Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexander W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was wonderful. Easy to get to and able to move freely one we were at the Top of the Rock. No problem with the tickets we bought from Viator at a discount. W ill be using you again to purchase tickets.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Natalie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved visiting Top of the Rock. The views over Central Park were amazing, we also visited on a very clear day, which of course helps with the views. It was also nice to look back onto the Empire State Building.
I would recommend you go early in the morning. There are no cues and not many people at the top.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Kayleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic views, really pleasant staff at the Top of the Rock, great visit.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Pauline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great experience. Our guide was lee and he knew so much it was hard to keep up with everything he told us. The bus trip was comprehensive. The high line trip was good. The boat trip was excellent, we saw the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island with plenty of photo opportunities. The food was ok not a huge selection nor over generous but quite adequate. The Top of the Rock at night was superb, even though we had already been there in the daytime it was still worth going at night. I would say not for younger children as it finishes so late plus there's not a lot to keep them interested.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Adam K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We did the Intrepid Air and Space Museum, the Central Park Bike Tour really great!, Top of the Rock, and the Downtown Loop Hop on Hop off bus tour.
We had planned to use the last of our 5 options to do the Woodbury Common shopping tour, however hadn't realised this pass only covers ONE bus tour, and Woodbury Common shuttle is included in this!!! A bit disappointed, but good value nonetheless.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

CHRISTINA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour!
Our whole group enjoyed it. Guide was very nice and informative. Chelsea market was something to see and little Italy was nice. Food was very good! Great for all ages.
The top of the Rock was crowded so if your claustrophobic skip this part!

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Lynn L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed the Liberty Cruise - Chris was informative and funny. Lots of history learned on this trip and some great pics. 911 Memorial was an emotional roller coaster and very crowded but they did a great job. Empire State building had some amazing views. Have done it before but would go again. Top of the Rock was not my fav - very crowded, disorganized and the guides were kinda rude to other people while we were there. The Metropolitan Museum was amazing. The American History Museum was nice. This was a great value - I've told all my friends what a great deal the City Pass was. Bonus was no reservations were needed for the 911 Memorial.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Beverley T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great activity with stunning views from the Top of the Rock. Loved doing this at night for the view of Empire state building illuminated. Would advise changing your voucher for timed ticket in advance of wanting to visit, we didn't and had a long wait. We were in the last lift of the evening to go up, it was busy and we were rushed, hence the 4 rather than 5 star rating.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Ely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was definitely worth the value! We did the Radio City Music Hall Tour, Top of the Rock, Ripley's Believe it or not and the Sharkboat ride at Pier 16. Each experience was wonderful and we experienced zero issues in using our passes.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Michael J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a great value! The company that gives the tour was not the most professional and the wait and lack of direction can easily discourage you for proceeding BUT proceed. Once you are actually on the tour fingers crossed you get Donna it was great for the amount. The best parts are the boat ride and the Top of the Rock at the end of the night.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

janie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A highlight of our recent visit and a good value, enjoyed with my husband and 2 adult kids. Tip: eat a late lunch glad we did that day, as it was 9 pm before we got to the restaurant. Tour guide was a character, worked very hard to engage and entertain us and had expert knowledge of the city. At first was disappointed that our group was too large for the Mercedes bus as promoted, but on the plus side our group was quite small 14 for the open-top double-decker that we rode instead and we really did get a great view of sites and it helped that the weather was good. High Line walk was very brief, might have enjoyed a few more minutes there. The boat ride was fabulous, views of the bridges, Manhattan skyline and Lady Liberty just as the sun was setting, will remember those images in my mind for a good long time and got some fabulous pictures. For a 99 buck tour, the champagne was not Dom Perignon but a nice touch. All of us enjoyed our dinner, didn't have exceptional expectations, this is an evening tour on a schedule, after-all. Top of the Rock was icing on the cake - more spectacular views, pictures and memories for a lifetime. Our hotel was an enjoyable stroll away. Perfect way to spend an NYC evening!

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I purchased the four day pass for myself and my son. This was our first trip to New York. Super easy getting our VIP passes to wear around our neck when boarding the bus at the Visitors Center in Times Square. I found the guides on the buses very knowledgeable and helpful. Some were more helpful than others. My favorite guide was a female on May 12th around 7pm. She was very good with historical facts and had a dry sense of humor. The itinerary stated the last bus was at 5:30 but we wrote the last one at 7:30pm. We had just finish another tour that was all day and ended by St. Paul Chapel. We were just getting ready to call a taxi and notice our bus was still picking up passengers. We were very happy to get on the last bus going to Times Square, and close enough to walk to our Hotel. The First day in NY we rode the bus to the Empire State Building. The next day we had to take a taxi to our Statue of Liberty Ellis Island tour because the tour started earlier than the bus started picking up passengers. Our third day we went to Harlem. It was raining on that day. It was the first time we did not sit at the top. They provided yellow ponchos. A lot of people sat in the rain. I just was not feeling sitting in the rain so I sat down stairs for the first time. I loved the tickets to the Top of the Rock. The view was breathtaking. I also liked all the nice shops and the whole NBC thing there not to mention the shops. I was very happy with this tour and if I am ever in New York again (next year) I will Hop on and Hop off again.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Serge and Robert, the driver, gave us an exceptional tour of New York City. There was actually too much to see in even an 8-hour tour but that's New York. Noteworthy were the tour of 1 World Trade Center and the Memorial recommend a visit to the museum as a separate event, the harbor cruise, and the Top of the Rock. Good time.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Sprinter

bazzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is the best value tour I have ever been on as not only was it a great night, it was also fantastic value for money. When Bonnie our excellent tour guide took us first of all to the Chelsea Market and a brief walk along the new 'High Line' garden walk, I had a feeling we were in for a good night. We were then taken to the harbour for a an evening cruise on the Hudson River going under the Brooklyn Bridge and then onto the Statue of Liberty where the sun was setting right behind it for some great photographs. Another highlight of the boat trip were the great views of the city. We were then taken for what turned out to be an excellent meal at a lovely restaurant in Little Italy. Bonnie recommended if you were a fish lover to have the Basa fish dinner, and indeed it was an excellent meal. I must admit I was not expecting such a fine dinner on a tour, as other trips that I have been on that include a meal the food in general was very average. We were then taken to the Rockefeller Center for a trip to the 'Top of the Rock' for some awesome views of the city at night. If you take this trip you must be aware that you have to make your own way back to your hotel from the Rockefeller Center, one of the reasons for this is that you can take as long as you want and are not restricted to a set time, and it would be difficult for a guide and the driver to wait for everyone to get back down again.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Mhairi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the three attraction option and used it for a bus trip which was excellent, Top of the Rock which we really enjoyed and Ground Zero. Ground Zero came with a pass for a museum. We assumed this was for the big museum but it was in fact for a much smaller one with a talking tour included. This is not normally my thing but the volunteer on the tour was amazing and had actually been involved with the rescues etc. Amazing, insightful and sensitive - definitely highly recommend

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Juelle E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We used our City Pass in the Museums, 9/11, Met Museum of Art, Empire State Bldg, Top of The Rock,. All were amazing experiences and great for my 13 yr. old grand daughter too.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Lisbeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful day in NYC with a great view at the Top of the Rock!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Allytia United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour in the main and good value. So much packed into the evening. Full commentary as we Drove to the old meat packing district which houses the Chelsea Market - this is in the old Nabisco building which takes up a full block and the ground floor now houses lots of little restaurants and artisan shops - we are going back to spend more time here. Onto the High Line, the old elevated railway which has been renovated to become a green park area, so cool, going back here too! Then a tour on the river around the Statue of Liberty. Felt really special here, tour taken to front of queue, straight on this lovely boat given a glass of champagne. Time spent to allow both sides of the ship to take photos then back on the coach to the Little Italy district with commentary on the way. Meal here was ok, nothing special and a little rushed, only 45 minutes allowed, need to allow at least an hour so the food can be placed on the table, ours was just thrown there, not impressed with service. Back on the coach to go to Top Of the Rock, taken to the front of the queue again, straight through security and up to the top, amazing. Tour guide left us here and we made our way back to hotel. Very good, informative and packed tour. Would recommend for anyone, but possibly not young children.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Arlene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hands down worth the time, money. Our guide was informative, professional, Mercedes Benz bus was comfortable, walking tour was impressive (the history of the meat market district), breathtaking cruise to Liberty at sunset, ambiance at Little Italy was unique and the Top of the Rock, and #39;just rocked. and #39;

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We went at night time with our voucher. We didn't have to wait long and the whole experience was enjoyable. The weather wasn't great so we were told the views were 50 visibility but we still went up and was very pleasantly surprised. The views were clear and fantastic at night. We did the Empire State in the day but the top of the rock gives you the view of the Empire State which is brilliant and a better view of Central Park also. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

martinsell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We exchanged our tickets for a night time visit to the Top of the Rock - wow! - photos just don't do the incredible view of the lights of New York justice.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

WILMA G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and worth every cent. Tour guide was informative and the transport was comfortable. Highlight of the night was top of the rock with fab views.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Anne R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, having a ticket meant we missed the queue. Love the view from the top of the rock, and the photos that they take of you are a great reminder of the trip.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! I wish I could remember our tour guides name as she was hilarious I know she had come at the last minute to cover for someone, she made the tour even better! We went to Grey Line Visitors Centre 30 minutes before the trip to get our tickets, there was about 30 people in total so they split us into 2 smaller groups, I think you get a much better experience this way.

We were given a tour of the High-Line and an unexpected tour of Chelsea Markets where we spotted a couple of famous faces before we boarded the ferry. We got skip-the-line boarding just as daylight was fading and got to experience sunset while on the Hudson! Our guide took photos of us in front of the Statue of Liberty and then we headed back.

In little Italy we were seated and served in record time and the meal was lovely. The Top of the Rock tickets were good for 2 days so our tour guide gave us the choice to be dropped off at our hotels on the way and use the tickets the next day if we wanted, a couple of people chose that option but we decided to continue and the night time views are truly spectacular!

Our hotel was in times square and it only took us 10 minutes to walk back. Even at 11pm you feel completely safe in the city.

Doing what: New York City Night on the Town Tour

Nikki P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a brilliant time in NYC. With out Explorer Pass we went up the Statue of Liberty, to the Top of the Rock and 911 Memorial. All the trips living up to my expectations. Thank-you Viator.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message