There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Walter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

our tour guide Tony was a condumate professional,we joined with him in PompeiiThe Amalfi coast is quite remarkableworth every penny we paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

rosemary o

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We could not take the tour bus as we expected.....stated they could not get back to port on time
Sent us in a car with driver........very difficult to see out ...too low

Did not go to Amalfi as driver said we may not get back to port on time

Disappointed

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took this tour on 9/24. Sara met us at the meeting point with way too much energy for 8am! We were also blessed to have her as our coordinator for the rest of the day. After a bus fiasco - our assigned driver backed out at the last minute - Genaro drove the group to Pompeii. A professional guide took over the walking tour from there, pointing out the sites. Lunch afterwards was good, and then onto Amalfi.

The ride was nail-biting through the tight turns and narrow streets, but Genaro controlled the bus like it was a Smart car through them all. We got into Amalfi and Sara arranged a private boat tour for some in our group to view the coast from the water. Stopped off for drinks with Sophia Loren at her villa. It was an unforgettable experience! OK, that last part isn't true, but it was still a great time. Sara's energy and bubbly personality lasted until we were dropped off. I don't know too many people who can be that happy for 12 hours. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WOW! We thought we would be in a van with six other people. As it turned out, I paid for a private tour didn't realize I had done that and it was just the driver Giovanni, the guide Julianna, my wife and I. We had never been down the coast so we had no idea what questions to ask. No problem, Julianna and Giovanni took us everywhere and explained everything, two amazing people. We saw Sorrento, Positano, Praiano, Amalfi, and Ravello. Julianna picked a place in Praiano for lunch outdoors on bluff overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea, romantic and stunning. The cost for both driver and guide was a little over 600, but if you have never done this tour, it is more than worth the cost. Oh, and they picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel in Naples. AWESOME!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Firdaus D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was AWESOME!! after visiting Pompeii, we went to Amalfi Coast. we made a few stops along the way and the view is breathtaking. our guide, Ricardo is really friendly and informative. definitely not going to be my last time visiting Pompeii and Amalfi Coast

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Cosmo K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! We thoroughly enjoyed the entire day, it was well organized with knowledgeable tour guides. To trip to Amalfi was breathtaking!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Archy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best ever trip i had , everything was on time , pompeii in the morning with an awesome guide , next we had 3 course Italian meal , after that we were on way to amalfi coast , positano and sorrento , took plenty pictures , had lots of time to see the locations and overall a great trip. Totally worth it !

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ernest G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a highlight of our Naples trip. Viator knows how to do a tour!!!! We started the day by meeting at Snack Bar Molo Beverello at the cruise ship port which was very convenient to our hotel. We boarded a small bus with our guide and bus driver Francisco what a great guy. Our first stop was Pompeii which I enjoyed even though it was so crowded and the other guests were pushy and rude. Our guide was great, so informative and available to answer questions sorry wish I remembered her name. After about 2 hours at Pompeii, we stopped for lunch at Hotel Vesuvio, which was delicious. We had a choice of salad, pizza and dessert or a 3 course dinner that was a huge amount of food and quite good. The pizza was excellent but if I was to return I would take the meal. From lunch, we boarded a large, comfortable bus and headed south. It was good to sit and chill after the 3 mile walk at Pompeii. First stop, Sorrento and its Limoncello di Capri factory for a well several free tastings of Limoncello. The view was magnifico. We made stops at Positano and Amalfi as well as a ceramic shop in Conca dei Marini for souvenirs. The Amalfi stop is right at a great little beach and we couldn't resist putting our feet in the water. Our guide Sara was great. She speaks at least 3 languages and did a great job with the Spanish and English translations. Her descriptions and explanations of the culture and sights was engaging and fun. This tour is the perfect combination of walking and relaxation.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

lorraine888 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day visiting Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. Our guides were great and very informative. The only comments I would share is that the beginning of the tour was very disorganized. There were too many people and they were trying to organize them to 3 different tours. It took 2 hours before we were on our way. Also, the bus driver on the coast, while driving, was answering his phone too much on the very narrow road with MANY hairpin turns!. He seemed upset and drove way too fast. It was a bit unsettling... other than that the tour was very good!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Charles R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Pompeii was great, the amalfi coast was awesome; the tour added zero value. There were 40-50 people in our group, with 3 languages. This slowed everything way down.
Very nice people, but unorganized and took too long to organize. Don and #39;t make plans after the tour, because we didn and #39;t return until 7:30.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jina A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour company was top-notch, very organized, and gave a great tour of Pompeii. The Amalfi coast portion was cut short, however, in order to get the tour members back to the train station and to the port in plenty of time. Kinda became just a tour of Sorrento. This tour should not be sold to any future customers, due to the Amalfi portion just not being possible.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

W W S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked this trip directly on Viator, because it cost much less than through our cruise ship and we were very pleased. The pick up was handled easily near our ship in the port by curteous Simona. We drove about a half hour in a small shuttle bus to Pompei with very friendly and informative Tania, then joined a larger group to tour the ruins with Stefania, who was an excellent tour guide. After about 2.5 hours we had a delicious lunch, included in the price, at a very nice restaurant Vesuvio, where the food and wait staff were great. Then we had a super ride in our small group of only 6 along the coast to Sorrento with a 40-minute stop and on to Positano and the amazing Amalfi Coast. Our driver, Ricardo, was very professional and informative the whole way. He showed us many interesting sights along the way, including where Al Capone was born we're from Chicago, he sang classic Italian songs to us, stopped at several amazing scenic sites, and made sure we got back to our ship despite a huge traffic jam on the return. Ricardo has driven some world celebrities, and I'm not surprised, because he is very knowledgeable and probably should get a raise from the company. We really enjoyed this excursion!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

rodneychin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A highly recommended day trip to the Amalfi Coast in a comfortable modern van covering the towns of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Vietri. Our driver Chiaro sorry if I misspelt his name is an excellent driver and he helped us all with that we needed during the day trip and was very kind to our 5 year old throughout, even with some brief information on the sights that we went past. We had an absolutely lovely lunch at seaside restaurant near Conca dei Marini which Chiaro brought us to. Our only regret was that we did not get to go to Ravello we weren't sure why this was left out as it was not explained to us, but we thoroughly enjoyed everything else, so this was the only negative point for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Having a guide at Pompeii was vital and we had a good one! Also, the driver was really nice and experienced for the crazy drive to Amalfi Coast. I had a lot of fun doing this tour! If weather allows, they also may offer you a boat ride tour excursion....they couldn't go the day I went but it would have been nice to know that this was an option so I thought I'd share.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andreina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long tour, but worth it. Had an amazing time both in Pompeii and driving along the Amalfi Coast. I highly recommend this trip to all.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Marco C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We recommend this tour. Stefania gave us a really nice tour of Pompeii, informative and funny then Luca drove just 3 of us who had to be back earlier to board the cruise ship to the Amalfi coast where we had 30 minutes free time to see Sorrento. The lunch was included, the entry fee to Pompeii was not.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Andre B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Viist in Pompei was amazing. As we had to return on our ship sooner, organizers gave us a private tour of Ravello and Amalfi. It was a perfect day

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Kobus B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We only booked 2 days before the trip and was a bit concerned about logistics as we were on a boat cruise with limited time for excursions. Everything went according to plan and we were picked up on time at the port. The tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable. After the Pompeii tour we broke into a smaller group for the Amalfi trip. Our tour guide Ricardo, was excellent ! He was flexible and have us different options and good advice to ensure that we get the most from the limited time we had. He made sure that we were back in time for embarkation. Well done to Ricardo and the rest of the team !

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

johnamclaughlin55 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time at Pompeii with a knowledgeable and witty guide Stephanie. it met our every expectation. We had a limited time available for our Amalfi coast visit, the guest with cruise connections were given a special return van and a really fantastic driver Humberto who went above and beyond and ensured that we were returned in time for our cruise departure.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

georgette

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable day, bit too much time wasted organising people to be on the correct buses. Loved Pompeii and the drive along the Amalfi coast. Not so interested in the shops we stopped at.
Lunch was good but felt it took too long when we could have been seeing the sights

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Rudra S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well designed tour. Pompeii definitely lived up to our expectations. Only issue I had was that it was very adult themed and this wasn and #39;t made clear on the website or the reviews. Definitely not appropriate for a 6 year old to walk thru the ruins of a 2000 year old brothel. Amalfi coast was gorgeous

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joseph S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The hour long drive on the windy roads to take a few pictures of Amalfi was not worth it. Do not try to do both of these destinations in the same day. I would suggest Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius instead. That being said, the guide and driver were amazing. Pompeii was awesome. They worked great with our cruise timeline.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

kent b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

started late - never made it to Amalfi due to to time/traffic - had to split up groups going to different places after first stop Saw ver illtle go Pompeii due to crowds

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Kunal Bhalerao United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very well organised day trip! The tour guides were very informative and patient, specially Taniya who was our guide to Amalfi coast, she was a great fun who told many interesting stories on our way! Lunch was good and tasty bus was very comfortable too! I was really impressed when they arranged a private car for us and two other guests who needed to catch the trains in the evening just to ensure that we reach back Naples in time! Highly recommended tour!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our best days in Italy. Antonio was so wonderful-the perfect host/guide.
The Amalfi coast is a must see and this was the perfect way to see it! we were picked up at our hotel and drive in an air conditioned Mercedes van by a perfectly lovely young Italian man. he recommended a fabulous stop for lunch and we were not disappointed.I would definitely book this tour-ask for Antonio!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message