A local institution, Rick's Cafe was the first public bar and restaurant of its type on the West End cliffs. Opening its doors in 1974 when Negril was still a sleepy fishing village, Rick's is now a popular spot to view the sunset, which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erin J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time with Captain Joe and his crew!

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Erin J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time with Captain Joe and his crew!

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

dnorowski

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We left from Montego Bay so the drive to Negril was long, as we expected. Our first stop was the Seven Mile Beach and Margaritaville, it looked stunning, however, the moment you walk onto the beach you are swarmed by locals trying to sell you anything. It got to the point where we couldn't enjoy the sights. You have the option to buy food and drinks at Margaritaville or anywhere along the beach. Next stop was the shopping center, there were plenty of stores but each carried almost identical souvenirs at a wide variety of prices. There were a wide variety of prices that seemed more reasonable than what was being sold at the beaches. Our last stop was the famous Rick's Cafe. It was extremely busy, we had a tough time viewing the cliff jumpers. Although it was packed, the sunset views were incredible and made the long drive worth while. Overall, total driving time was about 4 hours which made for a long day.

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Joann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing trip and well worth every penny that we paid. Rep who took us was very informative all the way from Montego Bay to Negril. Stopped en route to Negril. First stop was Margaretaville on the 7 mile beach - AMAZING - sand is so soft and powder fine, totally in awe of this beach. Food and drinks were a little expensive in there but still enjoyed. After this was a little trip to a shopping centre, but as it was a Sunday a lot of the shops were closed and no pressure to go in to the shops that were open. Then on to Ricks Cafe. Again I can't recommend this enough. View/Sunset utterly fantastic. Once the sun had set we had chance to see a couple of rock jumpers again I wouldn't do this but seeing others do this was good.

Overall an amazing trip and well worth it

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very friendly and knowledgable guide! Had a lot of fun at Margaritaville and Rick's Cafe. Perfect day trip for a first trip to Negril.

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Steven_4501

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

It's more of a booze cruise than a sight seeing tour. We would have loved longer at ricks cafe to watch the sunset in full.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Sharon T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

We were very hopeful that we would get to have a great time snorkeling. We ended up on a catamaran with a wedding party of about 40 people. We felt very out of place. There were about 7 of us on the boat that were not part of this private group. When we reached the snorkeling spot, the boat crew simply announced that we had 30 minutes to snorkel and that they would blow a whistle when it was time to get out. We had gone on other snorkeling trips with another vendor the day before and were allowed a longer time and had people go out into the water with us to show us things and identify fish. No one made any effort to get out of the boat and provide any information about our experience. We have snorkeled all over the world and this has to rank about dead last on experience. It felt rushed and like the snorkeling was an afterthought.
The second half of the trip was better. We cruised to Rick's and had to use a glass bottom boat to ferry us into Rick's. The water was a bit rough and transferring from the catamaran to the glass bottom boat was a bit challenging. We were told that if we wanted any food at Rick's we should order immediately on arrival to insure we would get our order before we had to return to the catamaran via the glass bottom boat. The glass area was boarded over so there was no view of fish below. Even seeing the fish that way would have helped improve the experience. We did watch the people jump off the cliffs and some of the passengers jumped. We stayed there for at least an hour, twice as long as the time we got to snorkel.
The best part of the trip that salvaged the experience was the sunset. It turned out to be beautiful.
If you think that you are going for a cruise to see Rick's and the sunset, then fine. We were as much going for the snorkeling as the trip to Rick's. There are far better options than this trip for snorkeling.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

ASHLEY G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was awesome. Great views. Nicola was our tour guide and she did and awesome job.

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Stephanie W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to end the trip, duty free shopping and spending time at the world famous Ricks!

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

~LadyLibra76~

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Catamaran Cruise was a awesome experience. The staff members was very friendly and high spirited. The water was beautiful and clear blue. My husband really enjoyed the snorkeling part of it. The ride over to Rick Cafe was really nice. We had an opportunity to see the cliff side of Jamaica.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Eva T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a nice cruise. Although it rained at the beginning of this tour we had a great time. The boat returned to it's original docking place kinda early and the sun was still pretty high up. It was on the way back to our hotel that we saw the beautiful sunset from the bus ride.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

RUTH L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really safe driver ! PERFECT

Doing what: Negril Highlights Private Tour

Dave L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

picked up from our hotel in montego bay and driven for over an hour to negril where we were dropped off at margaritiville bar not a marina as stated on the paperwork, we had to wait here for over three hours for the catamaran, we were constantly offered everything on the beach from food,cigars,horse rides,clothes and marijuana and we definitely didn't feel safe to leave any of our items to go into the sea for a swim, we were ripped off on everything in margaritiville from food,drink to even having to pay for a sun bed which are supposed to be free. when the boat eventually arrived we were then told that the free bar is not available until we had visited the snorkeling reef an hour later. when we did eventually get drinks from the bar it was more water than rum and there was an overpowering sound of sean paul played over and over again on a very poor and tinny sound system, i would have thought that the so called DJ would have played at least some of jamaicas best import REGGAE. when we got to ricks cafe we were then told we had no more than 45 minutes and we would be on our way again. very poor tour that needs to be seriously looked at if they want to keep attracting tourists.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

miller_lisa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This was a very disappointing experience from the time we got picked up until the end of the tour. First of all, after we were picked up we had to wait over an hour and a half until we actually got onto the boat. Whoever was in charge seemed very disorganized and was not a pleasant ride on the boat. The cruise was definitely overbooked. There were people standing and falling all over me and my fiancé. It was very uncomfortable. They did not serve drinks until after the snorkeling. They only offered one premade mixed fruit punch. There was not any other options. When we arrived at Rick's, we were told we only had 45 minutes to hang out then we needed to meet back on the boat. In the description of the cruise says that you will catch the sunset at Rick's. That was definitely not the case. We were so upset and dissatisfied with the entire tour we ended up having to pay to get a taxi back to our resort. We will never use this site to book another booze cruise tour. The description of the tour for what I paid for did not live up to my expectations.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rick and #39;s really is the perfect place to watch the set, I was there 7 nights and it was by far the best. As far as shopping I would recommend getting souvenirs from Town Square, prices where very reasonable (way better than on the beach where everyone tries to hustle!)

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Emma K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had so much fun, the people are amazing, snorking, dancing had such a great laugh. Would recommend and book again

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Dornita H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was nice. The crew was nice and very informative. FYI if you do not want to spend your whole day in Negril or away from your resort this is not the trip for you. But if you want to venture out then this is a good tour. Just make sure you call and reconfirm your trip. Would do it again!!!

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Daniel A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Met by a friendly helpful driver to take us to Negril by private car - this was a bonus. When we arrived at negril we were ushered into Margaritaville onto a beach where we had to tip to have a sunbed set up! Catamaran was OK, plenty of booze,music very loud! Same driver was waiting to bring us home

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Alicia W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour was unorganized and there was lots of time standing around waiting and very little time to enjoy Rick and #39;s Cafe and #39;.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Dianne M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour. The snorkelling was ok . The crew were good. It was nice to see Rick and #39;s Cafe and some of the coastline. The location where we met the catamaran was confusing as there were different boats and no one told you which one you were on. Someone should have met the bus.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Ella F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This tour is overpriced and mis-sold!

The bus was old and rickety, they dumped us at margaritaville for 3 hours which cost a fortune, the boat was late and packed, 10mins or snorkelling due to overcrowded boat and no time. Couldn and #39;t dock at ricks so had to bus us there and gave us 45mins to have there!

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Courtney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was awesome! Everyone was very nice, the rum punch was great. Had a great time!

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Contino R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It's was nice to leave the Hotel, everything went well, except the snorkeling part you forced to wear life jacket so you can dive down into the ocean, not cool.

Doing what: Negril Catamaran Cruise with Sunset at Rick's Cafe

Carolyn L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Nice tour fun time a great value for your money

Doing what: Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message