To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Ken, was entertaining and knowledgeable. The Oak Alley Plantation guide explained the history and artifacts very well. The only downside was the Plantation's Deli--eat before you take the tour if possible.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Joseph was our tour guide and he was great. Helped us understand the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Elisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect blend of fun, historical and cultural education and somber reflection. The boat adventure through the bayou was lovely and awing- our guide was a native Louisianan of Creole descent who clearly understood the importance of the bayou to the local culture. And the plantation tours were just incredible. Somehow, the guides know how to present these sites in a way that astounds and embraces their relevance to the American experience without losing the force of the horror of slavery. Little compares with standing inside a bare one room structure used to house six or seven slaves. The sites are preserved in their original state, presenting the entire tableaux in haunting perspective. You get to see two very different plantations and learn about two very different histories. The whole tour was just amazing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Helga D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

tour guide was very knowledgeable thereby adding to the interest of the tour. well worth seeing.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent day trip, not to be missed. The Laura Plantation is lovely, and the history is worth hearing. Our guide was pleasant and friendly. And when you think this can't be topped, you reach Oak Alley. This estate is breath taking, from the main plantation home to the wondrous Oak Alley itself. We had a few minutes before our plantation home tour and we sat on the rocking chairs, with a cup of lemonade, and admired the alley way. Truly heavenly.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

isaratsidis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The locations for the tour were amazing and the guide, Giselle, was knowledgeable, kind, and energetic. Overall a great way to spend our day and an excellent precursor for the night in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

How can you not visit a plantation when visiting New Orleans. This was the most popular one because this is where Interview with a Vampire was shot as well as Forrest Gump. The grounds were beautiful. The mansion the guides were dressed in period clothing and told us about the story of the family that owned the mansion. We saw the slave quarters and got to tour the grounds. Awesome tour for a first time visit to New Orleans!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had an eight year old in our party and he also really enjoyed it. The time on the bayou was really interesting and we learned a lot!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Oak Alley was so beautiful and the tour of Laura was so informative. I thoroughly enjoyed both and our guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Teresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. It was run by Tours by Isabelle and Giselle was our wonderful tour guide. The food at Oak Alley was 5 star.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This excursion was the best part of our trip. It is a long day but very informative and fun. Good variety with several different stopping points. The food at the plantation was also good. Had a super time!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

loro411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip through the everglades was exceptional. Our swamp boat operator and guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, and full of first hand experience and stories. Anyone going to Cajun country should take a trip through the swamps to get a feel for where the traditions and local stories come from.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

JOHN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is as life like as you can get. Everything there is true examples on how hard the work was for everyone.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Fernando M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fun and educative. My family is very pleased with it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great time. Took our pre-teen boys and they really loved the airboat swamp tour. The plantations we visited were good. nice we got to see 2 of them with quite a contrast oak alley and laura plantation. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Our lead tour guide was Joseph - wow is he a fount of information! He really knows his stuff! Be aware if going on the swamp tour in November - or any of the cooler months - you won't see alligators or turtles. But, you will be out on the water and learn a lot of interesting facts about the local area and the wildlife. The tour of the two plantations are very well done - guides are extremely knowledgeable and informed. Extremely interesting history. The lunch they provide at Oak Alley is quite good. Salad, soups, red beans and rice, smoked sausage, baked chicken, corn, peas, bread and butter, and for dessert, cheesecake and bread pudding. There is a cash bar where you can order cocktails, or iced tea, lemonade and coffee are offered complimentary with lunch. There is a great gift shop at Oak Alley and also at Laura where you can get some neat items. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ebogan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Picked up on time, very interesting and well explained. Had a fabulous guide at Laura Plantation Katie. We used to live in NOLA but were unaware of this important piece of history. Also had great communication from Viator prior to trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excelllent tours and a great guide made the experience terrific

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Suhey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We went during the month of October and had the best time ever! Ellen was a wonderful guide, and extremely knowledgeable about the region and the plantations. It was an amazing time, I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Harold O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very informative and accommodating. It was a good trip.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

David was fantastic, friendly tour guide with tons of interesting tidbits of trivia and info to share along the way our journey to each of the plantations. The airboat ride through the bayou swamp was a hilarious hoot with Captain Gary at the helm. We had a memorable visit to Louisiana, and this tour was one of the highlights, well worth the effort and time.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleasant and informative tour led by Gisele. She is very passionate about her adopted city and supplied very interesting information in a very charming manner. Pick up was on time. The van was comfortable. Mike worked well. Zisele also brought city maps and statistics regarding Katrina, that were just stunning and helped to understand how the tragedy had happen and why there was so much destruction and so many victims. This tour is listed as plantations tour, but we had learned a lot about the history of New Orleans and creole culture from Gisele. Tours of the plantations were led by professional guides who work for those museums. Both guides were good.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Martha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fun day for the family. We love the fact that we were picked up from our hotel. We were able to see one Alligator, my boys (12 and 9) loved it.We were able to see lots of birds as well. Lunch was delicious! Lots of local treats. It is very interesting to see two unique plantations. Learned lots!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

hili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was wonderful!!! Comfortable vehicle, a great tour guide- Allan, full of knowledge and patience. The sights were beautiful and interesting and the meal was very good. We had a lovely day and I highly recommend.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message