Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2904 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing experience. Our guides were funny, caring but most of all knowledgeable. We learned more this way about interesting historical facts than going on our own. The trip was well organized with a good pace. We are more than happy about our experience!!! Thank You!!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Patrizia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organized, professional and interesting. We loved it!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joshua W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome. Pompeii was amazing and the guide was very knowledgeable. We were in quite a big group but I don and #39;t think that was a disadvantage in any way. Vesuvius was definitely worth doing. The views up there are spectacular

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! Climbing the kilometer on Mt. Vesuvius was quite challenging for me Im 66.,
but I'm so glad I did it!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

cheung.jenny16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour guides and great tours! The tour of Pompeii was just the right length I'm sure you could spend all day there, very informative and entertaining. Lunch was sit down at a restaurant. And the home up and around Vesuvius was beautiful!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Experience, would recommend

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Chris V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Elisa, our tour guide, was a wonderful storyteller. Her descriptions of daily life made it easy to imagine life in Pompeii prior to the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius. The tour, about two hours, included an amphitheater, spa, house, bakery, bordello, and the Forum. Elisa also described how basic services such as water and transportation were provided to the city. Logistics were very straightforward. I confirmed pickup time with the local agency via phone the night before the outing they contacted me by email after trip was booked with a local number. My driver was prompt in picking me up at my hotel in central Naples. After the tour, I was dropped back at the hotel.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Karl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide Maria was extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

tashn92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a fantastic time with the Project Napoli team.
Everything went smoothly.
Our Pompeii group was small (10) and our guide Elyssa was funny and informative. The pizza was marg and standard then we were given 1hr15 to go up and down the mount. Plenty of time given to walk and admire views!
Excellent day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joanna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was my favourite part of my visit to Italy! The Tour Guide Serena I think! was brilliant, she was fun and full of knowledge and made it all sound exciting that you could actaully imagine living there at those times. Crazy to think how advanced they were and such a shame all the knowledge was lost in Medieval times, but so well preserved. I totally recommend this trip - do it!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

pichyzamora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE, MARIA WAS A GREAT TOUR LEADER. MY WIFE AND I RECOMEND THIS TOUR. ALWAYS ASK FOR MARIA SHE IS AMAZING. BE AWARE VESUVIUS EXCURSION TO THE TOP IS HARD IF YOU ARE NOT IN A GOOD HEALTY CONDITION.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Julie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Visite guidée très intéressante et enrichissante, notre guide Francesca était très agréable et compétente. Seul petit bémol, la visite guidée était en anglais.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Meesh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Your was very well organized. Our guide was Maria and she was very funny and informative. Pompeii was fun but a little short feeling. Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. The hike up is killer on the calves but totally worth it. Wear proper shoes! Overall a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

W W S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked this trip directly on Viator, because it cost much less than through our cruise ship and we were very pleased. The pick up was handled easily near our ship in the port by curteous Simona. We drove about a half hour in a small shuttle bus to Pompei with very friendly and informative Tania, then joined a larger group to tour the ruins with Stefania, who was an excellent tour guide. After about 2.5 hours we had a delicious lunch, included in the price, at a very nice restaurant Vesuvio, where the food and wait staff were great. Then we had a super ride in our small group of only 6 along the coast to Sorrento with a 40-minute stop and on to Positano and the amazing Amalfi Coast. Our driver, Ricardo, was very professional and informative the whole way. He showed us many interesting sights along the way, including where Al Capone was born we're from Chicago, he sang classic Italian songs to us, stopped at several amazing scenic sites, and made sure we got back to our ship despite a huge traffic jam on the return. Ricardo has driven some world celebrities, and I'm not surprised, because he is very knowledgeable and probably should get a raise from the company. We really enjoyed this excursion!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

tzini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely FANTASTIC! Francesca was great, very knowledgeable and fun to be with. It was enjoyable and pleasant experience.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Maria was a dynamo. She provided lots of wonderful historical information peppered with a little levity during our long and very hot day tour of Pompeii and Vesuvius - and in English, French, Italian and Spanish I might add. While you dont get a ton of time at either site, you definitely feel like you get all the highlights. It was so great to have a guide through Pompeii to learn about the history and what life was like when the city was thriving. The headset technology was also pretty good, which was a pleasant surprise.

The included lunch was pretty good too though the menu is limited to two choices - we both had pizza and enjoyed it.

We also had a wonderful experience with the round-trip transfers. Our hotel changed 3 times after booking the tour - once the night before - and they still got us on-time and from the right place. Huge kudos to the tour operators for that!

Our only disappointment was that the Vesuvius portion was self-guided, but you do get good foundational information on the drive up. I would recommend for couples and families - definitely a fun and informative day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Guides were fantastic. Hotel pickup and drop off. Great lunch. We stayed in Naples to visit pompeii and vesuvius and chose this tour as a way to do it. We weren't disappointed. You need to be able to walk easily to walk around pompeii and up vesuvius, but its not too strenuous. We saw lots of young kids and old people on vesuvius.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

pmbur4009

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was excellent. Easy to understand and very knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour of Pompeii was great our guide was funny and very informative looked exactly like manuel pelligrini
If your going to see Pompeii this tour is a must
My Vesuvius was great to see and this day tour fitting both things in with a pizza and beer in between was great

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

john baden s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fab tour guide. Sorry I cant remember her name, too long ago now, but she was so informative and interesting and friendly. The day was well organized and we felt we had personal attention despite the size of the group. The whole day was happy and memorable for the whole family, including the pizza and wine for lunch :

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Hayleu G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing. It and #39;s ideal for your first time to pompei.. A nice lunch.. Pasta or pizza and a drink.. And the walk up versuvius in the afternoon was great to finish on.. The tour guide in pompei, Eliza was awesome, the best guide I had all of my holiday and made the tour even better. Thanks

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Nicola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour and our guide was amazing. She knew everything about the area. This tour is so interesting and definitely worth doing. Xx

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Karolina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our trip was excellent, worth every penny! The tour guide in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and funny, we couldn't imagine better day out. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

alexlocam34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Miguel was one of a kind!

Viator you guys simply nailed it. Listening to Miguel while we were walking on the roads of Pompeii was like being part of a movie. Gee, it was like he was living there 2000 years ago. He was so precise when telling us every single detail about the walls, people, culture, sculptures and paintings, that we got that weird feeling of being transported on time machine.

Thanks Viator and Miguel for such lovely experience.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic day. Well organized, very knowledgable tour guides and very entertaining driver. Antonio our diver was witty and enjoyed showing us all the sites, he even arranged an unexpected boat trip, amazing memories of the day. Sara and steffanie worked really hard to ensure all went smoothly and everyone enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message