New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1058 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful and informative tour. We got to hear about plantation life and see the furnishings of two very different plantations. Our guide, Logan, at Laura Plantation told us stories that were so interesting it made us want to learn more. Our driver picked us up right on time and gave us information about the city all the way out to the plantations and back again. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Maureen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We so enjoyed our time in New Orleans but this tour was the highlight of our trip. This tour is well worth the cost! Ellen our well informed guide was tops! No alligators to see but our Swamp Boat Captain provided us with a great understanding of the real Swamp People - much different than portrayed on TV.. The plantation tours were both interesting and diverse and again our guides were very well informed. Lunch was beyond expectations. Book it!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Buster D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the 2nd time I have done this tour and it never dissapoints. The air boat ride is great and the alligator came rigt up to the boat. The meal at Oak Alley is fantastic. I would recomend this tour for all ages.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip! The bus ride was very comfortable and enjoyable. Plenty of time to look around the grounds and get something to eat. Would highly recommend going this way.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Janice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome tour! Guy was a great driver/guide. We enjoyed our experience very much.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Theresa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour grouping - the tour guides at each of the three stops were very informative swamp airboat tour, Oak Alley Plantation and Laura Plantation. The lunch at Oak Alley was lovely - a full day very well spent - would highly recommend this package tour deal!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lzieska

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! We did the air boat excursion and loved it. Captain Dufresne was a lot of fun and a great guide. I've never understood swamps, but thought an air boat would be fun. Imagine my surprise when I fell in love with the swamp. It's a beautiful, magical place.
The plantations are beautiful. The Laura Plantation, in particular, is great. Our guide, Stephan, was amazing! The whole story, family drama, and plantation history was brought to vivid life. They are doing some really great work there and I hope to come back to see how much more they have renovated and brought back to life. Lovely tour that lets you get out and see more than just the city. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

John Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour. Our driver/guide, Guy, provided a lot of information about the areas we were visiting and the history of the area. The only warning I'd have for anyone doing this trip is the length of the drives to the swamp boats and then back to the hotel from the plantations. Each took over an hour but Guy did an excellent job of keeping us engaged and making the time pass. The swamp boat ride was informative and relaxing. The bayou is beautiful. Our visit to the first plantation, Oak Alley, included a lunch which was very good. The tour and the property was interesting with avery good docent but for some reason they had a very large group which barely fit into some of the rooms. The second plantation, Laura, was a completely different experience, not nearly as luxurious a building, but a very engaging history of the family that lived here. This tour size was limited to just our tour group which allowed for a lot more interaction. Our docent at Laura, Rose, was excellent. A totally enjoyable day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guides were knowledgable and entertaining pacing of tours was well thought out.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Kimberly D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a full day of fun. The swamp boat ride was beautiful and the tour guide funny and informative. I wish this part had lasted a little longer. The lunch at the plantation was delicious and as I don and #39;t eat spicy food they happily brought me a wonderful alternative. The plantations were grrat.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Colette F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Giselle was brilliant. All the guides were knowledgable and enjoyed sharing it with us. The food was lovely. Many thanks Colette

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Leona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely unbelievable. I thought it was a little expensive when I paid for it. But from the pick up, the swamp tour and the tour of 2 completely separate plantations as well as the driver giving plenty of Louisiana information, I felt I very much got my monies worth.
The driver and all 3 other tour guides were excellent, knowledgeable and informative and I have recommended Isabelle tours to everyone I know.

Absolutely superb.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

AMHarris99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was worth the price!!! We had a great day with our guide/driver Billy. The lunch at Oak Alley was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guy was an awesome tour guide...wonderful and informative swamp tour...good timing clean washrooms comfortable tour bus..the Oaks was spectacular! Great day all around...we will be back and use Tours by Isabelle again...

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Alan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour from the bus driver to the house tour guides. The grounds are beautiful. One of the highlights of our trip. Would definitely would this trip again.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Edward P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The two plantations were very interesting and provided a lot of knowledge about the lives of individuals who owned and occupied them. However, for me, the best part was the swamp boat adventure. It was totally fantastic. You got to ride in a high speed air boat and saw plenty of alligators and our boat driver Gary, was a lot of fun and very entertaining.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgeable guide, interesting drive to bayou for boat trip, wildlife all around, rain ponchos for sudden showers, southern lunch, plantation tours with family background. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Teresa J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love it!! It was an amazing experience,I highly recommend it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Emelia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would recommend this tour company to anyone! They were prompt, friendly, and knew the area well. The tours themselves were amazing! Memories that I will have forever!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One word, GREAT. Our driver Gerald was one of the best, his knowledge of New Orleans in itself, made ride seem so short, never dull. The plantation was amazing with very knowledgeable staff

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing plus Oak Alley Plantation Tour

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my first time booking a tour through Viator with Tours by Isabelle. They were very easy to work with. I had booked the tour on line before going to New Orleans. Just before leaving I checked to see if the trip was had the minimum passengers signed up for the trip to be a go. At that time it was only myself and my granddaughter. So for me it looked like maybe that trip might be cancelled. So I ask if there was another trip going that week and if there was room for 2 more and there was. So we were added to the other trip day.
The tour was awesome!! Billy our guide was great! He was on time picking everyone up and very friendly and informative.
The tour started out with a trip to the Cajun Country, where we had a boat tour through the back bayous and saw and fed alligators. Next we visited Oak Alley Plantation with their stunning 300 year old alley of Oak trees, where we had lunch and a guided tour the house and were able to walk grounds. It was beautiful. Our next stop before heading back to our hotels, was a guided tour of Laura Plantation. This was a Creole Plantation that has a rich and unique history, from the home and of the women that ran it.
The tour was well worth it, about my teenage granddaughter and I enjoyed it very much. I do recommend Tours by Isabelle and using Viator for booking the tours. Good prices and very friendly and helpful people.

Visited August 2016

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was awesome!! Billy our guide was great! He was on time picking everyone up and very friendly and informative.
The tour started out with a trip to the Cajun Country, where we had a boat tour through the back bayous and saw and fed alligators. Next we visited Oak Alley Plantation with their stunning 300 year old alley of Oak trees, where we had lunch and a guided tour the house and were able to walk grounds. It was beautiful. Our next stop before heading back to our hotels, was a guided tour of Laura Plantation. This was a Creole Plantation that has a rich and unique history, from the home and of the women that ran it.
The tour was well worth it, about my teenage granddaughter and I enjoyed it very much. I do recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip. Jerry did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Charles B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was very informative and eye opening. To hear the history of the plantations and walk through them was a amazing experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message