New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Steamboat Natchez

Experience New Orleans from the Mississippi River with a scenic cruise on the historic Steamboat Natchez. Take a two-hour cruise from the heart of the French Quarter that takes you back in time to the atmosphere of the Old South while enjoying a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1921 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an excellent tour. The staff are extremely nice and friendly. The food was wonderful so spend the extra money to eat on board! We really enjoyed this activity. A big thanks to Gina who shared some tips with us for our upcoming cruise. She had just taken the same cruise recently.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Tom A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great way to get an overview of New Orleans! Easy to convert vouchers to tickets, and friendly, knowledgeable Grayline customer service, Both the city tour and paddle boat, Natchez tour guides were informative and personable. Thank you Viator for partnering with excellent touring vendors.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was my favorite thing to do. The dinner was very good and the trip on the steamboat was amazing. We got to see a lot of things that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. Also, if you go, be sure to go on the lower deck and check out the steam engine. It is pretty amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it was very relaxing.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Nancy E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We took the bus tour first it rained most of the tour but we were able to see a lot of things and get some history about New Orleans. It gave us some insight about what we wanted to see more of. The steamboat trip was quite enjoyable with being able to see many things along the harbor and lots of seating and ability to get drinks or more. We took the steamboat trip on a different day when the sun was out. Beautiful weather then! Very comfortable bus seating.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Walter P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The City Tour was in a large van/bus hybrid a comfortable vehicle. The driver/narrator was a New Orleans native and was well informed. As a visitor, we like taking this sort of tour on our first days in a new town to get a better feel for the city. The tour was Ok with two stops, one at a New Orleans cemetery and a snack stop at a NOLA park. The above ground cemetery was interesting, but, the stop in the park was a rushed 15 or so minutes because the beignet shop was crowded at the time the van arrived. Probably could have omitted this stop as far as I am concerned. The city tour ended where it began at the Steamboat departure point. We boarded the boat and decided to partake in the all you can eat buffet. The food was OK, for buffet food, the ham was tender and tasty and the creamed spinach was...well creamed spinach. Save room for the desert. Full bar is available. The boat was underway at this point and the narrated cruise was a smooth trip on a paddle driven steamboat, with a dixieland jazz band, on the Mississippi. It was interesting enough, but got a bit boring after the turnaround. If you visit the the working steam engine, be sure to bring your camera. If that's not your speed, you can always take a tour of the gift shop. Overall, this two part tour and cruise was a good take in and a good value.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Tammy G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The cruise was fun, but the food was not that great. They ran out of ham and we had to wait 20 minutes before more ham was brought out.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Brunch Cruise in New Orleans

ian.biddlecombe

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The food buffet was dreadful, sorry to say. Great ship, but we felt crammed in. I had previously done this tour last May, during the Jazz week festival and they had 3 sets of groups playing - this time only 1 group was playing and our table was at the far end of the ship. Yes, private table held for us 7 travelers, but we were crammed in there. We expected better on this for the price paid.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kent Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Natchez cruise was great. I would recommend anyone traveling to New Orleans to take a cruise on the Natchez. It last 2 hours, and it is entertaining. We enjoyed the brunch, it was delicious.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip,,we had a beautiful day,, guide was informative,, Bloody Mary Great!!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

jack.schofield1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I am registered blind so can't tell you about the sights I saw as I didn't. But the service of the people on board we brilliant with me and looked after me. Thankyou

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Shannon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the cruise. It moves very slowly, of course, which my teenage boys were not thrilled about, but that is the nature of the boat. It was informative and relaxing. I would also recommend springing for the lunch. The food was delicious and well worth the small price.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

cmcmahon0711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great way to learn the history of the area. Great time and would recommend
to ones going to the area.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

VICENTE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The dinner cruise is excellent. Variety of good foods and drinks.
Good music. Very good experience.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Marshall T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip, everything was available to all passengers, drinks, food, listening to a live jazz band and a visit to the engine room. worth every penny / dollar. Definitely a steam boat. Great information / narrative given through out the cruise would recommend to all young or old.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Kathryn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The calliope and steam horn took us back in time. The drinks were exceptional.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Alison B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing atmosphere! I can't think of a better way to spend a night in New Orleans than enjoying dinner while sailing along the Mississippi, watching the sunset and being entertained by a jazz band.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Brian D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The boat was great, able to walk around and see the engine room in operation, great to see a live steamboat with a working paddlewheel still in action. The food was nothing to be excited about, just about what you would expect from a buffet. Our server couldn't seem to remember to bring anything to drink to the table. Even asking each time she came to the table she would never return with drinks. Now, the band. They were great, apparently they've been playing on this boat for a long time. We were lucky to have good weather warm in December which enabled them to play outside on the deck. Great sounds! Be sure to arrive early to watch the steam organ playing on the top deck while they prepare to board passengers. The music from the organ reverberates from the buildings nearby and can be heard all through town. A great experience not to be missed!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Andrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Booking was a breeze and no problems getting tickets and getting on board. But i would skip dinner food and selection are not worth it on a boat and just take a boat ride. But being from New York, i would say you only will get boat ride experience on the steamboat as there is really nothing to see while it is sailing down the river.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Kurt S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The cruise itself is a good time and we all felt was well worth the money. Relaxing, informative and entertaining. He one issue we have is with the ticketing process. Buying tickets online and selecting e-tickets should be the end of the process. However....and this isn't clear in he instructions when you buy online, you must use that voucher to check in and get a paper ticket. This is a waste of time. The systems for purchasing tickets should be better integrated, much like purchasing airline tickets. There is a sigh at the dock with instructions, but it is a singular sign near the start of the rope line which is WAY too late for those who have stood in line for 30-45 minutes along the esplanade. If the systems cannot be better integrated, make the instructions extra clear on the website and make it a notice that must be acknowledged upon purchase that the voucher must be turned in for the real tickets with a time window when that process can be done. Lastly, post more signs as people walk up and farther down the esplanade so that guests realize they need to have a certain ticket and not their voucher to ride.

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

teyhessia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really nice experience

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Lea S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was amazing and so was Jude. Interesting, fun facts about the city. A little more time in the sculpture garden would have been nice, but understand we needed to catch the boat!!! Beautiful, relaxing, enjoyed delicious bloody Marys while learning about New Orleans and the Natchez!!

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great loved it .

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This is a great overview tour of the City of New Orleans for first time visitors by land and by water. It's also a great refresher tour for return visitors. But, most of all, it's the best tour for return visitors to introduce first time travel companions to the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat Natchez Harbor Cruise

Kelly Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

it was a good experience, it was foggy in the beginning so hard to see, but cleared up after a while. did not get to see the live jazz performance, seems always on break. food was too salty, but the dessert was the best part of the tour, break pudding was amazing!!

Doing what: Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message