The legendary borough of Harlem has been famous in New York City since the 1920s, when the Harlem Renaissance brought about a cultural revolution among African-Americans in New York with a focus on the arts. Today Harlem is an increasingly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our architecture tour of Harlem was terrific!! Our guide was an architect who lives in Harlem--a most articulate and knowledgeable guy. We learned the history of the buildings dating from 1906, when Harlem was populated by Jews and blacks, living side by side, creating music and literature that shaped our culture. I was surprised when we actually went into The Grange, Alexander Hamilton's home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative on Harlem history. Church service was very moving. A great morning.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fun and informative. Reggie Reg guided us around Harlem and shared his personal knowledge and experiences with us. He showed us photos, played us music and even sang for us. He was friendly and engaging throughout the tour and happy to answer all of our questions. There was plenty of time to stop and take photos and talk about what we were seeing. In the high heat and humidity, this relaxed pace was welcome. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and am eager to return to Harlem on my next visit to NYC.

Doing what: Harlem Hip-Hop Walking Tour

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous time, better than expected. Duane was our leader and he was just delightful.
Also, BTW one of my friends knew someone who went on a different Gospel tour, and they spent 4 hours in the church.... This tour with Duane was perfect, we toured around Harlem and NYC and then had a fabulous ONE hour at the church. The church members made everyone feel so welcome, I am thinking of becoming a Baptist!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Beth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour-one of the best. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and approachable. He was very candid about some of the historical and current challenges faced by Harlem, but his enthusiasm and respect for Harlem was clearly evident.

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

Andres V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my sixth walking food tour and by far the best. Jacqueline is amazing. We learned so much more than food facts. I've lived in NYC for over 30 years and knew so little about Harlem. Thanks to Jacqueline we discovered some great places to eat, but even more important a wonderful new place to explore. Every New Yorker should take this tour! I'll be spreading the word to everyone I know.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

Marlene W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was so well organized and our guide was so knowledgeable about Harlem and New York in general, a TRUE NEW YORKER! The church service was wonderful and the lunch and show at the Cotton Club was amazing with more gospel music. The singer and band had the whole place rocking!
It was a great day.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

rosemary.gamburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour and I highly recommend it! The tour guide, John Reddick was welcoming, friendly and had a wealth of knowledge about architecture, the history of Harlem and the local culture. There were 8 people in our group so it was a nice size group to navigate. The tour covered a lot of ground, so wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Harlem Historic Faces and Places Architecture Tour

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

5 stars. The guide was cordial and knowledgeable. The food and drinks were plentiful and varied. I would highly recommend this tour for an overview of Harlem, its history, and food.

Doing what: Harlem Historical Food Tour

Caitriona W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour of Harlem and the church tour .
It wasn and #39;t made clear that if you didn and #39;t take optional lunch the coach would take you home after the church. So we booked the lunch . Waiters kept forgetting about us!
Very knowledgeable tour guide but irritated by constant mention of tips !

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michaele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was exactly as described and more. The guide on our bus was very informative, we saw quite a bit of Harlem, and the church people were very welcoming. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations at every turn. Sheila our guide was knowledgeable, witty and charismatic. Her commentary on the rich and diverse history of Harlem was extremely informative and insightful. The highlight was being able to attend Sunday service in a small neighborhood church, a truly uplifting experience and one we will never forget.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Simon P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The was a whirlwind tour of Harlem consisting of commentary from the guide. Attending the church service was interesting. However, there was an expectation for us to donate money during the service. There was also the expectation to provide a gratuity to the guide on top of the tour price.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joanne R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was great as we explored Harlem. Our tour guide was full of information . Church service was an experience, one never to forget. A great experience for all ages,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a lovely tour. We were well received at the church and I would have liked to stay there longer. Dinner and show at the cotton club were wonderful - the singer was superb. The tour of Harlem itself was however somewhat dissappointing. I came away feeling that I did not get a real feel of the neighborhood. I think too much time was spent on previous centuries and present times say past 20 years slightly glossed over.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

odessey Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was good but restrictions on being able to take photos in the Church was disappointing. The guide was excellent and was very informative about New York as we travelled from downtown Manhattan to Harlem. The lunch at The Cotton Club was a bonus with the singer and jazz trio supplying the wonderful music !!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect Sunday Morning! We had full coach of 50 guests. All guides have charisma and fantastic sense of humor! Our tour took us to Bronx instead of Harlem but Church we visited was large and they welcomed us with open arms! None minded to go to Bronx instead of Harlem even we drove through Harlem which was obviously packed with some street fair.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jesse J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great experience. We had an excellent guide and learn much about the history of Harlem. We even had an opportunity to visit one of the local churches to hear a gospel choir. It was comfortable and timely. We would do it again when in New York!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Ann L H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyable tour. Guide very informative about the history of Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandrine D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Le guide est vraiment très sympa Ulrich et le tour très intéressant. La messe a été très agréable mais il est dommage de ne pas être dans le quartier de Harlem mais assez loin' dans le Bronx.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Carol M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our tour of Harlem, but were disappointed that one of the advertised Highlighted stops Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture was not included. This should be taken off the web-site, if it is not included. The ARC Gospel singers were wonderful and very uplifting. They were the HIGHLIGHT of the tour.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Lou M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good tour - informative. Unfortunately there was a lot of traffic the morning of our tour which made us late for the gospel service and saw us cut our visit short. The guide was good, but also repeated items a number of times. A good way to get a taste of Harlem

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jonathan F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an interesting and varied tour. I'm very glad I did it. Seeing Harlem and the Bronx was great. I really got a perspective of the areas and I had no idea how close they were to the heart of New York. The church visit was also very moving. Worth doing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

ERIK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very interesting tour through Harlem, stopping at The Apollo Theater, The Morris-Jumel Mansion. Our excellent guide talked about the history of Harlem, and its transformation from a place for summer homes, its decline, and resurrection. The tour then continued to the Bronx, and the South Bronx, where we attended the sermon and gospel singing at the Green Pasture Baptist Church which was joyful, loud, and marvelous!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Shirley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience! The food was excellent and the tour guide. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message