New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Steamboat Natchez

Experience New Orleans from the Mississippi River with a scenic cruise on the historic Steamboat Natchez. Take a two-hour cruise from the heart of the French Quarter that takes you back in time to the atmosphere of the Old South while enjoying a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1927 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an excellent tour. The staff are extremely nice and friendly. The food was wonderful so spend the extra money to eat on board! We really enjoyed this activity. A big thanks to Gina who shared some tips with us for our upcoming cruise. She had just taken the same cruise recently.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Tom A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great way to get an overview of New Orleans! Easy to convert vouchers to tickets, and friendly, knowledgeable Grayline customer service, Both the city tour and paddle boat, Natchez tour guides were informative and personable. Thank you Viator for partnering with excellent touring vendors.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was my favorite thing to do. The dinner was very good and the trip on the steamboat was amazing. We got to see a lot of things that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. Also, if you go, be sure to go on the lower deck and check out the steam engine. It is pretty amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it was very relaxing.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

wanda k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent buffet, excellent music. Personable crew. Not the greatest weather cold pouring rain but warm and comfortable inside the main areas. Good way to spend an evening.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Enjoyed our dinner cruise, staff were lovely and very attentive and the engine room tour was interesting, thank you. A nice relaxing evening with a beautiful sunset and music.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Steamboat Natchez Dinner Cruise with Private Boat and Engine Room Tour

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great steamboat ride and lunch

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Nancy E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We took the bus tour first it rained most of the tour but we were able to see a lot of things and get some history about New Orleans. It gave us some insight about what we wanted to see more of. The steamboat trip was quite enjoyable with being able to see many things along the harbor and lots of seating and ability to get drinks or more. We took the steamboat trip on a different day when the sun was out. Beautiful weather then! Very comfortable bus seating.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Walter P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The City Tour was in a large van/bus hybrid a comfortable vehicle. The driver/narrator was a New Orleans native and was well informed. As a visitor, we like taking this sort of tour on our first days in a new town to get a better feel for the city. The tour was Ok with two stops, one at a New Orleans cemetery and a snack stop at a NOLA park. The above ground cemetery was interesting, but, the stop in the park was a rushed 15 or so minutes because the beignet shop was crowded at the time the van arrived. Probably could have omitted this stop as far as I am concerned. The city tour ended where it began at the Steamboat departure point. We boarded the boat and decided to partake in the all you can eat buffet. The food was OK, for buffet food, the ham was tender and tasty and the creamed spinach was...well creamed spinach. Save room for the desert. Full bar is available. The boat was underway at this point and the narrated cruise was a smooth trip on a paddle driven steamboat, with a dixieland jazz band, on the Mississippi. It was interesting enough, but got a bit boring after the turnaround. If you visit the the working steam engine, be sure to bring your camera. If that's not your speed, you can always take a tour of the gift shop. Overall, this two part tour and cruise was a good take in and a good value.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Tammy G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The cruise was fun, but the food was not that great. They ran out of ham and we had to wait 20 minutes before more ham was brought out.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Brunch Cruise in New Orleans

Elizabeth R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Something happened with the city tour, so they contacted me and I changed for another day. Unfortunately, I was a little late for my city tour so I didn't do it. The steamboat Narchez cruise was really good! I recomend it

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Robert W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a really relaxing Sunday night activity. I hurt myself and was in a wheel chair and the help was wonderful with helping me with the buffet. Always remember that it is much cooler on the water, especially in the evening, so a jacket is helpful to keep you comfortable.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

ian.biddlecombe

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The food buffet was dreadful, sorry to say. Great ship, but we felt crammed in. I had previously done this tour last May, during the Jazz week festival and they had 3 sets of groups playing - this time only 1 group was playing and our table was at the far end of the ship. Yes, private table held for us 7 travelers, but we were crammed in there. We expected better on this for the price paid.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Marilyn O

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our review needs to be considered in view of our ages. There were six elderly people in our group whose only negative comment was the volume -- first the pipe organ while we waited boarding and then the jazz band during dinner. We were seated fairly far away from the band and still our dinner conversation was difficult due to the loudness. That being said, the food and service were fabulous and the efficiency and organization very much appreciated!! The bad weather was unfortunate because we were unable to enjoy the sights after our dinner and were forced by the cold and rain to stay in bar/lounge areas that did not have enough seating. The engine room was available for viewing, and we found it fascinating and a positive aspect to the tour. We would consider doing it again if the entertainment was more background and not blaring. We did purchase our group photo!!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kent Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Natchez cruise was great. I would recommend anyone traveling to New Orleans to take a cruise on the Natchez. It last 2 hours, and it is entertaining. We enjoyed the brunch, it was delicious.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip,,we had a beautiful day,, guide was informative,, Bloody Mary Great!!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

jack.schofield1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I am registered blind so can't tell you about the sights I saw as I didn't. But the service of the people on board we brilliant with me and looked after me. Thankyou

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Shannon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the cruise. It moves very slowly, of course, which my teenage boys were not thrilled about, but that is the nature of the boat. It was informative and relaxing. I would also recommend springing for the lunch. The food was delicious and well worth the small price.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

cmcmahon0711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great way to learn the history of the area. Great time and would recommend
to ones going to the area.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

VICENTE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The dinner cruise is excellent. Variety of good foods and drinks.
Good music. Very good experience.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Marshall T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip, everything was available to all passengers, drinks, food, listening to a live jazz band and a visit to the engine room. worth every penny / dollar. Definitely a steam boat. Great information / narrative given through out the cruise would recommend to all young or old.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Kathryn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The calliope and steam horn took us back in time. The drinks were exceptional.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Alison B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing atmosphere! I can't think of a better way to spend a night in New Orleans than enjoying dinner while sailing along the Mississippi, watching the sunset and being entertained by a jazz band.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Brian D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The boat was great, able to walk around and see the engine room in operation, great to see a live steamboat with a working paddlewheel still in action. The food was nothing to be excited about, just about what you would expect from a buffet. Our server couldn't seem to remember to bring anything to drink to the table. Even asking each time she came to the table she would never return with drinks. Now, the band. They were great, apparently they've been playing on this boat for a long time. We were lucky to have good weather warm in December which enabled them to play outside on the deck. Great sounds! Be sure to arrive early to watch the steam organ playing on the top deck while they prepare to board passengers. The music from the organ reverberates from the buildings nearby and can be heard all through town. A great experience not to be missed!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Andrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Booking was a breeze and no problems getting tickets and getting on board. But i would skip dinner food and selection are not worth it on a boat and just take a boat ride. But being from New York, i would say you only will get boat ride experience on the steamboat as there is really nothing to see while it is sailing down the river.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message