There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kunal Bhalerao United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very well organised day trip! The tour guides were very informative and patient, specially Taniya who was our guide to Amalfi coast, she was a great fun who told many interesting stories on our way! Lunch was good and tasty bus was very comfortable too! I was really impressed when they arranged a private car for us and two other guests who needed to catch the trains in the evening just to ensure that we reach back Naples in time! Highly recommended tour!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our best days in Italy. Antonio was so wonderful-the perfect host/guide.
The Amalfi coast is a must see and this was the perfect way to see it! we were picked up at our hotel and drive in an air conditioned Mercedes van by a perfectly lovely young Italian man. he recommended a fabulous stop for lunch and we were not disappointed.I would definitely book this tour-ask for Antonio!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Robyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day on this trip.Tania and Mustafa were our guides around the Amalfi coast and it was most enjoyable

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Austin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

4 Veterinary Students from the US, 22/23yo. We loved it. If you only have one day to see the amalfi coast this is what your should do. It is fast placed but the views are wonderful and you get a taste of each town. Make sure to do the swiming boat tour in Amalfi also!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Ramkumar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Once in life time experience. Will cherish the Amalfi coast and the historical site of Pompei!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ayhura D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Adriano, our driver was very helpful and made our trip enjoyable and nice. During the trip he was telling us the stories and facts from their history for the places we were about to see. He also recommended a nice place to have lunch at. In general, everything was on time as per schedule and we did not wait or lose time from what had been already planned. Thank you, we had a great day at Amalfi Coast!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Deanna C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a great day touring the coast of Italy. The driver was kind and helpful. However, we found the cities where we stopped to be overrun with tourists and the entire trip, while beautiful, was a reinforcement of our decision to stay in Naples as opposed to in Amalfi. If you made the same decision, to stay in Naples, but want to see the stunning coastline - take this option. For those who like to shop - there are opportunities throughout to buy items - but don't worry too much about getting around once you are in the cities. They are for the most part tourist traps.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Janet V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Locations and sites were the redeeming factors, but several serious drawbacks to this dual tour:
- the headsets did not work at Pompeii, and the guide blew it off only a small portion of our large tour group heard what the guide was saying.
- didn't spend as much time in Pompeii as we could have.
- too long at lunch more time at the restaurant than at Pompeii, compounded by the driver then being late picking us up after lunch
- did not stop at the advertised ceramic factory out of time
- the driver was late picking us up in Amalfi
- guide for Amalfi Coast - though very nice and personable - was more of a facilitator than a guide provided limited information about the area/sites.
- though all other guests/tourists were dropped off at their hotels, we were told that ours was too inconvenient to get to, so we were dropped off 3 blocks away, despite the fact that we had my 77-year old mother-in-law, the oldest person in the group.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day with our driver Ciro with all the best stops and views of the Amalfi coast with great photo opportunities along the way and a nice lunch at a seaside restaurant in Praiano. A full 9 hours spent in one of the most outstanding places I and #39;ve been to. A must do trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My favorite day trip! I have always wanted to go to the Amalfi Coast and this private tour was perfect. Savio, our driver, was fantastic! He knew a lot of history, spoke very good English for me that was very good since i don't speak their language and gave us plenty of time in each Town to walk around and explore the beautiful sights! I highly recommend a private tour rather than the buses!

Julie and Bryan

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Kate G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thank you to Pepe for a wonderful day on the beautiful coastline. It was easy to find him near the hotel in Naples. Though his English was limited, we did not have too much difficulty understanding each other. He was clear about when we would stop for photo ops, how much time we had in each spot, and the best of each destination. The lunch spot we stopped at, La Conca Azzurra, was delicious with stunning views of the coast.

I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time wanting to see the Amalfi Coast. No one had any issues with motion sickness. I wish we had more time in Positano maybe less in Sorrento would be okay since we really went down to the beach and back up in the limited time we had. It would have been nice to stop into some of the shops there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such stunning views! Our tour guide gave us great information throughout the day! It is truly amazing what is still surviving in Pompeii. A must see. And driving to Sorrento and Amalfi is breathtaking! I could of stayed forever!. The lemons are huge, which makes delicious lemoncello.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The places we went (Amalfi, Pompeii, Sorrento, Positano) were absolutely gorgeous. The only downside to it was not being able to stop in a few different spots that had incredible views to take pictures at ideal little rest stop areas. Very much enjoyed the trip outside of that.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Parisa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous day visiting Amalfi coast. Our driver Mr. Pepe was such a gentleman and altered our trip the way we wanted. We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

MEREDITH V F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rosario met us at the ship and he was a professional through and through and his English was great. He was a truly brilliant driver and gave us the most wonderful day on the Amalfi Coast. This was the best day we spent on our 3l days of travelling through Europe and a true highlight. Do yourself a favour and book now!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Nandita Krishna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The driver who took us around the Amalfi coast was very, very sweet and entertaining! I don't quite remember his name apologies for that, but he spoke English very well and made the drive around very comfortable and fun!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ana S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A bit disappointed. Pompeii was super crowded and the tour in the Amalfi coast is done inside the bus, little time to visit the city and no time at all for swimming. Plus, the bus takes a lot of people at the same time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Tomas S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sites were incredible! Pompeii is incredible and the amalfi cost is simply paradise!

As for organization, it is far less than what you would expect, do not expect them to be on time. And do not plan anything after the supposed 8 hours.

As for the guides, they are very clear and friendly

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Alexandra A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was definitely worth doing but was not as great as I had hoped. Very rushed, no free time at all, and no time to shop, etc. at any of the stops. Pompeii was crowded and our tour guide failed to keep everyone together, then we had technical difficulties and time constraints on our Amalfi drive.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Michael M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We did go to Pompeii, have lunch, and go to the Amalfi coast as advertised.
However- As soon as we boarded the bus, we were told that we would have to make accommodations to get back in time to board the ship. This tour is listed for 8 hours and should have been over by 5PM, they got us back around 6 after the modifications. We left late. They charged 2 euros more than published for Pompeii tickets. We had a tour of Pompeii that was just fair. He stopped the tour before talking us through the main square where the artifacts such as the pottery and preserved corpses are located, opting to give us free time.
On the bus, they encouraged us to order Pizza instead of one of the other menu options to save time. When we got there they had ordered for us, no choice except to take it or leave it. Service was bad. All drinks, including water, are extra, pay cash. We were there for a very long time and watched many who arrived after us get served spaghetti and such before we were served.
The 3 courses were mediocre pizza margherita, cold-as in refrigerated- potatoes, and lemon gelato. We finally got on the bus and were told how we would have almost no time to stop and tour Amalfi. We stopped on the coast in Positano for photos, three times near Sorrento, and finally in Amalfi.
The sales pitch was continual. Each place we stopped for more than 5 minutes to snap pictures was one where they had a special discount and consisted of a cameo factory in Pompeii and two places on the coast. One was roadside carts, and the other sold Limoncello and ceramics. We wasted a lot of time at these places to be told that we will only have about 20 minutes on our own in Amalfi UNLESS we wanted to purchase a boat tour through them. Apparently this is a magical time-warping boat but not enough of us got this, and we had 45 min in Amalfi before we drove back.
In short, I feel we were forced to shop where they get kickbacks. Hire a private driver instead and pick your own stops.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

minyoung l

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

At the beginning of the tour, the guide said we will have 1 hour to stay in Amalfi city which is not long but ok,, but we could only stay 30min in Amalfi.
During the tour, the guide mentioned about boat tour in Amalfi but there was no one interested to take the boat tour in our group. The guide looks not happy about no one take the boat tour. She was really quietnot explain much and just before we arrived in Amalfi, she said we will have only 30min in Amalfishe said due to parking problem which is shorter than we were staying in the gift shop. The highlight of this tour is Amalfi and we only allowed to stay there for 30min???? If anyone in our group took a boat tour which takes 40-45min she should be able to find a parking spot longer than 45min...
If you are thinking to take this tour, please bring enough money to take the boat tour otherwise you will only allowed to stay there for 30min. I won't recommend you to take this tour at all!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Susan L.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In April 2016 we booked the Amalfi Coast Tour Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Our driver was Rosario. He met us at Star Hotel near Napoli Centrale train station in a nice Mercedes. Rosario was an excellent host/driver and spoke very good English. You also have the option to hire a guide to accompany you, but we chose not to do that because we wanted to be more on our own. Rosario was able to provide information and point out sights to us as we drove. He's been doing this for around 20 years so he is very knowledgeable.

You get a great view of Mount Vesuvius in the distance as you drive to Sorrento and on the way back to Naples.

Half way thru the trip, in between Positano and Amalfi, Rosario brought us to a wonderful restaurant called Calajanara with a picturesque setting overlooking the coast. It's just like you would imagine dining on the Mediterranean should be like. The food and service were fabulous. Note that the meal is not included in the price and it's not a cheap place 82 Euros for our lunch which included 2 glasses of wine, salads and entrees, and of course Lemoncello. We felt it was totally worth the cost. The owner was very nice and greeted us while we had our meal. Make sure you have the Lemoncello after your meal. They also had a shop that had a nice selection of gifts.

Positano shops had a nice selection of the ceramics and linens as well. Amalfi and Ravello are much smaller villages and don't have as many shops, but I did find a nice small water color print of the Amalfi coast to take home and frame.

The drive on the Amalfi coast was very beautiful with lots of twists and turns and very close passing of oncoming vehicles. I can't imagine doing that on a bus! But if you're in a tight budget, you may need to go that route.

However, this trip is definitely worth the splurge of the private driver and Rosario was fantastic. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Pagey United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Pick up at the coach park at 9am then did the round of hotels to pick up others. A lovely trip down the Amalfi Coast via Positano, Amalfi, lunch okay but nothing special in a small village and finishing off in Ravello. The group agreed to do the optional boat trip in the Amalfi Bay which was worth the extra 12 Euros each. We were dropped off at our hotel. Tony was our guide -he spoke great English, educated us in everything regarding culture, cuisine, and the geographical area, and did it in a most entertaining manner. Worth doing the smaller group so you can get into Positano as some of the larger coaches cannot.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

Joëlle D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! Drivers very friendly. The amalfi coast is worth it. A little bit short on time though too much to see. Really nice guides Stephania and Angela.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message