New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 850 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was Outstanding. The Empire State Building viewing area was amazing. Our Tour Guide was Heidi. She was great and provided solid information and made the tour fun. The best part of this tour was being the first group to enter the Empire State Building and The Intrepid Museum No waiting. The World Trade Center was also an awesome attraction. We viewed the 9-11 Museum and the Reflection Pools.
The cost of this tour was definitely worth the money. My entire family enjoyed it. Tom

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Robert Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had Jim as our tour guide, he was great, we went to the Empire State Building, we cut the queuing line which was great as we didn't want to waste time lining up, then after onto an open top bus for a short tour, then onto the air sea and space museum, again no lining up to get in.
From there the 9/11 memorial and we paid the extra to go into a 9/11 museum which if your visiting the memorial it's worth going inside the museum, such a moving place to visit.
We were only in New York for four days, this is a great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. Thanks Jim you were great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day on our tour! We were first ones up to top of Empire Bldg --very cool. We really enjoyed using the water taxis for the rest of the day too. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Thanks for another great experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wat a joy to skip that line at the Empire Sate building and be the first to experience those spectacular views! We thoroughly enjoyed our tour day with Heidi our tour guide who was both informative and entertaining. The double deck bus ride, the tour of the Intrepid, the Enterprise Space Shuttle and finally the 911 Memorial! A memorable day for sure!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great way four our party of 7 to see NYC, we beelined it to the top of the Empire State building in the morning with our tour guide Jim, He had a great sense on humor and kept a smile on our faces all day. We learned so much information that we would have missed otherwise. We got skip the line entry to Intrepid and were able to get through the submarine before general admission even opened. The water taxi ride was great, with entry to the 911 museum we were able to use the water taxi for the rest of the day and the entire next day. We took a tour of Wall Street and lower Manhattan. The tour ended at the 911 memorial with some great stories from Jim. We had an hour before our entry to the museum which was a great chance to grab lunch at a small pub right next to the firehouse. The pub had an amazing scrapbook of close up view of 9-11. The 9-11 memorial was great, we could have spent all day there. It was a great experience and we would definitely take another tour from viator. Jim was truly a great guide and we enjoyed every minute of our tour with him.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

VIP experience is the way to go to the Empire State Building. No worries about lines anywhere in the building on your way to amazing views. We really enjoyed this one!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

VIP experience is the way to go to the Empire State Building. No worries about lines anywhere in the building on your way to amazing views. We really enjoyed this one!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gloria United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We only had a few days to see the best of New York and this trip ticked a few of the boxes. As it was a cloudy day we opted to view the lights of the city at night from the Empire State Building which, although crowded, was spectacular. The 9/11 Memorial was very special and we stayed a while to pay our respects. Then the Water Taxi ride allowed us to see the Statue of Liberty up close along with Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline etc.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Tony R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, this tour started at Empire State Building then continued through the city. The guide was very knowledgeable and could answer any questions asked. Well done.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Adrian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Empire State is a must do tour, get the VIP tickets, okay they cost a little more however if you are travelling a long way to get to New York you don't want to be queuing for up to a couple of hours. The views of both up and down town are great, see how many roof top swimming pools and gardens you can count and be careful if putting your phone or camera out over the edge to take pictures, you don't want to drop them, it will be a long way down to pick up the pieces of whats left.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

paul.kirwan66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour led by Debbie. Only wish we had more time on the USS Intrepid aircraft carrier. Time wasted 45 mins going on the Growler submarine. This was time wasted. Plenty of time and first people up to the top of the Empire State Building which was brilliant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Juelle E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We used our City Pass in the Museums, 9/11, Met Museum of Art, Empire State Bldg, Top of The Rock,. All were amazing experiences and great for my 13 yr. old grand daughter too.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience. Strongly recommend purchasing the VIP tixs to see the Empire State. We walked right in and went straight to the two elevators to the top. No lines at all. Cost a bit more but well worth it. Had we not purchased VIP tixs, our wait time would have been 90+ minutes.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

rkmfraser USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. Got VIP treatment and went to the top of the Empire State Building bypassing the long lines. The views are amazing and the building takes you back in time.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gordon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Empire State Building just has to be done and if you can afford the skip the line pass it is well worth the extra. We made it to the top of the building in about 10 minutes. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and we had plenty of time at the top.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Denise L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent no question this is the best way to do Empire building no waiting for hours straight to the front xx

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

julia.birkett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour with Debbie M. Early meeting at 07:30, but we packed a lot into the 5 hours. Trip to 86th Floor of the Empire State Building, a trip to the Intrepid front of line meant we were first into the submarine Growler and it was interesting to see the prototype shuttle Enterprise. Finally the 9/11 memorial was very thought provoking. We chose not to add on the 9/11 Museum, which is a separate addition. Also you don't visit the Statute of Liberty but sail on by if you reboard the Water Taxi at Battery Park but I think that was quite clear in the instructions. Overall a nice day of snippet visits, plus some time in a bus and a Water Taxi too. Good value for money and a must if this is your first or second visit to the NYC. Beware though I did 18,000 steps or around 7 miles of walking so be prepared and wear comfy shoes!. Thanks Debbie.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the Empire State !, big queue's but not for us, get that VIP wrist band and jump every line all the way to the top ! Brilliant !

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

AM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've been to New York several times, but this was my first time up the Empire State Building. The weather was perfect and we were able to see all over Manhattan and beyond. We went around noon and got through the line pretty quickly. Also had a celebrity sighting up there - DNCE had performed and was up there for a photo!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Christian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great to have the ability to skip the line and safe time entering the Empire state building. It make things so much easier.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

martinsell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An early morning start but wow what a day!
Interesting information provided by our tour guides all day.
First visitors up the Empire State Building - a beautiful iconic building and wow what amazing views. There followed an open top bus ride to the Intrepid Museum where again we were the first visitors - this time into the Growler guided missile submarine. Then a walk round the aircraft carrier before entering the Space Shuttle Pavillion - oh and there's a Concorde there as well.
A trip on the Water Taxi took us to Battery Park where we visited the 911 Memorial - a very special place.
We were then free to ride on the Water Taxi for the rest of the day thus seeing the Brooklyn Bridge, Governors Island, the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
A tiring but great day. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Debbie was fantastic. She was friendly, helpful, funny and extremely well informed. Unfortunately our view from the top of the Empire State Bldg. was non-existent because of weather, but Debbie came through with her IPad and many pictures. When our tour was over we felt we learned a great deal about the NY experience during and after 9/11. The Memorial pools and the museum were particularly difficult but so necessary to see. I would highly recommend this tour and especially our guide Debbie. She made us feel like old friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great taster tour of some areas we may not have seen - our guide Jim was fantastic and made it so interesting with all his facts. The Empire State Builidng and Intrepid parts did feel rushed but we had a lot to pack in. Our highlight was seeing Ground Zero and the Water Taxi round trip was excellent with great views of the Statue of Liberty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Lesley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a perfectly fantastic day! Met by a very entertaining guide, Jim, who was well organised and funny! Full on but the early start is worth it when there are only about 20 of you going up the Empire State Building, the weather helped, it was beautifully sunny, views fantastic. Next to the Endeavour and a trip into a submarine...would have missed this if I had not been on the trip. Onto 9/11 Memorial by water taxis where Jim left us.We made our own way back via Statue of Liberty on the return water taxis and then a free bus Uptown. Absolutely great value for money!!! A must for first time visitors like us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

John F F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My children were enthralled with the Empire State Building as were my wife and I.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message