The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience, Josh our tour guide was delightful. The private tour added that extra personalized detail we were looking for, as touring the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island can be quite overwhelming.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jack V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Remy was our guide and really did a good job. He brought out the history and personal stories of both the statue and ellis island. I would highly recommend Remy. The tour was everything it advertised itself to be. Be the first group in the morning certainly cut down on the crowds.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Eileen P C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour Is worth it. Great way to see both. You beat the lines and get up to pedestal. No need to go up to crown, extra 162 narrow steps and dirty/small windows = no view. Frank and Tom knowledgeable guides. Use your same tix for Ellis Island AUDIO tour, without paying more $ if want in depth details

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Arie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the walking tour and had the best guide with so many interesting facts that we would never had known..
The next part of the tour you do on your own..
The ferry to the Statue of Liberty was very short and calm. and then another ferry to Ellis Island so much history!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

shelagh b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

so very interesting ... the history of ellis island brought to life by the very passionate guide johnathan , he was fab . If i had been lucky enough to have a history teacher like him in school i may have found the subject more interesting . thanks johnathan for a great day .

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the most informative tours I have ever been on. Tommy was able to answer all our questions and gave us so much history. He was an outstanding your guide. It was money well spent and we enjoyed our day culminating with a nice lunch on Ellis island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Mrs J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We're not usually 'tour guide fans' and by far prefer to amble around under our own steam whenever we travel. BUT we were so very glad we booked this tour! We had a really wonderful guided tour of Ellis and Liberty Island with Viator, which I originally only booked as it seemed to be the most efficient and cost effective way of accessing the ferry and both the islands in a relatively short space of time. It was so easy to book from the UK and the very clear joining instructions we received on-line and the organisation on the day of the tour were absolutely excellent. Linda Shell our tour guide was fantastic and really brought to life the story of the Statue and the history of both Liberty and Ellis Islands. We would have missed so much if Linda hadnt been with us and the rest of our group thought so too. Linda's love for New York, the history of the Statue and empathy for the immigrants passing through Ellis Island simply shined from her and made the tour even more special for us. I would highly recommend Viator for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island guided tour and think both the quality and value for money was excellent.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Carey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Tom was amazing. His knowledge of Liberty and Ellis island--and just New York in general was plentiful! Ask for him by name. It was 10x better than trying to do it on your own--great experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Ashley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good tour for someone wanting to do several things in the one day. You begin the day by catching the ferry to the Statue of Liberty, you get to climb the pedestal, then back to the ferry to Ellis Island where you then have a lunch break. The afternoon session takes you through the 9/11 memorial site and finishes at the memorial museum, where you can spend the rest of your afternoon.

Guides Amanda and Jeff were very knowledgable and had lots of interesting facts throughout the day. They made the day run quite smoothly and gave little tidbits of information like which side of the ferry to sit on. I was glad I did the tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip to Liberty Island and Ellis Island, our guide Linda was very knowledgeable on all aspects of the tour, and answered every question anyone asked, she was very pleasant and even advised us on best way to see other parts of New York.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Claire F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ask for your guide to be Uncle Jeff. This tour is a great introduction to NYC with a thoughtful, insightful history shared by a charming, talented guide.
Would recommend this for people 12yrs+. The Staute ofLiberty was wonderful, Ellis island interesting, the One World Observatory brilliant.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

Marcia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour leaders were actors who brought life and entertainment to the story of Lady Liberty and the Ellis Island immigrants. One problem is that I could not contact a viator representative by phone when I had a problem.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Glenn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rachel was amazing. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. Her grasp of the history of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was astounding. Looking forward to my next Viator.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

They are both extremely culturally important to the growth of the USA.
The Statue of Liberty as a beacon to those already here and the new immigrants as they arrived. Take the morning tour to see her front in full sunlight.
Ellis Island was the first point of call for migrants for decades and houses informative displays on the process. Even as a foreign visitor it has a story similar throughout most countries and still relevant today.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Yvette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day tour of the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Lower Manhattan including St Paul's Chapel, 9/11 memorial and surrounding areas. Our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey was fantastic. Uncle Jeffrey was very knowledgable about history of New York and the many places we visited throughout the day and ensured the tour group was together at all times all the while having a great sense of humour. The weather on the day was fantastic weather and the views from the pedestal level of the Statue of Liberty were breathtaking. The afternoon tour around St Paul's Chapel and the 9/11 memorial and ending at One World Tower was fantastic. The views from the One World Tower are stunning. I would highly recommend this tour and our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey for anyone wanting to visit these sites in New York. You will have truly memorial day on this tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

rkmfraser USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our excellent guide Brad was very personable while giving our small group really interesting facts about the buildings surrounding Wall Street. At the end he took us to the line that boards the Statue Ferry. The Statue of Liberty is a must see when you go to New York. She's such a wonder to see in person. The ferry then takes you to Ellis Island. The Park service has done a great job creating a place to explore how immigrants came and why they still come to this country.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. The tour guide Remi was so knowledgeable about the area of Wall Street, broad Street and 911. To see the statue of liberty close up is breathtaking and so surreal. Ellis island was also good to see. The boat rides there and back were also so relaxing on what was a very warm day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tom the guide was outstanding with his knowledge and patience answering questions. It was not a large group but he managed to get us around the huge crowds that day and into the attractions. He has an affable personalty and knows much factual information about NYC , Ellis Is. and the Statue of Liberty. Very enjoyable time well spent!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jorge G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Would recommend to anyone who wants to learn several amazing historical facts about Lady Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Eleonora D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, takes about 4 hours without considering spending time after in Ellis island outside of the tour. Great to start early to avoid lines. Our guide was the best, Tommy did a great job on keeping us engaged, highly knowledgeable but also sharing stories. My 10 and 7 year old boys loved it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jennie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful vip tour for the statue of liberty and Ellis island. Very informative and worth the tour guide with Remy, he was awesome and made it fun. Glad we booked this for our nyc trip.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Anand M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John was awesome. He provided a lot of history about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. And this is what made it so entertaining and insightful. Worth the money. Kids Enjoyed and so did we. He also knowledgeable about the New York which helped me get a sense of what New York was about. Worth the money.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Ray B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was well run from beginning to end. Tom, our guide, has a head full of facts and anecdotes that make both the statue and Ellis Island truly come to life. His narrative was always audible and he answered every question cheerfully. It is a very active tour, and involves lots of walking, so you get some exercise as well. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bobby the tour guide did an outstanding job, from the beginning when met us at Clinton Hall until the very end of the tour at Ellis Island. He was informative answered all questions and was very professional. Great Job Bobby.
Stuart Kryshka

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If this is your first visit to New York with limited time this is a wonderful tour. We saw and learned more than we could have learned on our own. Our Tour guide Uncle Jeffery was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, had tons of historical facts and had a good sense of humor. He really cared a lot about every one on the tour. I was really impressed how companioned he was. Some people that was not on the tour would ask him for information, he was so helpful.
The ride to Lady Liberty was breath taking as we got closer on the boat, if this was your first time seeing her. I learned so much from our guide. On to Ellis island was very exciting. Uncle Jeffery told us a lot of history that was interesting and sadden.
Our afternoon trip was just as exciting. I rode the subway to St Paul Chapel with Uncle Jeffery assistance. I never would of done it on my own. I really enjoyed The One World Observatory. I thought I was going to get bored with this trip when I first booked it, but it was by far my best tour yet, thanks to my guide.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message