After the Haitian Revolt in 1804, New Orleans received a massive influx of Hatian émigrés, and as a result, their culture and voodoo religion came along with them. That, the sordid history of the south, replete with pirates, mob ties, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 845 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We took this tour recently on our visit to New Orleans over the Thanksgiving holiday. I can't remember our tour guides' name but he was great! He was very knowledgeable and a fantastic storyteller. We learned a lot of New Orleans history and its dark and mysterious past.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

chris c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As the French Quarter is crazy on Halloween, we rescheduled for 11/1. It was a great way to find out about the gruesome stuff that happened long ago and not so long ago in the quarter at various houses and locations. Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and made the experience fun and great. I would recommend to anyone who wants to hear about the weird stuff that happened.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Janine made this tour ridiculously great. She was super upbeat, rolled with the million questions our group had, and was a true joy to spend 2 hours with. Her knowledge and bursting love of the city and city of the dead were readily apparent, and she took the time to show us lots of specific things she thought we would enjoy based on our interests. We saw a ton of the cemetery and were all glad she suggested purchasing water before entering. If you are lucky enough to get her as a tour guide you will be treated to a true ambassador for the city she seems to know EVERYONE. She was also gracious in spending time after the tour to recommend places to eat, drink, and play, and made sure everyone on the tour had directions to where they were headed.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guides were terrific!! Historic background was interesting, as was the Cemetery itself. Highly recommended !!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

rbwriter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Alyssa was amazing! Great story teller, she basically gave us a show! we loved her tour and for 2 hours learned amazing stories of New orleand.. very well organized and she was very informative and had a great delivery!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

grinch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Midge was very informative and did not hurry us through the cemetery. Found the tour to be an excellent history lesson about New Orleans. Would definitely recommend to those who are history buffs.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Sandy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This Haunted History Ghost Tour was very enjoyable. We were on the tour during a busy time 8pm Tuesday of Thanksgiving week, and the tour operators split up the large group into 3 groups, so the groups were manageable. Andrew, our guide, provided an entertaining experience. He ensured we were in a place where we could see the location he was talking about, and we could all hear his commentary. He had a nicely timed comfort stop, with available adult beverages. I would do this or a similar tour again from this operator.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

simgli

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting stories.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Michael H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great, Really knowledgeable and easy going. Easy to follow and friendly. The only thing, I was expecting to possibly go to a cemetery being a ghost tour at night but this didn't happen. Whilst this didn't diminish the experience I did feel a little disappointed at this.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Mel United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Garden District Ghost Tour

Deborah B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A great tour that includes so much more than the cemetery, which in itself is awesome. Rose, our tour guide, was the best!!!!!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Shirley S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good but some of the information delivered on the tour was contradicted by some locals , so I am not sure what the facts are,however it was an enjoyable tour

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

James G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

My daughter and I signed up for this tour. Our female guide was in character and you could see that she enjoyed her work. Likewise, we enjoyed the tour and allowed our imagination run free. After all its all about make believe and it was fun. I would suggest that the tour company limit the number of tourists on each guided venture in order for the tour to be more enjoyable and for the tourists to have safe fun. The traffic and noise can easily take away the fun and enjoyment of this experience.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Jaime H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I've been on some great tours in New Orleans and this one was okay, but not great. We had a pretty large group and just seemed to always be off far from the places we were talking about because of the required distances between tour groups. That is definitely not the guide's fault, but it did take away from the experience. With such a large group it was also difficult to hear at times, and it took us forever to get from place to place. That said, our guide was very pleasant she was doing her last training run, it was nice to have a manager along for backup, and the details shared were great. It was also very sweet that they made sure everyone knew a safe way to their next destination.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

grinch

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

John was an average tour guide for being a community college instructor. He was very conscientious about knowing if we knew our way around from where the tour ended. The Greyline cemetery tour was much better.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Gaysho H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The Invoice did not contain an address and I called and received the wrong address from the Company call rep so we were unable to complete the tour

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Mary B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I have used Viator before and was pleased. Unfortunately, this time was a very big disappointment... and I had work friends with me who trusted my judgement.. we actually left the tour at the half way break... the tour guide was nice .. but was not very entertaining and talked in a forced loud voice that was more annoying than anything.. He actually mentioned that, when talking about vampires- people have been known to disappear from his tours....now we understand why... they leave on their own accord.. It was really a big disappointment... it was Halloween night.. we were looking forward to fun... would not reccomend

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

ANGELICA J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I have been on several Ghost and Spirit Tours but this by far was the absolute WORST by far!!!!!! The tour guide was horrible, our tour started 30 minutes LATE and we weren't given our money back nor were we given an extra 30 minutes of the tour, like we paid for! I would NEVER recommend this tour to anyone! IT WAS HORRIBLE and all 10-12 other paying customers on the tour with us were 100 dissatisfied. As a matter of fact 2 of the 12 couples walked away from the tour after 15 minutes of it actually starting. The stories were horrible and rushed, just not a good experience at all! nothappy horribletour givememymoneyback

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Mark K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Our guide was a young man with a wooden stake which he kept banging on the ground. He didn't speak to us, he yelled! The stories were very uninteresting and it just wasn't what we were expecting. They were just ghost stories which kids would probably have found entertaining. He didn't make eye contact with any of us there were 6 in our party of a group of about 12 or so. People kept dropping off along the way and about half way through before we got to the hotel for a drink mid-way, we had had enough and left also. We were very disappointing. It was a waste of money and of our precious time in New Orleans. Wouldn't recommend this is anyone.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Gregory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! I would highly recommend this. Skip was very knowledgeable and entertaining. It was not some cheesy ghost tour, but rather a great history about the area and how these supernatural events came about.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Tanika B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Stormy was a phenomenal tour guide, he was very personable and so informative. This tour was extremely educational and very interesting. I would recommend this company to anybody that wants an informative fun tour. Stormy went above and beyond for everybody on the tour and even recommended an amazing place for us to have dinner after the tour.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Bitterweet2011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide,entertaining stories, Wish I could remember all of them! although my friends back home thought I did well! I learned a lot about voodoo and burial practices in a city known to have floods regularly. Highly recommend this night time tour. Holli Irvine, Toronto

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very educational and fun!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Terri L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ok, we were late - I called the ticketing box-office and they held the bus for us! So there's a bonus there.
The tour was great, we enjoyed the history of the cemeteries in NOLA, as well as some of the celebrity facts. I do recommend you go on the morning tour, it's hot and humid in October...
I think we ticked off the guide once or twice, we were at the end of the group, and stopped to have our turn at taking pictures...the rest of the group had moved on, and we were separated - she had to come and find us... Anyway we got some really great photos and loved this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message