The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 911 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous tour - great day out with history and amazing singing!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Monisha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour with a very friendly and informative guide. The music at the church we visited was fabulous.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative on Harlem history. Church service was very moving. A great morning.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was terrific! He was fun and knowlegeable. He gave a comprehensive history and timely information. Would love to go on more tours with him.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

charles m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide great but gospel singers quite disappointing. No visability and singing not that good!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Kay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AMAZING. it was very special to me also because my Mum passed away the day prior to our Tour and the Minister 90, blind and a real character and his friend/guide were very kind. My husband was smiling, swaying and clapping, something I thought I'd never see him do in a Church. The local people were very welcoming. A memory that will stay with me forever.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

gilles.riviere-prost

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour, very friendly guide. The church is not a tourist trap

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

colin b

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well done.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Roseanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very Enjoyable tour. Lunch was awesome.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous time, better than expected. Duane was our leader and he was just delightful.
Also, BTW one of my friends knew someone who went on a different Gospel tour, and they spent 4 hours in the church.... This tour with Duane was perfect, we toured around Harlem and NYC and then had a fabulous ONE hour at the church. The church members made everyone feel so welcome, I am thinking of becoming a Baptist!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

george.blueblood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

brilliant sights great guide and the night tour by the Brooklyn Bridge was wonderful just in time to catch sunset and time to take amazing photos. It give you the whole picture of what Manhattan is all about.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

Bev B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

FANTASTIC!!!!'
What a joyful, inspiring, experience. Just heavenly.
Brunch at Sylvia's, was Soul Food at its best.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, really enjoyed it. Well worth doing the brunch also, that was a highlight, the soul food

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sally K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My boyfriend and I went on this trip last week and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were lucky enough to have Grandmaster Caz as our host who was so knowledgeable and entertaining. I loved seeing the graffiti in the different boroughs and the food at the Soul Food cafe was amazing! I would definitely recommend this tour, it was brilliant fun!

Doing what: New York Hip-Hop Tour

Jenny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour and music were wonderful. Upper Manhattan has so much going on. Highly recommend all ages.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Marlene W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was so well organized and our guide was so knowledgeable about Harlem and New York in general, a TRUE NEW YORKER! The church service was wonderful and the lunch and show at the Cotton Club was amazing with more gospel music. The singer and band had the whole place rocking!
It was a great day.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Victoria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour of about 40 guests, led by Glenn, was excellent. It was interesting that we were the only Americans on the trip, it was enlightening and taught us a great deal about the neighborhood. Glenn was terrific - informative and enthusiastic. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

dparsons

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The actual church visit was a huge highlight, a very moving and personal experience. We felt there was too much time spent on the bus, we had expected to be walking the area a little more, but our guide was informative and interesting, so other than that we greatly enjoyed the tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Daniel Jose M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Caitriona W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour of Harlem and the church tour .
It wasn and #39;t made clear that if you didn and #39;t take optional lunch the coach would take you home after the church. So we booked the lunch . Waiters kept forgetting about us!
Very knowledgeable tour guide but irritated by constant mention of tips !

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Huguette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Très touchant! J'ai trouvé les gens très authentiques.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Balazs M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience, even for non-religious visitors.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message