New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Lafayette Cemetery

Few other places on earth can claim a cemetery as both an interesting tourist destination and a cultural icon. New Orleans’ elevation is technically a negative number, so the early settlers to the area had trouble with the bodies of their recently ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 579 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

phillipswin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour. Bond was our tour guide, she was very informative. Loved the history build up to each story..

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Carol was a very thorough guide and gave us a great tour!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Betsy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Danny was a great guide explaining the history of the city with a good sense of humor! Highly recommend this tour group and be sure to request Danny.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Bailey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was really great! I loved the history that our guide included in his stories. It was a fun way to see the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a relaxing and very informative tour for those seeking to learn about New Orleans history. The guide Daniel, did an excellent job in his delivery and interesting facts. Actually visited inside one of the mansions and walked past many more with long interesting history. Additionally, there are celebrity homes, cemetery stop, and a mid point coffee stop. Overall, our entire group felt this was time well spent!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

CHRISTIANE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Un bon moyen de visiter les alentours du French corner. Ces endroits oubliés par les touristes méritent le détour. Dommage qu'une version en Français ne soit pas disponible, c'était tout de même un langue très utilisée à l'époque. pourquoi ne pas perpétuer cette tradition ?

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide did an excellent job. She was very informative and entertaining -- even in the rain!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Gavin Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Cindy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Danny was fabulous! So knowledgeable.
A real life experience. Will recommend to everyone.
Thanks so much.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Taylor Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! We were debating whether to visit the garden district on our own or with a tour, but I'm really glad we did the tour! Our guide, Sheila, was fantastic. She knew all sorts of details and was a wealth of information. For example, when we visited Lafayette Cemetery, we learned a lot of things about individual graves and who they contained such as John Howard Ferguson from Plessy v. Ferguson that gave us an appreciation we would otherwise have lost on our own.

Besides the cemetery, the other highlights included seeing the houses of John Goodman and Sandra Bullock. We also got to go inside one of the older houses and tour around it.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

megancloherty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was so hot, but the bike tour was the perfect thing because we got to see the city with a breeze. our tour guide Danny was very knowledgeable, funny and answered our random questions. Ran into a few people from the group later that day and grabbed a drink on Bourbon Street! Helmets and bikes provided. Even got Popsicles at the end. I highly recommend this tour that included a stop for a snack and sit in City Park.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative Guide was excellent

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thanks to Danny for a brilliant experience . A nice relaxed tour of this magnificent place . Also learnt a great deal about the history of New Orleans and as it was my first time here this added to my whole time .

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Brenda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time with an excellent tour guide. It is a great way to see the city!!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

dpile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Our guide Trish was extremely nice and informative. Loved it!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were in NOLA for a girls' weekend and we made this tour part of it. So happy we did. Saw a lot of historical and famous homes and learned a lot about the burial process. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Peggy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely ask for Daniel! He was amazing and so knowledgeable! He made sure every stop was in the shade which was great! Best tour we had in New Orleans!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was Marsha. She was very knowledgeable about each house and provided details that brought the house to life. She also had knowledge of the surroundings which provided context to what we were seeing and why it was there.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rob was our guide and went at a good pace, We were the only two for the trip and he still went. He got a flat tire but kept his cool, secured another bike and we were off again. The city park was stunning with a nice break inside the café. This is a GREAT way to explore the city, I would recommend this

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Jill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Your was amazing. Kati at Laura has such passion for the history and Joe at Oak Alley is knowledgeable and funny. Both are a credit to the history they present. Naji, our driver stretched the time with her to show us as much as possible. She was great. Highly recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

pbalcerak0121

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Daniel was fun informative and patient. It was one hot day and he made sure we stopped in shade. Would suggest smaller group for this type tour. 16 or less

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Kendria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour by Danny. It was fun and we loved learning all about the history of the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message