The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Rachel, was enthusiastic and energetic which helped us all with our early start. The tour was informative and all of the little details and inside information is what makes these tours so worthwhile. I wish I allowed more time to enjoy Ellis Island. I didn't realize how much time you would need to take in the exhibits there and the beautiful photographic history.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sheryl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our group of 6, including 4 teenagers, had a fabulous experience on the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Tour. Our tour guide was Matthew and he was exceptional. He shared his knowledge of history and current events in an engaging and humorous way. Our full group consisted of 27 people and one in our group was handicapped. He did a great job of attending to everyone's needs and still keeping the tour moving. My husband and I would like to return to Ellis Island to spend more time investigating. This time around the teens began to get restless...hungry. It should be noted that there are food and drinks available for purchase on the ferry. The only thing that could have been better was the weather. Thanks for a great and informative tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

AJUMOHAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Trip was very enjoyable. Our guide Allie Parris had very good knowledge in each and every things along wall district and 9/11 memorial. She provided an amazing description about each building. Also view from Ellis island and statue of liberty was awesome..☺

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

bugnjam United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour, well worth the money as you get a guided 4 hour tour discussing the history of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. You are given a listening device and new earbud to be able to hear the information anywhere on the tour. This was our first time in NYC and this was an awesome experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Paul N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the right way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tour was very informative and guide was great.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Went on the half day tour to Statue and Ellis Island, would highly recommend it. Turned a sightseeing day into something very special. It will remain with us for ever.
Remy was our guide and was nothing short of brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile.
Thank you Remy you made our day!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Curtis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Liberty and Ellis Island tour were wonderful. The guide explained the history and background so well for all the visitors and he made the trip so informed - such a wonderful guide and leader.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide, Frank, was the best. He did not rush through any of the exhibits at the Statue of Liberty or at Ellis Island. He was always considerate and helpful. If a questions was asked and he did not have the answer, he got the answer for the group. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Derek, was awesome. So knowledgeable about everything New York but especially about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty is a must see in NYC but Ellis Island is truly amazing about the immigrant experience in America from the 1880's to th 1920's. Plan to stay at Ellis Island after the tour ends and take advantage of all the exhibits and places to explore. I can't recommend this tour with Derek enough. My daughter and I wanted to go right back!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

mmeasures

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide we had was named Alice and she was excellent. She was well versed on all the history of the Statue and also Ellis Island. I learned a lot of facts that I did not know about the Statue. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was wonderful and our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to tell about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our group 4 of us had a great time!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Anson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Josh is very attentive! Took very good care of everyone! Thumb up! Also very knowledgeable on history of the statute of liberty and Ellis island. I bet his scored A+ in history and geography back in school. He knows abt Singapore (my country) haha not everyone knows where it is :)

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Tour guide knew so much about the history, kept us all in order and moving a long and was very personable. If you go during the winter, like we did, dress appropriately. It was VERY cold and windy! The only regret is not spending more time on Ellis Island. We spent so much time at the Statue that we were all hungry and tired by the time we went through Ellis so didn't stay longer. GREAT TOUR!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

shaun c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Starts near to Wall street and visits there before going onto a Church then back to Wall Street on the way to the 911 Monument.
I was not too sure if I really wanted to visit this or not but glad I did they have really done it well so it is a memorial to those that died it could have so easily have been more of a tribute to the terrorists.

You are then taken down to the ferry for the Statue of Liberty with a couple of interesting stops on the way the guide was excellent once at the ferry then you are on your own but that really is not a problem only thing was I spent so much time on Liberty Island I only havd a very quick look at Ellis Island.

What little I saw of Ellis island looked really good but to be honest I did not get time to really be able to comment about it so at some point whenever I return to NY I will have to go there for a proper look at it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

lam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Joel's style of relating historical fact with modern day experiences was enjoyable. Tour of Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island added considerably to the length in a good way of our day- so view this as a 'most of the day' tour so you don't rush the Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Debbi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jeannie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved the tour. The tour guides were informative and friendly. Liked that you could stay at Ellis Island as long as you wanted. We had lunch there and enjoyed the views of city and weather.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Stuart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Weather was awful, cold, wet windy, but our guide Mike made up for this. He was very knowledgeable and funny in presenting important elements of both. Ellis Island is a moving place to visit especially if you have had any relatives who have entered during the last century.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

mayomama3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour - made even better by our Guide Remy - Approximately 5 hours in length - time went by very quickly. I have been to both the Statue and Ellis Island but this tour was the best. Highly recommend

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

neil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Sal was outstanding - exceptionally knowledgeable and interested in informing us about the city and Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island. Even made the effort to lay down on the ground to take photos of people with the SoL. Well worth it - be prepared for the crowds getting on and off the ferry and ferry can bob a lot in the waves

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

tedtony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Alice did a great job explaining all of the information and history about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jocelyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was two tours in one. The morning was Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the afternoon was Lower Manhattan, 9/11 Memorial and Museum. Both tours were excellent and I would thoroughly recommend these to anyone. It was a full on day but a great way to see everything in a short time frame. Our tour guide Kristin was fantastic. A really lovely lady who was extremely informative, and really helpful.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

Tanya K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was really informative, and our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey was truely brilliant, he made it what it was, his enthusiasm for Ellis Island and Lady Liberty made it as famous as broadway.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

aursauver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well managed throughout. From the time we met our guide, through the crowd at the statue and onto Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Lyda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and considerate of all of the members on the tour. He was great and the amount of time allowed was perfect.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message