Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3088 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Visiting Pompeii deserves a good guide. There is so much to know about ancient Roman cities, their way of life, etc., beyond just the disaster that fell upon Pompeii, and this turned out to be the best part of the tour. It is fascinating. A lunch is served on this tour - pizza Neapolitan - that was the best pizza I had in Italy. And that is saying a lot. Unfortunately, we were not able to get to the top of Vesuvius as we hit a fog bank but it could not be helped.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

tothemic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Louis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour. It was quite reasonable and very informative. Pompeii alone was worth the price and got the Amalfi coast along with it. If you go to Naples, do NOT miss this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Louis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Spectacular trip. Worth every penny

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

paulbrewer20

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a cold day, but we still enjoyed our guided tour of Pompeii. It was quite amazing, even though we only saw a small part of the site. The guide was very good, and had a great sense of humour. Unfortunately I cannot remember her name

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Handan D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

They were on time to take us from our hotel. However tour in Pompeii was a bit in a rush. I'd need more time to take more pictures after listening our tour guide and image how the life was like on those dates..But besides this, our tour guide was really good and knowledgable!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

ROBERT S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

I was disappointed with the Naples City element of the tour, and also felt that the tour title was slightly deceptive. To me Naples City and a Half day tour of Pompeii implies a full day tour including a half day in Pompeii, but this isn't what you get. The guide was helpful and knowledgeable, but we didn't really get a flavour of Naples as a city.

Transport arrangements got a bit chaotic at Pompeii, when we were asked to travel back to Naples on a different vehicle, and that meant carrying everything with us whilst visiting Pompeii, rather than having an opportunity to leave some things on the bus.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

matthew h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour would do it again

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dominic T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised and tour guides personable and professional. Pompeii was extremely busy and Vesuvius was a small hike but worth the effort. Highly reccommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

VINAY D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice tour. Entertaining and Knowledgeable guide Elisa.. We had fun...

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Lynedah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow, great guide. Amazing tour. It is one of those places you will never forget. Well worth having a guide for this one.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario our driver was fabulous! So informative. Knew so much about the area and the people. He was amazing. Such a lovely man as well

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

ann a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Pompeii tour from Naples, IT is one of the best tours I have ever had. Our tour guide forgot her name was born and raised in Naples, IT. She is very knowledgeable, explained all details. Our tour driver, Paulo, was nice and kind too. I learned a lot about 2,700 years old city. Absolutely recommend it. Loved it, loved it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

radougla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour started a little slow, we were picked up at 8am, and the first 90 minutes was spent picking up other guests before we actually hit the road. But once we did, it was fantastic! First stop Pompei. Amazing! Loved seeing this ancient city and our tour guide was so knowledgeable. Then a lovely restaurant lunch, 3 courses, of pasta, a meat or fish dish and a small dessert of gelato. After lunch we drove to Sorrento,Positano and cruised the Amalfi coast. I have to say it is the most spectacular coast line I have seen anywhere in the world. I am in love with Sorrento and will come back absolutely! Big thank you to our wonderful tour guide Sara and driver Antonio. They made the day really fun for us with lots of jokes and knowledge. Five stars for this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Edgar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was an archaeologist who did a wonderful job at both Pompeii and Hurculaneum. He has a great style in bringing the history in contemporary terms that helped the info really stick with you, and used good humor at times to help with that. In Herculaneum there were only six of us in the tour group with him so it was very personalized. Extremely professional and informative, and he tolerated some of us lagging to take pictures of this amazing history. Thanks.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Katelyn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with the tour! What a wonderful time and awesome experience to enjoy both Pompeii but hike Mt. Vesuvius! Beautiful day with my family and surprisingly our 4 year old hiked the entire thing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Kenneth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour guides for Pompeii and Sorrento very knowledgeable and spoke English well!

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

redldebug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a beautiful trip.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! What a great day! This is so worth it. We splurged on high speed rail tickets from Rome so we could make the tour and return quickly. Our guide was amazing and we walked all over the ruins as she kept us thoroughly engaged in everything around us. You will walk through the ruins of a home and see beautiful and sometimes weird paintings on the walls of the dining room and office and see the open garden in the center of the structure. The baths are fascinating! This is a fairly long and involved tour that keeps your feet and imagination moving the entire time. The train, high speed or not, is a really nice way to relax and make time toward this destination. We were able to time it perfectly taking the train from Rome and meeting our group right there at the station in front of a hotel. The trip to and fro by van was really short, about 25 minutes, and it was very comfortable. We had a blast spending about 2 1/2 hours walking through the site with our fun, funny, and energetic guide. We could have enjoyed a bit more but it really was enough time. Some people might want to spend the night along the coast, which they say is beautiful, but with 5 days on the ground in Rome and Florence this was the perfect way to see everything we wanted to.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

hilerie11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really amazing. Both our guides were exceptional. I got just the right amount of info and history at Pompeii while being allowed to wander a bit and take some time to let it soak in. The trip through the Amalie coast was truly exceptional. The road is crazy but fortunate our driver was safe. The tour took an entire day so be prepared to be tired. The lunch was good and the wine was reasonably priced. I would recommend going in a slower season such as January if you want more time to enjoy, less people, and safer driving conditions. The only negative is some businesses are closed and locations to take a pit stop are less than in summer.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Vivek G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour consisted of visiting the famous ruins of Pompeii, followed by a visit to the Amalfi Coast with stops along several towns namely Sorrento where you visit a Limoncello factory, Positano, and Amalfi. One of the good things about the tour was that we were picked up by the local operators directly from our hotel, even though the hotel was a little far from Porto de Napoli, where the tour starts from. At the end of the tour, they dropped us off at our hotel as well. Pompeii is a great town to visit. If you like archeological sites, you should plan on spending more than just a couple of hours there and should plan a day tour. There is a lot to see. The Amalfi Coast is even more beautiful than what we had seen in pictures and is definitely worth a visit. We were very fortunate to have beautiful sunny weather which was great. The tour guides Lucio and one other were both good and provided a lot of good information. We would definitely recommend this tour especially for those who only have a day to spend in the area.

The only inconvenience we faced was that we were stopped at Porto de Napoli for a long time in the morning with no restrooms nearby, apparently because the local operators received too many last minute bookings and got overwhelmed. So for us the tour started at 8:00 AM and ended around 6:30 PM. We were the first ones dropped off so the others had an even longer day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Debra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very knowledgeable guide for Pompeii. It was very interesting, well paced and a good sized group. Afterwards, we enjoyed pizza and beer at a nearby resturant. The pizza was perhaps my least favorite of the trip but we were with good company and new friends made during the excursion. A little more time in the market area would have been nice. Only four of us continued on to Sorento - home of limoncello. It was a fun winding road ride and the driver stopped for some photo ops. Had the best lemoncello ever and again would have loved to have had more time. So much to see , so much to enjoy just never enough time to absorb it all.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message