New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

St Louis Cemetery

The St. Louis Cemetery, New Orleans’ most famous resting place, is actually made up of three cemeteries. More than 100,000 bodies lie in Saint Louis Cemetery #1, which takes up just one square block between St. Louis and Conti streets just outside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shannon E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the private tour of the St Louis Cemetery. The guide was knowledgeable and quite creative in his delivery. He efficiently moved us through and answered our questions with confidence and entertainment. Thanks Richard from Two Chicks tours! Would absolutely book your services for another trip to New Orleans.

Doing what: St Louis Cemetery Tour

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Dave was a wonderful tour guide - he clearly loves Louisiana and, in particular, New Orleans. It comes through in his enthusiastic delivery of stories, myths, and facts about the city. It was a fun ride through the streets of New Orleans, the French Quarter, Marigny, a cemetery, as well as a ride through City Park, and a stop for coffee and beignets. I highly recommend a bike tour as a way to see New Orleans!
Betty

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

lc31382

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Our tour guide was a retired reporter for the newspaper in New Orleans and gave a great presentation of the St. Louis No. 1 Cemetary.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Michell L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! Very informative. Our tour guide was named Robi. The tour happened in the St Louis Cemetsry Number 1. It was not really about voodoo except to discuss Marie Laveaux but was still good.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Tim T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thank you Wendy! All though it was extremely cold the tour was very interesting. I learned about the history of Louisiana's French Quarter. It was really cool =)

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Michelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a great way to see New Orleans Cemeteries. Since the timing of St. Louis #1 changed to open later we were able to see both St. Louis #2 and St. Louis #1. The tour itself isn't primarily focused on voodoo so don't let that aspect stop you from taking the tour if that isn't your thing.

Our guide Michael was interesting and informative and we also got some city history as well. The cemeteries were amazing to see in person!

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

ANNETTA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this tour if you're interested in St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 history as well as the French Quarter.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We truly enjoyed our walking tour of Saint Louis Cemetery in New Orleans. The gentleman who was our guide was full of not only cemetery knowledge but added so much color commentary about New Orleans and its rich history. If you enjoy history and are as fascinated with historical artifacts and markers, you'll love it.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Catherine I

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great. You need to take a tour to get into the St. Louis Cemetery. It really isn't a voodoo tour. so that is a little misleading. But our guide, Midge was great. I definitely recommend going on the tour to see the cemetery.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

simspanoo

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very cool stories about some of the graves at the Saint Louis Cemetery 1. Experienced a very cool side to New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

zarah j

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

even though the st. louis cemetery 1was the tiniest of all the other cemeteries, we still got a history/information-packed tour

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

menus67

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We went with Sandy to St Louis cemetery 1 on a beautiful cloudy day. They were doing lots of construction work around the area, and it was a little hard to hear our guide. She was very knowledgable about burial practices in New Orleans and had a great, dry sense of humor, but sometimes we just simply couldn't hear her. Being inside the cemetery was very interesting and we learned a lot. There was not much information about VooDoo, but it was a very cool tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Al

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was most informative. He was very knowledgeable and gave us a thorough overview of the history of St. Louis #1 cemetery, as well as New Orleans. If you are more interested in voodoo, however, there was very little interest in this particular tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Adrian D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

This is worth doing. I'm a Louisiana native and didn't know all the stuff they told us! Just do it in cool months, it's a lot of walking.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

ralph.schmidt

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The city tour part of the tour was worthwhile. Our guide, Rene, has a good knowledge of the city. He was very accommodating dropping us on Canal St so we had a short walk to our restaurant. The cemetery part of the tour was lacking. It was a very short visit to St. Louis Cemetery 3. A more extended visit to one of the more famous cemeteries would has made tour special.

Doing what: New Orleans City and Cemetery Sightseeing Tour

Michelle F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour was full of information. LOTS of information. I felt that I learned a lot about American History just from an hour's walk through St. Louis Cemetery Number 1 in New Orleans...and that's pretty awesome. You learned a lot about the practices in the above ground cemeteries, and how the dead are handled. You learn about prominent figures in New Orleans and how they contributed to the history of the city and the country. You even get to see Nicolas Cage's eventual tomb. Pretty cool stuff. However, the tour fell short in one MAJOR area. It's called the New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour, but I would have to say that it's about 98% cemetery, and 2% voodoo. I tried to do my research and reading before I my vacation to New Orleans, and I seemed to get that that there was a rich history full of stories around the Voodoo aspects of the area and the rituals that some of the people practiced. Sadly, the only Voodoo we got on this tour was passing by the tomb of Marie LeVeau. Sure, we got her history of her Catholic upbringing, and her marriages, and the disappearance of her husband. But, that was as much Voodoo as my tour got. I kind of got the feeling that our tour guide, a very sweet silver-haired southern lady, didn't approve of discussing Voodoo and steered the tour away from any discussion of it. In fact, anytime anyone asked a question about the practices, she dismissed them as "tourist stories". Personally, I'd be interested in knowing those "tourist stories" since 1) I was a tourist, and 2) to know the difference between the tourist story and reality. I'm certainly going to visit NOLA again, and I'm certain to take another Cemetery and Voodoo tour, but I will be looking for a different tour guide that will at least better ratio of Voodoo to Cemetary. Sorry, but I just can't suggest to anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message