Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3069 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

matthew h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour would do it again

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dominic T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised and tour guides personable and professional. Pompeii was extremely busy and Vesuvius was a small hike but worth the effort. Highly reccommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

VINAY D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice tour. Entertaining and Knowledgeable guide Elisa.. We had fun...

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Lynedah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow, great guide. Amazing tour. It is one of those places you will never forget. Well worth having a guide for this one.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mario our driver was fabulous! So informative. Knew so much about the area and the people. He was amazing. Such a lovely man as well

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

ann a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Pompeii tour from Naples, IT is one of the best tours I have ever had. Our tour guide forgot her name was born and raised in Naples, IT. She is very knowledgeable, explained all details. Our tour driver, Paulo, was nice and kind too. I learned a lot about 2,700 years old city. Absolutely recommend it. Loved it, loved it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

radougla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour started a little slow, we were picked up at 8am, and the first 90 minutes was spent picking up other guests before we actually hit the road. But once we did, it was fantastic! First stop Pompei. Amazing! Loved seeing this ancient city and our tour guide was so knowledgeable. Then a lovely restaurant lunch, 3 courses, of pasta, a meat or fish dish and a small dessert of gelato. After lunch we drove to Sorrento,Positano and cruised the Amalfi coast. I have to say it is the most spectacular coast line I have seen anywhere in the world. I am in love with Sorrento and will come back absolutely! Big thank you to our wonderful tour guide Sara and driver Antonio. They made the day really fun for us with lots of jokes and knowledge. Five stars for this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Edgar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was an archaeologist who did a wonderful job at both Pompeii and Hurculaneum. He has a great style in bringing the history in contemporary terms that helped the info really stick with you, and used good humor at times to help with that. In Herculaneum there were only six of us in the tour group with him so it was very personalized. Extremely professional and informative, and he tolerated some of us lagging to take pictures of this amazing history. Thanks.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Katelyn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day with the tour! What a wonderful time and awesome experience to enjoy both Pompeii but hike Mt. Vesuvius! Beautiful day with my family and surprisingly our 4 year old hiked the entire thing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Kenneth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour guides for Pompeii and Sorrento very knowledgeable and spoke English well!

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Andrea R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A good tour, The part in naples was especially good! our guide had a lot of love for her city and a huge desire to transmit that love in us showing us her city in a beautiful way! In Pompeii we find another type of guide good also but different, much knowledge, little passion.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Kaylee O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really great tour, but too large of a group for my personal preference. We had to rush through some sites to keep up with our group and to stay out of the way of other groups. Otherwise, it was lots of fun! We didn and #39;t do the all day trip though. We went back to Naples and had the best pizza ever instead!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Marion B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

After being picked up at the port we spent about an hour picking up others from various hotels before leaving the city. A full bus load 40 people. When we arrived at Pompeii we were issued with audio equipment which allowed us to take photos while listening to the information. There were many big groups on the site.
Our pizza lunch at a nearby cafe was very tasty then we divided into different groups according to the next part of our itinerary. We were only 12 going to Sorrento. A very pretty drive along the coast then a stroll along the quaint streets and a view of the coast from above. No time to linger as we had to keep to our time schedule.
We ended up with very tired legs as virtually everywhere was cobble stones.
Maria was a wealth of information and it was delivered non stop - how she kept going I don't know.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Herculaneum was excellent the tour guide was very good knowledge of the life and times. Pompeii was also good but just to fast and spent more time eating lunch than pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Alison A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR. We received a meeting point and a time for this tour 9 am by the snack shop restaurant. We arrived there at 8:50 but didn't see anyone who resembled a viator tour guide. We waited another 25 minutes and there still was not anyone who came to meet us. It turned out that the tour guide had walked down to another location to escort people who were there at 8:30 to the bus. She the guides name was Christina had our names on the list but she didn't return to find us even though we were early. We eventually had a random stranger call the contact number for the tour guide. He yelled at her in Italian...we have no idea what was said but 5 minutes later she came to get us. She was incredibly rude and absolutely unapologetic for leaving us. If we hadn't gotten someone to call her for us I have no doubt they would have simply left us behind. The entire tour bus finally left over 30 minutes later then the scheduled departure time. The next problem we encountered on this tour was at Pompeii. Again, the headsets were absolutely terrible. My headset didn't work at all, and I informed the tour guide of my problem but she simply shrugged and told me she didn't have another one. So I tried my best to stay as close to the guide as possible during the tour so I could hear, but as you can imagine I was quite frustrated. With the large tour group size on top of the tourist filled streets of Pompeii, I wasn't able to hear the tour at all. The rest of the tour was fine, the driver for the almalfi coast made my friend and I comfortable kissing us, taking pictures with us but other than that it was ok. If I had to do it again I never would have booked this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

susan s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We booked the all-day Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples, sponsored by Napoli City Vision Daily Tours, and were very disappointed in the experience. The trip wasted a great deal of time e.g., it took two hours from the time we were picked up until the time we arrived in Pompeii, was superficial and very poor quality especially in Pompeii, and a terrible value for the money.

The trip cost 90 euros per person. Much to our surprise, however, the tour guide announced on the bus that tickets to enter Pompeii and Herculaneum were not included in the ticket price, and we had to pay another 20 euros per person to enter the sites. What was the cost of the trip for if not to visit the two sites? For an irritating and long, boring bus ride going hotel to hotel to pick up close to 50 people? What a rip off.

Although we were picked up at 8:30 AM, we did not get to Pompeii until 10:20 AM. Upon arrival, we were herded into a jewelry factory and shop, and forced to listen to a description of how cameos are made of course, these and other treasures were offered for sale.

The tour itself was very crowded and given in three languages, one after another. We spent barely two hours in Pompeii before stopping for a very poor-quality lunch, which was also an incredible waste of time. The best part of the trip was the excursion to Herculaneum after lunch.

In short, I would not recommend this trip under any circumstances. Nor would I ever book another tour with this company. Finally, although I have never reviewed a tour before, this particular tour disappointed me so much that I felt obligated to share my experience with others.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Susan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Terrible! Worst experience of our entire trip to Europe! Run from this tour! I would not have given it one start had I been able to give it none. The tour guide was the nastiest, rudest, most hostile individuals I have encountered in years. She was horrible. Her knowledge of the area was fair but her attitude was offensive. The tour would have been great had it not been for this awful woman.
BTW, all but one of the plaster casts has been removed from Pompeii and are currently being studied at a lab. Pompeii is incredible, much larger than I anticipated. The experience of being on the site is fascinating and the view of Mount Vesuvius is almost chilling. Do not miss Pompeii but choose another tour to see it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Astrilia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

NIce day out with the crowd, the guide was animated and knowledegable : great memories

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

ellyg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

always wanted to do this . the guide was great . Lunch was included , great choices , The visit to the cameo I thought was a bit rushed . I could have bought heaps more . Lots of walking so strong shoes , but I managed and I had climbed Mt Versuvus the day before .
Watch your wallet, got robbed 2 days later in Florence

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a great day flying through Phang Nga Bay!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Pompeii by itself is a must - bigger than the Roman forum with more to see and with a tour guide who knows the ins and outs it's both fun and educational. With Herculaneum it completes the whole tour package - smaller site but more detail and definitely get more intimate with how the Roman's lived.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Nicola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I had a wonderful time. Pompeii is just such an incredible history filled town, our guide was incredible and funny. It was a slight shame the people that went on the Amalfi coast part of the journey had to leave so suddenly the we didn't get much time in Amalfi but it was still amazing. Alberto, our driver, was incredibly knowledgeable and a lot of fun. i would recommend this tour to everyone. it was overall a fantastic day!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Cathal G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fulfilled a life long dream. Wonderful day

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Damien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good Value for money, punctual and well organised .

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sabina was the actual tour guide and she was amazing. Wealth of knowledge about the ruins and several fun facts. Highly recommended her as the tour guide around Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message