Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 626 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ekaterina.latella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the tour. The Gospel Service was very warm, energetic and welcoming! A very special experience. The guides from Harlem Spirituals were very knowledgeable. The also helped me to catch a taxi after the tour, as I wanted to see the Brooklyn bridge afterwards and still catch my flight on the same day. Many thanks!

E.Latella

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

kbertrand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was very interesting and the church service was very enjoyable and a lot of fun! Tour guide and driver let us get off the bus at Yankee Stadium on our way back which was very kind and saved us making another trip out. We had a lovely time on this tour!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Carlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour, great value for money and fantastic gospel singing

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Michael G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We commenced our journey in downtown Manhattan and traveled by bus up to Harlem. The tour around Harlem near the Apollo Theatre and the house that Gen.George Washington used were both interesting. We went to a Baptist Church in the Bronx. The church was ear piercing with many Alleluias and much praising of the Lord. It was a little intimidating at first being in a group of 40 people filing into a church and staying for approx. 1 hour as others performed around you.. The choir was great. The plate went around once and then all were invited to come to the front of the church and make a donation minimum 10 suggested. Fortunately the tour leader and advised people to feel comfortable about the experience and put in what they wanted. All up a interesting morning

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Jane E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We left half way through the service.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Åsa H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The church was not at all worth a visit as I expected more Christmas songs and carols and it was just waiting there for nothing to come!
The brunch ws ok and good food to test!
Our guide this day was good and was very good to describe things we went through by bus!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Don S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This tour was nothing like I expected. Harlem singers were terrible, out of tune basically could not sing. Singers were chatting amongst themselves while others were trying to sing. I left the chapel with the worst headache. The bus tour was OK as we saw parts of Manhatten and Harlem. The guide was so hard to follow as he flipped fron English to French all the time. My observation was that everybody on the bus was over him and glad to get off.
Viator I'm sure you can do better than this in a city the size of New York. Shocking trip no value, give it a miss.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Verna D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

If I could give a lower rating, I would...Ride to Harlem was interesting but when we got to the church, we were not allowed on the lower level. Instead, we had to climb 3 flights of stairs to the nosebleed section and then later move down a few steps. Music was good but Had to leave in the middle of the service and went to the Cotton Club. TERRIBLE!!!!! three of us seated at a table for 2 in the back corner. I got the broken seat on the chair. Lucky me! They put the container to place the dirty dishes and garbage right behind our feet. Brunch was no way Soul food. Kentucky fried chicken...no ribs dry cornbread. cannot say anything good about this. complete waste of time and money!!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Debra H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

While I enjoyed our tour, and I thought our guide was excellent, I really feel some confusion shortchanged us of the entire package. We went directly to a church with a 5 minute stop to see the Apollo Theater. At the church, we were escorted to the basement for a lovely Christmas celebration, but when we went upstairs to the actual church, plans changed. We were asked to leave, board the bus and we were whisked off to another church. The celebration at that church was wonderful, but we then needed to leave midway through the service, at which time we were brought back ... tour over. No walking tour, no Cotton Club. Things seemed unorganized, and I truly felt shortchanged. I guess I at least expected to get all that was included in the tour description ... and we definitely did not!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

vickim58 Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Not up to my expectations. Woman at office was rude. Too much preaching and not enough singing. Lunch was very average. Very touristy. Disappointed !!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Kim N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful tour the guide went above and beyond

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lesley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Just a wonderful experience, very good knowledge guide and commentary.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Pat N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and added some interesting facts to make this tour a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Paul R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Confusing situation loading buses at the beginning. But, the guide was excellent and made it a very successful tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Robert S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

As a soul music afficiado seeing the Apllo theatre and the Cotton Club is a must see. However on my tour it was 45 minutes late departing and the departure arrangements were shambolic. A minimum amount of time was spent in the Church for the Gospel singing and service followed by attending the Cotton Club whereby we had to sit anywhere were they could find a spare seat. Upon departure back to downtown we ended up on a bus full which had a majority of French speaking tourists and a guide called Christine who only spoke French on the return journey and insisted on shouting out any conversation we had in English....obviously she was either ignorant or unconcerned that anyone speaks a language other than French.....I would recommend anyone to make their own way to see the shrines

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lucia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sheila was a fabulous guide - so knowledgeable and personable. We learned a great deal about the history of Manhattan including Harlem. And the choir was amazing. Each song was better than the one before. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Denise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really well organised tour. Staff were friendly and professional. A wonderful experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

HELENA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience full of feith and joy.
I recomend ir.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

TANIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience, what a privilege to attend this beautiful community church. I think the tour directors need to make it very clear this is a real church service and remind people NOT to take photos. I was slightly embarrassed to see people taking photos. There are signs asking people not to take photos. Relax and enjoy the service it was a wonderful experience, well worth it.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Antony A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was very good. He was very clear and directed our attention to points of interest. We enjoyed the singing, however would have liked to hear the sermon but time did not permit.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour and well worth the money. We drove round Harlem, met The Great Franco artist who sells his work and paints all Harlem's shop fronts whilst stopping at the Apollo and also did some walking. The highlight, however, was the church visit. It was like being in Sister Act! Quite a surreal experience and the congregation were welcoming. Ellen, our host, was fabulous and very knowledgeable. I would urge anyone to do this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience.. Lunch was great too.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Everyone should do it. Guide Glen was exceptional.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Mary L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great experience and tour. After a short journey through the highlights of Harlem and a visit to the Apollo Theatre it's on to the Gospel Service. Very inspiring and the locals certainly don't let the visitors impact on their level of emotional abundance during their singing and praising. They make all visitors feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic experience we had a really good guide who explained all the sites in Harlem. The ARC group that sang were fun and fantastic i have never seen such an enthusiastic group of people filled with the joy of the lord. We followed up with the soul food lunch where we were pretty much left to ourselves it would have been good to get some information on the origin of the food but that aside i would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message