New Orleans' Garden District is the epitome of "Southern Charm". Plantation style mansions have wrap-around porches and verandas, where friends and family enjoy sweet tea and stories in the humid New Orleans climate. Streets are separated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 936 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great tour and the guide was great as well. We took a short bus ride to the garden district and the rest was a walking tour. I recommend tennis shoes or similar as the side walks are very uneven. There are two places to use a restroom on the tour and one stop for something to drink. Beautiful homes!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Magaly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lots of houses to see, saw a lot of celebraty houses

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Wslininger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were picked up at our hotel in the time frame promised and dropped off at the end of the tour at our hotel or other places in the French Quarter that we wanted. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable. He helped us understand the terms used in New Orleans and shared the history of the area. This a nice introduction to NOLA and helped us plan other touring that we wanted to do.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

bev.yoneshige

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a great way to learn about the city if you are there for only a few days! We had an excellent driver who was very knowledgeable and had some great stories.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the tour a bunch and our tour guide was funny and interesting. We did the tour on our first day and I'd recommend that as we got a great overview of the city and the history. I would have liked a bit longer at the first stop -- city park -- because it would have been nice to explore some.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Edward V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Having been to the French Quarter the past two trips, this time we explicitly wanted to see the Garden District. This tour did not disappoint. We saw sevral beautiful homes and even enjoyed going into one. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants to see the other side of NOLA.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Huraiyah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tour was interesting and informative

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Christina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I only had one day in New Orleans and wanted to capture as much as possible. This tour was great for getting an overall view of New Orleans and helped me to decide what areas I later wanted to visit. We had a stop where we could purchase beignets and they were delicious. The stop at the cemetery was fascinating with history and beautiful shrines and tombstones. I never thought I would want to visit a cemetery but this is something not to be missed. We drove through the garden district and saw beautiful mansions. We also drove through the area where Katrina was hit. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and at the end he asked each individual where they would like to be dropped off if they didn't want to go back to their hotels. It was a good price to be inside an air conditioned comfortable bus and enough time to cover a lot of ground. Thanks Viator for another great tour!

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this tour! Sandy was very knowledgeable and did a great job of explaining the history of the Garden district. We enojed seeing some celebrity homes, and touring one of the plantation homes.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Angela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide David was a blast. We rode all over the city, had beignets and were given all kinds of background on the buildings, parks and architecture. A must do if you visit NOLA.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Beverly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide, Ray, was great! The tour covered many areas of NOLA outside the French Quarter and was very informative. Small bus/van probably seats about 24 but we only had 10 on our tour, this made it easy to ask questions and quicker for everyone to get off/back on the bus at stops. Also, it is probably more maneuverable in the crowded streets and neighborhoods.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Laura D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

SOOOO worth the time and money!! We ended up having a private tour, unlike the other tours we saw peddling around town with a dozen or more people. Danny was amazing! So knowledgeable about the city and its history we learns so much! Everyone at Bullfrog Bike Tours was friendly and professional. We loved every minute of this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Angela K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great way to discover this area! Our tour guide, Marcia, was phenomenally well informed and interesting, covering a wide range of topics and answering our questions. We were transported from the easy to find gathering point and then had a leisurely but extended tour around the area. The highlight was the included tour of the inside of a mansion! We were also offered refreshments before our return journey. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a beautiful walking tour through the most beautiful part of the city. I enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Tammy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour guide was very good. This is a good tour.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

scboyer2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The 6th grade teacher/guide was knowledgeable and fun personality. Perhaps too long in cemetary and could have extended the neighborhood portion. Overall really enjoyed it!

Doing what: New Orleans Garden District and Lafayette Cemetery Tour

leslie.davidson0822

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great way to start out our trip. We were able to see much of the city and it helped us get our bearings. It would be nice if we were able to see out of the bus windows better, but all in all, it was great!

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a great tour lots of interesting facts about the town, informative entertaining, our guide was very knowledgeable about New Orleans I would recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Robin R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Judy was great. She knew all the details of the history of how the Garden District was settled, and filled us in all while the bus was getting us there and back. The tour was very nice, seeing the key homes in the area, and even the cemetery too.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Debra M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour was very good and our tour guide was very informative. We walked through part of the garden district and also visited the Lafayette Cemetery. If I could change anything, it would be to see a few more houses, and spend a little more time walking around the cemetery, altough I realize that might have made for a longer tour. Highly recommend this tour for an overview of the area.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This was a great tour to get a glimpse at what the city has to offer. Not much time spent at the places but left enough time in the day to go back to visit the places that you were interested in.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love walking tours because you get the feel of the city and learn about the history of the place. Got to pass by some houses of celebrities who owned homes in the famous garden district and enter some mansions. Also got to check out the cemeter. Since I love the Originals the TV show, this is where they shoot scenes so got a kick out of that. It was hot so dress appropriately. Definitely a must for first timers to New Orleans.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Shannon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Trip was good...just got caught in the horrible weather that came through the city on our visit so we didn't get to see as much as we would without the rain...Our guide was knowledgeable and gave us some great information about the things we got to see.

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Our driver/guide was both personable and informative. Gary brought NOLA to life with his sense of irony. His knowledge of Katrina was incredible and made it very realistic.

Doing what: New Orleans City Tour: Katrina, Garden District, French Quarter, Graveyard

Hattie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. I have visited New Orleans twice previously, but had not gone on the city tour. The Tour Guide was professional, friendly, and had a wealth of information he shared about the city. This city has a lot of history, good bad and the ugly. However, the good
definitely out weighs the bad. I would highly recommend this tour to ours!

Doing what: Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message