Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while on the lookout for the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre that little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1915 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ivy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We saw NINE gators! As well as wild pigs, snakes, raccoons, etc.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

Laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

After a little more than an hour van ride we arrived at the swamp tour. The tour was great. We saw birds and turtles. No Alligators in February but we heard a lot of stories from our fantastic tour guide. The two mansion tours and lunch were fantastic as well. Our guide was very informative with many historical facts.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sherri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Oh to hold a baby gator, to have a full grown gator climb on your boat! Great photos! The scenery of the swamp alone is mesmerizing!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed the airboat tour. It's loud and fast - part of it anyway - and uniquely Louisiana. There's no sensation quite like bouncing over the waves at high speed. Warmer days are better for animal sightings and it's a lot of fun creeping around the inlets and channels looking for wild beasts. We really enjoyed the tour guide / boat wrangler's take on what it's like to work and live in the cypress swamps. There were 2 of us so we went with the small boat, and we're glad we did. It was a more personal experience that way. Highly recommended!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Everything on time. Lunch was delicious. Food was high quality and homemade. Tour guide, Ellen, was excellent. Very knowledgeable, and a lovely person with good sense of humor. All tours provided great information, and I learned a lot. Landscape is at once enchanting and ghostly. A must for your trip to NOLA. Van was smaller than expected, but comfortable. Totally worth it. Go!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

accunningham56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was awesome! My boyfriend and I loved this tour. Our driver was a lovely man named Carl and he gave a deep history of the area and was really accommodating in picking us up at our random airnb location instead of the typical French Quarter hotels. The Laura plantation tour was one of the highlights of our trip and we highly recommend it. The swamp tour was also awesome and really fun. Saw lots of alligators and our boat driver/guide was highly entertaining and knowledgeable. definitely recommend this tour to those wanting to get a lot out of a little time in New Orleans!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Cyndee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. It does take all day so don't plan anything else on this day. However, you are doing 3 tours in one tour package. We went to the bayou and went on a swamp boat ride through the swamp first. It was very nice and our Cajun tour guide was awesome. Then we went to Oak Alley Plantation and had an awesome lunch followed by a tour of the Plantation. This is one of the most beautiful Plantations in the south. Then we went to Laura Plantation for a tour which was also amazing. It was a long day, but a great day. We thoroughly enjoyed it and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

On a foodie trip to New Orleans we decided to take a swamp tour. A great time. Speeding through the bayou on an airboat and being approached by alligators was a treat.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Martyn B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good full day on the whole. We didn't see much wildlife at all on the Swamp Boat adventure one small gator was all but the ride was fun. The highlight was the Laura plantation, the guide being superb. Royal Oak plantation was OK in comparison.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Neha J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great experience overall! Loved the sights of the bayou and even though we didn't see too many gators because of the time of year, the whole group's excitement at the few we did see made the trip really exciting and fun. Also...our tour guide brought a baby gator on board for us to hold!! Definitely memorable. The only thing I would change is to ask the team to make sure all the mics work well - there was something a bit off about the one our guide was using and it was hard to hear what he was saying sometimes. Loved the trip though, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone heading into New Orleans.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Laura D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The airboats are noisy and fast so there is less education about the bayou and less creature sightings. Danny our guide did a great job even in there circumstances.

Doing what: Airboat Ride with Round-Trip Transport from New Orleans

M_L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour operator was very courteous and allowed us to switch to a day later due to a sick child. We were also happy that the boat sails very smoothly, which helps with the situation. We saw a young gator, various birds, a racoon ravaging a bird nest, and got to hold a baby gator too, and of course the last part is the coolest and something special for the kids. The scenery was nice too. Overall we liked the trip and are very happy with their service.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had an eight year old in our party and he also really enjoyed it. The time on the bayou was really interesting and we learned a lot!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

isaratsidis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The locations for the tour were amazing and the guide, Giselle, was knowledgeable, kind, and energetic. Overall a great way to spend our day and an excellent precursor for the night in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Held Fluffy the baby gator, fed marshmallows to the swamp gators, saw some turtles and interesting birds. A lovely boat ride with lovely views.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Elisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the perfect blend of fun, historical and cultural education and somber reflection. The boat adventure through the bayou was lovely and awing- our guide was a native Louisianan of Creole descent who clearly understood the importance of the bayou to the local culture. And the plantation tours were just incredible. Somehow, the guides know how to present these sites in a way that astounds and embraces their relevance to the American experience without losing the force of the horror of slavery. Little compares with standing inside a bare one room structure used to house six or seven slaves. The sites are preserved in their original state, presenting the entire tableaux in haunting perspective. You get to see two very different plantations and learn about two very different histories. The whole tour was just amazing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

DeEtta E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Very little wild life, wrong time of the year, but enjoyed the bayou.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Niki S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We didn't pay for many tours on this NOLA trip but this was one thing we did do and it was so worth it. The total trip was an hour and 45 minutes and it was fun from start to finish. Our boat guide was George. He is born and raised in this part of LA and is super knowledgeable about the bayou, the animals, the flora and fauna, and all things environmental and economical. He was truly a joy. It was unfortunately on the colder side when we went out so we weren't able to see any gators swimming around. Happily, he brought a little buddy along with him. A 3 foot long male gator named Slater. Oh, I loved him so. He was a mellow little dude and we all had a chance to hold him.
Even if it's not a sunny day when you go out, I recommend bringing sunglasses. The wind is whipping and it's hard to keep your eyes open otherwise - something my husband learned the hard way. You might want to bring a water bottle as well. You don't get wet and don't have to walk through difficult terrain or anything so you can wear whatever you want.
So this was the large boat tour. The boat holds about 25 people and we had 22 on our trip. I don't think this took away from our experience. I was wondering if I should not have cheaped out and just paid for the small boat tour but then I saw that our boat went to all the same places as the small boat. It's not as though being on the small boat gave you the benefit of going deeper into the canals. The boats left and returned at the same time. Frankly, I think the small boat people were ripped off.
We rented a car and drove here. It seems absolutely ludicrous to pay 40 per person for a ride. Enterprise runs a deal where you can rent a car for 30 for 72 hours from Friday-Monday non-Airport locations. Take advantage of this. This way, you can drive yourself to this location, to the plantations, and anywhere else your heart desires.
I have to commend Viator on their customer service. We were originally scheduled for the 8th but the temperatures were near freezing that day. I called and they allowed me to switch it to the next day, when temps would be up 25 degrees. Thank you, Viator, for have a human answer the phone, and for having that human help me right away.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Joseph was our tour guide and he was great. Helped us understand the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

bbjernigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a blast! We got to go fast, see gators, and learn about the Louisiana wetlands.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Alison B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! The swamps and bayous were just as I'd imagined them to be. The scenery was beautiful and peaceful. The tour was small and intimate. We saw heaps of aligators and different species of birds.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great time in a very relaxed atmosphere. It was very fast hour and half! Our captain was thoroughly entertaining, personable, and knowledgeable. Unique experience for me.

Doing what: Airboat Ride with Round-Trip Transport from New Orleans

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an exciting day out, great tour with a lovely and very knowledgeable tour guide and a bayou river cruise with crocs snapping at the shores and the history of the plantations and a spectacular tour of one of the grandest old homes in the area.
On the way back we stopped at Morning Call cafe and had Beignets and coffee. A very nice day. Highly recommend this tour operator

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Monica Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much history in this tour. Swamp ride was a bit cool and gators were in hibernation but our guide was very informative and just being in the swamp is a real experience.
Nice lunch at the Oak Alley plantation, true to the south. Both plantations are beautiful in there own way , our guides were very knowledgeable.
Highly recommend this tour, just be prepared this is a all day experience and the weather can change in a minute take a umbrella, good walking shoes and bottled water.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Fiona H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic day out with brilliant guide - totally recommend this trip

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message