Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 606 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour and well worth the money. We drove round Harlem, met The Great Franco artist who sells his work and paints all Harlem's shop fronts whilst stopping at the Apollo and also did some walking. The highlight, however, was the church visit. It was like being in Sister Act! Quite a surreal experience and the congregation were welcoming. Ellen, our host, was fabulous and very knowledgeable. I would urge anyone to do this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience.. Lunch was great too.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Everyone should do it. Guide Glen was exceptional.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Mary L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great experience and tour. After a short journey through the highlights of Harlem and a visit to the Apollo Theatre it's on to the Gospel Service. Very inspiring and the locals certainly don't let the visitors impact on their level of emotional abundance during their singing and praising. They make all visitors feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic experience we had a really good guide who explained all the sites in Harlem. The ARC group that sang were fun and fantastic i have never seen such an enthusiastic group of people filled with the joy of the lord. We followed up with the soul food lunch where we were pretty much left to ourselves it would have been good to get some information on the origin of the food but that aside i would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great gospel experience and tour of Harlem. Recommended.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Monica

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Very interesting experience! Great choir! We ended up singing all together.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

susan d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We loved the gospel signing but the tour through Harlem and our tour guides information was only OK. We stopped at the Apollo theatre, Hamilton and Burr houses, and that was it. We rolled by some interesting things, a fountain, church etc. which I would have also liked to have seen in more detail. The guide seemed knowledgeable but there was a lot of time with no narration, which is unusual for a guided tour in our experience..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Tracy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

As a first time visitor to New York, I had hopes and expectations for this tour.I wanted to know about the rich cultural history of Harlem.We spent very little time in Harlem and not enough time talking about its history. We didn and #39;t even get the chance to get photos of the area.I was disappointed..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous tour - great day out with history and amazing singing!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Monisha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour with a very friendly and informative guide. The music at the church we visited was fabulous.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative on Harlem history. Church service was very moving. A great morning.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was terrific! He was fun and knowlegeable. He gave a comprehensive history and timely information. Would love to go on more tours with him.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

charles m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide great but gospel singers quite disappointing. No visability and singing not that good!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Kay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AMAZING. it was very special to me also because my Mum passed away the day prior to our Tour and the Minister 90, blind and a real character and his friend/guide were very kind. My husband was smiling, swaying and clapping, something I thought I'd never see him do in a Church. The local people were very welcoming. A memory that will stay with me forever.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Adrian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was great and very informative and made a great enthusiasim amoung the group.

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

gilles.riviere-prost

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour, very friendly guide. The church is not a tourist trap

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

colin b

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well done.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Roseanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very Enjoyable tour. Lunch was awesome.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous time, better than expected. Duane was our leader and he was just delightful.
Also, BTW one of my friends knew someone who went on a different Gospel tour, and they spent 4 hours in the church.... This tour with Duane was perfect, we toured around Harlem and NYC and then had a fabulous ONE hour at the church. The church members made everyone feel so welcome, I am thinking of becoming a Baptist!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Bev B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

FANTASTIC!!!!'
What a joyful, inspiring, experience. Just heavenly.
Brunch at Sylvia's, was Soul Food at its best.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, really enjoyed it. Well worth doing the brunch also, that was a highlight, the soul food

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jenny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour and music were wonderful. Upper Manhattan has so much going on. Highly recommend all ages.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message