New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

loro411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip through the everglades was exceptional. Our swamp boat operator and guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, and full of first hand experience and stories. Anyone going to Cajun country should take a trip through the swamps to get a feel for where the traditions and local stories come from.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

JOHN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is as life like as you can get. Everything there is true examples on how hard the work was for everyone.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Fernando M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fun and educative. My family is very pleased with it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great time. Took our pre-teen boys and they really loved the airboat swamp tour. The plantations we visited were good. nice we got to see 2 of them with quite a contrast oak alley and laura plantation. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Our lead tour guide was Joseph - wow is he a fount of information! He really knows his stuff! Be aware if going on the swamp tour in November - or any of the cooler months - you won't see alligators or turtles. But, you will be out on the water and learn a lot of interesting facts about the local area and the wildlife. The tour of the two plantations are very well done - guides are extremely knowledgeable and informed. Extremely interesting history. The lunch they provide at Oak Alley is quite good. Salad, soups, red beans and rice, smoked sausage, baked chicken, corn, peas, bread and butter, and for dessert, cheesecake and bread pudding. There is a cash bar where you can order cocktails, or iced tea, lemonade and coffee are offered complimentary with lunch. There is a great gift shop at Oak Alley and also at Laura where you can get some neat items. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ebogan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Picked up on time, very interesting and well explained. Had a fabulous guide at Laura Plantation Katie. We used to live in NOLA but were unaware of this important piece of history. Also had great communication from Viator prior to trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excelllent tours and a great guide made the experience terrific

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Suhey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We went during the month of October and had the best time ever! Ellen was a wonderful guide, and extremely knowledgeable about the region and the plantations. It was an amazing time, I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Harold O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very informative and accommodating. It was a good trip.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

David was fantastic, friendly tour guide with tons of interesting tidbits of trivia and info to share along the way our journey to each of the plantations. The airboat ride through the bayou swamp was a hilarious hoot with Captain Gary at the helm. We had a memorable visit to Louisiana, and this tour was one of the highlights, well worth the effort and time.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleasant and informative tour led by Gisele. She is very passionate about her adopted city and supplied very interesting information in a very charming manner. Pick up was on time. The van was comfortable. Mike worked well. Zisele also brought city maps and statistics regarding Katrina, that were just stunning and helped to understand how the tragedy had happen and why there was so much destruction and so many victims. This tour is listed as plantations tour, but we had learned a lot about the history of New Orleans and creole culture from Gisele. Tours of the plantations were led by professional guides who work for those museums. Both guides were good.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Martha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fun day for the family. We love the fact that we were picked up from our hotel. We were able to see one Alligator, my boys (12 and 9) loved it.We were able to see lots of birds as well. Lunch was delicious! Lots of local treats. It is very interesting to see two unique plantations. Learned lots!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

hili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was wonderful!!! Comfortable vehicle, a great tour guide- Allan, full of knowledge and patience. The sights were beautiful and interesting and the meal was very good. We had a lovely day and I highly recommend.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Cathy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great day tour, our tour guide was very entertaining. Laura plantation is so rich in history, Oak Valley is absolutely beautiful. Lunch served at Oak valley was delicious and definitely recommend it. We did not get to see many gators in the swamp but the views are worth it.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Kenn1230

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! The antebellum plantations were a sight to see for me, Oak Alley was the crown jewel between the two!. If you are visiting New Orleans, this should be on your short list of things to do!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Ryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Swamp tour was brilliant, great guide, the plantations were very informative and great scenery.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

marlynsalinas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was amazing, the guide was so knowledgeable and made the bus ride seem short with all his info and stories along the way both to and from the plantation. The plantation itself was absolutely beautiful and the tour was great and really informative, I feel like we almost didn't have enough time to wander the property but the time we did have was great. I recommend getting a mint julep while there! Would definitely do this tour again!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Floriane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Muriel was our guide and she has got a very good knowledge of the region and history of Cajun. She explained a lot of different things on the way to the swamp boat tour. I was on my own so this tour was perfect for me. The little bus was very comfortable. The small group size is ideal for this type of tour. The food at the Plantation was very nice. The 2 plantations are complementary as they are very different to each others. I would have liked to spend a bit more time on the Oak Valley plantation to spend more time on the slave exhibition. I felt I had to follow the group willing to move on to the other plantation.
It was interesting to see the Bayou and outside New Orleans. This is a must to do if you have a full day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

nichole m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. So glad I booked it. Captain Mike was great, our tour guide and driver extraordinaire Kat was amazing. Loved the plantations. The oaks were so majestic and the bourbon twist was Devine. Laura plantations history was intriguing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Stacy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great Trip. Great Guides. SUPER FANTASTIC DRIVER JERRY!!! Very talented and sure knows a lot. Only negative was finding the number online and then getting chastised by the owner saying it was her personal phone and to call another number. My suggestion is take your personal phone off the internet available to interested patrons. Other wise a great day! Thank you.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Lois B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The small group for this tour was a bonus. Both plantations were memorable in their own way.
I would just recommend that the van driver talk less going to and returning from the sights.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing day spent learning about the fascinating history of the New Orleans area. The air boat tour was a blast, and the deep knowledge of the tour guide was really enlightening. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ashleigh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome all day tour! Swamp Boat captain was lovely and definitely knew his stuff! The plantations were also a must see. Beautiful and historic. All in all, a really fun day!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Vincent B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Muriel was great. Throughout the tour she shared New Orleans and Louisiana history with our group that made the trip very rewarding -- adding a lot of context to the plantation tours. The swamp tour was enjoyable and a lot of fun -- seeing the bayou first-hand.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message