The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lori H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Derek, our tour guide was an expert about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. He showed us the best places to take pictures, gave us the best information, and made sure we all had a great time.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a really enjoyable tour to the statue of Liberty and Ellis island, Our guide Rachel was really friendly and welcoming from the start and she was very knowledgeable on everything about our trip she even took photos of all the couples at the statue of Liberty,we would recommend this tour on your trip to NYC and Rachel was superb

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jacqueline J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was outstanding. The Statue of Liberty tour was informative and interesting, so impressive. On our way to Ellis Island our guide encouraged us to transform into our immigrant ancestors. He then guided us in their footsteps as they stepped off the ferry and were processed through immigration. I chose to remember my grandmother, who traveled alone from Finland, 19 years old, and didn't speak a work of English. It was a very moving experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My daughter and I were celebrating her 21st birthday with a short break in New York, and I booked this before I left the UK. We were staying on 8th Avenue and had seen how heavy the traffic is, so I booked a taxi for 7.45 am as it was an early start, 8.15 am at Battery Park.

This was the best tour I've been on for years, all due to the charismatic tour guide, Adam Wennick.

We got there at 8.10 am and luckily the park paths had been cleared following the heavy snowfall during the week, still quite icy as it was early. We made our way through the park to the meeting place in Castle Clinton, waited by the Bookstore and Adam Wennick arrived, ticked us off his list, and told us to wait in the small museum to keep warm whilst waiting for others. There is a rest room there. When the group was assembled Adam gave us our tickets and warned us to look after them carefully, bought us all into the museum and gave a very knowledgeable and passionate talk about the history of the area.

We then went to queue for security before the ferry and tolerated many queue jumpers, but Adam kept us all together. During our wait Adam explained the sculptures in the park.

The security is very thorough, including belts. We then got onto the ferry and Adam pointed out the other islands, recommended a good photo spot, and left us to enjoy the short journey.

Upon arrival at Liberty Island we gathered again for our second security check - no food or water is allowed through and I had the embarrassment of a half eaten pretzel in my coat pocket, so do check!

We walked up to the statue and into the fantastic museum which Adam presented in a very knowledgeable way, we then proceeded either up the stairs to the pedestal or in the elevator. The stairs are closed in and OK for vertigo sufferers. At the top of the pedestal you are free to wander outside, but one door was blocked and there was some congestion. It was amazing to see the view outside and inside you can see inside the statue through the glass ceiling.

We then gathered again, and before leaving for Ellis Island, Adam volunteered to be our 'photographer' by lying on his back on the gritty snowy ground - a gesture I doubt many tour guides offer, thank you so much Adam.

We set off for Ellis Island and before entering the building Adam explained the history of immigration - my grandmother emigrated to the US in the 1920's, it was fascinating. I won't be returning and was pleased I can access the information on the web.

We were then free to have lunch or explore further and Adam left us. My daughter and I had lunch, took the Battery Park ferry back, and took the subway back - you have to go down into the station to get a travel pass which you can load for your next visit, like the Oyster card.

A fantastic tour with a wonderful tour guide who gave 101 percent. Thank you!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

carolinesimone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had Adam as our guide for our recent trip to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
If you are wondering whether to book a trip to see these iconic landmarks of New York, I can highly recommend taking this tour. There are alternative methods of visiting these places, but having the excursion planned for you and being in the company of a tour guide is hassle free and very informative.
Adam was a great guide, knowledgeable, personable and very interesting to listen to - we particularly enjoyed the addition of a few fun facts to keep us entertained. Thanks for looking after us Adam - we had a great excursion!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Alice was our tour guide and she was Phenomenal. Alice was reading and waiting when we arrived and she was well organized and rich in knowledge about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island. She provided tidbits of information that you would not get by touring on your own. The weather was cold and windy, but it did not dampen her enthusiasm.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jesse B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Choosing to purchase our tickets in advance and be welcomed by our fantastic tour guide was one of our best decisions on our New York trip. Our guide made the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island come alive for us. Folks who weren't on our tour jealously hung out to eavesdrop wishing they'd made the same decision. I wish for them that they had. We highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

rhonlee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour and tour guide of the Liberty and Ellis Island also a must to do.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Rachel, was enthusiastic and energetic which helped us all with our early start. The tour was informative and all of the little details and inside information is what makes these tours so worthwhile. I wish I allowed more time to enjoy Ellis Island. I didn't realize how much time you would need to take in the exhibits there and the beautiful photographic history.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sheryl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our group of 6, including 4 teenagers, had a fabulous experience on the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Tour. Our tour guide was Matthew and he was exceptional. He shared his knowledge of history and current events in an engaging and humorous way. Our full group consisted of 27 people and one in our group was handicapped. He did a great job of attending to everyone's needs and still keeping the tour moving. My husband and I would like to return to Ellis Island to spend more time investigating. This time around the teens began to get restless...hungry. It should be noted that there are food and drinks available for purchase on the ferry. The only thing that could have been better was the weather. Thanks for a great and informative tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

AJUMOHAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Trip was very enjoyable. Our guide Allie Parris had very good knowledge in each and every things along wall district and 9/11 memorial. She provided an amazing description about each building. Also view from Ellis island and statue of liberty was awesome..☺

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

bugnjam United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour, well worth the money as you get a guided 4 hour tour discussing the history of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. You are given a listening device and new earbud to be able to hear the information anywhere on the tour. This was our first time in NYC and this was an awesome experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Paul N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the right way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tour was very informative and guide was great.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Went on the half day tour to Statue and Ellis Island, would highly recommend it. Turned a sightseeing day into something very special. It will remain with us for ever.
Remy was our guide and was nothing short of brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile.
Thank you Remy you made our day!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Curtis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Liberty and Ellis Island tour were wonderful. The guide explained the history and background so well for all the visitors and he made the trip so informed - such a wonderful guide and leader.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide, Frank, was the best. He did not rush through any of the exhibits at the Statue of Liberty or at Ellis Island. He was always considerate and helpful. If a questions was asked and he did not have the answer, he got the answer for the group. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Derek, was awesome. So knowledgeable about everything New York but especially about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty is a must see in NYC but Ellis Island is truly amazing about the immigrant experience in America from the 1880's to th 1920's. Plan to stay at Ellis Island after the tour ends and take advantage of all the exhibits and places to explore. I can't recommend this tour with Derek enough. My daughter and I wanted to go right back!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

mmeasures

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide we had was named Alice and she was excellent. She was well versed on all the history of the Statue and also Ellis Island. I learned a lot of facts that I did not know about the Statue. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was wonderful and our guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to tell about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our group 4 of us had a great time!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Anson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Josh is very attentive! Took very good care of everyone! Thumb up! Also very knowledgeable on history of the statute of liberty and Ellis island. I bet his scored A+ in history and geography back in school. He knows abt Singapore (my country) haha not everyone knows where it is :)

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Tour guide knew so much about the history, kept us all in order and moving a long and was very personable. If you go during the winter, like we did, dress appropriately. It was VERY cold and windy! The only regret is not spending more time on Ellis Island. We spent so much time at the Statue that we were all hungry and tired by the time we went through Ellis so didn't stay longer. GREAT TOUR!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

shaun c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Starts near to Wall street and visits there before going onto a Church then back to Wall Street on the way to the 911 Monument.
I was not too sure if I really wanted to visit this or not but glad I did they have really done it well so it is a memorial to those that died it could have so easily have been more of a tribute to the terrorists.

You are then taken down to the ferry for the Statue of Liberty with a couple of interesting stops on the way the guide was excellent once at the ferry then you are on your own but that really is not a problem only thing was I spent so much time on Liberty Island I only havd a very quick look at Ellis Island.

What little I saw of Ellis island looked really good but to be honest I did not get time to really be able to comment about it so at some point whenever I return to NY I will have to go there for a proper look at it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

lam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Joel's style of relating historical fact with modern day experiences was enjoyable. Tour of Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island added considerably to the length in a good way of our day- so view this as a 'most of the day' tour so you don't rush the Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Debbi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jeannie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved the tour. The tour guides were informative and friendly. Liked that you could stay at Ellis Island as long as you wanted. We had lunch there and enjoyed the views of city and weather.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message