Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3033 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Astrilia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

NIce day out with the crowd, the guide was animated and knowledegable : great memories

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

ellyg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

always wanted to do this . the guide was great . Lunch was included , great choices , The visit to the cameo I thought was a bit rushed . I could have bought heaps more . Lots of walking so strong shoes , but I managed and I had climbed Mt Versuvus the day before .
Watch your wallet, got robbed 2 days later in Florence

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a great day flying through Phang Nga Bay!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Pompeii by itself is a must - bigger than the Roman forum with more to see and with a tour guide who knows the ins and outs it's both fun and educational. With Herculaneum it completes the whole tour package - smaller site but more detail and definitely get more intimate with how the Roman's lived.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Nicola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I had a wonderful time. Pompeii is just such an incredible history filled town, our guide was incredible and funny. It was a slight shame the people that went on the Amalfi coast part of the journey had to leave so suddenly the we didn't get much time in Amalfi but it was still amazing. Alberto, our driver, was incredibly knowledgeable and a lot of fun. i would recommend this tour to everyone. it was overall a fantastic day!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ian L United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

a very good tour. Just a tiny bitexpensive

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Cristina B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Elisa was a great guide but it seemed too short . It would be nice to have more time and visit more.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Brenda B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The tour of Pompeii was well done for what it covered but so much was left out! The tour should leave earlier and give more time for Pompeii which should include some time to walk around on your own.
The walk to the top of Vesuvius was well worth the effort but even though I am in good shape, I had to really hurry to get back down in time for the bus.
A beautiful area that deserves more time dedicated to touring. Leaving earlier and giving about another hour at the end of the day would make this perfect.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Stephen E

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Poorly organised. We were forgotten at pickup and eventually joined the tour 40 minutes late. Guides more interested in mobile phones than guests. Restaurant for lunch worst I have been to.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Tom S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

It was ok - tour guides seemed far more interested in keeping us on time and counting those on the tour, rather than giving us more than their canned speeches. Pompeii is remarkable by itself - the guides did nothing to enhance the experience. Lunch was rushed and not very good - we missed the Faun House and large amphitheater because it was too far away.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Amber S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The tour guide was like a teacher... and kept testing people on the tour. We are adults, it was annoying. At the end of the tour she started to give us a little more history which was great but too little too late.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour. The guide for Pompeii was excellent and knowledgeable. Lunch was very good. the walk up Mt Vesuvius was difficult if not in shape. The path was rocky with loose gravel and there is a temperature change. The view is worth the hike.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Walter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

our tour guide Tony was a condumate professional,we joined with him in PompeiiThe Amalfi coast is quite remarkableworth every penny we paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Rose A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide, Elisa, was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable and fun to listen to as well. There were a few issue when we got to the site due to security for someone visiting that day, but she was great under pressure and helped us extend the tour so we didn and #39;t miss anything. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

travelman20056

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our recent tour was Naples was very well organized from beginning to end. Our tour guide Liza was excellent, very knowledgeable and passionate about her subject matter. Our minibus driver was very friendly and helpful as well. Overall, I would highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Helen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day. Guides at top of Vesuvius and at Pompeii were excellent. 3D virtual reality was amazing. It works in conjunction with a regular private tour. Great to be amongst the ruins but looking at life in AD79! It's a long day so having a private driver makes it a lot easier! My son 11 and I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Private Tour to Vesuvius and 3D Virtual Reality Tour of Pompeii

Ricardo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent experience! Everything was well organized and the time spent on each place was the ideal.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Rafael A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic time during this trip, we got off the cruise ship, and they were waiting for us in the parking lot, all of the tours and taxi cabs were waiting there, and there was a lady with a sign I think her name is Maria and the sign had like 20 last names in there, in small letters so you needed to get really close to see your name written there. Let me say this tour company is really clever, their logistics are amazing, they took a whole bus of people to Pompeii, they gave us coloured stickers to each continue on our different trips, for instance some people went to Vesuvius, others to Sorrento, so from Pompeii we departed in smaller but very adequate vehicles to our destinations. At Pompeii our admission tickets were included so we didn't need to do any lines, we entered as a group, the guide gave us audio devices so we could listen to everything she was saying, that was really good. She was very knowledgeable, funny, and very professional, we really enjoyed listening to her explanations. Pompeii is a very big place, so keep close to the group because you can get lost easily, I think it was very adequate everything we saw in there, bring adequate footwear because the floor is rocky and uneven. After that they took us to lunch, near the archaeological site of Pompeii, you could choose between pizza and pasta spaghetti... I have to disagree here with other reviews I read which said the pizza was wonderful, it wasn't for me.. the pizza had too much tomato salsa and very little cheese, almost non-existent, the crust was good and it was quite large. I wonder if the pasta would have been a better option. 1 drink was also included, I saw people drinking beer. After that, they took us to Sorrento, which was beautiful, and I'm glad they took us there in the smaller vehicle because the winding roads there are scary, they are too narrow. In Sorrento we had a little free time to shop around. They took us to a shop to try Limoncello and cookies and sweets made out of lemons... please try the lemon cookies! the ones that have a lemon filling, they are superb! although a bit expensive. It was a whole day trip and they took us back to the ship, it was a wonderful experience, we highly recommend booking this tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really great tour and hike. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

mercedes.ferrer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was such an AMAZING tour!!! Our guide, Elisa is AWESOME and Pompeii is an unforgettable experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a unique experience in Nápoles

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great and efficient tour. We had two different tour guides one for Pompeii and one for Mt Vesuvius both were very friendly and knowledgeable. The pizza was tasty and the tours were pleasant.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Markku R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Pomppii is a rekalla interesting placeto visit. Vesuvius foggy so the viesti could haave been better. I recommend toisen trip fi you are on Napoli.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

martine.truyens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Could have spent hours more on this site. But had we spent it there without the guide, we would not have known a great part of what we know now.
Having spent a few days in Naples, we experienced some troubles with understanding Italians speaking English. Not so with our guide Elisa/Eliza. Her English was really quite good, and nice to hear the many references to English or American expressions or sayings.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

monika.a.bolek

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A bit to fast for me, it could last one hour longer for this price. Other things fine, professional and well organised trip.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message