New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Destrehan Plantation

Located just 25 miles upriver from New Orleans, Destrehan Plantation is not just the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley, but is an easy, accessible step back in to antebellum times. Built in 1787, the Destrehan Plantation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mikeschend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a highlight of our stay in New Orleans. Captain Gary made it fun and the cruise into the swamps will be one of my best memories of New Orleans. Even had an alligator swim to the boat.
More time was needed at the plantation. It was interesting and we would have enjoyed more of the history.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My friend and I both found the plantation visit very disappointing. A 10 minute video and a quick walk around the house, followed by a visit to the farrier.
The airboat ride round the Bayou was BRILLIANT! Great guide, gave us lots of interesting facts and info and plenty of photo opportunities. Would love to do that again!

Doing what: Destrehan Plantation and 6 passenger Airboat Combo

Kylie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I only did the airboat ride of this tour and it was absolutely awesome!!!!!! My airboat guide was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone had a great time.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it - wish we had more time though at the plantation. Would recommend this tour to anyone The swamp tour was really interesting. The guides in both places were extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo

tammy w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous time, the pass was wonderful, we saw lots of things and it is an excellant buy!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Ellyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...not the original one booked with Annabelle Tours but Annabelle Tours put us on this tour and it was great. The tour guide and driver was very knowledgeable, gracious, and accommodating.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another item to take off my wife's bucket list. We absolutely loved the airboat ride and swamp tour. We tell everyone about petting the 12 ft. alligator in the swamp. The plantation tour was so informative . It was just the icing on the cake for the day. Can't recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Destrehan Plantation and 6 passenger Airboat Combo

Anwar P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Anwar P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great value. Plenty of options. About 30 options included with this pass. Most cities only offer about 5

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

richard h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting but not a huge amount of history covered during tour. Felt we were given a slightly sanatised view of slavery and life on the plantation.
The aitboat ride however was awesome, I have been on a few of these type of tours and this was easily the best. Holding an alligator and feeding them as well was brilliant.

Doing what: Destrehan Plantation and 6 passenger Airboat Combo

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The small airboat was the way to go and we had an excellent captain. Gary had spent his life on and around the swamp and this was evident in his abundant knowledge. We had lots of laughs and enjoyed the peacefulness when the motor stopped running. Thank you Gary for your environmentalist views as well and the perfect tour

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Anna Marie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There and #39;s so many options available with this pass I wish there were more hours in a day. We really enjoyed the WW2 museum. The cooking class was a first for us; the chef was funny as well as informative, and then we got to enjoy the meal with a fun family visiting from MI. Saved $ did 10 things!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! Using New Orleans Power Pass we saw many attractions over the five day period that would have cost 290 per person. Out passes cost about 200 per person.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great experience in a group of only 7 of us.
The air boat ride was a highlight of our trip meeting our guide and driver/ pilot Garry who was fun and knowledgable, entertaining us with his local knowledge and very funny tales.
I would highly recommend the airboat tour, the plantation house is a must, it is an important part of this areas history.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Five star we had a great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

RONALD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It's the best way to see what you want when you want to! We don't have a negative thing to say about any of the items on the list. I would have preferred to do at least a 3-day pass. It would be well worth the money!!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Michael u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The swamp tour guide was very entertaining and informative. The plantation tour was also very nice. Madeleine was great as our tour host.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME!
Special Kudos to Madeleine and the local tour operator for taking such good care of us!

This tour is a long one with no meals available to buy, so bring snacks and water. Or do like some folks on our tour did and bring a cooler. The plantation and swamp adventure do not have anything more than sodas and candy, so if you don't want to go into diabetic shock, bring something to munch on in between tours.

The Destrehan Plantation was very interesting and if you're lucky enough to Candance as your Interpreter of History, you are in for a treat! I felt like we needed another 20 minutes at this location to go check out the grounds a little more and see the 1811 Slave Revolt exhibit after the official tour. But we were strapped for time and had to jump back in the van to head to our Swamp tour.

Swamp Adventures is super fun. Don't be surprised and squeal with fright, like I did when Levi the Gator sidles up to the boat as you are boarding it at the dock. Note...while I get the impression some of the gators who are named are like pets... they are not ... they are still wild animals. Rodney was our driver and he's super skilled at maneuvering this boat over and around tight spots. It was so amazing where he took us. And I love the feel of zooming around the swamp. Rodney also has a wicked sense of humor and totally got me when he put an alligator chick really close to my ear as I was looking at something else. I'm embarrassed to say that I screamed again, which caused the rest of the boat to scream as well since they didn't know what happened and we were all in a heightened sense of where is the gator or snake we thought we saw? We were of course, totally safe. Rodney was just messing with me. I loved it of course. And my mom totally jumped at the chance to hold the alligator chick she's braver than me.

You want to do this tour if you like history, nature and a little bit of adventure. Oh... and if you like boats and zooming around.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Jeanene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My family and I really enjoyed our day, Our tour guide Cat was the best! she has so much knowledge of the plantations we toured and the city of New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Gary was courteous and was able to show us a lot about the swamp. Joni and I had a great time and will do this again the next time we get down there. We were able to see gaters and a lot of birds. We also got to see several Nutrea.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Lily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our driver, Guy, was very informative and helpful, providing a lot of information about the area. He made this tour very informative and fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great way to view all the attractions

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour. The three plantations are a good sample of plantation life with Houmas House being the jewel. Anna, our driver, was very professional and gave us a good history of the New Orleans area and people. And she also suggested other places to see and things to do during our stay. I would definitely use Viator again.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour . Three very different plantations . Excellent knowledge by Giselle

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message