New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 889 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Billy T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely worth every penny cent best way to see or the land marks and in on day! Empire State views are the. Set I've ever seen in my life and the 9/11 memorial was very moving. Heidi our tour guide is a true New Yorker real passionate and answered every question thrown her way she deserves a pay rise thank you Heidi!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Purchasing the VIP tickets to the Empire State Building was a great decision. My wife and I surpassed the two plus hour line as well as the cold and went right to the top in about 10 minutes. With the VIP tickets you are also swept back down in similar fashion. I have and will continue to recommend purchasing the VIP tickets for those seeking NYC in their travel plans especially during the holidays. My wife and I had the best time. Thanks Viator you have the best tours and will continue to use you in the future.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gail R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Empire State observatory was definitely worth the visit and rated as 2 or 3 for our NYC visit. However, as is often the case with skip the line tickets, there was not a separate entrance for VIP ticket holders. You must simply barrel your way through announcing your special status. One nice official saw our wristbands as we patiently waited in the line inside the building one of several lines throughout the tour--which we thought was for those like us, and told us to move on up and never stand in another line. There is one line you won't want to miss--the line where your picture is taken to be superimposed in front of a facade of the building--it's part of the Viator package and we missed it due to some kind of snafu.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Beverley V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight of our NYC weekend ! Heidi was excellent . She was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and made us feel completely comfortable in her city . It was an amazing price and covered all of the city's highlights that we had time to see . The VIP tour enabled us to get to the top of the Empire State Building first as well as first to get in to see the Intrepid Air craft carrier displays . We saw more in that 6 Hours then we did for the rest of the weekend . I would highly recommend this tour . We also added the 9/11 museum to the tour . We skipped the line simply by showing our VIP info . It was great ! The museum was well represented . It was busy but quiet and surreal at the same time . The boat ride from the Intrepid to Battery Park was a bonus and we got great pics of the Statue of Liberty ! This was an excellent way to start our weekend in NYC . Looking forward to our return .... Heidi should get a pay raise by the way !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

SARAH C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommend this tour, it is an early start but well worth it, the first group to enter Empire State in the day, no queuing and crowds up there. The tour guide Debbie was so energetic, had great insight of NYC and had her own personal story of 9/11 which was very humbling to hear. 5 star tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Teri United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Second best travel money I ever spent! The best being signing up for TSA Precheck. This was a great deal. Get the Skip the line option. They give you a VIP wristband and you literally do bypass all the lines, both on the way up to the observatory and on the way down. I went on a Saturday afternoon and the line to get in the building was around the block, then there are about 5 more lines once you get inside, it was crazy. If I hadn't had this VIP pass I would never have waited all that time. Amazing. I was able to do so many other things the same day because I didn't waste any time waiting in the long lines at the Empire State building. Oh yes, and the view of NYC from the top is simply amazing, everything you've ever seen in the movies and more.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Peter Miles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very easy process. Had a wonderful time at all attractions. The Top of the Rock was sensational at night as was the Empire State Building during the day for views.
Highly recommended to all

Doing what: New York CityPass

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it and our tour guide Jim. Jim was friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Fortunately, our group was small. This is a full day with lots to see, so if you are like us you may need to plan to come back and spend more time at some of the locations.

The early tour time meant that the lines for the empire state building were short. Our tour also visited the USS Intrepid - wish we could have had a few more hours here - this is an amazing museum with way more to see then the tour provides time for.

We are glad we purchased the optional 9/11 Memorial museum entry at 2:00pm. Although, this made for a long day, we then had the flexibility of using the on and off water taxi the next day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Geraldine G B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

finally i got to see The Empire State and the views

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We visit the Empire 1 week before Thanksgiving weekend. WE had zero lines at 3 p.m.. We went only to the 86th floor. It was perfect. A must do.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Denise1612

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing day out , early start , but it was needed to give the maximum time in each place .deborah our guide was a pleasure to listen to. Great views from the Empire State Building and not a crowd in site .i never felt rushed .the ferry was an added bonus which we took advantage of the following day .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We absolutely loved visiting the Empire State Building! The staff moved the lines very quickly so we could get to the top. Awesome views of New York! We were able to stay as long as we wanted to, it has good food available and many on site gift shops. Definitley one of the must sees of New York!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Jennifer L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great pass to use for exploring NYC! I'll definitely be trying it out in some of the other cities where it's available. In NYC, I was able to skip a looooong line at the Empire State Building and at Top of the Rock. My friend and I lucked out on perfect weather and enjoyed beautiful views. We also went to the Museum of Natural History and the pass included a ticket to the planetarium show, which was spectacular. Be sure to request a ticket to any extra shows or exhibits you want to see as the CityPass may include them.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Vera G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Worth paying extra to skip the line as the time we saved was probably two hours or longer. Brilliant experience want to go back to New York again, We loved visiting the Empire State Building fabulous views cannot be beaten.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Roger W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth paying for vip ticket otherwise you will queue for hours. We got straight though with our vip wristband. Fabulous experience looking over New York from the empire state building.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Dallas Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My daughter and granddaughter really enjoyed there trip to the Empire State Building.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Dorothy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was definitely well worth the money. So many things we could have gone to. We chose our main ones and just didn't have time to do any others. Make a note of opening times and if they advise when best to go. We ended up queuing in the pouring rain for nearly 30mins for the Natural History Museum. Well worth it though - this place is an all day look around. For the Empire State Building and Night Entrance has to be same day, if you are splitting the two, make sure you don't go before 8.00pm or you will have to wait.

Doing what: New York CityPass

stevewales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This really is the best way to tour New York, with such an expert and empathetic guide as Heidi. Punctual, we were a mixed group of age, nationality and mobility but we breezed through the usual Empire State security with plenty of time for pictures and Heidi helped us with couple photos. Bus tour great for orientation, intrepid museum very interesting for military buffs, great river tour, Wall Street and ended at the 9/11 Memorial. I like to do my own thing when travelling and steer away from guides and tours but ask for Heidi and you will be guided by a first class tour guide with boundless enthusiasm and insights into New York life that only a true New Yorker can give.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Hella P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really great. It safes a lot of time passing by the lines of Empire State Building. Fabulos view and a great service

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Empire State Building is an iconic treasure. Skip the line tickets were well worth it during our sunset visit. This is a crowded attraction and being able to access the observation areas without waiting is a huge advantage. The lines were extremely long to view the gorgeous sunset. We were able to walk right in ahead of what looked like over 100 people waiting in line for the elevators both going up and down.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Empire State Building on a Saturday night can be a zoo. The VIP Experience is definitely the way to go. You are whisked past all of the lines (on the way up and the way down). We easily avoided at least an hour or more of waiting. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

marsons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tours and guides. Plenty of bus stops and always somebody in a red jacket from Grayline to ask questions. Empire State Building was fabulous what a view!,
Highly recommended

Doing what: Super New York Package including Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Observatory and Statue of Liberty

Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Empire State Building was incredible! Walking around the Art Deco displays with all the information about the building was quite interesting.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

mnrothfels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Heidi was awesome! Gave us so much information and was fun and personable throughout the day. Great Empire State building morning, beautiful afternoon cruising to Liberty. Small group and relaxed approach with New York flair.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

mnrothfels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Heidi was awesome! Gave us so much information and was fun and personable throughout the day. Great Empire State building morning, beautiful afternoon cruising to Liberty. Small group and relaxed approach with New York flair.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message