New Orleans is a confluence of cultures. Originally settled by the French, then the Spanish, then reverting back to the French and their Haitian friends before finally being sold to the Americans, this eclectic city has more than its fair share of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M_L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour operator was very courteous and allowed us to switch to a day later due to a sick child. We were also happy that the boat sails very smoothly, which helps with the situation. We saw a young gator, various birds, a racoon ravaging a bird nest, and got to hold a baby gator too, and of course the last part is the coolest and something special for the kids. The scenery was nice too. Overall we liked the trip and are very happy with their service.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Jenny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guide was great and knowledgeable. Started on time, was easy to finding beginning spot. Walked through quarter to the cemetery, all through, to the park and back. She provided a lot of information about history and architecture. Recommend!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great introduction for us to the culinary side of NOLA. The teacher was superb actually a retired grade school teacher and made her presentation with a mixture of humor, New Orleans history, and excellent food for tasting. One couple had attended several classes over a week, because the menu was different in the mornings and afternoons, and on the different days. Luckily we took the course on our first day in New Orleans, which gave us a better understanding of restaurant offerings for the remainder of our trip.

Doing what: New Orleans Cooking Class

John M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This cocktail tour was amazing! The Dr. Gumbo guide was awesome. Although the weather was horrible, it is something we want to experience again! A must-do for any trip to New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

Angelica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is wonderful! It perfectly combined my husband's past time of, drinking high quality liquors, with my passion for history. It was relaxing, casual and especially entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed the elegant, and refined restaurants featured. I ordered appetizers and everything was absolutely divine. Hunter was a erudite, intellectual, and patient with our off color jokes.

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Held Fluffy the baby gator, fed marshmallows to the swamp gators, saw some turtles and interesting birds. A lovely boat ride with lovely views.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Helga D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

tour guide was very knowledgeable thereby adding to the interest of the tour. well worth seeing.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Adrienne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was my favorite if you like to try different cocktails and learn about the history of them..this is the tour for you. Our group was very small and intimate which was great. It made it more personable and allowed for easy flowing conversation to occur. Lindsey was a great tour guide. She knew a lot about cocktails and the history of them making their was to New Orleans. It is a must do tour!

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

Jacqui S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing cemetery tour of New Orleans - host was very knowledgeable and great story teller!

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Carole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent museum, very well designed to follow all the events without spending too much time reading small letters, very good to have stories about real people all along.

Doing what: The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans

wallace b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was passionate about New Orleans. To me, it was an informative, fun tour. To my 10 year old son, it was sick. HIghly recommend.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

DeEtta E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Very little wild life, wrong time of the year, but enjoyed the bayou.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Niki S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We didn't pay for many tours on this NOLA trip but this was one thing we did do and it was so worth it. The total trip was an hour and 45 minutes and it was fun from start to finish. Our boat guide was George. He is born and raised in this part of LA and is super knowledgeable about the bayou, the animals, the flora and fauna, and all things environmental and economical. He was truly a joy. It was unfortunately on the colder side when we went out so we weren't able to see any gators swimming around. Happily, he brought a little buddy along with him. A 3 foot long male gator named Slater. Oh, I loved him so. He was a mellow little dude and we all had a chance to hold him.
Even if it's not a sunny day when you go out, I recommend bringing sunglasses. The wind is whipping and it's hard to keep your eyes open otherwise - something my husband learned the hard way. You might want to bring a water bottle as well. You don't get wet and don't have to walk through difficult terrain or anything so you can wear whatever you want.
So this was the large boat tour. The boat holds about 25 people and we had 22 on our trip. I don't think this took away from our experience. I was wondering if I should not have cheaped out and just paid for the small boat tour but then I saw that our boat went to all the same places as the small boat. It's not as though being on the small boat gave you the benefit of going deeper into the canals. The boats left and returned at the same time. Frankly, I think the small boat people were ripped off.
We rented a car and drove here. It seems absolutely ludicrous to pay 40 per person for a ride. Enterprise runs a deal where you can rent a car for 30 for 72 hours from Friday-Monday non-Airport locations. Take advantage of this. This way, you can drive yourself to this location, to the plantations, and anywhere else your heart desires.
I have to commend Viator on their customer service. We were originally scheduled for the 8th but the temperatures were near freezing that day. I called and they allowed me to switch it to the next day, when temps would be up 25 degrees. Thank you, Viator, for have a human answer the phone, and for having that human help me right away.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

janet d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved it. We all enjoyed are visit and each took home some lasting memories of our Brave Soldiers. Please allow enough time. We spent around 3 hours and could have spent more 3 more to absorb all of the great history of WW2

Doing what: The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans

janet d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great stop on are NOLA vacation. Second time to the class different approach than last time. Food was great would have liked a bit more history on the famous dishes.

Doing what: New Orleans Cooking Class

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very easy to meet up with this tour. Guide was great. Got to conversate with some very interesting people during this tour. Learned a ton about New Orleans general history and cocktail culture/history. This was a great tour and I recommend it. During the tour we leaned about a great restaurant we ate at later that was very fun SoBou. That was a nice value added. During the tour you get to taste some of the best known and some of the not so well known historic cocktails of New Orleans. The guide was a true local and answered all of the questions our group posed very well. If you like to walk and enjoy New Orleans history and culture this is a great tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

Raphael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

bbjernigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a blast! We got to go fast, see gators, and learn about the Louisiana wetlands.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Gerald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good and easy way to see New Orleans beyond the French Quarter. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Jackie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

For the price it is definitely worth it. Probably would even pay more. Jon was super informative. It was a small group of just 4 so you could hear him with no problems even in the busy day time streets. It and #39;s quick paced as he has a lot to tell you in the 2 hours and a lot of distance to travel.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

janet w

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour was pretty interesting and our tour guide was very skilled and knowledgeable nice too. I would say this is mostly an adult-only tour as there was a lot of standing around and our 10-year-old got pretty bored.

Doing what: New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour

Gladson R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was a just boat trip with special air boat with couple of stops which is not of great interest.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Fernando M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fun and educative. My family is very pleased with it.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

JOHN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

George our tour guide was amazing and gave everyone a lot of knowledge and entertainment.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message