The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kayleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was worth every penny! Sal, our guide, was absolutely fantastic and he made this whole trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, one of the best trips we went on in New York, and he made the history come alive for us. He provided us all with headsets and headphones, so that we could hear him clearly, wherever we were standing. Sal was knowledgeable and extremely well informed about everywhere we visited, all of which he shared with the group in a really lovely and pleasant way. He knew how to get from one place to the next in the best possible way, which benefited us all as a group, so that we saw everything of interest, utilising all our valuable tour time to the maximum, and he pointed out things that, had we done the trip independently, we would have totally overlooked and missed. My family, both young and old, I can safely say, got so much enjoyment from this trip with Sal, and we would've missed out on so much information had we not gone with Sal and his valuable experience. Thank you so much Sal for making our memories of visiting the Statue of Liberty so wonderful!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

troy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was our first trip to New York City - we stayed in Manhattan. We highly recommend guided tours through this company of both Liberty and Ellis Islands. In a word, Remy was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Honestly, cannot say enough good things about him. His knowledge, delivery and engagement were exceptional. We personally felt as though we were the only ones on the tour - plus, my wife got to hold the official tour flag when he needed to stay a bit behind us to assist others on the tours! : Remy, we were the couple from Lincoln, NE...and we hope to see you on another play/musical tour to our state soon! PS - the bar we mentioned at 44th and 8th, 1/2 block from the Majestic is Smith's Bar...right across from the Intercontinental Hotel...Remy, we also hope you do a 9-11 tour...

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This would definitely be the way to see these 2 landmarks. Adam was our guide and he was thorough and knowledgable. Minimal waits and enough time to explore. We spend extra time on Ellis Island and still did not see everything but we were ready to return to Battery Park. 2 hours at the Statue and 3 hours at Ellis. We took the subway from Times Square which was so easy and smooth. If taking the 1 line you just need to know to be sure you are in the first 5 cars but they tell you also on the subway.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Joanne M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing from start to finish and Evan was the best guide. I would take this tour again but next time would book 4 months in advance so that we could climb up to the crown of the statue instead of just the pedestal. Very informative and emotional tour of Ellis Island so great job on this one.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kathleen L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were fortunate to have lovely weather during out 4-Sep-16 trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Allie was very engaging, actively included members of our small group in the narrative and was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed her humor and stories. She shared information about other local sites of interest. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Allie to anyone looking for a guided tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Remy G. Was very knowledgeable and thoughtful. We had adequate time at the Statue and appreciated being able to stay longer at Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great. Our tour guide Linda Shell was amazing, really engaging and gave us a really informative tour. The way she presented the information and her whole personality has made our trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island unforgettable. Thank you Linda!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Beverley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and very informative, we learnt about and noticed lots of things we wouldnt have done if we had just bought tickets for the trip. Our tour guide - Cody was very knowledgeable about both the Statue and Ellis Island history and was great company.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Papool C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fun tour. It starts with an approximately 2 hour walking tour of Wall St, Federal Hall, Trinity Church, 9/11 Memorial, and then down to Battery Park. The guide is very fun and informative. Great sense of humor and you can tell he really enjoys his work. He even had a tablet to show us additional pictures that supplemented his explanations of things. Once at Battery Park, you then go on your own to the Statue of Liberty via ferry and you get to use the shorter reserve line to board, and you get to go to the Pedestal of the SoL.

Following that, you get to go to Ellis Island, which is now a museum on American immigration. Really interesting stuff. You can spend as much time as you want on Liberty Island and Ellis Island, so you can do everything from the start of the walking tour to the end in 5 hours or much longer if you really want to go at a leisurely place. I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see these sights of NYC.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Lynne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guided tour! Knowledgeable guide in Sal. We moved swiftly through the queues and had a fabulous morning seeing the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Well worth the early start!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is one of THE best tours I have ever taken in all of my years of travel. The tour is well organized and flows at the perfect pace. I never felt bored or, conversely, rushed. Its execution is flawless. The ferry rides from Manhattan to Liberty and Ellis Islands were quite enjoyable. What made this tour even more exceptional was the tour guide, Michelle! She is incredibly knowledgeable and highly professional. Having a guided tour of the Statue of Liberty Museum was invaluable in fact, passersby attempted to adhere to our group because they knew they were a part of something great. I came away from the tour smarter than when I joined it which is a rarity. One of the typical problems with going on group tours is keeping all of the tour participants engaged and on time Michelle made wrangling all of the participants from location to location look easy...and fun. From imparting knowledge to taking the perfect picture of me in front of Lady Liberty, Michelle nailed each and every bit. I would easily recommend this tour to anyone looking to get an up close and personal look at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and opportunity to learn a lot of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Guides Remy and Liz were great and informative and helpful. Recommend you take this tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Christopher J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cody was AWESOME! We had a great time and learned so much about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Thank you, Cody!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Peggy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see downtown and learn some history of the area. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and shared lots I never knew. The group size was perfect and easy to keep up with and hear. I liked the fact you can tour the Statue at your own pace. Unfortunately we did not get to see Ellis Island so I will have to go back and see again. I

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Trevis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fantastic and the highlight of our trip to NYC. Although it was painful to wake up so early on a rainy morning, our guide Remmy was simply terrific. His love for the city was clear. On Ellis Island, it looked like one of the workers on the island was going to stop the tour or make him/us move. I asked him if he was going to shut the tour down, and he said No way. He's a good dude and he knows his stuff. Probably no better compliment! Thanks Remmy!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sheri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Sal was the best! His knowledge of both Ellis Island the Statue of Liberty was interesting and informative. We all even gave him credit for the great weather we had while visiting the Statue of Liberty, it didn't rain until we were finished with all our outside sightseeing! :- The entire tour was a joy and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

cdfarinelli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite the very hot weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our guided tour of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our tour guide was great and informative and made it a perfect and fun experience. He was very helpful and made sure we were able to find the names of family members that came to this country through Ellis Island-- very moving. Corinne F.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sal was absolutely wonderful!! We learned a lot about the city, Lady Liberty and Ellis Island. I really appreciate his love and enthusiasm for New York! I highly recommend this adventure and again, Sal was fantastic.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Chris B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our guide Rachel was among the best we've had worldwide, and really made a good tour great. Skipping the line for the ferry was a huge plus - brutally hot, muggy day and the line was long and in the sun. Rachel's extensive knowledge of both venues added a lot to the experience. She knew the best spots to get good photos from the ferry, too. Being able to stay on Ellis Island on our own was a big advantage, too.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to see both the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is with a great guide like Allie. She herded our group of 12 through ferry lines, security lines and entrance lines all while providing useful information on how to get a locker, where to buy souvenirs and the location of bathrooms. Allie not only made the logistics manageable, she also provided an exceptionally moving narrative tying both the Statue and Ellis Island to the immigrant experience- well done Allie!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had the pleasure of taking this tour on a recent trip to NYC. This was my first time to The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I'm sure that this tour would have been very satisfying any day of the week, but if you are lucky enough to get Tommy as your guide your experience will be 10 fold. He was engaging and so passionate about the stories he was telling about these two National Landmarks that you really were in awe. Thanks Tommy! And best of luck!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

JAMES DOUGLAS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rachel was an excellent guide!!! So much information, but well presented! Inspired me to learn more about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour on the 4th July at 8.30am. We were lucky to have Romy as our tour guide, he was great. He was really knowledgeable about the Statue of Liberty and was able to paint us a picture of what Ellis Island would have been like for the thousands of people who would have crowded the halls every day. We had a really interesting day and it was easy to find our tour guide in the designated location.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

antoinette d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tommy was a great guide on our tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island on July 25, 2016. He was an enthusiastic and informative host and it was nice to be part of a group and not have to stand in long lines and figure out the logistics ourselves. The drawback of a tour, of course, is that you can't go at your own speed. I would have liked to have spent more time at the exhibits inside the base of the statue, despite it being crowded and noisy staff were vacuuming at 10am when there were hoards of visitors with guides competing to get heard!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour guide, Remy, gave us an informative, but fascinating tour of these patriotic symbols! Because we had purchased these tickets online, we were able to bypass long lines in the heat to board the ferry. Remy was personable and enthusiastic as he shared the stories of these historical icons. This is truly the ONLY way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message