Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while on the lookout for the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre that little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1899 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M_L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour operator was very courteous and allowed us to switch to a day later due to a sick child. We were also happy that the boat sails very smoothly, which helps with the situation. We saw a young gator, various birds, a racoon ravaging a bird nest, and got to hold a baby gator too, and of course the last part is the coolest and something special for the kids. The scenery was nice too. Overall we liked the trip and are very happy with their service.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had an eight year old in our party and he also really enjoyed it. The time on the bayou was really interesting and we learned a lot!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

isaratsidis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The locations for the tour were amazing and the guide, Giselle, was knowledgeable, kind, and energetic. Overall a great way to spend our day and an excellent precursor for the night in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Held Fluffy the baby gator, fed marshmallows to the swamp gators, saw some turtles and interesting birds. A lovely boat ride with lovely views.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Elisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect blend of fun, historical and cultural education and somber reflection. The boat adventure through the bayou was lovely and awing- our guide was a native Louisianan of Creole descent who clearly understood the importance of the bayou to the local culture. And the plantation tours were just incredible. Somehow, the guides know how to present these sites in a way that astounds and embraces their relevance to the American experience without losing the force of the horror of slavery. Little compares with standing inside a bare one room structure used to house six or seven slaves. The sites are preserved in their original state, presenting the entire tableaux in haunting perspective. You get to see two very different plantations and learn about two very different histories. The whole tour was just amazing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

DeEtta E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Very little wild life, wrong time of the year, but enjoyed the bayou.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Niki S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We didn't pay for many tours on this NOLA trip but this was one thing we did do and it was so worth it. The total trip was an hour and 45 minutes and it was fun from start to finish. Our boat guide was George. He is born and raised in this part of LA and is super knowledgeable about the bayou, the animals, the flora and fauna, and all things environmental and economical. He was truly a joy. It was unfortunately on the colder side when we went out so we weren't able to see any gators swimming around. Happily, he brought a little buddy along with him. A 3 foot long male gator named Slater. Oh, I loved him so. He was a mellow little dude and we all had a chance to hold him.
Even if it's not a sunny day when you go out, I recommend bringing sunglasses. The wind is whipping and it's hard to keep your eyes open otherwise - something my husband learned the hard way. You might want to bring a water bottle as well. You don't get wet and don't have to walk through difficult terrain or anything so you can wear whatever you want.
So this was the large boat tour. The boat holds about 25 people and we had 22 on our trip. I don't think this took away from our experience. I was wondering if I should not have cheaped out and just paid for the small boat tour but then I saw that our boat went to all the same places as the small boat. It's not as though being on the small boat gave you the benefit of going deeper into the canals. The boats left and returned at the same time. Frankly, I think the small boat people were ripped off.
We rented a car and drove here. It seems absolutely ludicrous to pay 40 per person for a ride. Enterprise runs a deal where you can rent a car for 30 for 72 hours from Friday-Monday non-Airport locations. Take advantage of this. This way, you can drive yourself to this location, to the plantations, and anywhere else your heart desires.
I have to commend Viator on their customer service. We were originally scheduled for the 8th but the temperatures were near freezing that day. I called and they allowed me to switch it to the next day, when temps would be up 25 degrees. Thank you, Viator, for have a human answer the phone, and for having that human help me right away.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Joseph was our tour guide and he was great. Helped us understand the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

bbjernigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a blast! We got to go fast, see gators, and learn about the Louisiana wetlands.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Alison B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! The swamps and bayous were just as I'd imagined them to be. The scenery was beautiful and peaceful. The tour was small and intimate. We saw heaps of aligators and different species of birds.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great time in a very relaxed atmosphere. It was very fast hour and half! Our captain was thoroughly entertaining, personable, and knowledgeable. Unique experience for me.

Doing what: Airboat Ride with Round-Trip Transport from New Orleans

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an exciting day out, great tour with a lovely and very knowledgeable tour guide and a bayou river cruise with crocs snapping at the shores and the history of the plantations and a spectacular tour of one of the grandest old homes in the area.
On the way back we stopped at Morning Call cafe and had Beignets and coffee. A very nice day. Highly recommend this tour operator

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Monica Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much history in this tour. Swamp ride was a bit cool and gators were in hibernation but our guide was very informative and just being in the swamp is a real experience.
Nice lunch at the Oak Alley plantation, true to the south. Both plantations are beautiful in there own way , our guides were very knowledgeable.
Highly recommend this tour, just be prepared this is a all day experience and the weather can change in a minute take a umbrella, good walking shoes and bottled water.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Fiona H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic day out with brilliant guide - totally recommend this trip

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Albert F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Quick pick up from hotel and 45 min ride from french q to dock in van. Restrooms available in gift shop with some animals displayed. 5 min wait and off we went on airboat. Nice 1 and half hour or so ride to see some gators on a cool morning. Guide had a baby gator to see and we saw an eagle too. Boat moves fast at times and can be a bit cool on a december morn. Quick ride back to hotel afterward. Overall nice but would have liked to see more gators up close.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour of the plantation houses was great, small bus and very knowledgeable guide who gave us a history of the Creole people on our way to the plantations. Very ordinary lunch, but that wasn't an important factor. Swamp tour was very disappointing and we would have/should have declined it was very cold and extremely noisy, how on earth you are expected to find any wildlife with that boat screaming through the bayous, I don't know. The only thing we saw, as we froze was frightened birds being disturbed from their nesting. Even the protective ear muffs we were given did not help to quell the noise. Sorry, strike that one off. Stick to the plantation houses.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

patricia.hay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We were picked up at our hotel and driven out to the Air Boat for an hour or so of zooming around the bayou. We saw a few fishermen but didn't see any alligators as the day was very cool and overcast. Our boat captain told us a bit about the history of the Creole and Cajun people and the war with the French however I would have liked to have heard more about the bayou itself such as what fish you can catch, names of the trees and shrubs and why the channels were widened. Our next stop was the Oak Alley Plantation, a beautiful place with lovely gardens and the 300 year old oak trees were stunning. The lunch was yummy and the guided tour very informative on the history of the place. Our last stop for the day was the Laura Plantation. Probably not as majestic as Oak Alley but our guided tour gave us a lot of information on the family history of the property and of the slaves who worked there. We were taken right down to the back of the property to the slave quarters adjacent to the sugar cane fields. Both the properties have gift shops with souvenirs.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

drmuir

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great day out, the tour was interesting and it was a full packed day. Vehicle could be more comfortable for the distant travelled. loved the air boat part of our tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gladson R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was a just boat trip with special air boat with couple of stops which is not of great interest.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Steven H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I suspect we would have given this tour 4 or 5 stars at other times of the year. Due to the cold weather, gators were not out, and neither was much of any other wildlife, but of course this is not the fault of the tour company. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The boat ride was a lot of fun, especially when it was time to "haul ass", as our pilot/tour guide put it

Doing what: Airboat Ride with Round-Trip Transport from New Orleans

Carole

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was fine and well organised, with interesting visits. But the tour guide was super bossy and stressful. She gave us a meeting point and time such as 10 minutes before the due start of the visit of the plantation and start chasing us around another 10 minutes before that. She did the same for every visit.
On the logistics side, the lunch at the plantation was very nice apart from the bossy part again but the van provided was very small and we are not even big people! without any space for a bag for the day. It was lucky that 2 people did not turn up for the excursion or we would have suffocated! It's an expensive tour, a bit more comfort would have been appreciated.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

JOHN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

George our tour guide was amazing and gave everyone a lot of knowledge and entertainment.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Darcy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was awesome! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and explained the history of the swamp, pointed out different animals and plants, and of course we say A LOT of alligators, we even got to hold a baby one. We took some beautiful pictures and had a great time. We've been recommending to friends since we left!

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

loro411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip through the everglades was exceptional. Our swamp boat operator and guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, and full of first hand experience and stories. Anyone going to Cajun country should take a trip through the swamps to get a feel for where the traditions and local stories come from.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I think a swamp tour is a must do if visiting New Orleans for the first time. The guide we had was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: New Orleans City Tour with Swamp Tour Options

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message