One interesting way to explore New York is by taking a helicopter tour. While a bus or walking tour allows you to come face-to-face with the city, a helicopter tour takes you above its massive skyscrapers, flashing lights and mix of architectural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vincent v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

only surprised by the 35 I had to pay... but the staff was amazing getting me a front seat in the helicopter, all very friendly and super helpful

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

WorldTraveler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Took the train from New York Penn Station to Linden New Jersey (34-minute train ride from the city) and was promptly picked up and taken to Linden Airport (5 minutes away) for my helicopter flight. I had no idea that I was in for such an amazing experience. The helicopter was big and spacious with all forward facing seats. We departed from Linden and headed toward EWR airport where we flew directly over the runways. You can see flights sitting and waiting for departure and flights coming in for arrival. It was quite a treat to be able to fly directly over one of the busiest airports in the world! Next we headed toward Lady Liberty and got a beautiful view of her all lit up at night. The city lights were majestic with amazing views of Lower Manhattan, One World Observatory, Empire State Building and Times Square. We flew directly over Central Park which gave a whole new perspective of how big it actually is! Another highlight was flying over the Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges all lit up along the river. We got another up close view of the Statue of Liberty before heading back over EWR and into Linden Airport. The shuttle returned us to the train station to head back into the city. I would highly recommend this tour as it is a breathtaking experience that we will never forget!

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: City Lights Skyline Experience

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was excellent, got a great view of the city from above, was a windy day so was a little bumpy which was expected. The pilot pointed out various points of interest. My first time in a helicopter and I loved it!!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

letitia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had an awesome experience. Took my hubby on the helicopter ride for his 30th. Staff was very friendly, pleasant and punctual. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has never flown. This was both of our first time and we had a blast!

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

Ruben H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good view of NY in a relatively new helicopter.

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fabulous way to see New York. Our daughters had no idea, and thought we had gone to get a boat, were thrilled when we said we couldn't get a boat so we booked a helicopter instead! Our daughters sat in the front Nd we squashed in with another couple in the back. We could have had a private tour but that's more expensive.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Arrived as requested 30 minutes before flight. Taken through security and safety demonstrations and led to the helicopter. Pilot polite and knowledgeable. Scenery was amazing as it was a clear day. Having done the basic tour before, the ultimate tour offered better value for money. Excellent.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: Ultimate Manhattan Sightseeing

Katie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic helicopter trip, we saw all the top sights. We were really lucky as we got a few extra minutes whilst waiting to land! Probably the best value helicopter trip out there.

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

Farris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is such a fun way to see Manhattan! I surprised my husband who lived in NYC previously with the helicopter tour and he absolutely loved it! The ride in the helicopter itself was really cool and the views of the city were just breathtaking! I was 24 weeks pregnant at the time and was worried the ride would be rough or that I would get sick but the entire flight was so smooth! Honestly, it was better than our landing into LGA! If you're on the fence about taking the tour, go for it! You wont regret it!!

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: Ultimate Manhattan Sightseeing

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really 1st class to book with Viator we booked 3 activities in New York
Empire State Building....wonderful views
Downtown Helicopter Trip .....Amazing!!
Lion King theatre show.... Worth every cent!!!
Well done Aviator well worth booking in advance for these trips

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

slav m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very recommended
Outstanding helicopter fly experience
The Staff was very professional and friendly
The best rates and flying time around
AAAAA

Doing what: One World Observatory Admission

Miguel Ángel I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing tour, excellent organization, very professional staff, helicopter in excellent condition, and the pilot was very kind and explained the highlights and had a sense of humour, too.
I will do it again.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: Ultimate Manhattan Sightseeing

Alison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was amazing-unfortunately we had the only rain of,the day but it didn't spoil our trip. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. When we asked ourselves what was the highlight of our holiday it was really tricky as we had such an amazing time in New Yotk, we all picked the helicopter tour.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

stephen b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience. The helicopter semd better than the others with larger windows. We were a little bit late so got very quick service through the terminal and was up in the air before we knew it. The pilot was also great. A lot of money for the short trip but one of those things you don't do every day.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: Manhattan Highlights

arrastia_virgo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

highly recommended.... it wouldve been better experience if the pilot had adjusted the frequency of his radio- we can hear the conversation of the ground staff and the other helicopter pilots in the area- pilot wasnt very informative partly maybe coz we barely hear what he's saying- at one time he even asked another staff what else does he know about the washington bridge... anyway, its still an experience... though i took the same helicopter ride last year- i noticed that we werent as close to the hgihlighted areas as we were from our last years ride maybe a different company

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Bill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our helicopter flight over New York was fabulous. The only way to see the city and gain a true perspective of the buildings, the bridges, the river and ,of course, the Statue of Liberty. Undoubtedly true value for money and we would do it again in a. Heart beat.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Hils United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our helicopter trip was absolutely fantastic! A highlight of our holiday. It was a special treat for us as its not a cheap thing, but it was well worth it. The views you get are amazing as you fly over Manhattan. The pilot put us at our ease and he pointed out all the important places for us to see. I was lucky as I got to sit in the front with the pilot. I'd love to do it again!

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

Ken S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great helo ride. The line was fast moving so we didnt have to sit long to get on our helo. The pilot was very nice and pointed out major landmarks. He gave both sides of the helicopter opportunities to get photos. Only complaint was it was over before you knew it!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although this trip was expensive we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was well organised, safe and exciting. The staff were friendly and the pilot gave us a running commentary of what could be seen below. It was quite a windy day and the feeling inside the helicopter was thrilling. The views across Manhattan are breath-taking and we would recommend this way to see the city to anyone. We opted for the 20 minute flight and this seemed like plenty of time to get good photos and enjoy the ride too.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Tour: Ultimate Manhattan Sightseeing

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This helicopter trip was the hi - light of our trip to New York and we highly recommend this to all visitors. Great staff and organisation on the day - very safe and the pilot was informative and amusing! Over too quickly so will choose a longer flight next time we visit. Fantastic!....

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

janice.griffiths

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My 2 daughters and myself had a fab helicopter ride, our pilot Matt was really friendly and made us all feel at ease. The trip was a birthday present for my daughter's 30th Birthday, she said it was an awesome way to celebrate her birthday. Thanks to everyone also at the Helicopter pad, everything went smoothly and again all the staff were very friendly

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Me and my parents did the helicopter trip as a special treat and weren't disappointed. 12 - 15 minutes doesn't sound a lot but got to see everything we wanted to. It was a once in a lifetime experience that I was very happy with. Good value for money in my opinion the only annoying thing is the 35 per head heliport tax but not the company fault. Overall excellent. Made my folks very happy They're 64 and 71, i'm 38. Thanks Big apple!!!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Me and my parents did the helicopter trip as a special treat and weren't disappointed. 12 - 15 minutes doesn't sound a lot but got to see everything we wanted to. It was a once in a lifetime experience that I was very happy with. Good value for money in my opinion the only annoying thing is the 35 per head heliport tax but not the company fault. Overall excellent. Made my folks very happy They're 64 and 71, i'm 38. Thanks Big apple!!!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Ryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience which I will NEVER forget! I was given this as a gift for my 18th birthday and it was fantastic! The staff were really friendly and got us on to the helicopter as quick as they could so I was not wasting too much time sitting about instead of exploring the big apple! The flight it self was about 15 minutes and saw some breathtaking views of NYC! Well worth the money and would highly recommend to anyone who is not afraid of heights and wants a real view of NYC...

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Chrissie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Money well spent. Liberty helicopters were an extremely professional tour company which put my parter and I completely at ease for our first ever helicopter ride. We enjoyed every second of this experience and would highly recommend it to everyone young or old!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message