New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 860 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Empire State Building on a Saturday night can be a zoo. The VIP Experience is definitely the way to go. You are whisked past all of the lines (on the way up and the way down). We easily avoided at least an hour or more of waiting. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

marsons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours and guides. Plenty of bus stops and always somebody in a red jacket from Grayline to ask questions. Empire State Building was fabulous what a view!,
Highly recommended

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Empire State Building was incredible! Walking around the Art Deco displays with all the information about the building was quite interesting.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

mnrothfels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Heidi was awesome! Gave us so much information and was fun and personable throughout the day. Great Empire State building morning, beautiful afternoon cruising to Liberty. Small group and relaxed approach with New York flair.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

mnrothfels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Heidi was awesome! Gave us so much information and was fun and personable throughout the day. Great Empire State building morning, beautiful afternoon cruising to Liberty. Small group and relaxed approach with New York flair.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Kirsty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the best day. Received a very warm welcome from our guide Debbie. We were the first group up at the Empire State Building as soon as it opened. The visibility was not great as was cloudy but still got to see so much from the top with our guide pointing out the sights. Short bus trip to the river and museum. Water taxi then walked to the 9/11 memorial. Debbie spoke very passionately about the 9/11 Memorial and was a very moving please to be. The memorial was were we left Debbie with a hug and a massive thank you. Returning to our base via the Statue of Liberty where the Water Taxi stopped so that everyone could take photos of the lady herself. A day of memories we will treasure forever. Worth every penny. Paul Kirsty and Rowan

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

jigzy2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Second time I have done Empire State Building however this time was at night and we paid to do the 102nd floor must say top class and so glad I done this again but this time at night which was truly amazing and those lights will never leave my mind

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was Outstanding. The Empire State Building viewing area was amazing. Our Tour Guide was Heidi. She was great and provided solid information and made the tour fun. The best part of this tour was being the first group to enter the Empire State Building and The Intrepid Museum No waiting. The World Trade Center was also an awesome attraction. We viewed the 9-11 Museum and the Reflection Pools.
The cost of this tour was definitely worth the money. My entire family enjoyed it. Tom

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Robert Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had Jim as our tour guide, he was great, we went to the Empire State Building, we cut the queuing line which was great as we didn't want to waste time lining up, then after onto an open top bus for a short tour, then onto the air sea and space museum, again no lining up to get in.
From there the 9/11 memorial and we paid the extra to go into a 9/11 museum which if your visiting the memorial it's worth going inside the museum, such a moving place to visit.
We were only in New York for four days, this is a great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. Thanks Jim you were great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day on our tour! We were first ones up to top of Empire Bldg --very cool. We really enjoyed using the water taxis for the rest of the day too. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for another great experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wat a joy to skip that line at the Empire Sate building and be the first to experience those spectacular views! We thoroughly enjoyed our tour day with Heidi our tour guide who was both informative and entertaining. The double deck bus ride, the tour of the Intrepid, the Enterprise Space Shuttle and finally the 911 Memorial! A memorable day for sure!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great way four our party of 7 to see NYC, we beelined it to the top of the Empire State building in the morning with our tour guide Jim, He had a great sense on humor and kept a smile on our faces all day. We learned so much information that we would have missed otherwise. We got skip the line entry to Intrepid and were able to get through the submarine before general admission even opened. The water taxi ride was great, with entry to the 911 museum we were able to use the water taxi for the rest of the day and the entire next day. We took a tour of Wall Street and lower Manhattan. The tour ended at the 911 memorial with some great stories from Jim. We had an hour before our entry to the museum which was a great chance to grab lunch at a small pub right next to the firehouse. The pub had an amazing scrapbook of close up view of 9-11. The 9-11 memorial was great, we could have spent all day there. It was a great experience and we would definitely take another tour from viator. Jim was truly a great guide and we enjoyed every minute of our tour with him.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

VIP experience is the way to go to the Empire State Building. No worries about lines anywhere in the building on your way to amazing views. We really enjoyed this one!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

VIP experience is the way to go to the Empire State Building. No worries about lines anywhere in the building on your way to amazing views. We really enjoyed this one!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gloria United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We only had a few days to see the best of New York and this trip ticked a few of the boxes. As it was a cloudy day we opted to view the lights of the city at night from the Empire State Building which, although crowded, was spectacular. The 9/11 Memorial was very special and we stayed a while to pay our respects. Then the Water Taxi ride allowed us to see the Statue of Liberty up close along with Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline etc.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Tony R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, this tour started at Empire State Building then continued through the city. The guide was very knowledgeable and could answer any questions asked. Well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Adrian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Empire State is a must do tour, get the VIP tickets, okay they cost a little more however if you are travelling a long way to get to New York you don't want to be queuing for up to a couple of hours. The views of both up and down town are great, see how many roof top swimming pools and gardens you can count and be careful if putting your phone or camera out over the edge to take pictures, you don't want to drop them, it will be a long way down to pick up the pieces of whats left.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

paul.kirwan66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour led by Debbie. Only wish we had more time on the USS Intrepid aircraft carrier. Time wasted 45 mins going on the Growler submarine. This was time wasted. Plenty of time and first people up to the top of the Empire State Building which was brilliant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Juelle E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We used our City Pass in the Museums, 9/11, Met Museum of Art, Empire State Bldg, Top of The Rock,. All were amazing experiences and great for my 13 yr. old grand daughter too.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience. Strongly recommend purchasing the VIP tixs to see the Empire State. We walked right in and went straight to the two elevators to the top. No lines at all. Cost a bit more but well worth it. Had we not purchased VIP tixs, our wait time would have been 90+ minutes.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

rkmfraser USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. Got VIP treatment and went to the top of the Empire State Building bypassing the long lines. The views are amazing and the building takes you back in time.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gordon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Empire State Building just has to be done and if you can afford the skip the line pass it is well worth the extra. We made it to the top of the building in about 10 minutes. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and we had plenty of time at the top.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Denise L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent no question this is the best way to do Empire building no waiting for hours straight to the front xx

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

julia.birkett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour with Debbie M. Early meeting at 07:30, but we packed a lot into the 5 hours. Trip to 86th Floor of the Empire State Building, a trip to the Intrepid front of line meant we were first into the submarine Growler and it was interesting to see the prototype shuttle Enterprise. Finally the 9/11 memorial was very thought provoking. We chose not to add on the 9/11 Museum, which is a separate addition. Also you don't visit the Statute of Liberty but sail on by if you reboard the Water Taxi at Battery Park but I think that was quite clear in the instructions. Overall a nice day of snippet visits, plus some time in a bus and a Water Taxi too. Good value for money and a must if this is your first or second visit to the NYC. Beware though I did 18,000 steps or around 7 miles of walking so be prepared and wear comfy shoes!. Thanks Debbie.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the Empire State !, big queue's but not for us, get that VIP wrist band and jump every line all the way to the top ! Brilliant !

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message