Nashville ATTRACTIONS See all

Belle Meade Plantation

Step back into the Old South and get a feel for what it might have been like to live on a plantation in the 1800s. Located 6 miles (9.5 kilometers) west of Nashville, the Belle Meade Plantation is a historic plantation mansion whose grounds now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ktsews4u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very informative and I enjoyed it. The bus driver was very helpful and his information was spot on.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

christinfaber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. My friend and I booked our tickets ahead of time and it was so easy. We stayed at an AirBNB in Nashville so we just took an uber to the meeting point--not too bad. Our tour guide was very friendly and we all enjoyed the lunch stop--kind of a 70's buffet vibe but I felt like it added to the experience. The guide even gave us an amazing lunch recommendation for the next day--MoNell's. Best food we had the whole trip! They give you ample time at each location. We were able to wander the grounds and see everything at the Hermitage in plenty of time. We did the house and grounds tour first, which I would recommend so you don't spend too much of your time in the museum at Hermitage. Belle Meade was almost a little too much time but I like that they err on the side of too much time rather than too little! I am SO glad we booked this tour as it gave us a wider history of Nashville and we walked away with more memories than downtown alone could offer.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Rachel D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very nice day. The guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The two places were beautiful and took you back to the old days. The wine is tasty. A good day overall!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sue H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a good tour. I was disappointed because I was told there would be horses at the plantation---I guess that person meant horse pictures.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jack F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful. However we were told we and #39;d be picked up at our hotel between 8:30 and 9:15. At 8:05 we got a call from Grayline asking if we could be ready at 8:00. The driver arrived at 8:06 and said he and #39;d only wait 5 min. It put a lot of pressure on us and we had to unfairly rush

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Be ready for a lot of walking at The Hermitage! Beautiful grounds. The house tour is good, but you must climb stairs. We only looked in at the rooms. At Bellemead, we had time to view the carriage house. We were able to step into most rooms. We received a very thorough history of the house and family.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour. The history in Tennessee is chilling and so interesting. Our tour guide was so nice and gave us so much information. He also gave us ideas for our next trip. I would recommend this tour to everyone who visits

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

cscrosno1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was extremely fun and very informative. Not to mention the delish restraunt we ate at for lunch. I would definitely recommend this tour to history lovers and anyone fascinated with this time period. We also loved our business driver Steve, he was super friendly and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sharon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. It was so nice to have a hotel pickup

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Paula S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the best time! Even when it rained in the afternoon at the Plantaion!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jacqueline G A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interest tour. There was a lot to see and we enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

momootz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Hermitage was in amazing condition from President Jackson's ownership. We were amazed at the knowledgeable women guiding us and how beautiful the house and grounds were kept.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour docent at the Bell Meade Plantation was totally AMAZING. Thanks Rob for all the history you were able to tell us about.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Berjm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour. Clean bus and informative driver. Both locations that we toured were interesting. The stop for a buffet lunch was also good. It takes several trips to pick up tourists from different hotels. Plenty of time is given to tour and shop.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Scott C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour was good but the time it took to pick up and drop everyone at their hotels was exhausting. Also we sat around the Belle Meade plantation for an hour waiting to leave. I would have rather driven myself.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Nancy A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I think visiting both sites on our own would have been a better use of our time and cheaper.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Howard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Steve the bus driver was very informative. The docents at the mantions were knowledgeable.
I recommend the fried chicken at Hermitage Smorgasbord.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

piyali b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

nice ralaxing tour with much historic information

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Hilliary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a person who enjoys historical tours and sight seeing I may be a little biased. Viator picked us up at our hotel and brought us out to the first stop which was Andrew Jackson's Hermitage. The tour was self-guided and we started by walking down the hall reading the timeline of significant achievements Jackson has made over his years. We then stepped outside and following the walkway around the property. We lined up for a tour of his mansion which was kept in pristine shape. We also toured his garden which many people were buried including Jackson. From slave cabins to the smokehouse everything was informative and eyeopening. The tour bus stopped for lunch at a plaza with a couple different places to eat additional cost, and then we took off to the next location, Belle Meade. This plantation was also a great tour. The guide gives an informative lesson on horse racing as the plantation owner was a huge fan of racing horses. There was a complimentary wine tasting at the end with about 4 small glasses of wine 3 second pours. Overall, I'd highly recommend this tour if you are narrowed down to choosing one.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Belle Meade Plantation Tour was OUTSTANDING!!! What a house, with ALL the original furnishings.
Rob was an excellent guide... his information and presentation was one of the best I have ever experienced in my travels.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide Steve was awesome...so knowledgeable. Great fun!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Tamara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!! Our bus driver was very knowledgable about history of area and offered insight regarding historical buildings as we drove as well as the history of Andrew Jaxkson an Belle Meade.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Debbie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The bus driver was very nice and kept everybody well informed. The bus was very and we had a very enjoyable trip. All the people at each mansion may feel we welcome. the lunch was out standing. I would recommend this tour anyone, young and old.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message