Lovers of American history will not want to miss out on The Hermitage, the home of Andrew Jackson, the seventh President of the United States. Considered to be the most authentic early presidential home in the nation, the Hermitage consists of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Antoinette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tour I have ever experienced and will for sure be back again.
our driver Terry was the best!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Terri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the tours. The driver and site tour guides were very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Larry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgable staff and tour guide.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Patricia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Took this tour of Andrew Jackson's mansion and Belle Meade. Our tour guide was very informative and personable. My husband and I learned much about the history of Tennessee. It also included a stop for lunch where a buffet was available with good food. The only drawback to the whole experience was that it rained the whole time but of course you can't pick the weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Wayne T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great trip
except for the lunch in between stops
there was not enough time to really enjoy the food
everyone felted rushed

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Wayne T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great trip
except for the lunch in between stops
there was not enough time to really enjoy the food
everyone felted rushed

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Diana L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Interesting and informative. Good learning experience. The house has been kept in excellent condition and the grounds are beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kevin w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Very poor. We spent 90 minutes driving round to pick up other guests before arriving at the first house. We were then take to a place for lunch which was a buffet 11 - dreadful and a waste of money but you are trapped into it as that is where the driver takes you. After the second house we got a taxi back to Nashville and instead of taking 90 minutes it took 15 minutes. Don't waste money on the tour take a taxi to both houses you can see them in 1/2 day not waste a whole day being a pick up service.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

ktsews4u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very informative and I enjoyed it. The bus driver was very helpful and his information was spot on.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

christinfaber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. My friend and I booked our tickets ahead of time and it was so easy. We stayed at an AirBNB in Nashville so we just took an uber to the meeting point--not too bad. Our tour guide was very friendly and we all enjoyed the lunch stop--kind of a 70's buffet vibe but I felt like it added to the experience. The guide even gave us an amazing lunch recommendation for the next day--MoNell's. Best food we had the whole trip! They give you ample time at each location. We were able to wander the grounds and see everything at the Hermitage in plenty of time. We did the house and grounds tour first, which I would recommend so you don't spend too much of your time in the museum at Hermitage. Belle Meade was almost a little too much time but I like that they err on the side of too much time rather than too little! I am SO glad we booked this tour as it gave us a wider history of Nashville and we walked away with more memories than downtown alone could offer.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Rachel D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very nice day. The guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The two places were beautiful and took you back to the old days. The wine is tasty. A good day overall!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sue H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a good tour. I was disappointed because I was told there would be horses at the plantation---I guess that person meant horse pictures.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Joseph G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not good. As my dad is handicapped and could not get around. This should have been spelled out. I am very disappointed in the tour

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jack F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful. However we were told we and #39;d be picked up at our hotel between 8:30 and 9:15. At 8:05 we got a call from Grayline asking if we could be ready at 8:00. The driver arrived at 8:06 and said he and #39;d only wait 5 min. It put a lot of pressure on us and we had to unfairly rush

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Be ready for a lot of walking at The Hermitage! Beautiful grounds. The house tour is good, but you must climb stairs. We only looked in at the rooms. At Bellemead, we had time to view the carriage house. We were able to step into most rooms. We received a very thorough history of the house and family.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour. The history in Tennessee is chilling and so interesting. Our tour guide was so nice and gave us so much information. He also gave us ideas for our next trip. I would recommend this tour to everyone who visits

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

cscrosno1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was extremely fun and very informative. Not to mention the delish restraunt we ate at for lunch. I would definitely recommend this tour to history lovers and anyone fascinated with this time period. We also loved our business driver Steve, he was super friendly and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sharon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. It was so nice to have a hotel pickup

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Paula S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the best time! Even when it rained in the afternoon at the Plantaion!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jacqueline G A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interest tour. There was a lot to see and we enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

momootz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Hermitage was in amazing condition from President Jackson's ownership. We were amazed at the knowledgeable women guiding us and how beautiful the house and grounds were kept.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour docent at the Bell Meade Plantation was totally AMAZING. Thanks Rob for all the history you were able to tell us about.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Berjm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour. Clean bus and informative driver. Both locations that we toured were interesting. The stop for a buffet lunch was also good. It takes several trips to pick up tourists from different hotels. Plenty of time is given to tour and shop.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message