Lovers of American history will not want to miss out on The Hermitage, the home of Andrew Jackson, the seventh President of the United States. Considered to be the most authentic early presidential home in the nation, the Hermitage consists of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting tour with super guide and narration by driver.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Lorie

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour would have been perfect if the tour company and the historical company coordinated the schedules. Almost did not get to visit the mansion at the Hermitage because there were several school groups and their tours are different than the adults. We had to go with a school group which was not a problem,except for the fact that we were told that we couldn't ask questions. That was the only sticky point, everything else was good.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was awesome. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

wendy m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the opportunity to see the lovely historic homes with the bother of driving myself in a new city! Great service - Informative guides! Wonderful trip!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Nonie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day, steve our driver was very well informed, knew his history and provided good dialogue. Left at 830 and back by 4:00 pm.
Great plantations and history!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the tour! Especially enjoyed the school kids at the Andrew Jackson Hermitage dressed in the time period who were stationed around the grounds giving out important facts about Andrew Jackson's Hermitage. Also, enjoyed learning about the Belle Meade Plantation and sampling their wine. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sandra Z Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Belle Meade was awesome. House guide Jessie was amazing. Lunch was good but too early in the day.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This is a well timed tour and a great day outside the city. The first stop in the Hermitage where you are left to explore the house and grounds on your own so you can concentrate on your own interests. I suggest heading to the house first- as the day goes on a line will form to get inside. There is a horse and carriage ride around the grounds that you can take advantage of too. Lunch was OK- it is a buffet but none of the food is that special. Next stop was the Belle Meade mansion where you tour the house as a group and then do a very quick wine tasting. The wines sampled were all very tasty but the pours were small. Afterwards you are given free time to explore the grounds, sample more wines, or visit the gift shop.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Debirae2

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour of both the Hermitage and Belle Meade Plantations. Tour guide at Belle Meade made the entire tour worth wild.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Boyerc

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour. Steve, our guid, was very knowlegeble.
Belle Meade was beautiful and it was fascinating to learn not only about the family but also about the thoroughbreads they raised,
The Hermitage is well preserved. We were guided through it by a young woman who was experienced and knowledgeable. A plus was the presence of junior docents from a local school who were charming.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Antoinette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tour I have ever experienced and will for sure be back again.
our driver Terry was the best!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Terri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the tours. The driver and site tour guides were very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Larry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgable staff and tour guide.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Patricia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Took this tour of Andrew Jackson's mansion and Belle Meade. Our tour guide was very informative and personable. My husband and I learned much about the history of Tennessee. It also included a stop for lunch where a buffet was available with good food. The only drawback to the whole experience was that it rained the whole time but of course you can't pick the weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Wayne T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great trip
except for the lunch in between stops
there was not enough time to really enjoy the food
everyone felted rushed

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Wayne T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great trip
except for the lunch in between stops
there was not enough time to really enjoy the food
everyone felted rushed

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Diana L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Interesting and informative. Good learning experience. The house has been kept in excellent condition and the grounds are beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kevin w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Very poor. We spent 90 minutes driving round to pick up other guests before arriving at the first house. We were then take to a place for lunch which was a buffet 11 - dreadful and a waste of money but you are trapped into it as that is where the driver takes you. After the second house we got a taxi back to Nashville and instead of taking 90 minutes it took 15 minutes. Don't waste money on the tour take a taxi to both houses you can see them in 1/2 day not waste a whole day being a pick up service.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

ktsews4u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very informative and I enjoyed it. The bus driver was very helpful and his information was spot on.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

christinfaber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. My friend and I booked our tickets ahead of time and it was so easy. We stayed at an AirBNB in Nashville so we just took an uber to the meeting point--not too bad. Our tour guide was very friendly and we all enjoyed the lunch stop--kind of a 70's buffet vibe but I felt like it added to the experience. The guide even gave us an amazing lunch recommendation for the next day--MoNell's. Best food we had the whole trip! They give you ample time at each location. We were able to wander the grounds and see everything at the Hermitage in plenty of time. We did the house and grounds tour first, which I would recommend so you don't spend too much of your time in the museum at Hermitage. Belle Meade was almost a little too much time but I like that they err on the side of too much time rather than too little! I am SO glad we booked this tour as it gave us a wider history of Nashville and we walked away with more memories than downtown alone could offer.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Rachel D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very nice day. The guide was knowledgeable and helpful. The two places were beautiful and took you back to the old days. The wine is tasty. A good day overall!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sue H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a good tour. I was disappointed because I was told there would be horses at the plantation---I guess that person meant horse pictures.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Joseph G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not good. As my dad is handicapped and could not get around. This should have been spelled out. I am very disappointed in the tour

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jack F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful. However we were told we and #39;d be picked up at our hotel between 8:30 and 9:15. At 8:05 we got a call from Grayline asking if we could be ready at 8:00. The driver arrived at 8:06 and said he and #39;d only wait 5 min. It put a lot of pressure on us and we had to unfairly rush

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message