One of the oldest cities in America, New Orleans has its roots in a myriad of culture. This diverse history lends itself amazingly well to different architectural styles, and for centuries New Orleans has been known as a town that boasts a stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide, an 81 year old native of New Orleans, was superb. The depth of his knowledge of the city, it's history, architecture, and people was wonderful. Any tour led by this guy will be good, I'm convinced. My only complaint is the van was a very uncomfortable ride. We were seated in the back row, and the washboard streets of New Orleans made for violent bouncing up and down. It may be better in rows further toward the front, so be sure to get in one of those seats if at all possible.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Emma Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Kat collected from our hotel giving us a potted history as we went. We hit the interstate and travelled for what may have been 30-45 mins I cant really remember because I was captivated by Kats history of the area, storytelling ability making history come alive. It stood us in good stead later in the day explaining about Creoles and Cajuns.

We arrived for our swamp tour with Captain Brian who took us along the Bayous. We visited in mid-April and were lucky enough to see gators and turtles. Youll not see these over the winter months, or even before mid-March. Brian was a font of knowledge on the local fora and fauna.

Back into the mini-bus to head to our next destination Oak Alley Plantation, a Cajun plantation. We were greeted with a New Orleans self-serve as much as you can eat lunch including gumbo and jambalaya. We explored the grounds and viewed the slave quarters and took a walk down the amazing Oak tree alley, planted before the building and had an opportunity to buy a mint julep or still lemonade. Our guided tour was another great storyteller, bringing history to life of the family who lived in the house and took about 45 minutes.

We drove on to Laura Planation, a Creole plantation, which acted as a great contrast in terms of architecture and history, to that of Oak Alley. Again we had a guided tour with another fabulous storyteller. It lasted about an hour and was an eye opener in terms of how recent indentured servitude took place on the plantation.

Kat transported us back to our hotels, having had a fulfilling day. We were only in NOLA for two and half days so it was great to do an organised trip which we would not have normally done. Kat also explained that the local tour operator is the only remaining family run tour business I think the personal touch and enthusiasm showed.

I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Oh my gosh. Daniel was our tour guide and it was really great. We had just arrived in town when we went on this tour. Daniel's knowledge of history and passion for the city really showed. We learned so much about the architecture, the historical local eccentrics, and more. I had been to New Orleans many times, but wanted my teens to become acquainted with the Quarter, too, so I signed up for this tour. My kids also gained familiarity with the layout of the Quarter. I would definitely recommend! Ask for Daniel Chick if you can. :

Doing what: Guided Historical French Quarter Walking Tour

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour loaded with history, architecture, local flavor, and personal commentary from Carol, our wonderful guide. We learned a lot and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Harva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mary was a great guide and very informed. She knew so much about the history of New Orleans, how and why it was founded, and how it developed. We learned so much about people who played a significant role in the development of the French Quarter and the architecture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guided Historical French Quarter Walking Tour

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was excellent!!! She knew so much about the history, architecture and residents of the garden district. I would highly recommend this tour and the guide.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful and informative tour of the high class district of New Orleans! We learned a lot about architecture, as well as stories of select homeowners.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was fantastic. I learned so much about the history of New Orleans and about architecture styles of the Garden District houses in just 3 hours. The guide, Robi, was very entertaining and informative. Thankfully it was slightly overcast on the day of our tour which kept the temperature down. Robi did give everyone a bottle of water and a fan at the beginning of tour and then another cold beverage at the end but if the sun had been out it would have been quite hot and you do walk for most of the tour. I would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Beth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour. Sandi our guide was fantastic regarding history, architecture and insider tips regarding entertainment.

Doing what: Guided Historical French Quarter Walking Tour

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide, Robi, was very knowledgeable and pretty funny too! We totally enjoyed the history and architecture of the Garden District. For anyone interested in the above I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Kristy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

There are so many beautiful homes it was great being on a tour with someone knowledgeable about architecture and ownership. The cemetery was also interesting and again, it was good being there with a guide.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Daria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thank you Robi for this amazing day! We were so lucky with you, there was just 2 of us! Thank you for devoting special time not included in this tour to show the AHS house and Trent Reznor's house and many other things that with a big tour we would have not probably seen! Your knowledge of the architecture and love for the city made this tour absolutely beautiful and outstanding! I will be back to explore it more!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Ryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Most people are familiar with the French Quarter and its history. This tour educates you about a different part of New Orleans Garden District while also giving you the opportunity to see several beautiful and historic homes. Our guide Robi was well versed in New Orleans history and the architecture. I world recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Dawn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a tour not to be missed! Our tour guide Robi was awesome! His knowledge of the history, homes and architecture was amazing! I loved every second of I!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Marlene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and made the tour most enjoyable.
A second visit inside a home would have been good, as we only went into one, but we learned a lot about the styles and types of architecture used in many buildings.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

jennifer03055

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent! With a small group we were able to not only see the sights, but have conversations with the guide. We have been to New Orleans twice, but never really knew all the history outside the french quarter. We found it very interesting and now have a better understanding of how the architecture came about with the different style homes. We also found the tour of some of the levy system very informational. The tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

muchristi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The architecture and history as well as local pop culture references made for an interesting and varied tour. Our guide, as a New Orleans native, was knowledgeable and the opportunity to see the Garden District and the Cemetery with that depth of knowledge as our guide was a great resource. Educational and entertaining. I recommend that you call ahead to make sure the procedure for check in is followed as we walked from our hotel on Royal to the ticket book by the Cafe du Monde and then over to the lighthouse check in where the van was waiting. The trains and trolleys have an impact on when the vans can get through that area so be as considerate as you can with an early arrival about 20 minutes before tour departure.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

eileen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour with all the information about culture, architecture, and all the little things that we didn't know about the great city of New Orleans. For those of you that are worried about making the tour there are only 2 sets of stairs that you need to climb but can opt out of that and wait aside. There are also many stops to listen to the guide so you are not actually walking for the entire 2 hrs. We loved our tour guide. The bathroom stop is not until the end but that wasn't a problem. We were all given the opportunity to use the facilities before we left for the tour.

Doing what: Guided Historical French Quarter Walking Tour

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide Libby Bollino was very informative and energetic. She pointed out details that we might have missed. She showed a variety of styles of architecture and provided interesting historical information. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Wouter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A very interesting walking tour. We learned a lot about the history and architecture . Things you don't pick up from a book. The Garden District is a must see. There was just the two of us on a rainy morning, but the tour continued anyway and the tourguide was eager to show us all the splendour of this neighbourhood. The sun came through after some time and we were really glad we booked this tour. When you're gonna be in New Orleans you shouldn't miss out on this wonderful tour. Good value for money.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The Beautiful Garden City with it's rich history and architecture is something I personally recommend, if you would like to get out of the French Quarters for a while. Our Guide was a fountain of information and made this for a very pleasant morning stroll.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Michael N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

e really enjoyed the French Quarter and the beautiful architecture. Our tour guide was somewhat knowledgeable but somewhat odd as well. We didn't connect with him maybe others did. We highly recommend the tour, though.

Doing what: Guided Historical French Quarter Walking Tour

Vida S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must, especially for first timers!
On the swamp tour, we saw at least 4 alligators, 3 bald eagles one in flight, a cardinal, a turtle, and two egrets. Our guide, Brian, was an alligator hunter. He was very knowledgeable and not surprisingly, an expert in spotting them.
We visited two plantations - the Oak Alley and Laura plantations. They were so different in architecture and design, but both had its own charm and full of history.
A buffet lunch was included. My favorite dish was the crawfish étouffée and for dessert, the bread pudding. Simply the best!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

L J K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was our second tour of the Garden District with the last one being ten years ago. Always a great walk to see the architecture and hear the history of the district. A must do when in New Orleans.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Megan C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Carol did a wonderful job showing us around the Garden District. There was a lot to learn, and a lot to see. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn more about the city, the architecture, and the famous people who have lived there.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message