Of all the Wonders of the World, only one is a monument to romantic love: the Taj Mahal. Poetry written in marble spires by the heartbroken Shah Jahan, the monument's graceful white domes arc over the tomb of his wife and mother of his 14 children, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It's a very long day but an incredible one. A driver picked us up at our hotel and took us to Agra, where we met our tour guide. He led us through the grounds of the Taj Mahal while providing a wealth of information and knowledge. Afterwards, we visited the impressive Agra Fort and enjoyed a delicious Indian feast at a restaurant in Agra, Taj Darbar. A very memorable and enjoable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jorge G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Overall the experience was amazing. They picked me up from my Airbnb in the morning, there was the most fog they have had and visibility was low. The driver was phenomenal and it took us nearly four hours to get there since we couldn't see 10 feet in front of us, it took two and a half to get back. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was willing to snap photos of me everywhere since I was traveling alone. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I would definitely recommend this tour! The driver and tour guide were awesome. The Indiana restaurant where we had lunch was delicious. I am from Indiana so I got a kick out of the name.
The drive back and forth from Delhi to Agra was quite an experience, but worth it. We were picked up from our hotel and dropped off safely. Great job guys!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Hi, we went to Agra to see the Taj and the red fort, it was a great trip tour guide and driver were really good helpful and very competent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jedipir8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Extremly good guide and trip

Doing what: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Full-Day Tour From Delhi

Stephen D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The facts:
1. The car ride 3 hours one way from Delhi was comfortable and nice. The car was clean and air conditioned.
2. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke decent English. I learned a lot about the area and history of the Taj/Agra Fort.
3. The lunch is a buffet of standard Indian cuisine chicken curry, naan bread, etc.
4. Alcohol is only available at lunch
5. Unlimited bottles of water was a bit of a stretch, we did not even have any until we got to Agra

My recommendations/comments:
1. Bring sunglasses. The sun reflecting off of the white marble actually destroys your corneas. If you want to be able to look at the Taj or the Palace in the Fort, bring your sunglasses.
2. The shopping is set up like a typical tourist trap. You get to hear a small presentation about how people make marble furniture or embroidered fabric etc. and then you get chaperoned around a shop full of inventory with no price tags. In my opinion, you'd have to be pretty new to the world to think that that is the best place for fine jewelry and other arts and crafts and be willing to pay 5k for them to then ship it to your house. Please do not get fooled by this is the only place in the world where this is made or it is illegal to sell these outside of Agra. Upon a 2 second google search I found much more reputable places selling identical stuff to marble-side-table-man in Agra, India in a building/warehouse down a dirt road.
3. The Taj is absolutely worth it. Beautiful sights, interesting history, and truly a great experience. The Agra Fort, however, way less worth it in my opinion. It's a cool place rich with history, but when your day starts at 6:30am and now it's 2pm and you're at the Fort AFTER you've already seen the Taj...you're really more interested in starting the 3 hours back to Delhi than walking around another complex hearing about the same kind of things and architecture. I do not know if there is a Taj only tour, but it may be worth your time if you, like me, are honestly just trying to see the Taj and have never heard of Fort Agra. None of your friends or family will say Oh maaan, did you see the Fort though?!? instead it will be more like What is Fort Agra?

Bottom line:
It was a good experience. I'm glad I took this tour. I really have no complaints, it was worth the money. I got good pictures. I learned a lot. Bring sunglasses and maybe apply a little sunscreen before you go. Professional tour guide.

Doing what: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Full-Day Tour From Delhi

Shelby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic experience. Driver was on time and we felt 100 safe for the entire drive despite there being crazy fog. Tour guide was excellent and was very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Vasiliki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both driver and guide very polite and knowledgeable! Everything was perfect! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our day despite a shaky start. Our driver picked us up at our hotel in Gurgaon and we were a bit disappointed that he could not speak English very well. Because we had read an earlier review we were not taken by surprise and knew that we would be connected with a fluent guide once we arrived in Agra.

Our guide made us feel completely comfortable and often anticipated our needs. At every step he made us aware of important small details like watching out for pick-pockets, where to find clean toilets and where to stand to take really good photos. He even took some photos for us which have turned out to be some of our best of the trip.

We enjoyed both the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. The commentary was great and we enjoyed the way he made things interesting with stories and quirky details about the architecture.

We had been concerned about lunch and felt a bit awkward when we realised we were the sole customers for most of the meal. But the food was actually really delicious. There was a lot of variety and more than we could eat.

We weren't quite sure how we ended up at a marble factory after the tour and were highly suspicious of a hard sell. The manager did do his best to sell us some products but we did not feel particularly pressured. I ended up purchasing a small dish that I love.

It is a long day but, all in all, it was the best day in India and we would highly recommend it.

David and Mary
New Zealand

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Originally had concerns about the price compared to other company offerings but Shanjay Shukla guide and Shanti driver delivered an exceptional experience for two amazing UNESCO beauties. The term behind the scenes is a bit overstated but Shanjay's ability to expedite access to both locations provided significant benefits and warranted the use of VIP. The fellow is like a rock star amongst his peers. It would be very difficult to find a guide that knows more about all aspects of both structures and related personal history.

The lunch on the rooftop was very good and even though it equated to a decent portion of the tour cost, in the end it was certainly worth the cost of entry.

Driving down versus taking the new high speed train is a toss up. Shanti provided significant local favor and history. Evidently some of the time the train can't reach high speeds due to livestock and other impediments that happen to cross the rails in various locations.

The only negative which is out of the company's control is the absolutely horrible air pollution that is literally choking the life out of the country.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Megan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour! Beware of the fog and the driving conditions for when you plan to travel. But if you want a driver that will get you there no matter the conditions, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

gisellecole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughlly enjoyed our time with our marvelous guide Sanjay...he was incredibly knowledgeable about the Taj Mahal and the entire Agra region. Pankaj was our driver once again and he ensured we had a pleasant drive. Both gentlemen made sure that we were safe and had an enjoyable experience....my friend celebrated her birthday and we both got gifts!!!! She was serenaded by local musicians, given a cake and we were even showered with rose petals!!!! All in all, a wonderful day!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An amazing trip. Pick your hotels well but this is the way to go.....trucks.....so many trucks :

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

Alejandro P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, clean schuttle, very attentive pilot and copilot, the guide was a nice man with a lot of information and easy access.

complain: the description says 5 course meal in roof top restaurant and we had an almost empty bufet in the ugly hotel restaurant... then invited to see the taj majal from roof top where some other people where having lunch... that was a lie.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Note from Viator: 

Tour Supplier Comment: Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issue you experienced with the lunch portion of your tour. Due to the private, customization, nature of this particular tour, and the additional time spent exploring the Taj Mahal, I'm afraid your guide arrived a bit late for the planned lunch and the hotel wasn’t able to serve a group of seven persons, as per the original reservation. However, a full buffet was arranged instead at the same 4-star, certified, venue. We regret we did not have enough time to make arrangements with the hotel for late arrivals so you could still partake in the exclusive lunch. Keeping in mind our guest’s satisfaction, which is our utmost priority, we have instructed Viator to offer a full refund of the lunch portion of your tour. We are glad to hear you were still able to enjoy the remaining portion of your tour experience and wish you Happy Travels for the future.

Arun R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour no glitches. Very smooth drive by Vipin to and from Agra in comfortable car with AC and WiFi!. Guide Rishi was very knowledgeable about the Agra fort and the Taj Mahal, and provided WiFi throughout the whole tour, too! Knew all the spots where we could take the best pictures, and took very good photos himself. Lunch included in the tour was good and plentiful, but drinks were not included, so we had to pay for our lassis and fresh lime sodas. The only thing we didn't much care for was the side shopping trips tried to skip them, but the guide was sort of insistent that we visit the shops.

Doing what: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Full-Day Tour From Delhi

Joshua M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

My driver, Sushil, was excellent - spoke good English and was interesting and fun to talk to.
Yogesh was my guide around the Taj and Fort, and hit that perfect point between giving enough information but stopping before you got bored. He has a good sense of humour too.
I went on my own and the only thing I'd change, if I could, would be the possibility of sharing the trip - it would be good to have company at lunch at least.
Also, I was forced due to circumstances to go in October - this is not great weather-wise as the atmosphere was heavily polluted.
But all in all an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Alec H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

A very long day trip. Be prepared for upwards of a five hour drive each way. The driver and tour guide were also very insistent on pushing shopping excursions, despite multiple times indicating no interest. Also learned after the tour that the guide told a number of myths about the Taj as fact. A history expert in Delhi was quick to ridicule much of many of the facts claimed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Verne C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our tour guide was good. He took good care of us. He did seem to receive a lot of phone calls during the tour and that was distracting at times.

Our driver was not so good. He was late to pick us up. He then stopped to buy diesel. He then stopped on the toll road even though we said we were fine to continue on. The stop was over 15 minutes long which seemed strangely long for just him going in after just picking us up and just buying gas. Then he proceeded to talk on the phone the rest of the way to Agra. Once in Agra with the guide he seemed to be more on point but once we were leaving Agra he went right back to his old ways. He went back to talking on the phone for almost all of the way back to the hotel. Again stopped on the toll road for over 15 minutes even though we said were fine to continue on. This was after he had many breaks while we were on tour. While on the toll road back in very light traffic he seemed to just drift from one side of the road to the other for no apparent reason. He was up over 140km per hour while on the toll road at times. Then when we got into Delhi he came very close to having a car accident at least twice. In our time in India he was by far the worst driver we had!!! And he drove in less traffic and easier road conditions than any of the others.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour Including the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort from Delhi

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We have received the following information from your local tour operator:
Thank you for traveling with us. We are always committed to delivering the best to our precious guests. As we conduct this tour via Express Way, the driver does unfortunately have to stop at all toll booths to pay taxes which may take some time. However, we understand your concerns regarding his level of service and can assure you he is no longer with our company, as he did not meet our high level of standards. Also, we wish to remind our guests to always check the Inclusions and Exclusions on our tour's brochure page, as the monument tickets are not included in the overall cost of this particular tour package. We are glad to hear you still enjoyed your tour guide and hope to see you in Agra again soon.

jgmoore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day trip - and one of the most economical private tours available. The tour operator was Kaimur Holidays and they were fantastic. I was able to communicate with them via WhatsApp I did not have a local phone number and they were very helpful in arranging for my pickup and dropoff. Our guide was very knowledgeable, spoke great English and ensured a memorable day. I would definitely use them again if I'm back in the area.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour Including the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort from Delhi

Bianca Lucia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A wonderful experience, beautifully organised. Driver and personal guide absolutely fabolous

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour - well planned and executed.

Pleasant relief when driver arrived at hotel on time and in a clean modern car. Driving was flawless, v safe despite the constant chaos on Indian roads.

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and did not seemed to be reading from a script as other guides have been accused of doing. He helped us take several great photos and was very respectful, giving us our space to enjoy the sights. No pressure to tip at end of day which was nice but we did. Side note - make sure you have some small change for the toilets which charge.

Food was at a local restaurant that seemed only to cater to tourists from similar day tours. Standard set menu with the only variability being the spiciness of your food. Don't expect Michelin grade but environment was clean and food decent enough to satisfy all but the more fussy of travelers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

shiszas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! The driver that picked us up at the hotel was friendly and his driving good. The guide in Agra was absolutely great! Both very knowledgable and entertaining you could have a conversation with him just about anything and we really had a memorable afternoon together. Plan for a full day.. traffic on the way in from Delhi was better than expected so half way through we thought we'd be back at the hotel sooner... But traffic gets very bad in the pm -- took us over 4 hours to get back. Highly recommended overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Sulafa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect tour ever.. Good driver.. Excellent guide... Amazing place

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Will

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The driver picked me up at Gurgaon at 6am and drove all the way to Agra by 10am. He had good driving skills and was so friendly. The tour guide was good and he provided some historical stories when we were in the attractions such as Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Baby Taj. He arranged some time for me to walk around and to take pictures by my own, which I enjoyed so much. It was supposed to have a shopping session in the local market after lunch, but the tour guide sort of sensed I am not a fan of shopping, he offered me to skip the shopping and go back to the hotel right after lunch if I wanted to. So Great! The driver then took another 4.5 hours to drive me back to Gurgaon. We had some chit-chat during the journey and i felt safe in his car! : Highly recommended to those single traveller with not much interested in getting local souvenirs!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message