Much of the world’s tea comes from India, and as you walk the streets of New Delhi, you’ll quickly see why tea has become the national drink of choice. The distinct flavors of Indian tea, called chai, should not be missed during your travels. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Herci R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you very much to Amit and his wonderful team for a memorable Golden Triangle Tour! It was very comprehensive, so many amazing historical places in so short a time, insightful, interesting, and fun! Hotels were elegant and comfortable, guides were knowledgeable, helpful, protective and funny, and itinerary covered everything we wanted to see! Nikhil, our escort, was very kind, patient and accommodating and Ashok, our driver, drove us safely around and even found the watch I lost during the trip! Amit monitored our tour the whole time and made sure everything was OK. Thanks again Amit and team! We had great, unforgettable and hassle-free tour!

Doing what: 3-Night Private Luxury Golden Triangle Tour to Agra and Jaipur From New Delhi

Neeta K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. My guide, Padam, was very friendly and informative. I really enjoyed all the stories he had to share. My driver, Sunil, was an absolute pleasure. This was a great team and I highly recommend this day to trip to anyone who wants to visit Agra. The only thing that can be improved in this tour is having a better place for lunch as the food was only average in the place we went to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Lowell J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My very first visit to the Taj Mahal was not something I wanted to leave to chance. Your first view of this heaven on earth should be facilitated by a team of professionals who know how to make travel dreams come true.

Fortunately, I booked a private day tour through Kaimur Holidays. My wonderful driver Ramesh arrived promptly at my hotel in a comfortable, immaculate, very well air-conditioned car crucial as this was the hottest June on record in the plains of North Central India!. The new highway from Delhi to Agra makes the journey a pleasant two and a half hours with comfortable rest stops along the way.

Once in Agra, I had the pleasure to meet my guide, Sameer. Sameer holds a graduate diploma in history and his knowledge of Agra and the Mughal Emperors was outstanding. I should mention that I am a retired professor with a PhD in history, so I feel that my commendation of Sameer's qualifications does carry some weight! He is not only an expert in history- Sameer is also very personable, patient, good humored, speaks impeccable English, and is an excellent conversationalist.

I was so delighted with the services of Sameer, Ramesh, and Kaimur Holidays that I am booking a private tour through Rajasthan with the exact same team in August. I cannot wait!

Visited June 2016

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour Including the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort from Delhi

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip!! Our driver met us at our hotel in New Delhi and was ready to go at the time requested. Nice comfortable van with bottled water. We received a nice driving tour of various temples in New Delhi with a description for each. Along the way we were offered rest stops and breaks if needed.
We were joined by our tour guide Mr. Sanjay in Agra. Our first stop was to the Tomb of I'timād-ud-Daulah / sometimes called the Baby Tāj. What a great intro to Agra.
We proceeded to the Taj Mahal and Mr. Sanjay was simply fantastic, handling every detail from tickets to water to entry into the Taj Mahal. Our personal tour was complete with a full history description, photos and finally time alone to soak up the grandeur of the Taj Mahal.
We opted for high tea at the Gateway Hotel. It was simply fantastic with wonderful service.. Tea, coffee plus an assortment of sandwiches, samosas, fruit bread and chutneys. We chose to eat inside but a quick tour of the Sky Deck revealed a superb view of the Taj Mahal and Agra.
We declined to take the tour of the Red Fort we were to exhausted and returned to New Delhi. Upon returning to our hotel we received beautiful gifts from our driver as a memento of the day. What a fantastic journey. Take this tour, you wont regret it.
FANTASTIC!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Joy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the drivers were prompt and professional. They both made sure we were safely escorted to the trains and waited with us until we were on the train and departed. Our tour guide Saed was very pleasant and professional and gave us lots of historical information. We ended up not visiting the Sikri due to the far distance and instead saw 2 other monuments that were closer to the Taj. All in all it was a wonderful experience. Grateful to have seen the Taj first thing in the morning, as the crowds that came would have hampered our experience.

Doing what: Private Day Trip By Train: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri from Delhi

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Went to the Taj Mahal yesterday and it was a really great trip. As soon as I booked the trip through Viator, my tour guide Anjum immediately was in contact with me for preparation, details, and questions for the trip. I was a solo female traveler from New York and he made sure I was safe throughout the trip and prepared me for what was going to happen before it happened being that the environment in India is very different from the US... VERY. He speaks English very well, highly educated on Agra (Taj mahal and the area around it) and knew all the perfect photo spots! I didn and #39;t even have to ask to take a picture, he just knew when and helped me get the best touristy pictures you could want. I highly recommend him if you need a tour guide. My Chaffeur Ashok was also a pleasant and safe driver being that India traffic is crazy and it was a long trip to Agra from Delhi. Pit stops for tea, snack , and restrooms were no problem. Overall great, memorable, safe trip!

Doing what: Taj Mahal and Agra Tour By Car From Delhi

Kumar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Trip was superb more than expectation with lowest price, highly recommended to book this same day Agra trip from Delhi Tour it was very organized smooth and comfortable drive by provided Luxury type Car along with Lovely driver.. Tajmahal is life time memorable monument every one must visit it. Food was awesome in Luxury restaurant and guide was very polite and knowledgeable. Thanks you so much Viator team for choosing good local partner to provide world class STD services..

Doing what: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour From New Delhi with Lunch

Joe N.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was great! Though the main draw is Zangoora (which I hear is fantastic), I saw Jhumroo, the lighthearted story of a goofy regular guy who aims to be a professional singer to win the girl, instead. The onstage tech was incredible. Because the panels for the backdrops were placed at varying distances from the audience, they created a feeling of depth; and because they were also digital displays, it allowed the production team to feature animated backgrounds and/or simulate motion (the hang glider number was definitely a highlight). The cast know how to have fun and involve the audience at various times during the performance (we are actually part of the cast!). The songs are infectiously catchy, the humor slapstick and sometimes over the top (in a good way!), and the story easy to understand, even if you don't understand Hindi (you will be provided with foreign language audio headsets). Culture Gully is a dining and shopping area adjacent to the theater that provides specialties from various regions of India.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kingdom of Dreams including Zangoora or Jhumroo Bollywood Show with Transport from Delhi

Stephen J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great trip. Suiki Spelling? was a brilliant guide. Took us to interesting places and explained everything really well. We experienced street food the most amazing sticky dessert and then had lunch in a little side street café where we were the only Europeans. Topped off our lunch with street chai tea. We went to the Sikh temple and helped make chapattis for lunch. I am not sure our skill level was up to standard but they were still cooked with the others! Finished our trip with a rickshaw ride and a walk back to our hotel. All in all a fantastic time and an excellent guide. Fully recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Benny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had so much fun in Agra. Our driver Manoj Kumar and tour guide Hussein were very helpful and knowledgeable. I highly recommend these two guys as they will ensure your trip to Agra is safe and fun. Kudos to Viator for having these two guys in your team!

Benny Alibasa

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jacintha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was all that we had hoped. Our driver, Ravi Sharma, particularly, was important to the trip's success. He not only navigated in such a way that we felt safe at all time, he answered our questions on many topics about India and helped us find particular stores that we wanted to visit to buy organic teas, sandalwood soap,and books about the history of India. Our guides in each city were helpful. The hotels were excellent.

Doing what: 6-Day Private Golden Triangle Tour: Delhi, Agra, Jaipur and Mandawa

Eleanor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you want an excellent sampling of Indian culture, history, and architecture, then this is the perfect tour for you. My husband and I had an amazing experience in India during Dec. 2014, thanks to Viator. Everything was perfectly organized from stepping out of the airport till the end of the tour, when we opted for a lift to our "post-tour" Delhi hotel rather than a lift to the airport. I have rarely gone on multi-day tours (usually opt to go it alone or take a 1/2 day tour, etc.); however, going to India felt a bit overwhelming because of all of the accommodation options, transportation concerns (never drive there!), and limited time. I had used Viator in the past for a couple different day tours (once to the chateaux country and another around Milan) and always liked what they had arranged; this multi-day package was even better. Accommodations were top-notch and allowed for decent down-time after a busy day of sight-seeing; tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and "tweaked" activities or sites to suit our needs. "Hari" in Delhi, Mueen in Agra, and Hitesh were excellent, yet slightly different in style; this kept 3 days of intensive exposure to history and architecture interesting and fresh. The hero of the trip was our driver, "Gerwil", an extremely talented young man who can drive like no other. Because he escorted us throughout the whole tour, we got to chat with him a bit; he was punctual, professional, looking out for our best interests, and calm no matter the road conditions. The pace of the tour was quick, as it should be with so much to see in so few days. There was one issue that arose because our tour was over the Christmas holiday; Viator graciously worked things out with the company in India, and it was resolved before we even left home. Excellent customer service! We have already talked about returning to Jaipur or perhaps venturing to Kerala on another trip: We hope by then Viator will have multi-day tours there as well! Thank you.

Doing what: 4-Night Private Golden Triangle Tour: Delhi, Agra and Jaipur

Siti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I took this tour at a recommendation of a local friend. Turn out to be one of the best tours I have ever done.

My guide, Sabyasachi picked me up at my hotel which happens to be near where he stays. Our tour starts with the subway. I had a great time discussing political and cultural issues in Delhi in the train with him. Sabya is smart, fluent in English and aware of current issues.

In Chandni Chowk we visited a Hindu temple where he explained the various different deities, festivals and practices. We went on to a Gurudwara next, again Sabya was well aware of the practices explaining the customs as we went along. We also managed to see the huge soup kitchen run the Gurudwara and I even tried my hand in making roti! We visited Jama Mosque which was awe inspiring. Being a Muslim, I was not aware that such a magnificent mosque exist in Delhi and is one of the world's biggest! It even housed some of the Prophet Muhammad's (PBUH) artifacts. Sabya was able to point out to me the architectural significance of the mosque and its history.

I think one of the best parts of the tour was being able to sample the street food, samosas, rotis and marsala chai. We also have many interactions with the local vendors. I loved going through the narrow streets looking at fabrics, meeting locals, learn about spices and tea. The rickshaw ride through the area was quite the highlight for me. One of the best experiences of my travels.

I wanted to say thanks to Sabya and Tushar who made my India trip so wonderful. Sabya was commendable as a guide, personable, insightful and very respectful to everyone we met. I really value this experience as I know I would not be able to do it on my own. I felt that I learnt so much so thank you for a wonderful time and for sharing your beautiful India with me.

Doing what: Old Delhi Half Day Small Group Tour

Kim J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was amazing. We ended up having a private tour instead a group tour because we were the only ones who booked for those dates. Guides, driver and organizer were all really nice and helpful. The hotels were always clean and with big rooms. We visited amazing places with the tour. Thank you

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the tour, all the guides and drivers were excellent. My suggestion is instead of the train trip at night when we could not see anything from the train. Stay somewhere perhaps Orcha and come back to Delhi by train on the friday through the day. This would not change your costing and would be more relaxed and your clients would enjoy the train trip much more.

Doing what: Private Tour: 5-Day Varanasi and Khajuraho from Delhi

Gertrudy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was a single woman traveler, it was my first visit to Delhi. This tour was a great introduction to the city's shopping alleys. I got to ride the subway, eat samosas from a food stall as well as eat at a popular local open air restaurant - so, go on this tour hungry. The Sikh Temple was great. The people very friendly. We stopped by the spice market and I purchased spices and tea. I had a really good time and most of all, I feel comfortable enough now to go again to Old Delhi by myself. And I didn't get Delhi Belly.

Doing what: Old Delhi Half Day Small Group Tour

Johanet d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our excursion in Delhi has been one of the best experiences I’ve booked through Viator. If you, like me, do not believe in “bubble travel” where you go from the airport to a luxury hotel to an air-conditioned car, this is the activity for you. It doesn’t come more authentic than this!
Our guide Anupam fetched us at the hotel and from there the journey on the various transport modes in Delhi started. The metro is clean and orderly and in a better state than many European cities I’ve been to. Everywhere we went people offered smiles and curious looks. The tuc-tuc ride is also an experience through the hectic traffic and millions of people. We however felt perfectly safe in the capable hands of our guide and followed him like baby ducks.
We were greeted at Mumtaz’s home with flower garlands and a red dot on our foreheads to bade us welcome and we felt right at home in her delightful little blue kitchen. Ingredients were explained and then the cooking began. Everything we ate was a flavour explosion from the spicy chai tea to the golden dahl and the paneer curry. We each had a turn to try our hand at making chapattis and had a good giggle at our less than perfect efforts.
We ended off the evening with Mumtaz painting our hands with wonderful henna art. The people of India are hospitable, friendly and interested in diversity.
All in all a magical experience.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

Brianna B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

My experience was quite similar to most of the reviewers on here--the pick up and drop off at the hotel was easy and pleasant. The driver stopped at a small store on the way to Agra for a quick drink/snack/bathroom break which was quite nice and yes, have small change Rupees to tip just about everyone you interact with during the tour. The Taj was fantastic and my guide was quite knowledgeable about the history behind the sites and also gave me tips for surviving all the street vendors. Towards the end of the tour he did try to suggest a stop to see the marble cutting and carpets but thankfully he took my refusal well as I had been warned by previous reviewers not to go! Thank you! My driver tried twice more on the way home to get me to stop somewhere. I am glad the tour started so early--it took less than 30 min to get out of Delhi at 5 am and more than an hour and a half to get back at 4 pm! I did not give the tour five stars because at the end of it, like with other reviewers, my guide told me I owed him money for the battery car rides and the shoe covers at the baby Taj. As this was supposed to be an all-inclusive tour except tips, I thought that was inappropriate, especially since this tour is on the expensive side. I paid him instead of squabbling over 220 rupees 3.27 but still. It either includes all transportation or it doesn't in which case that should be stated in the tour plan that way people participating in it are not caught off guard. I felt quite safe during the whole tour and was glad to be wrapping up at 11:30 in Agra as the day was quite hot and humid by then!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

eric t

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

very good tour but it should start sooner in order to miss the people and hot weather i would have liked it to start around 7:00 am instead of later in the morning it would have made a big difference.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: South Delhi Heritage including Qutub Minar and Mehrauli Archaeological Park

eric t

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

nice ride to agra city and the Taj Mahal, driver was good and the guide was nice and imformative. it was a very hot day i wish i could have been there in the early am instead of high noon. highlight of my stay in india

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Bryan D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I would not take the train if you are at all squeamish about dirty surfaces. I would suggest luxury bus instead. Our guide in Agra was terrific, very knowledgeable. The Taj Mahal was incredible - not too be missed.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

Keith H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lots of pluses about this tour. I can't think of a better way to immerse oneself in Old Delhi than to walk it. Having a guide made the walk informative, entertaining and safe. My wife and I were impressed with the guide and the driver - on time pick up at hotel and pleasant interactions throughout the day. Perhaps our only criticism would be the lunch which was in an all too touristy restaurant. With a guide it would have been a wonderful opportunity to venture into a place that catered to locals. Also it seems inevitable on any tour in India that we have experienced to be taken to a touristy store or two (in our case a tea shop and a rug store), even though we said at the outset that we had NO interest in shopping. But the drives to the shops was interesting and so not a total loss.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

Jonathan D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a very good driver who was incredibly accommodating and made sure that we got to see everything that we wanted to see. Every tour guide in India took us to overpriced gift shops that we thought were part of the trip. While in Jaipur, when we figured out that the "Gem factory" was not highly regarded and walked out, he continuously insisted in finding out why we did not buy anything. While in Agra they took us to a "carpet factory" were we again felt very pressured to shop. We believe that our sightseeing was cut short by the guides to, instead, take us to obscure shopping areas. The exception to this was our second guide in Agra, where he steered us away from stores and guarded us against street vendors.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

shalinihenry

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We loved our tour! The Wagah Border flag ceremony was very entertaining (although there was a recent suicide bomber attack on 11/2/14 that killed 60 people on the Pakistan side, I'm not too sure how safe it is any longer). The Golden Temple was beautiful...especially at night, and our guide was very kind and knowledgeable.

The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that there was some confusion about our return pick-up from the train station. Our train was delayed about 40 minutes, and we arrived back in Delhi around 11:45pm. Not sure what happened, but we waited about 15-20 minutes and nobody showed up, so we wound up getting a taxi. The company apologized for the mishap and made it up by sending a car to take us to dinner the next day, and also a ride to the airport.

All in all, the tour was great, and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

Suzanne R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is the best way to see Agra and the Taj Mahal. My guide was brilliant, I learnt so much, when he told me the love story of the Taj I was nearly in tears, I could have caught the train from Delhi and tried to do this on my own, but I would have missed so much. I think if you ar going to see the heart of India then you need to do it properly, I highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message