New Delhi ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Fort (Lal Qila)

After serving as the residence of the Mughal emperors for almost 200 years, New Delhi's UNESCO-listed Red Fort (Lal Qila) was taken over in 1857 by British conquerors who built drab barrack blocks for their own army inside the fortress walls. Even ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very prompt pickup from my hotel the guide and driver were actually both early, arrived at 0830. My guide was very knowledgeable, but not overly talkative. We went to many of the big ticket tourist places, starting in Old Delhi - Jama Masjid mosque and the Red Fort. Along the way, he took me to several temples Jain and Sikh, which I wasn't expecting but was very culturally interesting to learn about. We walked through Chandi Chowk and stopped at a spice market it seems to be a designated tourist stop, quite a few europeans were in there. I didn't feel any pressure to purchase anything, although of course I did. We traveled to these places on both bike rickshaw and electric rickshaw, both of them being fun experiences but probably not for the faint of heart :.

They do a flyby drive by India Gate and the Parliament House at some point, but caveat is that there's a lot of smog and combined with fog, so it's actually not that interesting imho except for hearing about the historical elements.

In New Delhi, we saw Humayun's Tomb and the guide / driver were flexible and took me to places that weren't on the prescribed list. I wanted to see a Hindu temple so he took me to Akshardham, which is a little bit of a drive away. HIGHLY recommend it, it's absolutely gorgeous and breath-taking. We also went to Lotus Temple Bahai, huge and also not on the original list. Because of this, I didn't go to Qutub Minar, Laxminarayan Temple or Raj Ghat which I didn't mind one bit. I would like to see Laxminarayan, but I can arrange that myself since it's near Connaught Place.

The other thing I wanted to do was end up in Janpath, to shop a little. Also not on the prescribed list and the guide did warn me that authenticity isn't guaranteed even at Cottage Emporium, but was agreeble to take me anyway. They stayed with me patiently and overall, I ended the day at 6:00 or so, when the day I think was supposed to end at 5 pm and got to see some areas, do things that weren't their normal routine. The other thing that wasn't routine is that I only eat once or twice a day, so we didn't stop for a proper lunch and I think my poor guide / driver were starving at some point. They did not complain at all, and we got a snack at Akshardham around 3 pm, so I feel badly about that and made sure to warn my guides on subsequent tours!

As a female traveling solo, I felt safe with no pressure or annoyance from them despite change to plans, and didn't feel they took me to places that pressured me to buy stuff. They also discouraged beggars / peddlers, which I've heard from friends had annoyed them to the point of ruining some of their experiences I actually didn't see that many of them. I would totally book with them again and trust their ability to deliver!

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Jeffery D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

We were very disappointed with this activity. I don't necessarily blame Viator for our experience. I didn't review this activity very closely and was under the impression that this was a dinner/show. It was not. The Sound and Light show was simply sitting in one spot within the Red Fort and listening to commentary as a light bounced around from one building to another. We left halfway through the show. We were then taken to a nice restaurant afterwards. The meal was the best part of the evening. The food was good and plentiful. On the whole, I would not recommend this activity. I'm confident you can find a very nice restaurant to eat at on your own for much less.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Gem

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the tour that we experienced India! We walked the busy street of Chandini Chowk, tried their delicious street food - Jalebi and Samoosa, bargained from the shops and rode the rickshaw. The Humayun's tomb and the Red Fort are very rich in story. We were just a little disappointed as there are 2 sites were on the list that they did not take us to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Alex W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great experience - started with Old Delhi with Jama Masjid - resulted in experiences such as riding Rickshaw, visiting Gurudwara and helping to prepare food for their community service meals and buying spices in spice markets, before moving on to sights such as Qutb Minar and Humayun's tomb. Were unable to do Red Fort due to August 15th preparations however made for a thoroughly enjoyable day

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Warren K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

See it all in one day ! After this tour we felt like we had thoroughly done it all in New Delhi ! We want to thank Tushar Patiyal from the tour company for a truly excellent experience ! This was the company that Viator commissioned for this tour and we could not have been more pleased. Before we arrived I emailed Tushar and he was always prompt and informative with his replies. We had a clean air conditioned car and a skilled friendly driver - The company uses official licensed Indian guides at each site such as the Red Fort and Qutub Minar. These guides are paid for already and were very knowledgeable and experts in their area. We took a bike ride through the main market and a walking tour of Old Delhi. So interesting ! It is a long day but completely satisfying. We had wanted to see the Lotus temple which is not on the itinerary so when the tour was over at around 4:30 pm the guide had the driver take us to the temple and wait for us as we walked around - The driver was more than courteous and patient with us. We did not want to visit any major craft shops and they respected our decision. The entire day can be arranged per your individual needs and we were never rushed or felt like we were on a timetable - Lunch was not included so we treated our driver and guide at an inexpensive fast food place and it was a lot of fun. We can not under emphasize the professionalism and respect with which we were treated. It was a pleasant and informative day and we saw all the major sites. We highly recommend this tour and especially the tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Raja Mohan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Able to see 3 Unesco sites Red Fort, Qutib Minar and Humayun Tomb as we wished. We had to travel in a car , trishaw and by walk to see these wonderful ancient monuments. Though crowded but managed to see the other sites too by the skillful driver and the tour guide.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

LYN F Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a fabulous day with Komal and a driver, who took us to all the major sights on our list, including Red Fort and Dilli Haat. Nothing was too much trouble for Komal and she also took us to a great restuarant for lunch. Well worth the money we spent for a full day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

S E M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Lovely experience; I've much enjoyed the company of Ashish throughout and the choice of restaurant, (great food and beautiful deco). The Red Fort was a magical setting for the Light and Sound show... I was however late and only managed to see part of it... yet it was nicely put together.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Sarnata R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was cold on the evening we went to the show. The guide and driver were pleasant but even though we found it hard to understand the guide sometimes, he did a good job of explaining the history of the Red Fort. We were taken to a very nice restaurant afterwards. The evening was enjoyable but I think it would be helpful to tell the guests to bring a coat or sweater.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Kerk P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The light show was less than outstanding, but it was a fun and interesting way to learn about the history of the Red Fort. The dinner afterward at the Broadway was top notch! More food than we could eat and delicious beyond expectations! Our guide was very helpful and kind.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Etienne H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

For a firt experience of India and Delhi it was a good way to hae an ovierview of the city. Yet, the guide finished his tour at 4pm instead of 6pm. In the morning the guide said that we will not have enough time to visit the red fort inside if we wanted to visit all the other monuments during the tour. At the end of the tour he refused to come back to red fort indicating tha it was too far away. He also insisted to bring me in a shop for tourists which was useless. The could have been much more interesting. Altogether the guide was not really concerned by his job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Red Fort is impressive. We liked the tour and the show it was ok but not great. Not too many people and lots of bugs and humidity. What we did like was the guide and the dinner. The food was great and this tour allowed us to experience a little bit of Delhi we probably would not have seen otherwise.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Zayad M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Good experience of the red fort and highlights of the Indian multi-layered history. No music, only sound. January is a very cold month, and the cold definitely affected our enjoyment big time as we were struggling to stay warm.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Peter F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Due to my plane coming in late I missed the actual Red Fort Light and Sound part, although the dinner and private transfer were both good.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We participated in the evening Red fort light show tour. Our experience was wonderful. We were able to experience Old & New Delhi in the evening with the safety pf the tour company. The evening light show was very interesting & provided us with a lot of history & a wonderfull colorful spectacle. Our host, Ashish, was very knowledgeable, polite & competent in his work. We enjoyed his company & his stories very much. The tour was superb! The only thing I can think of that I would have recommended is that we thought that dinner was first - so we would have had a snack first! We are very happy with the restaurant & are looking forward to the delicious food! Thank you!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Zayad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very good service, and good night experience of the Red Fort with sound and light. Dinner was good too with a variety of vegetarian and non vegetarian Indian cuisine. Good guide who stayed with us all the time from the hotel and back.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Paul B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I am so glad I booked this Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day! Our knowledgeable, energetic, fun and articulate guide Avdesh ("Avi") was wonderful! He met us at the hotel lobby on time and together we toured many of Delhi's key attractions. I simply gave him a list of what we wanted to see (Qutab Minar, Safdarjung's Tomb, Lodi Gardens, Humayun's Tomb, Purana Qila, Jama Masjid, Red Fort, and Chandi Chowk) and he was genuinely happy to show us around. If we hadn't already prepared a list, he would have made suggestions in that first meeting to establish an itinerary; he was organized and professional. We set the pace and could be as quick or as slow as we chose for each location. He thoroughly explained each site and was patient as I gave my camera a work-out. Avi also did a great job of watching over us by ensuring we paid the correct entry fees where appropriate and that we weren't scammed or bothered anywhere along the way. One of the best parts was that at my request he even helped us navigate the North India Railway Station to find the international tourist office (2nd floor) so we could buy 1st class tickets to Agra the following day. I wouldn't have had those tickets without Avi's help, translation skills, and ability to guide us clear of people at the station who intentionally misdirect tourists. The driver was great also, waiting for us at each site, getting us safely and quickly through traffic, and stopping on a dime or pulling u-turns when I had to get a photo of something unexpected. I've used Viator in Paris, Moscow, and now New Delhi and have never been disappointed.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message