New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Lafayette Cemetery

Few other places on earth can claim a cemetery as both an interesting tourist destination and a cultural icon. New Orleans’ elevation is technically a negative number, so the early settlers to the area had trouble with the bodies of their recently ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 591 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gabriel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 stars. Nancy did a wonderful job as our tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and really seemed to enjoy telling us all the history of New Orleans. She did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was absolutely the greatest! We had a wonderful time and learned so much.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I've learned so much during this tour! Wow!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

louise m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fantastic - a great way to see the city in a short period of time. Our guide John shared some interesting and fun historical facts about New Orleans. This is a must do!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

knowledgeable and enjoyable tour guide

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

thomas m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it, would do it again

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Ruth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite being the only two on this tour and in the pouring rain! our friendly well-informed guide made it a very good experience for us. Do try this - you get to see and hear a lot.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Stacey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked all our tours trough Viator over a five week stint and this one was one of my favourites. So much history, authentic information as I googled it later on. The guide was passionate and so knowledgable and we learnt so much about New Orleans in only a two hour period. IT IS A MUST DO

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

dabrst

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do for anyone who loves historical homes. Sandy, our tour guide, made the tour enjoyable with her knowledge of the area and New Orleans.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Corey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Learned a lot. Guide was excellent. Beautiful area of the city and worth seeing.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

John G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

phillipswin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour. Bond was our tour guide, she was very informative. Loved the history build up to each story..

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Carol was a very thorough guide and gave us a great tour!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Betsy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Danny was a great guide explaining the history of the city with a good sense of humor! Highly recommend this tour group and be sure to request Danny.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Bailey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was really great! I loved the history that our guide included in his stories. It was a fun way to see the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a relaxing and very informative tour for those seeking to learn about New Orleans history. The guide Daniel, did an excellent job in his delivery and interesting facts. Actually visited inside one of the mansions and walked past many more with long interesting history. Additionally, there are celebrity homes, cemetery stop, and a mid point coffee stop. Overall, our entire group felt this was time well spent!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

CHRISTIANE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Un bon moyen de visiter les alentours du French corner. Ces endroits oubliés par les touristes méritent le détour. Dommage qu'une version en Français ne soit pas disponible, c'était tout de même un langue très utilisée à l'époque. pourquoi ne pas perpétuer cette tradition ?

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide did an excellent job. She was very informative and entertaining -- even in the rain!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Gavin Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Cindy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Danny was fabulous! So knowledgeable.
A real life experience. Will recommend to everyone.
Thanks so much.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Taylor Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! We were debating whether to visit the garden district on our own or with a tour, but I'm really glad we did the tour! Our guide, Sheila, was fantastic. She knew all sorts of details and was a wealth of information. For example, when we visited Lafayette Cemetery, we learned a lot of things about individual graves and who they contained such as John Howard Ferguson from Plessy v. Ferguson that gave us an appreciation we would otherwise have lost on our own.

Besides the cemetery, the other highlights included seeing the houses of John Goodman and Sandra Bullock. We also got to go inside one of the older houses and tour around it.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

megancloherty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was so hot, but the bike tour was the perfect thing because we got to see the city with a breeze. our tour guide Danny was very knowledgeable, funny and answered our random questions. Ran into a few people from the group later that day and grabbed a drink on Bourbon Street! Helmets and bikes provided. Even got Popsicles at the end. I highly recommend this tour that included a stop for a snack and sit in City Park.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative Guide was excellent

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message