New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Ground Zero Museum Workshop

Since 2005 the Ground Zero Museum Workshop in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City has been showcasing the recovery and rebuilding efforts of the notorious Lower Manhattan neighborhood. Comprised of photos, images and artifacts collected from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I took the 9/11 Memorial at Night Tour with Visit New York Tours on September 9, 2016--a very poignant time. Our guide, Ellen, an educator at the 9/11 Memorial Museum gave us a very in-depth, knowledgeable and personal experience. As a native New Yorker, Ellen was working a few blocks away and saw the second plane strike the South Tower. Our tour included a little known memorial--The American Express Eleven Tears Memorial to their employees who died on that day. This tour will give you insight into that tragic day and its aftermath that we all live with to this day. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Evening 911 Memorial Tour

Nick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide, Cliff, was extraordinarily knowledgeable about the events of 9/11 and provided an interactive and lighthearted tour for an arguably heavy subject matter. Cliff's in-depth knowledge of the events of that day and what occurred minute-by-minute, as he worked for a major news outlet at that time, provided insight that you don't often hear especially firsthand. My group and I were very pleased with our experience, and the beauty of the Freedom Tower and the memorial at night is certainly something one must see in while in NYC.

Doing what: Evening 911 Memorial Tour

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The 9/11 Memorial Tour was one of our recent favorites when it comes to learning more about New York City history, and the events of 9/11. The tour was well laid out, had focused content, and an engaging tour guide who kept us interested for the entire 90 minutes. The tour size was perfect and gave us the opportunity to ask questions doesn't always happen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Evening 911 Memorial Tour

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing tour! Gil and Floyd were a great team. Gil had lots of information and stories to share about the city. We even got to see Washington Square because of missing the 9/11, since it was Sept. 11. We got some great recommendations for restaurants along the way, which we actually went back to. Thanks Gil! Gil was always there to take photos of people and give advice on how to get around the city, etc. We saw way more of the city than we would have on our own. I would recommend this to anyone, especially in the first couple of days of your trip.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

tomocave18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experiance , well organized and fantastic views we did 9/11 afterwards to round off a great day

Doing what: One World Observatory Admission

lynda h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent tour guide with too close for comfort personal experience from 9/11. very much worth every dime and would recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow! I took the West Village Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour with Larry as our guide on 9/11/16 and would strongly encourage anyone with an interest in the history of music in the West Village to take this tour. Much of the tour focussed on His Royal Bobness Bob Dylan as we were shown various legendary sights from the 50's and 60's. I lived in the West Village myself in the late 60's but still learned a bunch from Larry's deep knowledge of Dylan as well as other musicians that haunt this great area of NYC. Full disclosure: Larry showed up in his Bruce Springsteen t-shirt, and, the big Bruce fan that I am, the vibe was excellent from the start and the tour itself continued on this upbeat note.
Wear comfortable shoes and expect to be on your feet for the full 2 hours. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Jean G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the Circle Line Complete Manhattan Island Cruise. Good, sunny day and not too hot. Crowded but it was 9/11 weekend. Andy was a great tour guide. Jovial and full of facts. Would definitely recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Circle Line: Complete Manhattan Island Cruise

Peter D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Walked fro our hotel on W 35th around the corner to the ESB and first in to the tower, really great day with a short cruise down river and a visit to ground zero, very moving.
The museum is a must see to understand what happened.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jeanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My trip was on 9/11. We went on a boat ride out in the harbor and we could see the NY skyline. The blue 9/11 lights could be seen. The Statue of Liberty was all lit up and at one point we sang God Bless America. It was very moving and I very glad I was able to be part of that. Of course, the rest of the things we saw on the tour we're great too but I'll remember this cruise forever. Very well done!

Doing what: NYC at Night: Sightseeing Cruise and Bus Tour

Kenneth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Every American who was cognizant of events on 9/11 will never forget that day. President Bush said that we would not allow terrorists to alter our way of life, but when we get on that plane tomorrow, it will be hard not to think about how things have changed. Even when we go to the theater our bags get checked. As we wander the city, police are a constant presence.

New Yorkers struggled with how to deal with this monstrous event. They wanted to honor the thousands who lost their lives in a meaningful, sensitive way and rebuild in this vital part of the financial district. All the people who had lost loved ones had the opportunity to be in on the planning process. The reflecting pools that occupy the two footprints of the original World Trade Center were opened a few years ago. The names of all the people who lost their lives are engraved on the perimeters of the pools. Last year the new 1 World Trade Center was finally opened, the tallest building in the western hemisphere. We were here during the construction and heard stories about workers finding human remains as the foundation was laid. It's all been so horribly difficult. Plans are still in place to add additional skyscrapers to the site around the pools of remembrance. Today we joined people from all over the world judging by all the tongues we overheard, riding to the observation deck for great views of the city as well as distant Connecticut, Pennsylvania and not too distant New Jersey. iPads were available for folks to rent that identified all the buildings we could see and told a bit about them in many languages. There's a restaurant on top, but nothing can replace the Windows to the World. The views, especially of the Statue of Liberty, were magnificent. It appears that the Big Apple has recovered.
We bought the Viator voucher so we would not have to stand in line to buy tickets, but this time of year the lines were short.

Doing what: One World Observatory Admission

rbutler3105

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great walking tour with a lady who had first hand knowledge of the 9/11 tragedy, and the way she told the sad story of that sorry day had me in tears. The Museum is also a must visit

Doing what: World Trade Center Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Ticket

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was excellent. She was very knowledgeable. She went out of her way to try to locate names for people who had lost people on 9/11

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Dolores L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Rob, our guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly. He added in personal stories, which added even more depth to the tour. I do think it would be helpful for all tour guides to wear some sort of identifying item, such as a t-shirt or a name tag with their company and name. Sometimes it's not easy to sort out who's who on the streets of Manhattan. The 9/11 Memorial is intense and can take anywhere from a brief walk-through to many hours to experience. We did not feel the film Project Rebirth was worth the wait in line. It was basically a series of photos and not very professionally done. The memorial quilt was amazing and it was overwhelming to walk from room to room seeing the faces of victims, rescuers and survivors. Take tissues, you will need them. Finally, the Observatory was a nice way to end the day on a HIGH note! Be prepared to video the ride up in the elevator, which takes only 45 seconds. Then be prepared for the staff at the top to try to sell you a guide, which you don't need if you have google maps on your phone, and a photo, which you can take yourself. The experience itself is surreal. To see NYC and surrounding areas from that height is just a tremendous experience and I think everyone who can do it, should! The best thing about using Viator in this case, is that all the waiting in line for tickets was done for us and we could just concentrate on all there was to partake in. This was not at all a physically demanding tour, but we were emotionally exhausted and feel like we got our complete money's worth. I would definitely do it again, and highly recommend it!

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on, anywhere! Sal, our tour guide, was incredible. Very funny and so knowledgable about the history and New York generally. He was also able to convey the very sad and serious side of 9/11. Be prepared to walk, but you will learn a lot and love it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial with World Trade Center Area Walking Tour

Herbert E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great experience. Spent most of the day at the 9/11 Museum.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

Bo United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed tour- Gil our guide was very knowledgeable about the city. Unable to rate 5 stars because part of the tour was cancelled harbor cruise due to traffic congestion, blocked streets and closed harbor because of the us tennis open, fashion week and 9/11 commemoration ceremonies. Tour did offer free vouchers for a harbor cruise at a later date. Would recommend wearing comfortable shoes because tour involved more walking than anticipated.

Doing what: NYC at Night: Sightseeing Cruise and Bus Tour

Helena V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was an awesome trip. We are planning to go to New York again. I highly recommend the Viator tours. We went on 3 of them with your company. The tour guides for the Statute of Liberty and 9/11 were amazing.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jean G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Did the downtown route on 9/11. Big mistake. Did not go near the World Trade Center nor were we informed that it would not be on the tour until we were told that there would be a detour at the beginning OF the detour. Stops were too frequent and too long. Maybe the uptown tour might be better. Nick was our guide and he was fine and friendly.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joanne H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Booked the 9/11 tour for September 11th, took the money for 5 travellers, no trips on that date

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

Kayleigh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The first part of this tour was great, even though it was an early start, 7.30 am. This ensured that our party were first in the queue for the Empire State Building, which was fantastic, although I did feel the visit was a little rushed. The bus trip had no commentary as the radio speaker was not working on the bus. We arrived in good time to be 1st in line for the Intrepid, when it opened at 10 am. We then had an hour to visit, we were given brief instructions as to what to visit and then left, with most of us not knowing what to go to see, with only 1 hour and having to find the cafe where we were meeting in that time. We were totally at a loss, with no guide. In the end we asked one of the volunteers what would be best to see in what was 1/2hr left. He was fantastic and gave us a whistlestop tour, keeping his eye on the time and then taking us to the cafe meeting place. Why couldn't our guide do that rather than sitting in the cafe waiting for the group? We waited half an hour for the boat and when we got to Battery Park, we stood for about 1 1/4 hr, 'filling in time' listening to the guide talk about herself, showing us pictures on her iPad, whilst being bitten by flies, and being told that we should be okay to stand for that length of time as this was a walking tour! We were standing not walking. When we eventually set off, we walked past the Raging Bull on the other side of the road, being told by our guide that we could come back by ourselves to see it close up! Why couldn't we have done that instead of previously standing around, especially as the Raging Bull is one of the sights to see in NY? The guide left us opposite the 9/11 memorial, again filling in time talking until she could leave us at the end of the tour. I feel that except for the visit to the Empire State Building, the rest of the tour was a waste of money and the guide, Debbie promoted herself too much, wasting our valuable limited time and spoiled our tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

sandrahedrick

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide went on and on and wasted a huge amount of our time. You do not go into the Empire State Building before it opens. You just arrive so early that you're first in line and still have to stand for a long time. There wasn't enough time at the USS Intrepid, but we sat around for a long time after the designated meeting time. The guide seemed very irritated by two people who did not speak English. She kept repeating herself over and over and over even though they did not understand. It annoyed us very much and seemed very rude. The whole tour was hurry up and wait. The guide wasted a huge amount of time at Battery Park telling us her personal experiences and opinions very liberal. She ushered us into a small stuffy room where we had to stand and listen to her and look at extremely graphic photographs that were upsetting to me.. We finally got to the 9/11 Memorial and the guide was still going on and on. We had to just walk away. Thankfully, we were just in time to get to Wall St pier and catch the boat to see the Statute of Liberty. We had a much better experience by purchasing Top of the Rock tickets directly from the vendor's site. We missed the scheduled time due to being exhausted from the Viator experience. But we simply went to the ticket desk and were reissued tickets and entered immediately. Do it on your own and you'll enjoy your time much more. The hop on hop off boat ride was good. The guides on it were very pleasant and engaging. The Viator guide was opinionated and rude. We couldn't wait to get away from her.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

usaf2usn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Allison, was excellent. We are very glad that we did this tour before going into the 9/11 Museum. Even though we are long time New Yorkers, Allison gave us a different view of that fate filled day and her experience at the time. It was very informative and she did an excellent job.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Sarahthesheepu United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour of NYC. If you are strapped for time or have never been to NYC before and want to get your bearing then this is fabulous. Tour Guide J and Driver Anthony were brilliant. Ive done a lot of these tours and J was by far and away one of the best guides I have had. One of the stops is the 9/11 memorial. A friend of mine died in the North Tower and J made sure i was comfortable the whole time we were there. Highly recommended.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Denise K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing museum that honors the victims of 9/11 while still being interesting, educational and moving. We were there for about 3 hours and did not get to see everything. I'm sure I'll go back again next time I'm in NY.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message