins with Stefania, who was an excellent tour guide. After about 2.5 hours we had a delicious lunch, included in the price, at a very nice restaurant Vesuvio, where the food and wait staff were great. Then we had a super ride in our small group of only 6 along the coast to Sorrento with a 40-minute stop and on to Positano and the amazing Amalfi Coast. Our driver, Ricardo, was very professional and informative the whole way. He showed us many interesting sights along the way, including where Al Capone was born we're from Chicago, he sang classic Italian songs to us, stopped at several amazing scenic sites, and made sure we got back to our ship despite a huge traffic jam on the return. Ricardo has driven some world celebrities, and I'm not surprised, because he is very knowledgeable and probably should get a raise from the company. We really enjoyed this excursion!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

rodneychin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A highly recommended day trip to the Amalfi Coast in a comfortable modern van covering the towns of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Vietri. Our driver Chiaro sorry if I misspelt his name is an excellent driver and he helped us all with that we needed during the day trip and was very kind to our 5 year old throughout, even with some brief information on the sights that we went past. We had an absolutely lovely lunch at seaside restaurant near Conca dei Marini which Chiaro brought us to. Our only regret was that we did not get to go to Ravello we weren't sure why this was left out as it was not explained to us, but we thoroughly enjoyed everything else, so this was the only negative point for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Having a guide at Pompeii was vital and we had a good one! Also, the driver was really nice and experienced for the crazy drive to Amalfi Coast. I had a lot of fun doing this tour! If weather allows, they also may offer you a boat ride tour excursion....they couldn't go the day I went but it would have been nice to know that this was an option so I thought I'd share.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andreina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long tour, but worth it. Had an amazing time both in Pompeii and driving along the Amalfi Coast. I highly recommend this trip to all.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Marco C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We recommend this tour. Stefania gave us a really nice tour of Pompeii, informative and funny then Luca drove just 3 of us who had to be back earlier to board the cruise ship to the Amalfi coast where we had 30 minutes free time to see Sorrento. The lunch was included, the entry fee to Pompeii was not.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andre B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Viist in Pompei was amazing. As we had to return on our ship sooner, organizers gave us a private tour of Ravello and Amalfi. It was a perfect day

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Kobus B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We only booked 2 days before the trip and was a bit concerned about logistics as we were on a boat cruise with limited time for excursions. Everything went according to plan and we were picked up on time at the port. The tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable. After the Pompeii tour we broke into a smaller group for the Amalfi trip. Our tour guide Ricardo, was excellent ! He was flexible and have us different options and good advice to ensure that we get the most from the limited time we had. He made sure that we were back in time for embarkation. Well done to Ricardo and the rest of the team !

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

johnamclaughlin55 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time at Pompeii with a knowledgeable and witty guide Stephanie. it met our every expectation. We had a limited time available for our Amalfi coast visit, the guest with cruise connections were given a special return van and a really fantastic driver Humberto who went above and beyond and ensured that we were returned in time for our cruise departure.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

georgette

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable day, bit too much time wasted organising people to be on the correct buses. Loved Pompeii and the drive along the Amalfi coast. Not so interested in the shops we stopped at.
Lunch was good but felt it took too long when we could have been seeing the sights

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Rudra S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well designed tour. Pompeii definitely lived up to our expectations. Only issue I had was that it was very adult themed and this wasn and #39;t made clear on the website or the reviews. Definitely not appropriate for a 6 year old to walk thru the ruins of a 2000 year old brothel. Amalfi coast was gorgeous

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joseph S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The hour long drive on the windy roads to take a few pictures of Amalfi was not worth it. Do not try to do both of these destinations in the same day. I would suggest Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius instead. That being said, the guide and driver were amazing. Pompeii was awesome. They worked great with our cruise timeline.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

kent b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

started late - never made it to Amalfi due to to time/traffic - had to split up groups going to different places after first stop Saw ver illtle go Pompeii due to crowds

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Kunal Bhalerao United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very well organised day trip! The tour guides were very informative and patient, specially Taniya who was our guide to Amalfi coast, she was a great fun who told many interesting stories on our way! Lunch was good and tasty bus was very comfortable too! I was really impressed when they arranged a private car for us and two other guests who needed to catch the trains in the evening just to ensure that we reach back Naples in time! Highly recommended tour!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our best days in Italy. Antonio was so wonderful-the perfect host/guide.
The Amalfi coast is a must see and this was the perfect way to see it! we were picked up at our hotel and drive in an air conditioned Mercedes van by a perfectly lovely young Italian man. he recommended a fabulous stop for lunch and we were not disappointed.I would definitely book this tour-ask for Antonio!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Robyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day on this trip.Tania and Mustafa were our guides around the Amalfi coast and it was most enjoyable

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Vanessa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Pompeii tour! The guide was very informative and funny. Although we accidentally got on the wrong tour bus and ended up missing the Amalfi coast. The staff should do a better job at labeling and organizing the buses.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Austin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

4 Veterinary Students from the US, 22/23yo. We loved it. If you only have one day to see the amalfi coast this is what your should do. It is fast placed but the views are wonderful and you get a taste of each town. Make sure to do the swiming boat tour in Amalfi also!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Ramkumar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Once in life time experience. Will cherish the Amalfi coast and the historical site of Pompei!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ayhura D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Adriano, our driver was very helpful and made our trip enjoyable and nice. During the trip he was telling us the stories and facts from their history for the places we were about to see. He also recommended a nice place to have lunch at. In general, everything was on time as per schedule and we did not wait or lose time from what had been already planned. Thank you, we had a great day at Amalfi Coast!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Deanna C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a great day touring the coast of Italy. The driver was kind and helpful. However, we found the cities where we stopped to be overrun with tourists and the entire trip, while beautiful, was a reinforcement of our decision to stay in Naples as opposed to in Amalfi. If you made the same decision, to stay in Naples, but want to see the stunning coastline - take this option. For those who like to shop - there are opportunities throughout to buy items - but don't worry too much about getting around once you are in the cities. They are for the most part tourist traps.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Janet V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Locations and sites were the redeeming factors, but several serious drawbacks to this dual tour:
- the headsets did not work at Pompeii, and the guide blew it off only a small portion of our large tour group heard what the guide was saying.
- didn't spend as much time in Pompeii as we could have.
- too long at lunch more time at the restaurant than at Pompeii, compounded by the driver then being late picking us up after lunch
- did not stop at the advertised ceramic factory out of time
- the driver was late picking us up in Amalfi
- guide for Amalfi Coast - though very nice and personable - was more of a facilitator than a guide provided limited information about the area/sites.
- though all other guests/tourists were dropped off at their hotels, we were told that ours was too inconvenient to get to, so we were dropped off 3 blocks away, despite the fact that we had my 77-year old mother-in-law, the oldest person in the group.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day with our driver Ciro with all the best stops and views of the Amalfi coast with great photo opportunities along the way and a nice lunch at a seaside restaurant in Praiano. A full 9 hours spent in one of the most outstanding places I and #39;ve been to. A must do trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My favorite day trip! I have always wanted to go to the Amalfi Coast and this private tour was perfect. Savio, our driver, was fantastic! He knew a lot of history, spoke very good English for me that was very good since i don't speak their language and gave us plenty of time in each Town to walk around and explore the beautiful sights! I highly recommend a private tour rather than the buses!

Julie and Bryan

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Kate G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thank you to Pepe for a wonderful day on the beautiful coastline. It was easy to find him near the hotel in Naples. Though his English was limited, we did not have too much difficulty understanding each other. He was clear about when we would stop for photo ops, how much time we had in each spot, and the best of each destination. The lunch spot we stopped at, La Conca Azzurra, was delicious with stunning views of the coast.

I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time wanting to see the Amalfi Coast. No one had any issues with motion sickness. I wish we had more time in Positano maybe less in Sorrento would be okay since we really went down to the beach and back up in the limited time we had. It would have been nice to stop into some of the shops there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such stunning views! Our tour guide gave us great information throughout the day! It is truly amazing what is still surviving in Pompeii. A must see. And driving to Sorrento and Amalfi is breathtaking! I could of stayed forever!. The lemons are huge, which makes delicious lemoncello.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message