After the Haitian Revolt in 1804, New Orleans received a massive influx of Hatian émigrés, and as a result, their culture and voodoo religion came along with them. That, the sordid history of the south, replete with pirates, mob ties, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 913 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laurel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour, small group very knowledgeable!! It was great to learn the history and see the beauty of such a wonderful city!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Gloria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was just fabulous. We signed up at the last minute and was able to join Rose the one who carried the black umbrella. She was amazing! My daughter was just glued to her story telling regarding the ghosts, voodoo and vampire history in New Orleans. Rose was very conscious of keeping her group together as we walked along the New Orleans French Quarter. The history she provided was so fascinating. She captured everyones' attention with her knowledge. Great tour. I would do this tour again and especially with her. Best 2 hour walk ever!!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Learned a lot about the Darkside of New Orleans. Very interesting.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Huraiyah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

So much fun, interesting history and facts.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Rose was awesome !....She was very knowledgeable....funny...and just gave a great tour !

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Gabriel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was awesome. I learned so much about some of the history, not only of the French Quarter, but odds and ends about the slavery there, the influence of the architecture, etc. I only took the tour because one is required to enter the cemetery, but I enjoyed the rest of the tour as well. Rose, the tour guide, was intelligent and witty. My only complaint is that I didn't feel we were able to spend enough time in the cemetery, which I understand because of how only tours are allowed through. It just felt a little rushed. I prefer taking my time in cemeteries.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

JANET Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

best tour of new Orleans .. guide was sooo great!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Jamie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must do in New Orleans!!! It's fun, creepy and creative. Who doesn't want to drink and hear ghost stories?

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Jamie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must do in New Orleans!!! It's fun, creepy and creative. Who doesn't want to drink and hear ghost stories?

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic tour! I was expecting to just have a tour of the Cementary, but go so much more than we bargained for. We learned a lot of interesting facts and stories about the history of New Orleans. Rose does an excellent job telling the history of New Orleans with excitement and mystery, she's a great story teller and keeps you listening and wanting to hear more. This was great tour at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

ROBERT B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

our guide was excellent.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Went along with this because my son wanted to do it. I really loved it! It was interesting and entertaining!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Tamara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic walking tour in the French Quarter (not too much walking for those not too keen on exercise) but taken to many great spots!Our tour guide Edward was very charismatic and told many a tale through the centuries.A must do for visitors to New Orleans!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was an excellent story teller. In addition to fascinating stories, he explained a lot of history of the neighborhood.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

leslie.davidson0822

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very informative. We enjoyed this tour very much. The walking was very brisk and we often fell behind the group so sometimes it was difficult to hear everything.
The tour guide was great though in making sure we had something to do afterwards.
All in all, we would totally recommend this!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

wanda k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Go Grayline tours for this activity. Staff personable, professional and knowledgeable. Tour covered the cemetery the guide Midge was a fount of historical knowledge. Learned many things on this tour truly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Jim Q

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Fun tour. Plenty of ghost and vampire stories. Our guide was fun.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Jim Q

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Fun tour. Plenty of ghost and vampire stories. Our guide was fun.

Doing what: Ghost and Vampire Walking Tour Of The French Quarter

Tyler S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Alyssa was a great tour guide for NOLA on a Thursday night. She had two tour guides in training with her and we had a crowd of about 20 people. The stories were very interesting and the walk was entertaining. It was a fun way to see the French Quarter.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

patsychom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour. Knowledgeable tour guide who obviously enjoyed his job. A bit too big of a group so difficult to hear all the stories as we just could not all gather around him. But all in all a good experience.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Mary-Jo B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Very doo walking tour. Learned a lot from the tour guide.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Sara k

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

We signed up for this tour with the hopes of hearing some ghost stories and seeing some voodoo stuff and all the cliche things you would expect from the title of the tour New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour. What we got was a tour guide who seemed to think of himself more as a historian than an entertaining tour guide. To start with the confirmation email tells you to meet at the Supreme Court Building at 400 Royal Street 15 minutes before the start of your tour. If you put that address into any map system it directs you to the front steps of the building which is a open and well lit area. We stood there from 7:40 to 8:10 with no sign of a tour guide, we knew we had to be in the right place because there were 8 other people there for the same tour waiting as well. About 10 minutes after the tour was supposed to start some guy with a sign walks by and asks us if we are here for the ghost tour, we all answered yes and he tells us that they guide is waiting for us at the corner. 12 people walk to the corner of the street, which is dark and not very open. standing there are 4 other people and our tour guide who makes some comment about how it was nice of us to join him. WE WERE EXACTLY WHERE THE CONFIRMATION EMAIL TOLD US TO BE! After getting over the initial irritation of meeting a complete stranger in the french quarter on the darkest possible corner he could find we were full on ready for some awesome ghost stories and voodoo! We got a slightly fluffed up history lesson instead. He would ramble on in front of various houses in the french quarter and only a small part of it had anything to do with a haunting. While in front of Marie Laveau's house we stood in the cold while he went on and on and on about how Nicolas Cage owned the house at one point and that's why his movies were bad. And during his way over done and pointless story we saw not 1 but 2 other tour company's come with their groups, stop in front of the house, talk about the house and the story behind it and then move on! We ditched this tour three quarters of the way through just so we didn't have to listen to that guy ramble on anymore! To sum it all up - we froze our butts off, were told that voodoo is not real and saw zero ghosts.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Jessica G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

ONLY GIVING THIS A ONE STAR BECAUSE WE COULDN'T FIND THE TOUR. NOT SURE IF THERE JUST ISN'T A TOUR OR THE CITY WAS CROWDED BECAUSE OF A FESTIVAL AND THERE WAS NO IDENTIFIER FOR THE GROUP WE WERE SUPPOSED TO MEET.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

potofcoffee

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The person doing the tour was not very good, maybe if someone else did it it might have been better. His presentation was not very good, he just did not make anything very interesting. The biggest tell was at the end when he said that if people were happy they could tip well everyone just walked away.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

wanda k

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The guide lost us within the first 10. It was to be a less than one mile in two hour tour so should have been an easy stroll. The guide Edward was erratic, unprofessional. Alleged all NOLA police officers were drunk on duty, denigrated Wiccans, Went at a frenetic pace actually lost the ENTIRE tour when we were abandoned. They wandered further in an attempt to find him. Called the company to say guide has lost us, You called my cell phone. We closed at 8PM--call me in the morning. Utterly unconcerned three women were lost in an unknown city utterly unprofessional. Of course we were sober and most others weren't. The owners were unconcerned and made no attempt to rectify situation in the morning. This tour total waste of money.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message