New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1048 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lzieska

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! We did the air boat excursion and loved it. Captain Dufresne was a lot of fun and a great guide. I've never understood swamps, but thought an air boat would be fun. Imagine my surprise when I fell in love with the swamp. It's a beautiful, magical place.
The plantations are beautiful. The Laura Plantation, in particular, is great. Our guide, Stephan, was amazing! The whole story, family drama, and plantation history was brought to vivid life. They are doing some really great work there and I hope to come back to see how much more they have renovated and brought back to life. Lovely tour that lets you get out and see more than just the city. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

John Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour. Our driver/guide, Guy, provided a lot of information about the areas we were visiting and the history of the area. The only warning I'd have for anyone doing this trip is the length of the drives to the swamp boats and then back to the hotel from the plantations. Each took over an hour but Guy did an excellent job of keeping us engaged and making the time pass. The swamp boat ride was informative and relaxing. The bayou is beautiful. Our visit to the first plantation, Oak Alley, included a lunch which was very good. The tour and the property was interesting with avery good docent but for some reason they had a very large group which barely fit into some of the rooms. The second plantation, Laura, was a completely different experience, not nearly as luxurious a building, but a very engaging history of the family that lived here. This tour size was limited to just our tour group which allowed for a lot more interaction. Our docent at Laura, Rose, was excellent. A totally enjoyable day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guides were knowledgable and entertaining pacing of tours was well thought out.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Kimberly D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a full day of fun. The swamp boat ride was beautiful and the tour guide funny and informative. I wish this part had lasted a little longer. The lunch at the plantation was delicious and as I don and #39;t eat spicy food they happily brought me a wonderful alternative. The plantations were grrat.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Colette F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Giselle was brilliant. All the guides were knowledgable and enjoyed sharing it with us. The food was lovely. Many thanks Colette

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Leona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely unbelievable. I thought it was a little expensive when I paid for it. But from the pick up, the swamp tour and the tour of 2 completely separate plantations as well as the driver giving plenty of Louisiana information, I felt I very much got my monies worth.
The driver and all 3 other tour guides were excellent, knowledgeable and informative and I have recommended Isabelle tours to everyone I know.

Absolutely superb.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

AMHarris99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was worth the price!!! We had a great day with our guide/driver Billy. The lunch at Oak Alley was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guy was an awesome tour guide...wonderful and informative swamp tour...good timing clean washrooms comfortable tour bus..the Oaks was spectacular! Great day all around...we will be back and use Tours by Isabelle again...

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Alan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour from the bus driver to the house tour guides. The grounds are beautiful. One of the highlights of our trip. Would definitely would this trip again.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Edward P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The two plantations were very interesting and provided a lot of knowledge about the lives of individuals who owned and occupied them. However, for me, the best part was the swamp boat adventure. It was totally fantastic. You got to ride in a high speed air boat and saw plenty of alligators and our boat driver Gary, was a lot of fun and very entertaining.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgeable guide, interesting drive to bayou for boat trip, wildlife all around, rain ponchos for sudden showers, southern lunch, plantation tours with family background. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Teresa J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love it!! It was an amazing experience,I highly recommend it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Emelia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would recommend this tour company to anyone! They were prompt, friendly, and knew the area well. The tours themselves were amazing! Memories that I will have forever!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One word, GREAT. Our driver Gerald was one of the best, his knowledge of New Orleans in itself, made ride seem so short, never dull. The plantation was amazing with very knowledgeable staff

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing plus Oak Alley Plantation Tour

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my first time booking a tour through Viator with Tours by Isabelle. They were very easy to work with. I had booked the tour on line before going to New Orleans. Just before leaving I checked to see if the trip was had the minimum passengers signed up for the trip to be a go. At that time it was only myself and my granddaughter. So for me it looked like maybe that trip might be cancelled. So I ask if there was another trip going that week and if there was room for 2 more and there was. So we were added to the other trip day.
The tour was awesome!! Billy our guide was great! He was on time picking everyone up and very friendly and informative.
The tour started out with a trip to the Cajun Country, where we had a boat tour through the back bayous and saw and fed alligators. Next we visited Oak Alley Plantation with their stunning 300 year old alley of Oak trees, where we had lunch and a guided tour the house and were able to walk grounds. It was beautiful. Our next stop before heading back to our hotels, was a guided tour of Laura Plantation. This was a Creole Plantation that has a rich and unique history, from the home and of the women that ran it.
The tour was well worth it, about my teenage granddaughter and I enjoyed it very much. I do recommend Tours by Isabelle and using Viator for booking the tours. Good prices and very friendly and helpful people.

Visited August 2016

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was awesome!! Billy our guide was great! He was on time picking everyone up and very friendly and informative.
The tour started out with a trip to the Cajun Country, where we had a boat tour through the back bayous and saw and fed alligators. Next we visited Oak Alley Plantation with their stunning 300 year old alley of Oak trees, where we had lunch and a guided tour the house and were able to walk grounds. It was beautiful. Our next stop before heading back to our hotels, was a guided tour of Laura Plantation. This was a Creole Plantation that has a rich and unique history, from the home and of the women that ran it.
The tour was well worth it, about my teenage granddaughter and I enjoyed it very much. I do recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip. Jerry did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Charles B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was very informative and eye opening. To hear the history of the plantations and walk through them was a amazing experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Monisha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super fun day out! Our host was very friendly and informative. The swamp tour was great and we managed to saw three gators which was very cool. The plantation houses, and lunch at Oak Alley, was spectacular! I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Cynthia K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Billy was a great driver and guide. He transported us safely with a descriptive, informative summary of our surroundings as we travelled. He got us to each predetermined spot ON TIME and back to our hotel on schedule!
The swamp tour was so relaxing!! Brian was a great guide and pointed out gators, birds, turtles, and many interesting sites in the bayous and swamp areas.
We really enjoyed the Oak Alley and Laura plantations. Both tour guides there were exceptional, and lunch at Oak Alley was outstanding!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Melina was very knowledgeable and was fun as a tour guide. The swamp boat adventure was awesome! Guide was very informative and we saw several alligators. Plantation tours were informative preferred the Laura plantation tour over the Oak Alley however, Oak Alley view is spectacular.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

dabrst

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife who was afraid of air boats wanted to extend her swamp boat adventure. Why? Because David the swamp boat captain knew the history of the bayous and alligators by name. David is the real swamp person. The lunch at the Oak Alley Plantation was delicious. Our tour guide, Renee, at the Laura Plantation had the knowledge and passion to transport the tour group back in time.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

ralph.schmidt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a really special experience! Our guide, Billy, had a wide knowledge and a real passion for his city. The swamp tour was very interesting. We saw 6-8 alligators and learned facts about alligators and information about alligator farming and laws about hunting and farming alligators. We then proceeded to Oak Alley plantation where we started with a good Cajun lunch, followed by a tour of the beautiful plantation. we then went to Laura plantation, which we enjoyed even more than Oak Alley. The history of the family and their treatment of the slaves was eye-opening. This was the highlight of our visit.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. Everyone from our bus driver to every staff person at the plantation was friendly and very informative. If you want a look back at life during and after slavery this is a great opportunity to see it. My only complaint was the drive was definitely longer than was said on the site but it was not horrible because of info and scenery.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Lyle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message