Of all the Wonders of the World, only one is a monument to romantic love: the Taj Mahal. Poetry written in marble spires by the heartbroken Shah Jahan, the monument's graceful white domes arc over the tomb of his wife and mother of his 14 children, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shelby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic experience. Driver was on time and we felt 100 safe for the entire drive despite there being crazy fog. Tour guide was excellent and was very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Vasiliki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both driver and guide very polite and knowledgeable! Everything was perfect! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our day despite a shaky start. Our driver picked us up at our hotel in Gurgaon and we were a bit disappointed that he could not speak English very well. Because we had read an earlier review we were not taken by surprise and knew that we would be connected with a fluent guide once we arrived in Agra.

Our guide made us feel completely comfortable and often anticipated our needs. At every step he made us aware of important small details like watching out for pick-pockets, where to find clean toilets and where to stand to take really good photos. He even took some photos for us which have turned out to be some of our best of the trip.

We enjoyed both the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. The commentary was great and we enjoyed the way he made things interesting with stories and quirky details about the architecture.

We had been concerned about lunch and felt a bit awkward when we realised we were the sole customers for most of the meal. But the food was actually really delicious. There was a lot of variety and more than we could eat.

We weren't quite sure how we ended up at a marble factory after the tour and were highly suspicious of a hard sell. The manager did do his best to sell us some products but we did not feel particularly pressured. I ended up purchasing a small dish that I love.

It is a long day but, all in all, it was the best day in India and we would highly recommend it.

David and Mary
New Zealand

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Originally had concerns about the price compared to other company offerings but Shanjay Shukla guide and Shanti driver delivered an exceptional experience for two amazing UNESCO beauties. The term behind the scenes is a bit overstated but Shanjay's ability to expedite access to both locations provided significant benefits and warranted the use of VIP. The fellow is like a rock star amongst his peers. It would be very difficult to find a guide that knows more about all aspects of both structures and related personal history.

The lunch on the rooftop was very good and even though it equated to a decent portion of the tour cost, in the end it was certainly worth the cost of entry.

Driving down versus taking the new high speed train is a toss up. Shanti provided significant local favor and history. Evidently some of the time the train can't reach high speeds due to livestock and other impediments that happen to cross the rails in various locations.

The only negative which is out of the company's control is the absolutely horrible air pollution that is literally choking the life out of the country.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Arun R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour no glitches. Very smooth drive by Vipin to and from Agra in comfortable car with AC and WiFi!. Guide Rishi was very knowledgeable about the Agra fort and the Taj Mahal, and provided WiFi throughout the whole tour, too! Knew all the spots where we could take the best pictures, and took very good photos himself. Lunch included in the tour was good and plentiful, but drinks were not included, so we had to pay for our lassis and fresh lime sodas. The only thing we didn't much care for was the side shopping trips tried to skip them, but the guide was sort of insistent that we visit the shops.

Doing what: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Full-Day Tour From Delhi

Alec H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

A very long day trip. Be prepared for upwards of a five hour drive each way. The driver and tour guide were also very insistent on pushing shopping excursions, despite multiple times indicating no interest. Also learned after the tour that the guide told a number of myths about the Taj as fact. A history expert in Delhi was quick to ridicule much of many of the facts claimed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Verne C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our tour guide was good. He took good care of us. He did seem to receive a lot of phone calls during the tour and that was distracting at times.

Our driver was not so good. He was late to pick us up. He then stopped to buy diesel. He then stopped on the toll road even though we said we were fine to continue on. The stop was over 15 minutes long which seemed strangely long for just him going in after just picking us up and just buying gas. Then he proceeded to talk on the phone the rest of the way to Agra. Once in Agra with the guide he seemed to be more on point but once we were leaving Agra he went right back to his old ways. He went back to talking on the phone for almost all of the way back to the hotel. Again stopped on the toll road for over 15 minutes even though we said were fine to continue on. This was after he had many breaks while we were on tour. While on the toll road back in very light traffic he seemed to just drift from one side of the road to the other for no apparent reason. He was up over 140km per hour while on the toll road at times. Then when we got into Delhi he came very close to having a car accident at least twice. In our time in India he was by far the worst driver we had!!! And he drove in less traffic and easier road conditions than any of the others.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour Including the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort from Delhi

jgmoore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day trip - and one of the most economical private tours available. The tour operator was Kaimur Holidays and they were fantastic. I was able to communicate with them via WhatsApp I did not have a local phone number and they were very helpful in arranging for my pickup and dropoff. Our guide was very knowledgeable, spoke great English and ensured a memorable day. I would definitely use them again if I'm back in the area.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour Including the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort from Delhi

Bianca Lucia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A wonderful experience, beautifully organised. Driver and personal guide absolutely fabolous

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour - well planned and executed.

Pleasant relief when driver arrived at hotel on time and in a clean modern car. Driving was flawless, v safe despite the constant chaos on Indian roads.

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and did not seemed to be reading from a script as other guides have been accused of doing. He helped us take several great photos and was very respectful, giving us our space to enjoy the sights. No pressure to tip at end of day which was nice but we did. Side note - make sure you have some small change for the toilets which charge.

Food was at a local restaurant that seemed only to cater to tourists from similar day tours. Standard set menu with the only variability being the spiciness of your food. Don't expect Michelin grade but environment was clean and food decent enough to satisfy all but the more fussy of travelers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

shiszas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! The driver that picked us up at the hotel was friendly and his driving good. The guide in Agra was absolutely great! Both very knowledgable and entertaining you could have a conversation with him just about anything and we really had a memorable afternoon together. Plan for a full day.. traffic on the way in from Delhi was better than expected so half way through we thought we'd be back at the hotel sooner... But traffic gets very bad in the pm -- took us over 4 hours to get back. Highly recommended overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Sulafa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect tour ever.. Good driver.. Excellent guide... Amazing place

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The driver picked me up at Gurgaon at 6am and drove all the way to Agra by 10am. He had good driving skills and was so friendly. The tour guide was good and he provided some historical stories when we were in the attractions such as Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Baby Taj. He arranged some time for me to walk around and to take pictures by my own, which I enjoyed so much. It was supposed to have a shopping session in the local market after lunch, but the tour guide sort of sensed I am not a fan of shopping, he offered me to skip the shopping and go back to the hotel right after lunch if I wanted to. So Great! The driver then took another 4.5 hours to drive me back to Gurgaon. We had some chit-chat during the journey and i felt safe in his car! : Highly recommended to those single traveller with not much interested in getting local souvenirs!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

MICHAEL C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour - even with having to drive two hours in the fog getting out of Delhi. Tour Guide Hussein was quite informative, helped 'fend off' unwanted vendors/beggars, and was an expert in taking some spectacular pictures during the trip. Well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Alejandro P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, clean schuttle, very attentive pilot and copilot, the guide was a nice man with a lot of information and easy access.

complain: the description says 5 course meal in roof top restaurant and we had an almost empty bufet in the ugly hotel restaurant... then invited to see the taj majal from roof top where some other people where having lunch... that was a lie.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Carlos V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything worked out. The comfortable two way trip, the guide was amazing and very amicable and over all i had an experience I didn't expect to go so well and be so nice. Memorable!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Theo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our day trip to Agra. Our driver Raza was absolutely brilliant and is a credit to Viator. He was even able to add on a trip to Fatephur Sikri at the very last minute. We felt in very good hands with Raza. Thank you!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

talon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mr. Sharma made this trip incredible. I couldn't believe how much I lucked out with such a great tour guide. It was a long day 4 hours each way and lunch was a bit rushed, but it was well worth it. I was picked up at 5AM in Guragon by a nice driver. We weren't able to communicate much, but he was nice and safe. The car was small 4 door sedan like a late 90s Toyota Camry. The rest stops each way were a nice break for food and to stretch your legs. I didn't get back until about 7PM, so the 14 hour mark is right on.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Yoon J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We booked a day trip with Viator from Delhi to Agra to visit the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. I only realized after paying online through Viator that Viator links you to a local provider and Viator is not an agency in itself. So I had to contact the local agency after that and they responded immediately. On the day, the driver was a little late, maybe 10 minutes and we stopped on the way for couple of minutes as he checked the tires and changed one, but he was a good driver and we got to our destination in about 2:30 hours I think because it was a holiday and there was no traffic. We met our guide, Pramod, in Agra who showed us Mini Taj Mahal first. Pramod is very knowledgeable. He explained everything and answered all our questions. We then went to the Taj Mahal. Pramod knew where to take photos, the right angles, how to enter quickly, what to see and not miss, etc. We then had lunch, which was not impressive but in a clean place with AC and toilet, good service. After lunch we went to Agra Fort. Our driver then drove us back safely and efficiently to our hotel. It was overall a good trip. We happened to be there during Diwali and so there were less people than usual, making our trip more pleasant. Booking a trip with everything included except gratuities only was great - no stress and no hassle, very relaxing. Had a good trip, thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jonathan H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour was very good and guide very knowledgeable. The car service was comfortable and on time. The smog was overwhelming due to the Diwali celebrations. Overall it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jill S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We loved our guide however my wife and I both got ill after the included meal. My wife is still sick and I had to have a hotel doctor come and put her on antibiotics. You need to change restaurants. It has been over a week and it is a severe issue.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Amanda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. A driver Raza picked me up at my hotel exactly on time. The drive to Agra was quick with a pitstop about mid point. Then the tour of Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The Taj Mahal was beyond anything I ever imagined. With the driver and my tour guide, I always felt safe.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Nikki W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a tremendous trip. All details were taken care of, you don't have to worry about a thing. Driver was pleasant and had plenty of water. Tour guide was informative but didn't smother you and allowed you to explore on your own. The only tip I would give is be careful of the photographers. They say cheap price and take great pictures, just be willing to pay apx. 50 US. On the other hand, they capture perfect pictures and give you electronic AND 5 x 7 hard copy prints!

Lunch was at a small off beaten restaurant but it was SO GOOD! Be prepared for the heat and try not to take a bag in to the Taj Mahal.

Perfect timing of this trip. When we left there were long lines to get in.

Don't miss this trip if you are in India.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip- Hussain our guide was knowledgaable, interesting and enthralling! Amar our driver was courteous and on time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message