Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 447 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Porterk6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If your time in the city is limited this tour is ideal. We saw way more things then we would have been able to squeeze in otherwise. The small bus was clean and comfortable, our guide was friendly, interesting and highly knowledgable. We finished our tour at sunset, at the Top of the Rock. The view was epic and the photo opportunity was amazing.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

CHRISTOPHER M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful evening we had at the 'Top of the Rock'. Very magical and beautiful. A trip not t be missed

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Jennifer L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great pass to use for exploring NYC! I'll definitely be trying it out in some of the other cities where it's available. In NYC, I was able to skip a looooong line at the Empire State Building and at Top of the Rock. My friend and I lucked out on perfect weather and enjoyed beautiful views. We also went to the Museum of Natural History and the pass included a ticket to the planetarium show, which was spectacular. Be sure to request a ticket to any extra shows or exhibits you want to see as the CityPass may include them.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Terry C W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Top of the Rock was so beautiful. It took about an hour but there were no waiting in lines. Radio City Music Hall Christmas Show was spectacular. Never disappoints. Ate at Bill's Bar and Burger across from RDMH and it was very good. Would go there again.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Tosha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

By far the best views in NYC! I've been in the freedom tower and it doesn't compare to these views. With the Empire State bldg front and center it makes a gorgeous photo op. You simply have to see NYC from the Top of the rock! I also took the tour of Rockefeller center and really enjoyed it! I learned about the Rockefeller family and all the art around the bldgs. It was a great tour and since I was there in October I got a private tour bc no one else showed up for this tour!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

joanne.bentley3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing views from the Top of the Rock, and not too busy once we got up there, with the voucher you can go straight in to collect your ticket even if there's a queue outside and its flexible you can use it on any day of your trip, the Rockefeller centre as a whole is well worth visiting beautiful art deco design.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

thewriteoccasion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This pass worked great. DO NOT miss doing THE RIDE. It was fantastic. We also did the hop on/off bus of lower loop which was great and Top of the Rock. The only thing that was disappointing was that the 9/11 Memorial was not part of this pass, but rather the 9/11 Tribute Center our fault that we didn't know that there were two different things. We also used it to get a discounted admission to the Wax Museum which is a lot of fun.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Tiffanie H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour. We got to see Chelsea market and the Highline and the cruise was wonderful. I also really enjoyed Top of the Rock. The dinner was okay. I had the basa and it was tasty, but not really anything special. I recommend this tour though.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

rrwillems

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

WOW what a way to see New York. Bonnie our guide was excellent, in history and city knowledge. Tour of the city with her comments really set the stage for the next three days of our stay in the city. Boat ride in the harbor was EXCELLENT. Italian dinner was a little lean but adequate. Only negative is on being dropped off at the Top of the Rocks tour guide did not help with getting past ticket lines and failed to mention that pocket knifes were not allowed, The top of rocks staff gave us a pass for another day.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Lenore P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Lee, was very knowledgeable, but he was talked way too fast and was sometimes hard to hear. He took us to interesting places that we hadn't been to before. The Statue of Liberty at night was beautiful. Note that the bay cruise says that you get a glass of champagne, but there was none -- there hadn't been any all week. Also, we bought the tour because dinner was included two days beforehand we were notified that dinner would not be included, but another alternative was not included. We ended up stopping for dinner after 9:30 pm, Grand Central Station, where almost all food stands were closed. We were given 30 minutes to eat, and that just wasn't enough time. Also, after the Top of the Rock, which is beautiful, you are left in Rockefeller Center to find your way back to your hotel, which was rather daunting at night. A better idea would have been to deliver us back to the pick-up location. Overall, this was a fun tour, unorganized, but fun.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Alexander W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was wonderful. Easy to get to and able to move freely one we were at the Top of the Rock. No problem with the tickets we bought from Viator at a discount. W ill be using you again to purchase tickets.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Natalie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved visiting Top of the Rock. The views over Central Park were amazing, we also visited on a very clear day, which of course helps with the views. It was also nice to look back onto the Empire State Building.
I would recommend you go early in the morning. There are no cues and not many people at the top.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Kayleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic views, really pleasant staff at the Top of the Rock, great visit.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Pauline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great experience. Our guide was lee and he knew so much it was hard to keep up with everything he told us. The bus trip was comprehensive. The high line trip was good. The boat trip was excellent, we saw the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island with plenty of photo opportunities. The food was ok not a huge selection nor over generous but quite adequate. The Top of the Rock at night was superb, even though we had already been there in the daytime it was still worth going at night. I would say not for younger children as it finishes so late plus there's not a lot to keep them interested.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Adam K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We did the Intrepid Air and Space Museum, the Central Park Bike Tour really great!, Top of the Rock, and the Downtown Loop Hop on Hop off bus tour.
We had planned to use the last of our 5 options to do the Woodbury Common shopping tour, however hadn't realised this pass only covers ONE bus tour, and Woodbury Common shuttle is included in this!!! A bit disappointed, but good value nonetheless.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

CHRISTINA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour!
Our whole group enjoyed it. Guide was very nice and informative. Chelsea market was something to see and little Italy was nice. Food was very good! Great for all ages.
The top of the Rock was crowded so if your claustrophobic skip this part!

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Lynn L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed the Liberty Cruise - Chris was informative and funny. Lots of history learned on this trip and some great pics. 911 Memorial was an emotional roller coaster and very crowded but they did a great job. Empire State building had some amazing views. Have done it before but would go again. Top of the Rock was not my fav - very crowded, disorganized and the guides were kinda rude to other people while we were there. The Metropolitan Museum was amazing. The American History Museum was nice. This was a great value - I've told all my friends what a great deal the City Pass was. Bonus was no reservations were needed for the 911 Memorial.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Beverley T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great activity with stunning views from the Top of the Rock. Loved doing this at night for the view of Empire state building illuminated. Would advise changing your voucher for timed ticket in advance of wanting to visit, we didn't and had a long wait. We were in the last lift of the evening to go up, it was busy and we were rushed, hence the 4 rather than 5 star rating.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Ely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was definitely worth the value! We did the Radio City Music Hall Tour, Top of the Rock, Ripley's Believe it or not and the Sharkboat ride at Pier 16. Each experience was wonderful and we experienced zero issues in using our passes.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Michael J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a great value! The company that gives the tour was not the most professional and the wait and lack of direction can easily discourage you for proceeding BUT proceed. Once you are actually on the tour fingers crossed you get Donna it was great for the amount. The best parts are the boat ride and the Top of the Rock at the end of the night.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

janie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A highlight of our recent visit and a good value, enjoyed with my husband and 2 adult kids. Tip: eat a late lunch glad we did that day, as it was 9 pm before we got to the restaurant. Tour guide was a character, worked very hard to engage and entertain us and had expert knowledge of the city. At first was disappointed that our group was too large for the Mercedes bus as promoted, but on the plus side our group was quite small 14 for the open-top double-decker that we rode instead and we really did get a great view of sites and it helped that the weather was good. High Line walk was very brief, might have enjoyed a few more minutes there. The boat ride was fabulous, views of the bridges, Manhattan skyline and Lady Liberty just as the sun was setting, will remember those images in my mind for a good long time and got some fabulous pictures. For a 99 buck tour, the champagne was not Dom Perignon but a nice touch. All of us enjoyed our dinner, didn't have exceptional expectations, this is an evening tour on a schedule, after-all. Top of the Rock was icing on the cake - more spectacular views, pictures and memories for a lifetime. Our hotel was an enjoyable stroll away. Perfect way to spend an NYC evening!

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I purchased the four day pass for myself and my son. This was our first trip to New York. Super easy getting our VIP passes to wear around our neck when boarding the bus at the Visitors Center in Times Square. I found the guides on the buses very knowledgeable and helpful. Some were more helpful than others. My favorite guide was a female on May 12th around 7pm. She was very good with historical facts and had a dry sense of humor. The itinerary stated the last bus was at 5:30 but we wrote the last one at 7:30pm. We had just finish another tour that was all day and ended by St. Paul Chapel. We were just getting ready to call a taxi and notice our bus was still picking up passengers. We were very happy to get on the last bus going to Times Square, and close enough to walk to our Hotel. The First day in NY we rode the bus to the Empire State Building. The next day we had to take a taxi to our Statue of Liberty Ellis Island tour because the tour started earlier than the bus started picking up passengers. Our third day we went to Harlem. It was raining on that day. It was the first time we did not sit at the top. They provided yellow ponchos. A lot of people sat in the rain. I just was not feeling sitting in the rain so I sat down stairs for the first time. I loved the tickets to the Top of the Rock. The view was breathtaking. I also liked all the nice shops and the whole NBC thing there not to mention the shops. I was very happy with this tour and if I am ever in New York again (next year) I will Hop on and Hop off again.

Doing what: New York City Shop, Hop and Top Experience including Woodbury Common and Observatory

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Serge and Robert, the driver, gave us an exceptional tour of New York City. There was actually too much to see in even an 8-hour tour but that's New York. Noteworthy were the tour of 1 World Trade Center and the Memorial recommend a visit to the museum as a separate event, the harbor cruise, and the Top of the Rock. Good time.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

bazzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is the best value tour I have ever been on as not only was it a great night, it was also fantastic value for money. When Bonnie our excellent tour guide took us first of all to the Chelsea Market and a brief walk along the new 'High Line' garden walk, I had a feeling we were in for a good night. We were then taken to the harbour for a an evening cruise on the Hudson River going under the Brooklyn Bridge and then onto the Statue of Liberty where the sun was setting right behind it for some great photographs. Another highlight of the boat trip were the great views of the city. We were then taken for what turned out to be an excellent meal at a lovely restaurant in Little Italy. Bonnie recommended if you were a fish lover to have the Basa fish dinner, and indeed it was an excellent meal. I must admit I was not expecting such a fine dinner on a tour, as other trips that I have been on that include a meal the food in general was very average. We were then taken to the Rockefeller Center for a trip to the 'Top of the Rock' for some awesome views of the city at night. If you take this trip you must be aware that you have to make your own way back to your hotel from the Rockefeller Center, one of the reasons for this is that you can take as long as you want and are not restricted to a set time, and it would be difficult for a guide and the driver to wait for everyone to get back down again.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Mhairi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the three attraction option and used it for a bus trip which was excellent, Top of the Rock which we really enjoyed and Ground Zero. Ground Zero came with a pass for a museum. We assumed this was for the big museum but it was in fact for a much smaller one with a talking tour included. This is not normally my thing but the volunteer on the tour was amazing and had actually been involved with the rescues etc. Amazing, insightful and sensitive - definitely highly recommend

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message