Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Ground Zero Museum Workshop

Since 2005 the Ground Zero Museum Workshop in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City has been showcasing the recovery and rebuilding efforts of the notorious Lower Manhattan neighborhood. Comprised of photos, images and artifacts collected from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jodie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to see the highlights of the city if you have limited time.
The 9/11 museum is a must if you are visiting New York but you will need at least 2 1/2 hours to see it all.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

Mike United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the opportunity see many sights throughout the day - the 9/11 museum and memorial, Wall Street area, Brooklyn Bridge, and Statue of Liberty. The boats were always on time, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it and our tour guide Jim. Jim was friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Fortunately, our group was small. This is a full day with lots to see, so if you are like us you may need to plan to come back and spend more time at some of the locations.

The early tour time meant that the lines for the empire state building were short. Our tour also visited the USS Intrepid - wish we could have had a few more hours here - this is an amazing museum with way more to see then the tour provides time for.

We are glad we purchased the optional 9/11 Memorial museum entry at 2:00pm. Although, this made for a long day, we then had the flexibility of using the on and off water taxi the next day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Clive E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour with Nathalie at the helm from meeting at St Pauls Chapel she guided us
throughout the morning with her own personal tale of the day .After leaving St Pauls we
went to the firehouse then onto the oddly shaped Oculus which houses the new Westfield
shopping Center on to the Fountains which are beautiful and moving after which she
left us to explore the 9/11 Memorial and then the One Observatory Tower for the most Stunning
views of Manhattan

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Edel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is steeped in emotion. Tissues are strategically placed around the site and I now know why. Everything is tastefully done and I want to inform people that this isnt a shrine......... this is a place where they highlight the tragic events of 9/11. The memorabilia, the videos , the stories, the photos, the victim list, the events all add up to a fantastic tour. We stayed 4 hours there and I personally could have stayed longer. We bought tickets on line via viator and this is to be recommended as there is no waiting around. Security checks are standard and please ensure to download the 9/11 tour app before going and bring your earphones.... I didnt do this so i rented my audio tour for 7 dollars..... it wasnt the money, it was the long long long Q to hire that delayed us. There is wifi there but the app is so big that it takes a while to download while there. recommend this tour 100

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Myron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I were pleased with the focus on our guide's accurate but enthralling retelling of historical details prior to, during, and after the 9/11 event.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Gale B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A visit to the 9/11 Memorial Museum is a required opportunity to pay respect to all who died on that fateful day. The museum well represented what occurred during the tragic day which will remain in anyone's memory who experienced the pain of this event. It really made me sad and appreciate what the United States of America stands for.....liberty....justice....and the American way. A must see to pay homage and to never forget.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Jennifer L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This exhibit was truly a moving experience that everyone in NYC should see. The museum exhibit and memorial at Ground Zero are great demonstrations of art that provide us with an opportunity to understand the event and honor the heroes that emerged from this tragic day in history. I highly recommend allowing yourself enough time to get the full experience and booking tickets in advance as it made it very convenient to enter the museum swiftly.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Matthew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was much more than I could have ever expected. Ray our guide gave us a tour of all the sites around ground zero giving us a very personal experience of the events. The Museum can not be described in words. It is something that should be on everyones bucket list.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

KacieM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Hands down one of the best tours I have ever taken. Jerry, our guide was phenomenal with his knowledge of the history and development of Manhattan. This is a newer tour meaning it has less reviews, but I promise you will be extraordinarily happy and impressed if you get the opportunity to go on this. Over the course of the day we walked 7.5 miles. There are two breaks- the first being an hour long water taxi ride where you can sit and enjoy the views in warmth. The second is a 45 min lunch break at the Chelsea Market to relax a bit before continuing. Make sure you have a hearty breakfast and where your most comfortable walking shoes. Here is a list of all the areas and buildings that we passed along our walk. St. Peters Roman Catholic Church, City Hall, Park Row, World Trade Centers, 9/11 Memorial, Oculus, Wall Street Bull, Stock Exchange of Wall Street, Federal Reserve Bank, Battery Park, Brooklyn Bridge, Statue of Liberty, The Intrepid, Washington Square Park, Hess Plaque, Cherry Lane Theater, the narrowest house in NYC, home of Thomas Pane, Chelsea Marketplace, The High Line, Jefferson Market Courthouse, Flat Iron building, Madison Square Park, the little Church around the corner, Empire State Building Enjoy!

Doing what: NYC In A Day including Empire State Building Statue of Liberty West Village High Line and Wall Street

Corrine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was wonderful. Our tour guide, Tony, had first hand knowledge to share as he was actually there on 9/11/2001.
It poured rain and we were drenched through our raincoats, but it hardly spoiled the experience really wished for a better day. But the beauty and solemntiy of the site was not changed.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional One World Observatory Entrance

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour. Hits all the high points in the city: Rockefeller Center, 9/11 Memorial, boat tour close to Statue of Liberty, NYC skyline. Tour guide was very good, knew everything about everything!

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Michelle M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

While it rained the first part of this tour, it was informative and we were able to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I feel that the description of the 9/11 Memorial was not accurate because I thought we would have access to the museum which we did not. When I advised the tour guide about this, he said we could go ahead and get in line for tickets, but there wasn't enough time so we didn't get to see it. This was a huge disappointment. The Freedom Tower was spectacular and the weather did clear when we got up there.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial with World Trade Center Area Walking Tour

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Ray was excellent, wish he had continued with us to the 9/11 Memorial Museum as going on our own was not very educational.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Adam W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The good thing it, this package disciplines you to not waste a whole day in the 9/11 museum, as you have an Observatory time to make. The bad thing is, you might WANT to spend the whole day in the 9/11 museum, as there is truly so much to see. If you're the kind of person who likes to read and explore every exhibit in e museum, don't buy this package. If you only have a limited time and cant afford to spent too much time in the 9/11 museum, this is the way to do it.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Sharon G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was an ideal, and good value for money, way to see the city. The first bus we took was a bit shabby, and the guide's mic was not working, so we didn't hear all the talk. It was also not always clear where the stops were, but there are plenty of 'agents' on the pavements, so ask! We used our attraction entry tickets to take the twilight cruise excellent but freezing in November! And of course, dark, not twilight....but beautiful views and a great tour guide. The hop on hop off ferry is great - you get really close up to Lady Liberty. Go to the Top of the Rock - that way you see the skyline with the Empire State in it. Queues were massive at Ground Zero, so we didn't have time to go in, which was a shame.

Doing what: New York City FreeStyle Pass

Richard D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We had a great trip and the New York City Explorer Pass helped a lot. The only thing is you have to purchase extra, example - Statue of Liberty, need to purchase extra to go up statue, 9/11 - You need to purchase to go into museum, so that was not ideal. All in all we had a great trip and the pass did save us some money.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Carol Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must-see! One hint: in order to reach the real museum stuff, you pass rough several exhibits including foot prints of the buildings, rubble, the photo gallery, a video about 9/11, etc. these are all worthwhile but realize that the bulk of what you need to see still lies ahead of you. We spent too much time on the early exhibits.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Debbie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

9/11 memorial Museum is a must for any one visiting New York. Booking ahead is adviseable so that you can choose your entry time slot.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

carlandtraceybridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Met Nathalie our tour guide who told us her own story of the events on 9/11. She was very informative and really gave you a full picture of what happened and what it was like to be involved. Starting at st Paul's chapel which is a wonderful story on its own we went to the pools which we found very emotional then on to the Oculous and museum. Amazing museum but didn't have time for a full visit due to the timings for entering the observatory which need to be looked at as we were disappointed by this aspect. Observatory really fabulous and an amazing visit overall which we would recommend to anyone. A must see during any. Is it to New York.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Sandy was really great and so knowledgeable about the history of the area and also 9/11. We enjoyed being in a small group because we could hear and ask questions.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided 9/11 Memorial Tour with Museum Tickets

SueB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide Shelia was very informative and had many stories about 9/11 that I had never heard. She also took us to a few places that we probably wouldn't have seen if we had not taken this tour. The museum was very moving and thought provoking. Due to the cloudy weather, we wanted to reschedule our One World Observatory which we were able to do for the next day Overall, a very satisfying tour. .

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Roberta W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was informative, interesting, and gave us a heartfelt personal view of what happened on 9/11. We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour. He took us to the museum and made sure that we got in ok after his tour. His talk certainly added to our special day at the memorial.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Sharon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolutely wonderful memorial to those we lost on 9/11.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Kathy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding tour. Did not have much time and did not want to do the double decker bus thing. Did not want just to drive by something. Tom our guide was terrific. Had a passion for NYC AND loved his job! 11 of us in the tour. Walked A LOT!!!! But saw A LOT!!! Would highly recommend this tour. Tom's stories at 9/11 were so personal. People who were not in the tour kept inching up to hear Tom's stories. Took the subway and the ferry. When the crowds were going in one direction, Tom would take us in another direction to see more amazing sights. He allowed many breaks in tour for snacks, water, restrooms etc. AND be sure to follow up on his lunch recommendations. Probably the best meal we had in our visit to NYC! He made sure we did not get separated in crowded areas. I am glad he is tall and wore a bright green shirt! Highly recommend this tour as a way to experience NYC.

Doing what: Full-Day NYC Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message