Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Tour guide knew so much about the history, kept us all in order and moving a long and was very personable. If you go during the winter, like we did, dress appropriately. It was VERY cold and windy! The only regret is not spending more time on Ellis Island. We spent so much time at the Statue that we were all hungry and tired by the time we went through Ellis so didn't stay longer. GREAT TOUR!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

shaun c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Starts near to Wall street and visits there before going onto a Church then back to Wall Street on the way to the 911 Monument.
I was not too sure if I really wanted to visit this or not but glad I did they have really done it well so it is a memorial to those that died it could have so easily have been more of a tribute to the terrorists.

You are then taken down to the ferry for the Statue of Liberty with a couple of interesting stops on the way the guide was excellent once at the ferry then you are on your own but that really is not a problem only thing was I spent so much time on Liberty Island I only havd a very quick look at Ellis Island.

What little I saw of Ellis island looked really good but to be honest I did not get time to really be able to comment about it so at some point whenever I return to NY I will have to go there for a proper look at it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

lam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Joel's style of relating historical fact with modern day experiences was enjoyable. Tour of Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island added considerably to the length in a good way of our day- so view this as a 'most of the day' tour so you don't rush the Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Debbi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jeannie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved the tour. The tour guides were informative and friendly. Liked that you could stay at Ellis Island as long as you wanted. We had lunch there and enjoyed the views of city and weather.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Stuart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Weather was awful, cold, wet windy, but our guide Mike made up for this. He was very knowledgeable and funny in presenting important elements of both. Ellis Island is a moving place to visit especially if you have had any relatives who have entered during the last century.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

mayomama3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour - made even better by our Guide Remy - Approximately 5 hours in length - time went by very quickly. I have been to both the Statue and Ellis Island but this tour was the best. Highly recommend

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

neil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Sal was outstanding - exceptionally knowledgeable and interested in informing us about the city and Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island. Even made the effort to lay down on the ground to take photos of people with the SoL. Well worth it - be prepared for the crowds getting on and off the ferry and ferry can bob a lot in the waves

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

tedtony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Alice did a great job explaining all of the information and history about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jocelyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was two tours in one. The morning was Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the afternoon was Lower Manhattan, 9/11 Memorial and Museum. Both tours were excellent and I would thoroughly recommend these to anyone. It was a full on day but a great way to see everything in a short time frame. Our tour guide Kristin was fantastic. A really lovely lady who was extremely informative, and really helpful.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

Tanya K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was really informative, and our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey was truely brilliant, he made it what it was, his enthusiasm for Ellis Island and Lady Liberty made it as famous as broadway.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

aursauver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well managed throughout. From the time we met our guide, through the crowd at the statue and onto Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Lyda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and considerate of all of the members on the tour. He was great and the amount of time allowed was perfect.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

chris.j.batten

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Local history and visit to twin towers, sobering. Great boat trip to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I would recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Dorothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Josh was knowledge, patient and answered all of our questions. We had time at the sites for pictures and we weren't rushed to see the next thing. I saw parts of the financial district I had never seen. The Ferry to Liberty and Ellis Island was seamless with free time in both places. I highly recommend this trip and Josh!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

kevin t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the guide was great very knowledgeable and had time for all the guests. Gave lots of time to take in the statue and the Ellis island tour too. Early start as we were all there which mad it easy as the lines were quick and small - great tour and very pleased

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

william m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I always wanted to go to The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and this was everything I wanted. I wanted to see where and how the immigrants came in and how they were treated. This tour answered all the questions I ever had and more. I am going to New York next year and will go again

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sal was an amazing tour director! This tour is very informative and money well spent. You get an unclose and personal look at the Statue, the construction and placement, as well as the history of Ellis Island. This tour takes about 4 hours and is a bit of a wait for the ferry off Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Sean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a day out! We had our guide Adam who was excellent and informative. He not only showed us around but advised us where to be and when to avoid the worst of queues which to be honest as we went on the morning tour were minimal. We started by going to the Battery Park which is where the tour started. Next to the Staute which the views from the hudson were exceptional. The museum containing the history was interesting added with Adams knowledge was excellent. Next to Ellis Island another highlight! Of all the tours we did this one was the best and if you can only do 1 I would recommend it.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kayleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was worth every penny! Sal, our guide, was absolutely fantastic and he made this whole trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, one of the best trips we went on in New York, and he made the history come alive for us. He provided us all with headsets and headphones, so that we could hear him clearly, wherever we were standing. Sal was knowledgeable and extremely well informed about everywhere we visited, all of which he shared with the group in a really lovely and pleasant way. He knew how to get from one place to the next in the best possible way, which benefited us all as a group, so that we saw everything of interest, utilising all our valuable tour time to the maximum, and he pointed out things that, had we done the trip independently, we would have totally overlooked and missed. My family, both young and old, I can safely say, got so much enjoyment from this trip with Sal, and we would've missed out on so much information had we not gone with Sal and his valuable experience. Thank you so much Sal for making our memories of visiting the Statue of Liberty so wonderful!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

troy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was our first trip to New York City - we stayed in Manhattan. We highly recommend guided tours through this company of both Liberty and Ellis Islands. In a word, Remy was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Honestly, cannot say enough good things about him. His knowledge, delivery and engagement were exceptional. We personally felt as though we were the only ones on the tour - plus, my wife got to hold the official tour flag when he needed to stay a bit behind us to assist others on the tours! : Remy, we were the couple from Lincoln, NE...and we hope to see you on another play/musical tour to our state soon! PS - the bar we mentioned at 44th and 8th, 1/2 block from the Majestic is Smith's Bar...right across from the Intercontinental Hotel...Remy, we also hope you do a 9-11 tour...

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This would definitely be the way to see these 2 landmarks. Adam was our guide and he was thorough and knowledgable. Minimal waits and enough time to explore. We spend extra time on Ellis Island and still did not see everything but we were ready to return to Battery Park. 2 hours at the Statue and 3 hours at Ellis. We took the subway from Times Square which was so easy and smooth. If taking the 1 line you just need to know to be sure you are in the first 5 cars but they tell you also on the subway.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Joanne M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing from start to finish and Evan was the best guide. I would take this tour again but next time would book 4 months in advance so that we could climb up to the crown of the statue instead of just the pedestal. Very informative and emotional tour of Ellis Island so great job on this one.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kathleen L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were fortunate to have lovely weather during out 4-Sep-16 trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Allie was very engaging, actively included members of our small group in the narrative and was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed her humor and stories. She shared information about other local sites of interest. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Allie to anyone looking for a guided tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Remy G. Was very knowledgeable and thoughtful. We had adequate time at the Statue and appreciated being able to stay longer at Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message