Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 617 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

vickim58 Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Not up to my expectations. Woman at office was rude. Too much preaching and not enough singing. Lunch was very average. Very touristy. Disappointed !!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Kim N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful tour the guide went above and beyond

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lesley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Just a wonderful experience, very good knowledge guide and commentary.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Pat N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and added some interesting facts to make this tour a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Paul R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Confusing situation loading buses at the beginning. But, the guide was excellent and made it a very successful tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Robert S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

As a soul music afficiado seeing the Apllo theatre and the Cotton Club is a must see. However on my tour it was 45 minutes late departing and the departure arrangements were shambolic. A minimum amount of time was spent in the Church for the Gospel singing and service followed by attending the Cotton Club whereby we had to sit anywhere were they could find a spare seat. Upon departure back to downtown we ended up on a bus full which had a majority of French speaking tourists and a guide called Christine who only spoke French on the return journey and insisted on shouting out any conversation we had in English....obviously she was either ignorant or unconcerned that anyone speaks a language other than French.....I would recommend anyone to make their own way to see the shrines

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lucia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sheila was a fabulous guide - so knowledgeable and personable. We learned a great deal about the history of Manhattan including Harlem. And the choir was amazing. Each song was better than the one before. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Denise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really well organised tour. Staff were friendly and professional. A wonderful experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

HELENA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience full of feith and joy.
I recomend ir.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

TANIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience, what a privilege to attend this beautiful community church. I think the tour directors need to make it very clear this is a real church service and remind people NOT to take photos. I was slightly embarrassed to see people taking photos. There are signs asking people not to take photos. Relax and enjoy the service it was a wonderful experience, well worth it.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Antony A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was very good. He was very clear and directed our attention to points of interest. We enjoyed the singing, however would have liked to hear the sermon but time did not permit.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour and well worth the money. We drove round Harlem, met The Great Franco artist who sells his work and paints all Harlem's shop fronts whilst stopping at the Apollo and also did some walking. The highlight, however, was the church visit. It was like being in Sister Act! Quite a surreal experience and the congregation were welcoming. Ellen, our host, was fabulous and very knowledgeable. I would urge anyone to do this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience.. Lunch was great too.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Everyone should do it. Guide Glen was exceptional.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Mary L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great experience and tour. After a short journey through the highlights of Harlem and a visit to the Apollo Theatre it's on to the Gospel Service. Very inspiring and the locals certainly don't let the visitors impact on their level of emotional abundance during their singing and praising. They make all visitors feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic experience we had a really good guide who explained all the sites in Harlem. The ARC group that sang were fun and fantastic i have never seen such an enthusiastic group of people filled with the joy of the lord. We followed up with the soul food lunch where we were pretty much left to ourselves it would have been good to get some information on the origin of the food but that aside i would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great gospel experience and tour of Harlem. Recommended.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Monica

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very interesting experience! Great choir! We ended up singing all together.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

susan d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We loved the gospel signing but the tour through Harlem and our tour guides information was only OK. We stopped at the Apollo theatre, Hamilton and Burr houses, and that was it. We rolled by some interesting things, a fountain, church etc. which I would have also liked to have seen in more detail. The guide seemed knowledgeable but there was a lot of time with no narration, which is unusual for a guided tour in our experience..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Tracy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

As a first time visitor to New York, I had hopes and expectations for this tour.I wanted to know about the rich cultural history of Harlem.We spent very little time in Harlem and not enough time talking about its history. We didn and #39;t even get the chance to get photos of the area.I was disappointed..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous tour - great day out with history and amazing singing!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Monisha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour with a very friendly and informative guide. The music at the church we visited was fabulous.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative on Harlem history. Church service was very moving. A great morning.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was terrific! He was fun and knowlegeable. He gave a comprehensive history and timely information. Would love to go on more tours with him.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

charles m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide great but gospel singers quite disappointing. No visability and singing not that good!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message