New Orleans' Carnival is justly famous around the world, but there’s more to Mardi Gras than its rowdy reputation. Debutante balls, elaborate float-making, and Christian traditions set the ball rolling for months of festive atmosphere leading up to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

typergirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was so much fun!!! I've been to NOLA many times and never realized the tour was available. Interesting facts about the beginnings of Mardi Gras and the making of the floats. We went at the perfect time, just a few weeks before the beginning of the parades. I felt like a kid at the Willy Wonka Chocolate Factory. Gigantic bright flowers, characters and floats!!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour is well worth the money. I would recommend going in the morning before it gets crowded. They show you a short film about the history of Mardi Gras and then you go on a guided tour through the warehouse. After the tour, they let you wander around and take pictures. They have a lot, and I mean a lot, of props from past Mardi Gras parades. We went one week before Mardi Gras and they were working on 20-30 floats for one of the upcoming parades. It was totally amazing. This was one of my favorite tours and I would definitely go again.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very interesting tour. It starts with a short film and some King Cake. Our guide then took us to the warehouse and gave us back ground information into the parades, krews, and we experienced first hand the artistry that surrounds the year round construction that goes into preparing for this New Orleans celebration. It is absolutely amazing what this talented company can do. Prepare to be in awe!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Magaly W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

It was a fun experience, we got to see a lot of the floats and all the different pieces that go into it. I would have liked to see more of the floats being put together though, also they have a robot that cuts some of the shapes that go into the floats, I would have liked to see that in process. Otherwise I would recommend.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Teresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a terrific tour. You must experience it! We went at a great time just before Mardi Gras. We were able to see what was being put together for some of the floats. We had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Megan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A very cool place to visit. Very inspiring for artists.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

sweetkiss76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great view of the Mississippi River!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Donna B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was really amazing to see the larger than life floats and learn about how they are made.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Amy W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was informative and fun! It was a bit cheesy, but that's the fun of it! It was interesting to see the artists working on the upcoming floats and interesting to know float making is a year round job! This company makes floats for companies all over the united states and I learned a lot about the process. If you're going to be in NOLA for a few days, it's worth the visit. One thing to mention, if you plan on using the shuttle back and forth from the French Quarter make sure you hold onto your ticket which was a beaded necklace with a medallion on it or you won't be able to board the shuttle. I wish someone had told us that as I didn't know the necklace was our ticket and I left mine in the bathroom.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

redbhone

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was great to see them working in the warehouse year round on the numerous floats and to hear the history. Other than that not much going on.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Rachel K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is an interesting and amazing tour. We had no idea how much goes into the making of the floats for the Mardi Gras parade. It's great that you get to see the whole process from design to completion and you also get to walk around on your own and see the floats.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Corey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mardi Gras World was neat. The tour is fine, but they give you a lot of freedom to explore afterwards which was amazing. Not terribly hard to get to It's just below the convention center. Definitely worth the visit.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Jerome B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our cousin from Italy was visiting us and we took her on your tour. She was amazed! We really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

constance d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting to see the warehouse were floats are made and stored, especially if you can't be here for Madi gras parade

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Misti G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting to hear how the floats are made.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Ella G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must tour to do when in New Orleans :

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

subya1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Alex H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very entertaining and informative. The hands on part of the tour was very fun! We will for sure be recommending it to everyone!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

dpile

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The floats were amazing. It and #39;s a nice short tour with a lot to look at.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend a trip to Mardi Gras World if you are lucky enough to be visiting New Orleans. It is spectacular sight, the floats are amazing. It is also interesting seeing the craftsmen at their work and finding out how they make the floats. We were in New Orleans for my husbands 50th birthday from the UK and doing this on his big day just added to a day of entertainment.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

elleng United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour the guide was informative and the workmanship of the props is amazing

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Kerry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was really worth it! Very interesting tour.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

ELBRICHT C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

WAS A VERY INTERESTING TOUR. WAS GLAD TO WENT THE DAY BEFORE MARDI GRAS DAY, WE LEARNED ALOT ABOUT THE FLOATS AND HISTORY .

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Helen Sandra M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Just great tour and very educational about all the work that goes into the floats and other images we recognize from TV programs.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Gegso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great to see all the passion that goes into making Mardi Gras so special each and every year!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message