Sprawling and kinetic, this busy, growing megacity of some 23 million people is the ancient capital of one of the fastest rising world powers. Delhi - New and Old - offers India in a microcosm. It is a megalopolis imbued with the wisdom and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Avik C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour with an awesome and knowledgeable guide. Very well communication and details of all the history of each place we visited. Took us in the nooks and corners and hidden treasures of Old and New Delhi we say more in one day than we would have with any one else. Before we started, we sat down and asked us what we expected and what we wanted to see and the pace we desired. Our guide was Jeswin Joseph

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Vasiliki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both driver and guide very polite and knowledgeable! Everything was perfect! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Originally had concerns about the price compared to other company offerings but Shanjay Shukla guide and Shanti driver delivered an exceptional experience for two amazing UNESCO beauties. The term behind the scenes is a bit overstated but Shanjay's ability to expedite access to both locations provided significant benefits and warranted the use of VIP. The fellow is like a rock star amongst his peers. It would be very difficult to find a guide that knows more about all aspects of both structures and related personal history.

The lunch on the rooftop was very good and even though it equated to a decent portion of the tour cost, in the end it was certainly worth the cost of entry.

Driving down versus taking the new high speed train is a toss up. Shanti provided significant local favor and history. Evidently some of the time the train can't reach high speeds due to livestock and other impediments that happen to cross the rails in various locations.

The only negative which is out of the company's control is the absolutely horrible air pollution that is literally choking the life out of the country.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Damian Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our rickshaw tour of Old Delhi was Amazing. It was great having the owner/guide explaining everything to us as we did the tour in our earpieces. You would miss so much without the guide. Old Delhi is like going back in time and I highly recommend the tour. Booking was easy, just keep an eye out for the guys in the red t-shirts to find the group. If you are a westerner you will stand out and the guide will find you on the corner opposite the entry to the fort. There is a red wall and a white metal fence. Thats where you meet.

Doing what: Old Delhi Group Tour by Rickshaws

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My tour guide, Alan, was exceptional. He had a wealth of knowledge and was flexible with my requests. He made this tour memorable and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in seeing the sites of Delhi.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Wenkai S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience with knowledgeable tour guide. Would recommend.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Briana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgable about delhi, showed me touristy and non touristy areas. I loved it!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Alejandro P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, clean schuttle, very attentive pilot and copilot, the guide was a nice man with a lot of information and easy access.

complain: the description says 5 course meal in roof top restaurant and we had an almost empty bufet in the ugly hotel restaurant... then invited to see the taj majal from roof top where some other people where having lunch... that was a lie.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Mallory H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This experience was absolutely phenomenal. The transfers were easy and the guides were friendly and caring The only thing I warn is that, while we saw tigers, seeing them is not very common. The tent hotel that we stayed in was awesome, but bring a snack or two because you might get there too early for breakfast. The hotel where we were has a pool that is so nice, so also bring a swimsuit!!

Doing what: 2-Night Private Ranthambore National Park and Wildlife Tour from Delhi

cynthia S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I wanted to share an experience with a working class family. My host was warm and gracious and I enjoyed the dinner. My recommendation to improve this experience is to schedule when guest is not traveling during rush hour. The trip was one hour going and three returning to hotel in New Delhi.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

Nicholas O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I will NEVER recommend this tour nor company Sita to anyone.... Let me just say: the tour guide was awesome and very knowledgable, and the tour itself was great the parts that actually took place. However, it was the travel to and from Amritsar by train which ruined this trip and my whole trip to India.

So we are told that we will be taking a train to Amritsar from our hotel in Delhi. We are told that the train will arrive at 7:45AM so we are picked up at 6:00AM from our hotel. When we arrive to the train area, we are told that the train is delayed by 5 hours. Since it is winter and there is lots of fog, the trains are usually delayed for hours we are told. This is a fact EVERYONE knows in India except tourists like us.

The tour company obviously knows that the trains are routinely delayed, but instead of having a driver take us to Amrisar like other tours do they went the cheap way and sent us on the train. When we get on the train, our seats were waitlisted which means the company waited until the absolutely last minute to book them. We were told incorrect seat numbers and at first thought this tour was a scam. Eventually we found our correct seat numbers and the train eventually left.

We arrive to our destination five hours late we left 4 hours late, and the train ride took 6 hours instead of 5, missing the ritual flag lowering at Wagah border something we really wanted to explore. We had to fight to do it the next day, however we missed opportunities to do other parts of our trip. Like I said above, the tour was fine. We missed things due to the lateness of the train, but we the tour guide was awesome.

When we took the train back, our train left 4 hours late and took 13 HOURS TO GET BACK because of the fog. 13 hours we were on the train as opposed to the 4 it would have taken by car. I did not travel to India to be stuck on a very disgusting train which as you can see below is never cleaned. Because of this, we missed our other trip to the Taj Mahal. I traveled all the way from the United States to explore India, and this 2 day tour RUINED MY TRIP. I took the liberty of taking photos from the beautiful train. There are others but you will get the idea.

Please, never use this vendor Sita India. If you have trips scheduled the next day you will absolutely not make it back in time for them. Insist on being driven to your destinations by a driver. Our other destinations sent drivers which were just as far as Amritsar's with no issues. AVOID AVOID AVOID Sita!

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

Aiandra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jasmeet and his family really go above and beyond to make this experience memorable. They truly open their home to you and make you feel like part of the family. Highly recommend any tour Delhi Airport Service Pvt Ltd. offer.

Doing what: Experience Diwali: Celebrate with a Local Indian Family in Delhi

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a highlight tour of Old Delhi for the four of us. Ritu and her crew were efficient, professional and courteous at all times. The commentary was interesting and gave us great insight into the history and daily working routines of this maze of twists and turns. There were surprises all along the way. We were able to see parts of this organized chaos on rickshaw that would have otherwise been inaccessible to us. The rickshaw was comfortable and the tour was well paced. This tour provided us with constant opportunities for amazing pictures. When in Delhi..... Don't miss this tour!
,

Doing what: Old Delhi Group Tour by Rickshaws

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Krishan Joshi of Taj Heritage Tours is a reamarkable guise. He loves hius wrok and is proud to show the features of his country. Ask for him. Yoiu will be amazed. Kevi Bruce

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The overall Trip was great I would recommend to travelers to insist that they travel FIRST CLASS on the overnight train trip because the 2nd class sleeper car that was provided by the travel agent was akin to being in a prison ship. The Overnight train ride was in a wretched sleeper with four strangers, the inmates on Orange is the New Black have better accommodation. When I came back to Delhi and saw this 2nd class cabin again I insisted on paying for an upgrade to first class. It was about 10 buck more expensive but definitely worth it. That being said the trip overall was quite enjoyable, the hotel was great the safari amazing and the staff very attentive and helpful.

Doing what: 2-Night Private Ranthambore National Park and Wildlife Tour from Delhi

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very prompt pickup from my hotel the guide and driver were actually both early, arrived at 0830. My guide was very knowledgeable, but not overly talkative. We went to many of the big ticket tourist places, starting in Old Delhi - Jama Masjid mosque and the Red Fort. Along the way, he took me to several temples Jain and Sikh, which I wasn't expecting but was very culturally interesting to learn about. We walked through Chandi Chowk and stopped at a spice market it seems to be a designated tourist stop, quite a few europeans were in there. I didn't feel any pressure to purchase anything, although of course I did. We traveled to these places on both bike rickshaw and electric rickshaw, both of them being fun experiences but probably not for the faint of heart :.

They do a flyby drive by India Gate and the Parliament House at some point, but caveat is that there's a lot of smog and combined with fog, so it's actually not that interesting imho except for hearing about the historical elements.

In New Delhi, we saw Humayun's Tomb and the guide / driver were flexible and took me to places that weren't on the prescribed list. I wanted to see a Hindu temple so he took me to Akshardham, which is a little bit of a drive away. HIGHLY recommend it, it's absolutely gorgeous and breath-taking. We also went to Lotus Temple Bahai, huge and also not on the original list. Because of this, I didn't go to Qutub Minar, Laxminarayan Temple or Raj Ghat which I didn't mind one bit. I would like to see Laxminarayan, but I can arrange that myself since it's near Connaught Place.

The other thing I wanted to do was end up in Janpath, to shop a little. Also not on the prescribed list and the guide did warn me that authenticity isn't guaranteed even at Cottage Emporium, but was agreeble to take me anyway. They stayed with me patiently and overall, I ended the day at 6:00 or so, when the day I think was supposed to end at 5 pm and got to see some areas, do things that weren't their normal routine. The other thing that wasn't routine is that I only eat once or twice a day, so we didn't stop for a proper lunch and I think my poor guide / driver were starving at some point. They did not complain at all, and we got a snack at Akshardham around 3 pm, so I feel badly about that and made sure to warn my guides on subsequent tours!

As a female traveling solo, I felt safe with no pressure or annoyance from them despite change to plans, and didn't feel they took me to places that pressured me to buy stuff. They also discouraged beggars / peddlers, which I've heard from friends had annoyed them to the point of ruining some of their experiences I actually didn't see that many of them. I would totally book with them again and trust their ability to deliver!

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Theo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our day trip to Agra. Our driver Raza was absolutely brilliant and is a credit to Viator. He was even able to add on a trip to Fatephur Sikri at the very last minute. We felt in very good hands with Raza. Thank you!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Margaret G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Great tour. Good way to see the important parts of Delhi.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Amanda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. A driver Raza picked me up at my hotel exactly on time. The drive to Agra was quick with a pitstop about mid point. Then the tour of Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The Taj Mahal was beyond anything I ever imagined. With the driver and my tour guide, I always felt safe.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Gareth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgable and gave us lots of interesting information throughout the day. We visited 7 places in total and had time for an incredible lunch too. Lots of walking but you get to cover so much in just a day. Fantastic tour and would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

dianesperling8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A visit to Old Delhi when visiting India should be on everyone's bucket list and should not be missed to take in the sites and sounds. Ours included rickshaw rides and a visit to a religious temple.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Lorraine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really great trip. Our guide was so knowledgeable and accommodating, as was the guide for the village tour. All of the arrangements worked well we were escorted to and from the train and were well looked after. Meals were good and transport was comfortable. If you want a hassle free way of visiting these great sights then I can thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

DAVID P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

just wasn't what I expected

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

MICHELE g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

a fabulous guide a lovely day

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I truly enjoyed the bike tour of Old Delhi with Tenzin and his team from Delhi by Bike, on a tour I took in late August 2016. Tenzin takes the tour to places a typical tourist might not find or be aware of, including climbing stairs to roof tops for cool views of the neighborhoods of Old Delhi. Biking through the narrow walkways and enjoying the sights and sounds and the array of people within Old Delhi was amazing. We enjoyed milk tea and a traditional Indian breakfast on two different stops. I experienced the trip with a very friendly German family, which made the ride even more pleasant sharing the outing and many sights with them. Tenzin and his team keep a close look out for the riders, and make sure everyone is kept safe and taken care of. If you want a little adventure through Old Delhi, then take this bike tour I highly recommend it!!! I opted for hotel pick-up and return, which is well worth the added cost. This bike tour was my last excursion after a 30 day adventure through India, and just prior to catching a flight to U.S.A. later that same day, so it was a nice way to get some outdoor activity before taking a long plane ride home. Thank you Tenzin and team for making my last tour such a unique and memorable experience and thanks for forwarding the photos too!. I booked the trip through Viator, which is a very convenient, fast, and simple way to book.

Doing what: Delhi Bike Tour Including Hotel Transfers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message