New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Steamboat Natchez

Experience New Orleans from the Mississippi River with a scenic cruise on the historic Steamboat Natchez. Take a two-hour cruise from the heart of the French Quarter that takes you back in time to the atmosphere of the Old South while enjoying a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1908 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kent Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Natchez cruise was great. I would recommend anyone traveling to New Orleans to take a cruise on the Natchez. It last 2 hours, and it is entertaining. We enjoyed the brunch, it was delicious.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip,,we had a beautiful day,, guide was informative,, Bloody Mary Great!!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

jack.schofield1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I am registered blind so can't tell you about the sights I saw as I didn't. But the service of the people on board we brilliant with me and looked after me. Thankyou

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Shannon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the cruise. It moves very slowly, of course, which my teenage boys were not thrilled about, but that is the nature of the boat. It was informative and relaxing. I would also recommend springing for the lunch. The food was delicious and well worth the small price.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

cmcmahon0711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great way to learn the history of the area. Great time and would recommend
to ones going to the area.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

VICENTE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The dinner cruise is excellent. Variety of good foods and drinks.
Good music. Very good experience.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Marshall T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip, everything was available to all passengers, drinks, food, listening to a live jazz band and a visit to the engine room. worth every penny / dollar. Definitely a steam boat. Great information / narrative given through out the cruise would recommend to all young or old.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Kathryn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The calliope and steam horn took us back in time. The drinks were exceptional.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Brian D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The boat was great, able to walk around and see the engine room in operation, great to see a live steamboat with a working paddlewheel still in action. The food was nothing to be excited about, just about what you would expect from a buffet. Our server couldn't seem to remember to bring anything to drink to the table. Even asking each time she came to the table she would never return with drinks. Now, the band. They were great, apparently they've been playing on this boat for a long time. We were lucky to have good weather warm in December which enabled them to play outside on the deck. Great sounds! Be sure to arrive early to watch the steam organ playing on the top deck while they prepare to board passengers. The music from the organ reverberates from the buildings nearby and can be heard all through town. A great experience not to be missed!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Andrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Booking was a breeze and no problems getting tickets and getting on board. But i would skip dinner food and selection are not worth it on a boat and just take a boat ride. But being from New York, i would say you only will get boat ride experience on the steamboat as there is really nothing to see while it is sailing down the river.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kurt S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The cruise itself is a good time and we all felt was well worth the money. Relaxing, informative and entertaining. He one issue we have is with the ticketing process. Buying tickets online and selecting e-tickets should be the end of the process. However....and this isn't clear in he instructions when you buy online, you must use that voucher to check in and get a paper ticket. This is a waste of time. The systems for purchasing tickets should be better integrated, much like purchasing airline tickets. There is a sigh at the dock with instructions, but it is a singular sign near the start of the rope line which is WAY too late for those who have stood in line for 30-45 minutes along the esplanade. If the systems cannot be better integrated, make the instructions extra clear on the website and make it a notice that must be acknowledged upon purchase that the voucher must be turned in for the real tickets with a time window when that process can be done. Lastly, post more signs as people walk up and farther down the esplanade so that guests realize they need to have a certain ticket and not their voucher to ride.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Lea S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was amazing and so was Jude. Interesting, fun facts about the city. A little more time in the sculpture garden would have been nice, but understand we needed to catch the boat!!! Beautiful, relaxing, enjoyed delicious bloody Marys while learning about New Orleans and the Natchez!!

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great loved it .

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Denny C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The cruise events were well organized. The scenery is good but not great. I would say the same thing about the dinner the food was good, but not great. Service at dinner was excellent with the exception of one grumpy lady serving the gumbo at the serving line.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Gavin O

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Whilst the Steamboat Natchez Cruise is apparently a must do in New Orleans the boat and entertainment were OK but the scenery was pretty ordinary.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Helga D

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

just OK. the band doesn't play inside where you eat. food was good. better value just to take the cruise without the meal.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Carole

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Nothing special about the tour and food, but worth doing as these boats are such a big part of the Mississippi history. Be mindful that it can get really cold on the boat chilly and windy.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Harriett D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We were a group of eight, arrived early - had second seating. We were stuck at the end of the dining area. We were the last table called and there was not enough food. When we complained to a woman in charge .... she said not to worry- there was enough food for everyone. There was not and nothing was done about it. Good band.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kimberly P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I did not enjoy myself. Paid almost 500 dollars for my husband and myself and two sons and wives. Food was nothing special and boat could use and update. All I have to compare to is the General Jackson in Tennennsee, which was a delight and very tasteful

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kimberly P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not worth the money

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Darcy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The music was great, the food was wonderful, and the view was amazing! We really enjoyed the cruise and learning more about the area.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great way to spend the afternoon. The ship's crew was especially friendly, including Gina the ship's hostess. One note of warning while in the area waiting to board...beware of the scammers out on the pier who just start polishing your shoes and then demand pay. They can be very pushy and aggressive.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

TM United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Entertaining cruise for 2 hours down the Mississippi River and back. The jazz orchestra was excellent and provided a relaxing background on the return portion. On the first portion, the narration was informative, but at times hard to hear. Unfortunately, while on our cruise the weather was unseasonably cold, so we spent the majority of our time inside, but the drinks were good and the food looked good we did not participate in the lunch option.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really good time. We got to tour the steamship, see the river at night and dinner was very good (much better than I expected). The river boat staff was very professional and kind. Price was more than reasonable. Round highly recommend.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message