The Statue of Liberty guards the entrance to New York Harbor on Liberty Island. A gift from France to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, Lady Liberty has been a symbol of democracy and hope since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 608 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Albert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gaby was our tour guide!!!! Very exciting and Gaby was extremely knowledgeable of all the areas of this tour experience! Very enthusiastic and pleasant provided patience and courtesy to all the guests. Gaby took the time to take pictures of all the guests with the Statue of Liberty as a background! Well worth the experience!!! Thank you, Gaby!..... your the best! :-

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kathleen L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were fortunate to have lovely weather during out 4-Sep-16 trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Allie was very engaging, actively included members of our small group in the narrative and was very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed her humor and stories. She shared information about other local sites of interest. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Allie to anyone looking for a guided tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Graeme W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic way of seeing the Brooklyn bridge, the Statue of Liberty, the Manhatten Skyline and lots more. Well organised trip with great informative commentary and very good value for the special price I paid through Viator. Recommended.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

william m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I always wanted to go to The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and this was everything I wanted. I wanted to see where and how the immigrants came in and how they were treated. This tour answered all the questions I ever had and more. I am going to New York next year and will go again

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Melissa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful sights of the Statue of Liberty as well as the Manhattan skyline on a night, coupled with a very knowledgeable tour guide makes for a unforgettable night!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Evening Cruise

Kayleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was worth every penny! Sal, our guide, was absolutely fantastic and he made this whole trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, one of the best trips we went on in New York, and he made the history come alive for us. He provided us all with headsets and headphones, so that we could hear him clearly, wherever we were standing. Sal was knowledgeable and extremely well informed about everywhere we visited, all of which he shared with the group in a really lovely and pleasant way. He knew how to get from one place to the next in the best possible way, which benefited us all as a group, so that we saw everything of interest, utilising all our valuable tour time to the maximum, and he pointed out things that, had we done the trip independently, we would have totally overlooked and missed. My family, both young and old, I can safely say, got so much enjoyment from this trip with Sal, and we would've missed out on so much information had we not gone with Sal and his valuable experience. Thank you so much Sal for making our memories of visiting the Statue of Liberty so wonderful!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Bill S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Statue of Liberty cruise complemented beautifully our helicopter flight which we also booked with Viator. The boat was excellent as was the crew and the commentary.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

Susan H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a beautiful day and the crew was great! The guide's narration was good, even if it was a little corny! The absolute worst part was the discourteous passengers who stood so that we couldn't see, taking selfies while ignoring the instructions of the crew. We were very disappointed in our fellow tourists, but the cruise was just great. The sight of the Statue of Liberty is amazing and certainly gave me a lump in my throat!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

Maureen B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Huge boat so plenty or room. Lots of school kids when we went on which wasn't so good. Good view of the Statue of Liberty and the New York View. Basically up to Statue of Liberty and back that was it.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

Joanne C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We booked this tour as it was our first holiday together and our first time in New York.

I am rating it 2 star as the provider of the Statue of Liberty Cruise, New York Water Taxi, badly let Viator down due to failing to check our tickets correctly and putting us on the wrong boat! We paid for a sunset champagne cruise with a tour guide and were actually placed on a booze cruise called Happy Hour. We endured almost 2 hours of extremely loud music and lots of drunk people, none of whom could be consdiered a tour guide. Great if that's what you booked, but when what you are expecting is the total opposite it's very upsetting. The views of Liberty were spectacular and seeing Manhattan at sunset was awe inspiring - it was just a huge let down as we were deafened by the noise of the loud night club style music. This was not VIATORs fault and they were courteous and apologetic in dealing with our complaint. The itinerary for this section of the booking was lacking though and could be better - our booking info only advised where to go to board the helicopter and not where to go after that to get the boat. We had to ask the locals. All in all the cruise was dreadful but with amazing views. My advice - check and double check you are on the correct boat by stating the name of the cruise you are expecting BEFORE YOU BOARD. Don't assume they will put you on the right boat, they won't! Once you are on you cannot get off as until it sails it doesn't become clear and they won't return to the harbour to let you off if you realise it's all gone horribly wrong!

The Helicopter flight was brilliant offering great views of Manhattan and Liberty - although if you expect VIP to mean you get a helicopter to yourself you will be disappointed as it will be shared with other visitors. The pilot was very pleasant and the helicopter itself was lovely.

Viator responded perfectly to the error by NY Water Taxi but it was a tarnished experience and one that spoiled our NYC trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Evening Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

Michael Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Guide rushed group. Audio tour was included in package at both Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island but no time to pick it up and use at Statue of Liberty if you wanted to stay with the tour.
Group did not avoid lines as advertised.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear there were some aspects of your tour that you did not enjoy. Please be aware, although purchasing your Viator voucher does allow you to skip the ticket line, which can be upwards of two hours in wait time, all guests must unfortunately go through general security and checkpoint lines for the safety of all visitors. Although audio tours are offered on location, we do offer a live guide who is able to take the place of the audio tour for a more interactive experience. However, we appreciate you taking the time to review your experience and are always looking for ways to improve our tour going forward!

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to see both the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is with a great guide like Allie. She herded our group of 12 through ferry lines, security lines and entrance lines all while providing useful information on how to get a locker, where to buy souvenirs and the location of bathrooms. Allie not only made the logistics manageable, she also provided an exceptionally moving narrative tying both the Statue and Ellis Island to the immigrant experience- well done Allie!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sheri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Sal was the best! His knowledge of both Ellis Island the Statue of Liberty was interesting and informative. We all even gave him credit for the great weather we had while visiting the Statue of Liberty, it didn't rain until we were finished with all our outside sightseeing! :- The entire tour was a joy and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

Lorie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this cruise and really enjoyed it! This was the perfect thing to do since the South Street Seaport is undergoing major renovation because of the damage from hurricane Sandy. The cruise is 60 minutes long and we sailed along the East River under the Brooklyn Bridge, continued around the tip of Manhattan with great views of Battery Park, WTC/Freedom Tower, the NJ skyline, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty along with a couple of other sights. We also got some really great pics. Our tour guide Matthew, was extremely informative and personable with an entertaining manner. I took my two daughters ages 14 and 11, along with their two friends who never had a visiting experience in NYC. Unfortunately, The Seaport is not the same exciting, bustling place I remember 25 years ago and there is not much to do there until renovations are completed. So I will include a little detail of what we did nearby. Afterwards, we walked to Chinatown by way of Foley Square and had lunch on Mott Street. The girls had a ball shopping in all the little shops there and experiencing the culture. Then we walked to Little Italy and stopped for some gelato at the world-famous Ferrara's on Grand St. We had a really great time and everything was a lot of fun and super-enjoyable, including the weather! I would highly recommend this cruise as a starter for a day of visiting NYC.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

Robert Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a great, we had Eric as our tour guide, he made our tour interesting, fun, and he was very knowledgable too, our tour begun on Wall Street, Eric took us all along talking about the buildings and what they are used for, then onto trinity church, then round too the 9/11 memorial which was a very moving place, then onto catch the boat to the Statue of Liberty and Eliss island.
I'd highly recommend these viator tours, we was only in New York for four days, there great value for money and you see so much more when your being guided around ...thanks Eric for a great day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Colin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Jeff, was fantastic! He was extremely knowledgeable, and conveyed all the information in an interesting and entertaining manner. He really went the extra mile when he lay on the ground to get a shot of us with the Statue of Liberty rising up behind us!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

New traveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ibeth was a fun and informative tour guide, so glad we got her! Excellent tour, the early start time beat the crowds and the group was a good size no one got lost and everyone could hear. The one thing I would do differently is allow 15 minutes at the museum on the Statue of Liberty island for more reading and exploring on your own.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Christopher J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cody was AWESOME! We had a great time and learned so much about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Thank you, Cody!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Judy L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my favorite thing we did. I LOVED the Zephyer we sat on the top of the yacht, got very close to the Statue of Liberty and LOVED that they played Frank Sinatra's New York, New York. That was perfect. I would recommend this to EVERYONE along with Central Park.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Express Cruise

Amee G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My tour guide Debbie was great. Got a lot of information. You get to see the Statue of Liberty when you catch the water taxi back to Pier 79 near the Intrepid Museum. If you want to go to the Liberty Island you need a different tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Brandon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was hilarious! He reminded me of Michael Rappaport. We had a beautiful day to see Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty from the water. It was an altogether wonderful experience.

Doing what: Circle Line: NYC Liberty Cruise

Kirsty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the best day. Received a very warm welcome from our guide Debbie. We were the first group up at the Empire State Building as soon as it opened. The visibility was not great as was cloudy but still got to see so much from the top with our guide pointing out the sights. Short bus trip to the river and museum. Water taxi then walked to the 9/11 memorial. Debbie spoke very passionately about the 9/11 Memorial and was a very moving please to be. The memorial was were we left Debbie with a hug and a massive thank you. Returning to our base via the Statue of Liberty where the Water Taxi stopped so that everyone could take photos of the lady herself. A day of memories we will treasure forever. Worth every penny. Paul Kirsty and Rowan

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and opportunity to learn a lot of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Guides Remy and Liz were great and informative and helpful. Recommend you take this tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great. Our tour guide Linda Shell was amazing, really engaging and gave us a really informative tour. The way she presented the information and her whole personality has made our trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island unforgettable. Thank you Linda!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is one of THE best tours I have ever taken in all of my years of travel. The tour is well organized and flows at the perfect pace. I never felt bored or, conversely, rushed. Its execution is flawless. The ferry rides from Manhattan to Liberty and Ellis Islands were quite enjoyable. What made this tour even more exceptional was the tour guide, Michelle! She is incredibly knowledgeable and highly professional. Having a guided tour of the Statue of Liberty Museum was invaluable in fact, passersby attempted to adhere to our group because they knew they were a part of something great. I came away from the tour smarter than when I joined it which is a rarity. One of the typical problems with going on group tours is keeping all of the tour participants engaged and on time Michelle made wrangling all of the participants from location to location look easy...and fun. From imparting knowledge to taking the perfect picture of me in front of Lady Liberty, Michelle nailed each and every bit. I would easily recommend this tour to anyone looking to get an up close and personal look at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message