The legendary borough of Harlem has been famous in New York City since the 1920s, when the Harlem Renaissance brought about a cultural revolution among African-Americans in New York with a focus on the arts. Today Harlem is an increasingly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 248 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joyce K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jacqueline was so engaging. She knew everyone in Harlem and made the food tour a fun experience. More importantly, we learned a lot about the history of Harlem and the struggles of this community. Harlem is truly a great area of NYC that should be explored by everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour and well worth the money. We drove round Harlem, met The Great Franco artist who sells his work and paints all Harlem's shop fronts whilst stopping at the Apollo and also did some walking. The highlight, however, was the church visit. It was like being in Sister Act! Quite a surreal experience and the congregation were welcoming. Ellen, our host, was fabulous and very knowledgeable. I would urge anyone to do this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Mary L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great experience and tour. After a short journey through the highlights of Harlem and a visit to the Apollo Theatre it's on to the Gospel Service. Very inspiring and the locals certainly don't let the visitors impact on their level of emotional abundance during their singing and praising. They make all visitors feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic experience we had a really good guide who explained all the sites in Harlem. The ARC group that sang were fun and fantastic i have never seen such an enthusiastic group of people filled with the joy of the lord. We followed up with the soul food lunch where we were pretty much left to ourselves it would have been good to get some information on the origin of the food but that aside i would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great gospel experience and tour of Harlem. Recommended.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandy E United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I enjoyed learning about the history of Harlem and the growth of the community. The guide was knowledgeable and very passionate, which came through during the tour.

However, the guide was woefully unprepared when it came to the food portion of the tour. I am a vegetarian and indicated this when I signed up for the tour. As a result of the guides failure to plan for alternate diets, I had to eat side dishes like white rice and salad while other participants enjoyed full meals at the restaurants we visited. Having successfully participated in other food tours around the world, I have never been in a situation where my food preference was not accommodated. What made it worse is that there were vegetarian options available at all the restaurants we visited the guide just didn't call the restaurants in advance to order the dishes.

Further evidence of the guide's poor planning was apparent when we visited Lee Lee's Bakery in Harlem, known for the homemade rugelach. When our group arrived, they were just selling out of the rugelach. If the guide called in advance to inform the bakery that a group of fifteen were coming, they would have put aside the dessert. I'm not sure why calling ahead wasn't obvious to the guide since she informed us that they often sell out of the rugelach because of its popularity.

I've been on other food tours where the restaurants are very aware of the group's dietary preferences and accommodate for it all. This guide's poor planning impacted all of us. I did not get my monies worth and left the tour hungry.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

arrastia_virgo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

not as we expected... we toured a part of harlem which was by the outskirts and not into the very heart of it.... i wasnt completely satisfied as we only saw a few graffitis and the tour guide wasnt all that informative

Doing what: East Harlem Street Art Walking Tour

susan d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We loved the gospel signing but the tour through Harlem and our tour guides information was only OK. We stopped at the Apollo theatre, Hamilton and Burr houses, and that was it. We rolled by some interesting things, a fountain, church etc. which I would have also liked to have seen in more detail. The guide seemed knowledgeable but there was a lot of time with no narration, which is unusual for a guided tour in our experience..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Tracy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

As a first time visitor to New York, I had hopes and expectations for this tour.I wanted to know about the rich cultural history of Harlem.We spent very little time in Harlem and not enough time talking about its history. We didn and #39;t even get the chance to get photos of the area.I was disappointed..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our architecture tour of Harlem was terrific!! Our guide was an architect who lives in Harlem--a most articulate and knowledgeable guy. We learned the history of the buildings dating from 1906, when Harlem was populated by Jews and blacks, living side by side, creating music and literature that shaped our culture. I was surprised when we actually went into The Grange, Alexander Hamilton's home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative on Harlem history. Church service was very moving. A great morning.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fun and informative. Reggie Reg guided us around Harlem and shared his personal knowledge and experiences with us. He showed us photos, played us music and even sang for us. He was friendly and engaging throughout the tour and happy to answer all of our questions. There was plenty of time to stop and take photos and talk about what we were seeing. In the high heat and humidity, this relaxed pace was welcome. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and am eager to return to Harlem on my next visit to NYC.

Doing what: Harlem Hip-Hop Walking Tour

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous time, better than expected. Duane was our leader and he was just delightful.
Also, BTW one of my friends knew someone who went on a different Gospel tour, and they spent 4 hours in the church.... This tour with Duane was perfect, we toured around Harlem and NYC and then had a fabulous ONE hour at the church. The church members made everyone feel so welcome, I am thinking of becoming a Baptist!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Beth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour-one of the best. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and approachable. He was very candid about some of the historical and current challenges faced by Harlem, but his enthusiasm and respect for Harlem was clearly evident.

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

Andres V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my sixth walking food tour and by far the best. Jacqueline is amazing. We learned so much more than food facts. I've lived in NYC for over 30 years and knew so little about Harlem. Thanks to Jacqueline we discovered some great places to eat, but even more important a wonderful new place to explore. Every New Yorker should take this tour! I'll be spreading the word to everyone I know.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

Marlene W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was so well organized and our guide was so knowledgeable about Harlem and New York in general, a TRUE NEW YORKER! The church service was wonderful and the lunch and show at the Cotton Club was amazing with more gospel music. The singer and band had the whole place rocking!
It was a great day.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

rosemary.gamburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour and I highly recommend it! The tour guide, John Reddick was welcoming, friendly and had a wealth of knowledge about architecture, the history of Harlem and the local culture. There were 8 people in our group so it was a nice size group to navigate. The tour covered a lot of ground, so wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

5 stars. The guide was cordial and knowledgeable. The food and drinks were plentiful and varied. I would highly recommend this tour for an overview of Harlem, its history, and food.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

Caitriona W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour of Harlem and the church tour .
It wasn and #39;t made clear that if you didn and #39;t take optional lunch the coach would take you home after the church. So we booked the lunch . Waiters kept forgetting about us!
Very knowledgeable tour guide but irritated by constant mention of tips !

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michaele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was exactly as described and more. The guide on our bus was very informative, we saw quite a bit of Harlem, and the church people were very welcoming. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations at every turn. Sheila our guide was knowledgeable, witty and charismatic. Her commentary on the rich and diverse history of Harlem was extremely informative and insightful. The highlight was being able to attend Sunday service in a small neighborhood church, a truly uplifting experience and one we will never forget.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Simon P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The was a whirlwind tour of Harlem consisting of commentary from the guide. Attending the church service was interesting. However, there was an expectation for us to donate money during the service. There was also the expectation to provide a gratuity to the guide on top of the tour price.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joanne R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was great as we explored Harlem. Our tour guide was full of information . Church service was an experience, one never to forget. A great experience for all ages,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a lovely tour. We were well received at the church and I would have liked to stay there longer. Dinner and show at the cotton club were wonderful - the singer was superb. The tour of Harlem itself was however somewhat dissappointing. I came away feeling that I did not get a real feel of the neighborhood. I think too much time was spent on previous centuries and present times say past 20 years slightly glossed over.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

odessey Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was good but restrictions on being able to take photos in the Church was disappointing. The guide was excellent and was very informative about New York as we travelled from downtown Manhattan to Harlem. The lunch at The Cotton Club was a bonus with the singer and jazz trio supplying the wonderful music !!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message