To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. It does take all day so don't plan anything else on this day. However, you are doing 3 tours in one tour package. We went to the bayou and went on a swamp boat ride through the swamp first. It was very nice and our Cajun tour guide was awesome. Then we went to Oak Alley Plantation and had an awesome lunch followed by a tour of the Plantation. This is one of the most beautiful Plantations in the south. Then we went to Laura Plantation for a tour which was also amazing. It was a long day, but a great day. We thoroughly enjoyed it and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

accunningham56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was awesome! My boyfriend and I loved this tour. Our driver was a lovely man named Carl and he gave a deep history of the area and was really accommodating in picking us up at our random airnb location instead of the typical French Quarter hotels. The Laura plantation tour was one of the highlights of our trip and we highly recommend it. The swamp tour was also awesome and really fun. Saw lots of alligators and our boat driver/guide was highly entertaining and knowledgeable. definitely recommend this tour to those wanting to get a lot out of a little time in New Orleans!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

ian.biddlecombe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great and acknowledgeable tour driver/guide. Most excellent day, visiting these two residences. Great overview of life as a slave in these two plantations. OAK ALLEY was awesome! Great photo's to remember our fantastic day there! We were picked up and dropped off back to our local hotel in New Orleans - great service Viator!
Ian and Margaret - CANADA

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Everything on time. Lunch was delicious. Food was high quality and homemade. Tour guide, Ellen, was excellent. Very knowledgeable, and a lovely person with good sense of humor. All tours provided great information, and I learned a lot. Landscape is at once enchanting and ghostly. A must for your trip to NOLA. Van was smaller than expected, but comfortable. Totally worth it. Go!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sherri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an informative emotional outing for me.......

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is well worth the ride up to this beautiful and famous plantation home.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Nyota F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was incredibly informative and the grounds are beautiful. Our guide was fantastic and shared great details about the families which lived on the plantation as well as traditions and customs those families followed. Make sure you bring your camera because the oaks are breathtaking. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

After a little more than an hour van ride we arrived at the swamp tour. The tour was great. We saw birds and turtles. No Alligators in February but we heard a lot of stories from our fantastic tour guide. The two mansion tours and lunch were fantastic as well. Our guide was very informative with many historical facts.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lida M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic tour with Ellen, our tour guide! We were each picked up on time in a new large van. Ellen provided great info about NOLA along the way to the swamp and plantations. FYI: alligators hibernate in winter so you won and #39;t see any. Lunch at Oak Alley was excellent and OA is a must see!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Fiona H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic day out with brilliant guide - totally recommend this trip

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Monica Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much history in this tour. Swamp ride was a bit cool and gators were in hibernation but our guide was very informative and just being in the swamp is a real experience.
Nice lunch at the Oak Alley plantation, true to the south. Both plantations are beautiful in there own way , our guides were very knowledgeable.
Highly recommend this tour, just be prepared this is a all day experience and the weather can change in a minute take a umbrella, good walking shoes and bottled water.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Nancy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is a must when you visit New Orleans and you have the time. You will never regret doing this tour such a great experience!
Wonderful tour guides at each place and the history is unbelievable. A must - you will never regret it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an exciting day out, great tour with a lovely and very knowledgeable tour guide and a bayou river cruise with crocs snapping at the shores and the history of the plantations and a spectacular tour of one of the grandest old homes in the area.
On the way back we stopped at Morning Call cafe and had Beignets and coffee. A very nice day. Highly recommend this tour operator

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Alison B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. We were guided around the plantation and told the history of the family who lived there. Then we were given time to buy some lunch and souvenirs, and look around the grounds on our own. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Ken, was entertaining and knowledgeable. The Oak Alley Plantation guide explained the history and artifacts very well. The only downside was the Plantation's Deli--eat before you take the tour if possible.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Joseph was our tour guide and he was great. Helped us understand the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Elisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect blend of fun, historical and cultural education and somber reflection. The boat adventure through the bayou was lovely and awing- our guide was a native Louisianan of Creole descent who clearly understood the importance of the bayou to the local culture. And the plantation tours were just incredible. Somehow, the guides know how to present these sites in a way that astounds and embraces their relevance to the American experience without losing the force of the horror of slavery. Little compares with standing inside a bare one room structure used to house six or seven slaves. The sites are preserved in their original state, presenting the entire tableaux in haunting perspective. You get to see two very different plantations and learn about two very different histories. The whole tour was just amazing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Helga D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

tour guide was very knowledgeable thereby adding to the interest of the tour. well worth seeing.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent day trip, not to be missed. The Laura Plantation is lovely, and the history is worth hearing. Our guide was pleasant and friendly. And when you think this can't be topped, you reach Oak Alley. This estate is breath taking, from the main plantation home to the wondrous Oak Alley itself. We had a few minutes before our plantation home tour and we sat on the rocking chairs, with a cup of lemonade, and admired the alley way. Truly heavenly.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

isaratsidis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The locations for the tour were amazing and the guide, Giselle, was knowledgeable, kind, and energetic. Overall a great way to spend our day and an excellent precursor for the night in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

How can you not visit a plantation when visiting New Orleans. This was the most popular one because this is where Interview with a Vampire was shot as well as Forrest Gump. The grounds were beautiful. The mansion the guides were dressed in period clothing and told us about the story of the family that owned the mansion. We saw the slave quarters and got to tour the grounds. Awesome tour for a first time visit to New Orleans!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had an eight year old in our party and he also really enjoyed it. The time on the bayou was really interesting and we learned a lot!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Oak Alley was so beautiful and the tour of Laura was so informative. I thoroughly enjoyed both and our guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Teresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. It was run by Tours by Isabelle and Giselle was our wonderful tour guide. The food at Oak Alley was 5 star.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message