New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Ground Zero Museum Workshop

Since 2005 the Ground Zero Museum Workshop in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City has been showcasing the recovery and rebuilding efforts of the notorious Lower Manhattan neighborhood. Comprised of photos, images and artifacts collected from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Iain B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You really got to see the inside of this beautiful building - classy or what. Hiedi our guide was super funny and engaging with the entire group (20) not a dull moment with lots more than just her script. Battery Park on foot was so good and 9/11 memorial just something else - definitely go.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth a visit. The guides are local people who went through 9/11. Moving and thoughtful exhibit

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Ashley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good tour for someone wanting to do several things in the one day. You begin the day by catching the ferry to the Statue of Liberty, you get to climb the pedestal, then back to the ferry to Ellis Island where you then have a lunch break. The afternoon session takes you through the 9/11 memorial site and finishes at the memorial museum, where you can spend the rest of your afternoon.

Guides Amanda and Jeff were very knowledgable and had lots of interesting facts throughout the day. They made the day run quite smoothly and gave little tidbits of information like which side of the ferry to sit on. I was glad I did the tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

Ray L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Overall good tour with friendly guide. Would advise changing the 2nd half (afternoon) to actually tour the 9/11 Memorial instead of the Church, Firehouse mural or AMEX building. Recommend 9/11 museum passes with tour, or the afternoon is a waste of money just for the 1 World Observatory passes.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

Carrie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing museum! Very powerful emotions! Download the 9/11 museum app before you get there as it loads very slowly. It really enhances the experience!

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

shelagh b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very informative tour with our guide tom simonetti, who was a very pleasant and cheerful person his personal experiences of 9/11 made it so real well done Tom .

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative walking tour of Wall Street and 9/11. The 2:30pm tour left enough time for the museum. We left the museum at 7:30pm closing time and took 8pm lift to One World. It was a beautiful sunset. We didn and #39;t realise that the memorial fountains closed at 9pm but we took a few pictures.

Doing what: World Trade Center Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Ticket

Bryan M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We only had a few days to see the best of New York and this trip ticked a few of the boxes. As it was a cloudy day we opted to view the lights of the city at night from the Empire State Building which, although crowded, was spectacular. The 9/11 Memorial was very special and we stayed a while to pay our respects. Then the Water Taxi ride allowed us to see the Statue of Liberty up close along with Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline etc.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Donny I

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was extremely fluent and funny he wants to be an actor!, walk tour is a good idea for little bit excersise instead of using bus! We were walking quite fast, i wont be recommend for too young or too senior coz you can slow others. Little down side was after long walk, we spent time too long in 9/11 memorial long coz he let people took pictures and explain repeately, maybe better explain all first then let people take picture of the place.

Doing what: Half-Day NYC Small-Group Tour

Jayvee C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The water taxi was great! We stopped at the Greenwich Village for lunch before doing the 9/11 museum tour. Took the water taxi again and got off Battery park for the 9/11 museum. The museum is definitely worth it, very moving make sure you allow another activity to lift your spirits up after the tour. We hopped back to the water taxi and completed all the stops. Overall, the experience was great.

The only complaint is the efficiency of the people responsible for giving the museum and water taxi tickets. I was first in line and had to wait 45 minutes before my tickets were issued. It was frustrating seeing other people just come and go to get their tickets while waiting for mine the staff reason was due to a slow computer I think the slowness was not due to the computer at all!!!

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

aharvey

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was full of sites and was a great way to see alot in a day. However it was done at a very quick pace so there was not alot of time to stop and take in the sites. I wish our guide Debbie would have taken some quality time explaining the sites and not just 9/11. I appreciated her passion for this memorial, but I would have liked to see or hear about the other sites with the same enthusiasm.This is an amazing way to see New York if you are in a hurry. Also this tour does not go into the Statue of Liberty so you will want to get a seperate tour for that.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jeffery H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time. Saw a lot of things and learned a lot about Ground Zero not mentioned in the news clips or books. I am a 25 year retired firefighter. Was a very pleasant tour.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Noel C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The 9/11 memorial is an amazing Tribute/Memorial, allow yourself loads of time to take this in, you could spend the entire day in there.
Great views of the city from the Empire State also.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Christhannah O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fun, novel way to see the famous NY landmarks. The walk to the elevators is especially moving with images of firefighters and the rebuilding after 9/11. I would have given a 5star except I didn't like having to pay 15.00 to rent a DVD to identify and see the landmarks better. All in all, well worth it!

Doing what: One World Observatory Admission

Rebecca l Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Too long wait, too long lines, buses too full, brochures not accurate. End of tour left me stranded at 49th street with no way back, not a complete loop? Got lost for an hr around 9/11. No address for that stop on the brochure. Guides were great

Doing what: City Sightseeing New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tracey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Didn't use all the vouchers, but used the main ones - 9/11 museum, Empire State, Top of the Rock, Statue of Liberty Cruise which we had to queue for over an hour. Most attractions cost between 30 and 32 dollars so as long as youre there early, it would be better value for money paying direct.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing, amazing, amazing, I'm glad that we did all the 3 together, we did have to get different tickets for the 1 world observatory as it was bad weather but when we went back on the Sunday the sun was shining and the view was out of this world, I'm not a lover of heights but OMG, when going up and down in the lift make sure you have your camera out on video because that's something you don't want to miss. The memorial and museum was very heart breaking seeing items from the 9/11, our tour guide was very good Len he told you everything that happened. There is a little shop near the 9/11 area beside St Pauls chapel well worth a look but do it after you have been around everything .
What an amazing and moving place

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sehr kalt im Ground zero....gefühlte 10C...und sehr emotional

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Gurmukh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

excellent tour with Sal our tour guide who was knowledgeable and friendly and we felt comfortable in his company. Unfortunately, due to no fault of Sals, we got lost and therefore we missed the 9/11 memorial tour with him and he had our tickets for the museum. Please make sure you have a contact number for your guide in case you do wander off!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial with World Trade Center Area Walking Tour

Martha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was just an incredible experience - worth every penny that we paid for the tour ! The guide was prompt and one of the best ever !! We have traveled extensively - had many tour guides along the way - both in the U S, Europe and Japan. I believe his name was John - -your company is very lucky to have someone as enthusiastic as he was with our group - I really cannot sing your praises or his high enough - I was with my husband and our daughter who lives in Canada - we did lots of fun things, but the Ground Zero Tour was the highlight

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

julia.birkett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour with Debbie M. Early meeting at 07:30, but we packed a lot into the 5 hours. Trip to 86th Floor of the Empire State Building, a trip to the Intrepid front of line meant we were first into the submarine Growler and it was interesting to see the prototype shuttle Enterprise. Finally the 9/11 memorial was very thought provoking. We chose not to add on the 9/11 Museum, which is a separate addition. Also you don't visit the Statute of Liberty but sail on by if you reboard the Water Taxi at Battery Park but I think that was quite clear in the instructions. Overall a nice day of snippet visits, plus some time in a bus and a Water Taxi too. Good value for money and a must if this is your first or second visit to the NYC. Beware though I did 18,000 steps or around 7 miles of walking so be prepared and wear comfy shoes!. Thanks Debbie.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth it and was very moving. The guide was great and had personal insight into the tragedy of 9/11 and told personal stories of victims.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ground Zero walking tour was magnificent and I would suggest anyone traveling to New York take it. Also not to miss is the one world observation experience. Both were extremely moving ,

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Keith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. This was a complete tour of the 9/11 experience. Our tour guide, John, was knowledgeable and friendly. I am a local and re-felt all those feelings again. The museum was emotional. My girlfriend cried. One World, its technology and views are breath taking.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Kerry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great guide and we had a fabulous tour. I would recommend it highly. My only criticism was that we were not given enough time in the 9/11 Museum with the One World Observatory tour timing. We will need to go back to the Museum which I felt was the most important place to spend time.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message