New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Rockefeller Center

For a memorable dose of Art Deco design in all its glory, immerse yourself in the 1930s Rockefeller Center. A complex of 19 buildings and gardens, the Rockefeller Center is where you'll find the famous ice rink and Christmas tree, Radio City ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 674 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Struan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Saved over 70 by choosing this pass ,we did seven attractions which were Empire State Building ,Top of the Rock ,Rockefeller walking tour ,9/11 walking tour and museum highly recommend The ride and Cruise Landmark boat tour and Intrepid Air and Sea museum great day out

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

jennymcdowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is an excellent trip.Our guide Laurel is a New Yorker so full of interesting stories apart from all that we saw.We walked,went on a cruise and on and off our little bus.It would be impossible to do and see so much on your own and it was a great way to find our bearings.We finished at the top of the rock as the sun set which was quite beautiful.Would highly recommend

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Jean C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

I loved New York and cannot wait to return however, I felt this tour was disappointing. When we booked it included a meal, several days after booking we were advised the meal had been removed from the tour. We had very comfortable transport to the high line which was interesting though would probably be better seen in summer. The harbour cruise was good with plenty of photo opportunities. I would say it went down hill from this point. A visit to Grand central station was turned into a meal break, don't get me wrong the station is awesome but not somewhere I would choose to eat on a cold winter evening. There were lots of what appeared to be homeless people sat around, not bothering anyone but filling the downstairs area where the guide had suggested we eat, also some of the eating venues were closing for the night. We were then taken to the top of the rock and given enterance tickets and told we could stay as long as we wanted and the guise left. This is not a particularly cheap tour and just did not fulfill our expectations.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Carmela D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

I have used hop on hop off tours in many, many cities in my years of traveling and I've always had good experiences, so I know it's a great way to see a city. In this particular trip to New York City, we were looking solely for a night tour. We wanted a way to see the holiday lights in NYC without having to travel half the city by foot. My Mom and I booked ourselves on the Holiday Light Tour by Grayline. We were on the 8:30pm bus on Sunday, December 11, 2016. Worst. Experience. Ever. Their brochure indicated that we would see all of the dazzling lights of the city culminating with the Rockefeller Christmas Tree. How many Christmas light sights did we see? Exactly one, Lord and Taylor. And that's it. We drove around a dark Central Park 1 1/2 times and wasted 60 minutes even though the tour was supposed to be 90 minutes of our time that we will never get back. Our bus driver negotiated additional tips from some tourists that were at the origination of the tour to drop them off at the Empire State Building wasting more of our time and then while dropping those tourists off at the Empire State Building, the driver and tour guide tried to get MORE tourists on the bus for 20 each to drop them off somewhere else in the city. I already knew we were in trouble with this tour group/bus, but it gets better. After all of the shenanigans I've already described, the tour guide starts to tell us that it was his 2nd to last day on the job and that he was quitting and didn't really care about the company or their guests anymore. I'm glad that I had to frame of mind to let him know that his performance thus far was a clear indication. When we asked the bus driver and the tour guide if we were going to at least see the Rockefeller Christmas tree, their response was that it was too crowded and there was too much traffic. Before I got off the bus, the tour guide decides to start debating politics with us when we mentioned we were staying at Trump International. Really?! Do yourself, your wallet and your precious time in the city a BIG favor: STAY AWAY FROM GRAYLINE.

Doing what: New York City Holiday Lights Tour

Dawn T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Visited New York with my family over the Christmas holidays and we were hoping to see the beautiful skyline at one of the many tourist attractions. Tried to purchase the tickets for the Top of the Rock Observation Deck at a discounted price on one of the many online sites.
The price was less than other attractions but I wish I could have still gotten them cheaper. The view was amazing and it was beautiful at night. You could see all of the city even on a cloudy night. The staff was exceptionally helpful and very nice. We really had a nice time and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Pamela M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We didn't realise that we couldn't enter The Top of the Rock with just our printed voucher, as was the case at the Empire State Building so we had to join a very long queue to exchange the voucher for tickets. We then had to wait a further two hours for our allocated time slot. In hindsight we wouldn't pre book this attraction.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

SAMANTHA C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The tour guide was this old man who was only interested in telling us about a couple of churches and who the architect was for a few residential apartment blocks.His accent was very strong so it was also hard to understand him...I think they should have younger more vibrant people conducting this tour.
It was extremely boring...We didnt stop at any iconic spots, other than the 9/11 memorial for about 15mins.
The ferry ride out to the Statue of Liberty was great , and going up the Rockafeller centre to the Obsevatory decks at the end of the tour was also fabulous.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Porterk6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If your time in the city is limited this tour is ideal. We saw way more things then we would have been able to squeeze in otherwise. The small bus was clean and comfortable, our guide was friendly, interesting and highly knowledgable. We finished our tour at sunset, at the Top of the Rock. The view was epic and the photo opportunity was amazing.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Sharonwalters56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing views in all directions plus we had a full moon the night we went!! The voucher was easy to use, take it to the Top of The Rock box office and they direct you on where to enter. One of the highlights of our recent trip, a must see.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Ronald K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Did not see Rockefeller center,street was closed

Doing what: New York City Holiday Lights Tour

Kuniyuki N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This was a bad tour. We had a terrible response at the Visitor center of Gray line, and had to walk around to find our bus.
The bus did not stop by Rockefeller center Christmas tree.

Doing what: New York City Holiday Lights Tour

CHRISTOPHER M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful evening we had at the 'Top of the Rock'. Very magical and beautiful. A trip not t be missed

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our trip was a 8 hour one and we had four breaks too lesson the sitting in the Van. We went thru all the boroughs of New York with interesting comments on each area by our tour guide.However if you sit in the back two rows you only see street level and not high up or above you and you miss alot.They need to make a vehicle with windows like a bus.The Ferry ride and Rockefeller Centre were the highlights.The view from the Rock was spectacular along with the Statue of Liberty. Recommend this tour if you only have two or three days in New York because it gives you a great overview of the City in one go.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Shellb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was breathtaking the view is amazing our tour went up at 5pm on Friday abit busy but the que moved quite quick we got there at 4pm we walked around the shops inside the rockafeller centre till it was time

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Terry C W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Top of the Rock was so beautiful. It took about an hour but there were no waiting in lines. Radio City Music Hall Christmas Show was spectacular. Never disappoints. Ate at Bill's Bar and Burger across from RDMH and it was very good. Would go there again.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Tosha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

By far the best views in NYC! I've been in the freedom tower and it doesn't compare to these views. With the Empire State bldg front and center it makes a gorgeous photo op. You simply have to see NYC from the Top of the rock! I also took the tour of Rockefeller center and really enjoyed it! I learned about the Rockefeller family and all the art around the bldgs. It was a great tour and since I was there in October I got a private tour bc no one else showed up for this tour!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

joanne.bentley3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing views from the Top of the Rock, and not too busy once we got up there, with the voucher you can go straight in to collect your ticket even if there's a queue outside and its flexible you can use it on any day of your trip, the Rockefeller centre as a whole is well worth visiting beautiful art deco design.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

thewriteoccasion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This pass worked great. DO NOT miss doing THE RIDE. It was fantastic. We also did the hop on/off bus of lower loop which was great and Top of the Rock. The only thing that was disappointing was that the 9/11 Memorial was not part of this pass, but rather the 9/11 Tribute Center our fault that we didn't know that there were two different things. We also used it to get a discounted admission to the Wax Museum which is a lot of fun.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent!!!!! We chose the 8 hour option and it was worth every penny!! Included very informative sight seeing tour with stops at Wall Street, The World Trade Centre and Memorial, lunch at Little Italy, a daytime boat trip and priority entrance to the Rockfeller Centre. Excellent guide and driver!!!!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Tiffanie H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour. We got to see Chelsea market and the Highline and the cruise was wonderful. I also really enjoyed Top of the Rock. The dinner was okay. I had the basa and it was tasty, but not really anything special. I recommend this tour though.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

rrwillems

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

WOW what a way to see New York. Bonnie our guide was excellent, in history and city knowledge. Tour of the city with her comments really set the stage for the next three days of our stay in the city. Boat ride in the harbor was EXCELLENT. Italian dinner was a little lean but adequate. Only negative is on being dropped off at the Top of the Rocks tour guide did not help with getting past ticket lines and failed to mention that pocket knifes were not allowed, The top of rocks staff gave us a pass for another day.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Lenore P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Lee, was very knowledgeable, but he was talked way too fast and was sometimes hard to hear. He took us to interesting places that we hadn't been to before. The Statue of Liberty at night was beautiful. Note that the bay cruise says that you get a glass of champagne, but there was none -- there hadn't been any all week. Also, we bought the tour because dinner was included two days beforehand we were notified that dinner would not be included, but another alternative was not included. We ended up stopping for dinner after 9:30 pm, Grand Central Station, where almost all food stands were closed. We were given 30 minutes to eat, and that just wasn't enough time. Also, after the Top of the Rock, which is beautiful, you are left in Rockefeller Center to find your way back to your hotel, which was rather daunting at night. A better idea would have been to deliver us back to the pick-up location. Overall, this was a fun tour, unorganized, but fun.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Ronnie W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Rocky start but did enjoy seeing the city all in lights especially the Statue of Liberty. Restaurant was average.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

dpayne11

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We were recommended to use this city tour to get around all the major city attractions in one day and choose those to return to later for a longer stay. We thought this was a good idea, but it didn't turn out exactly as expected.

We joined the tour at 9am, stepping onto a 14 or 16 seater minibus with driver and tour guide. We departed to the north, only stopping twice to get off and enter The Cathedral Church of St John the Divine and General Grant National Memorial. The remainder of our morning was spent weaving our way downtown with no fixed route, just dodging the heaviest traffic and bypassing areas of further interest.

We arrived at the restaurant in downtown Little Italy. Before arrival, our tour guide slated a number of the food items on the preset lunch menu. If I recall correctly, the preset menu comprised around 8 options. The guide suggested we restrict our selection to 2 or 3, one of these being for the vegetarians among us. It is time for this tour to find a different restaurant!

After lunch we got back on the minibus and drove to the World Trade Center. We walked around the memorial grounds and stood mesmerised looking up to the newly constructed Freedom Tower. We walked from there to the ferry terminal.

We boarded the ferry at 2:20pm and set off towards the East River passing under the Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges. Not long after passing under the bridges the ferry turns back heading towards the Statue of Liberty. A couple of stops enroute to allow people to depart and others to come aboard. The ferry typically operates a hop on / hop off service not available to us on our direct route from Statue of Liberty to a pier on the Hudson River where we rejoined the minibus. Just to be clear, whilst onboard the ferry it is a great opportunity to photograph the downtown city skyline including Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty without getting off. The onboard commentary is very informative.

At this stage, those who have paid for the 8 hour tour are departing to the Rockefeller building. Those on the 6 hour tour can leave, or choose to be dropped off at one of three locations, including our initial starting point. When arriving at the Rockefeller building we passed our attraction tickets given earlier back to our tour guide. He exchanged these and passed each person a Top of The Rock ticket for immediate entry. no waiting in line. We were left at this point by the tour guide and minibus. The Top of the Rock is excellent for views north and south. Looking south, take in the city skyline including the Empire State Building and the Freedom Tower and Statue of Liberty at a distance. Looking north, the city skyline including Central Park are also very impressive.

In hindsight, we should have planned the route for ourselves and used the subway, open top buses with hop on / hop off convenience, or walk. For example, we set off on a following day by subway from Times Square to Brooklyn and walked back over the Brooklyn Bridge. We easily walked from there to World Trade Center and visited the 9/11 museum. In my opinion, this is a must see attraction, but allow around 3 hours from point of entry.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

Alexander W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was wonderful. Easy to get to and able to move freely one we were at the Top of the Rock. No problem with the tickets we bought from Viator at a discount. W ill be using you again to purchase tickets.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message