The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is one of THE best tours I have ever taken in all of my years of travel. The tour is well organized and flows at the perfect pace. I never felt bored or, conversely, rushed. Its execution is flawless. The ferry rides from Manhattan to Liberty and Ellis Islands were quite enjoyable. What made this tour even more exceptional was the tour guide, Michelle! She is incredibly knowledgeable and highly professional. Having a guided tour of the Statue of Liberty Museum was invaluable in fact, passersby attempted to adhere to our group because they knew they were a part of something great. I came away from the tour smarter than when I joined it which is a rarity. One of the typical problems with going on group tours is keeping all of the tour participants engaged and on time Michelle made wrangling all of the participants from location to location look easy...and fun. From imparting knowledge to taking the perfect picture of me in front of Lady Liberty, Michelle nailed each and every bit. I would easily recommend this tour to anyone looking to get an up close and personal look at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and opportunity to learn a lot of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Guides Remy and Liz were great and informative and helpful. Recommend you take this tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Christopher J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cody was AWESOME! We had a great time and learned so much about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Thank you, Cody!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Peggy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see downtown and learn some history of the area. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and shared lots I never knew. The group size was perfect and easy to keep up with and hear. I liked the fact you can tour the Statue at your own pace. Unfortunately we did not get to see Ellis Island so I will have to go back and see again. I

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Trevis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fantastic and the highlight of our trip to NYC. Although it was painful to wake up so early on a rainy morning, our guide Remmy was simply terrific. His love for the city was clear. On Ellis Island, it looked like one of the workers on the island was going to stop the tour or make him/us move. I asked him if he was going to shut the tour down, and he said No way. He's a good dude and he knows his stuff. Probably no better compliment! Thanks Remmy!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sheri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Sal was the best! His knowledge of both Ellis Island the Statue of Liberty was interesting and informative. We all even gave him credit for the great weather we had while visiting the Statue of Liberty, it didn't rain until we were finished with all our outside sightseeing! :- The entire tour was a joy and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

cdfarinelli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite the very hot weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our guided tour of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our tour guide was great and informative and made it a perfect and fun experience. He was very helpful and made sure we were able to find the names of family members that came to this country through Ellis Island-- very moving. Corinne F.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sal was absolutely wonderful!! We learned a lot about the city, Lady Liberty and Ellis Island. I really appreciate his love and enthusiasm for New York! I highly recommend this adventure and again, Sal was fantastic.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Chris B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our guide Rachel was among the best we've had worldwide, and really made a good tour great. Skipping the line for the ferry was a huge plus - brutally hot, muggy day and the line was long and in the sun. Rachel's extensive knowledge of both venues added a lot to the experience. She knew the best spots to get good photos from the ferry, too. Being able to stay on Ellis Island on our own was a big advantage, too.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to see both the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is with a great guide like Allie. She herded our group of 12 through ferry lines, security lines and entrance lines all while providing useful information on how to get a locker, where to buy souvenirs and the location of bathrooms. Allie not only made the logistics manageable, she also provided an exceptionally moving narrative tying both the Statue and Ellis Island to the immigrant experience- well done Allie!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had the pleasure of taking this tour on a recent trip to NYC. This was my first time to The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I'm sure that this tour would have been very satisfying any day of the week, but if you are lucky enough to get Tommy as your guide your experience will be 10 fold. He was engaging and so passionate about the stories he was telling about these two National Landmarks that you really were in awe. Thanks Tommy! And best of luck!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

JAMES DOUGLAS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rachel was an excellent guide!!! So much information, but well presented! Inspired me to learn more about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour on the 4th July at 8.30am. We were lucky to have Romy as our tour guide, he was great. He was really knowledgeable about the Statue of Liberty and was able to paint us a picture of what Ellis Island would have been like for the thousands of people who would have crowded the halls every day. We had a really interesting day and it was easy to find our tour guide in the designated location.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

antoinette d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tommy was a great guide on our tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island on July 25, 2016. He was an enthusiastic and informative host and it was nice to be part of a group and not have to stand in long lines and figure out the logistics ourselves. The drawback of a tour, of course, is that you can't go at your own speed. I would have liked to have spent more time at the exhibits inside the base of the statue, despite it being crowded and noisy staff were vacuuming at 10am when there were hoards of visitors with guides competing to get heard!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour guide, Remy, gave us an informative, but fascinating tour of these patriotic symbols! Because we had purchased these tickets online, we were able to bypass long lines in the heat to board the ferry. Remy was personable and enthusiastic as he shared the stories of these historical icons. This is truly the ONLY way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

niny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip was amazing with Tommy our tour guide, he was nice, always smiling, accommodating, everywhere we go, he makes sure that everyone is in the group, knows very well the history of Statue of Liberty and Ellis, inside is a museum and a piece by piece exact replica of Statue of Liberty, the view was stunning at the top, all in all our first trip was a good one, we were happy, satisfied with Tommy, he deserve a 10 plus rating, highly r.ecommended.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Boyd C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organized trip, our tour guide gave us a thorough review of the history of Ellis island , Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a must do! Like our other Viator NYC tours, this one far exceeded our expectations. It started off with a walking tour of the financial district which was such a treat. Then on to the 9/11 Memorial site, then Statue of Liberty. There, you can explore at your own pace and also go to Ellis Island. Our guide, Joel, was excellent - highly informative and entertaining. We were traveling with our 10 and 11 yr olds and they weren't bored once the entire time. It was an excellent tour that we would recommend to anyone going to NYC.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Martelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience, Josh our tour guide was delightful. The private tour added that extra personalized detail we were looking for, as touring the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island can be quite overwhelming.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jack V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Remy was our guide and really did a good job. He brought out the history and personal stories of both the statue and ellis island. I would highly recommend Remy. The tour was everything it advertised itself to be. Be the first group in the morning certainly cut down on the crowds.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Eileen P C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour Is worth it. Great way to see both. You beat the lines and get up to pedestal. No need to go up to crown, extra 162 narrow steps and dirty/small windows = no view. Frank and Tom knowledgeable guides. Use your same tix for Ellis Island AUDIO tour, without paying more $ if want in depth details

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Arie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the walking tour and had the best guide with so many interesting facts that we would never had known..
The next part of the tour you do on your own..
The ferry to the Statue of Liberty was very short and calm. and then another ferry to Ellis Island so much history!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

shelagh b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

so very interesting ... the history of ellis island brought to life by the very passionate guide johnathan , he was fab . If i had been lucky enough to have a history teacher like him in school i may have found the subject more interesting . thanks johnathan for a great day .

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the most informative tours I have ever been on. Tommy was able to answer all our questions and gave us so much history. He was an outstanding your guide. It was money well spent and we enjoyed our day culminating with a nice lunch on Ellis island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Mrs J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We're not usually 'tour guide fans' and by far prefer to amble around under our own steam whenever we travel. BUT we were so very glad we booked this tour! We had a really wonderful guided tour of Ellis and Liberty Island with Viator, which I originally only booked as it seemed to be the most efficient and cost effective way of accessing the ferry and both the islands in a relatively short space of time. It was so easy to book from the UK and the very clear joining instructions we received on-line and the organisation on the day of the tour were absolutely excellent. Linda Shell our tour guide was fantastic and really brought to life the story of the Statue and the history of both Liberty and Ellis Islands. We would have missed so much if Linda hadnt been with us and the rest of our group thought so too. Linda's love for New York, the history of the Statue and empathy for the immigrants passing through Ellis Island simply shined from her and made the tour even more special for us. I would highly recommend Viator for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island guided tour and think both the quality and value for money was excellent.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message